Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Nightbooks
Nightbooks | J. A. White
15 posts | 14 read | 55 to read
A boy is imprisoned by a witch and must tell her a new scary story each night to stay alive. This thrilling contemporary fantasy from J. A. White, the acclaimed author of the Thickety series, brings to life the magic and craft of storytelling. Alexs original hair-raising tales are the only thing keeping the witch Natacha happy, but soon hell run out of pages to read from and be trapped forever. Hes loved scary stories his whole life, and he knows most dont have a happily ever after. Now that Alex is trapped in a true terrifying tale, hes desperate for a different endingand a way out of this twisted place. This modern spin on the Scheherazade story is perfect for fans of Coraline and A Tale Dark and Grimm. With interwoven tips on writing with suspense, adding in plot twists, hooks, interior logic, and dealing with writers block, this is the ideal book for budding writers and all readers of delightfully just-dark-enough tales.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Daisey
Nightbooks | J. A. White
post image
Pickpick

I finished this listening to this book, including a scene with monster unicorns chasing the characters along a forest path, during my afternoon walk. The story is a modern Hansel & Gretel retelling with aspects of Arabian Nights as Alex tells creepy stories to keep himself safe. There are magical plants, an amazing library, great characters, a wonderful friendship, and a positive message of being true to yourself.

#MiddleGrade #audiobook #TRS2019

Kenyazero Great picture! What a fun accompaniment to a walk! 4w
JazzFeathers It sounds good. 4w
Daisey @Kenyazero Thanks! It seemed a good match between the actual scenery of my walk and the events of the story. 4w
Daisey @JazzFeathers Sometimes retellings are tough for me, but I really enjoyed this story. It combined various aspects in a way that I thought worked very well together. 4w
Kenyazero @Daisey that's magical! 4w
58 likes1 stack add5 comments
blurb
Sweetkokoro
Nightbooks | J. A. White
post image

Finished my first book for #24b4monday and I am so happy To have clocked just about 9 hours, this is my best attempt yet ᕦ(ò_óˇ)ᕤ This book was 8 hours but I also did about an hour of reading in Fate of the Fallen. I‘ll post a review of it soon. That‘s one library book down now, on to the physical books from the library!

blurb
Macker11
Nightbooks | J. A. White
post image

Day 2! #7Days7Covers #CoverCrush I want this library, please and thank you! @Sabookslover would you care to join? Just post a cover you love each day, no explanation needed. Also try to tag someone each day!

robinb Love this! ❤️ 4mo
24 likes1 comment
review
SoManyBooksNotEnoughTime
Nightbooks | J. A. White
post image
Pickpick

I enjoy breaking up my more serious reads with a fun middle grade book every now and then. Nightbooks did not disappoint. It was exactly what I was looking for, a nice light-hearted escape from reality. I really enjoyed how this urban fantasy was a modern take on the old tales Arabian Nights and Hansel & Gretel. Throw in some hints of the making of a good Are You Afraid of the Dark episode, and you wind up with this fantastic read by J.A. White.

Brewychock48 I do the same thing. Middle grade books are a great between book reads. 📚📖😍 6mo
SoManyBooksNotEnoughTime @Brewychock48 agreed, glad it's not just me 🙂 6mo
53 likes2 stack adds2 comments
review
SassenachTheBookWizard
Nightbooks | J. A. White
post image
Pickpick

Damn okay so this book was adorable. There's a bit of a Hansel & Gretel twist/retelling which I got so excited about. The mystery of the witch's/apartment's power was actually really cool and well rolled out. Characters were developed along with the plot and a steady pace. I also would LOVE for some of the creepy stories told in the book to be put in like a novella as a companion or just for the author to make them full-length stories.

EH2018 Great cover! 8mo
108 likes16 stack adds1 comment
blurb
SassenachTheBookWizard
Nightbooks | J. A. White
post image

Ive been wanting to read this since like...six months before it came out so im finally making some time for it

Bookgoil One of my faves! 8mo
Ddzmini Cool cover so now I‘m interested 🙌🏽😝😋📖 8mo
BooknerdsLife Awww Very cute BTS funko 🥰 8mo
SassenachTheBookWizard @BooknerdsLife Bless you for knowing that 😂😂😂 8mo
87 likes3 stack adds4 comments
review
sparrowssavvy
Nightbooks | J. A. White
post image
Pickpick

This had a fairy tale Coraline feel to it. I really like one off tales like this. I wanted a wee bit more magic and history, but a fun, well paced read overall!

13 likes1 stack add
review
dfmatthews32
Nightbooks | J. A. White
post image
Pickpick

Dark and well crafted. It reads like a campfire story you can listen to until the sun comes up.

review
Mithah
Nightbooks | J. A. White
post image
Pickpick

This was such a cute middle grade book. I looked forward to hearing Alex tell the stories he wrote every night. Great read for Halloween coming up! 🎃

9 likes1 stack add
quote
BookHoarder32
Nightbooks | J. A. White

When I woke up that morning there was a package wrapped in brown paper waiting on my front porch. My address had been written in clear, crisp handwriting: Forty-Two Skybird Lane, Henntington, PA. That wasn't the strange part. The strange part was the name written above the address, which wasn't a name at all. It read: 'To the Man Standing Right Behind You.' I turned around.

quote
BookHoarder32
Nightbooks | J. A. White

Jason couldn't decide which was stranger, the fact that his sister died every Tuesday at 11:15 or that she always came back to life 22 minutes later.

Zachary didn't think his day could get any worse - until he looked out his car window and saw the monsters.

Addie had always thought that clowns were the scariest part of the circus. She was wrong.

blurb
BookHoarder32
Nightbooks | J. A. White
post image

Gathering together some spooky reading options for October! 👻🎃

Have you read any of these? Which one should I start with? 📚

LA_Mead “My Plain Jane” was a fun, spooky read! 1y
4thhouseontheleft I‘m putting together my October #screamthon pile this weekend! 1y
See All 6 Comments
bunny I love the Jackaby series, and Ghostly Echoes was particularly good 1y
rachelsbrittain My Plain Jane is a great one! 1y
inthecatacombs I havent read any of these. I would pick My Plain Jane and Lantern's Ember 1y
49 likes2 stack adds6 comments
blurb
DragonAuthors
Nightbooks | J. A. White
post image

From The Daily Bookaholic (our blog, if you haven't visited yet.)

Nightbooks just came out this week and it looks SO sweet! That cover!!! 1001 NIGHTS meets GRIMM'S!!! Starred reviews from SLJ and PW!!!

I read a bit to get a taste. Awesome! Jumps you right into the story! The first of the author's earlier series is on sale for a few days too. Links in the post.

http://dragonauthors.com/bookwyrms/2018/07/28/the-thickety-sale/

#MG #middlegrade

13 likes1 stack add
blurb
LibrarianRyan
Nightbooks | J. A. White
post image

This book is getting a lot of buzz. It's the suspected Owlcrate Jr selection for August.

#CoverLove #MGedition

July 24

50 likes8 stack adds