Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Animals at Lockwood Manor
The Animals at Lockwood Manor | Jane Healey
11 posts | 4 read | 1 reading | 13 to read
A debut novel for fans of Sarah Perry and Kate Morton: when a young woman is tasked with safeguarding a natural history collection as it is spirited out of London during World War II, she discovers her new manor home is a place of secrets and terror instead of protection. In August 1939, thirty-year-old Hetty Cartwright arrives at Lockwood Manor to oversee a natural history museum collection, whose contents have been taken out of London for safekeeping. She is unprepared for the scale of protecting her charges from party guests, wild animals, the elements, the tyrannical Major Lockwood and Luftwaffe bombs. Most of all, she is unprepared for the beautiful and haunted Lucy Lockwood. For Lucy, who has spent much of her life cloistered at Lockwood suffering from bad nerves, the arrival of the museum brings with it new freedoms. But it also resurfaces memories of her late mother, and nightmares in which Lucy roams Lockwood hunting for something she has lost. When the animals appear to move of their own accord, and exhibits go missing, they begin to wonder what exactly it is that they might need protection from. And as the disasters mount up, it is not only Hettys future employment that is in danger, but her own sanity too. Theres something, or someone, in the house. Someone stalking her through its darkened corridors . . .
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
lurkykitty
Pickpick

The Animals at Lockwood Manor is a debut historical fiction novel. It takes place in England during the second world war. Hetty Cartwright is tasked with moving animal specimens from the Natural History Museum collection to a manor in the countryside to protect them. After moving the animals, she suspects all is not quite right within the Manor. The novel is well-written, tense, and atmospheric. It was highly readable and difficult to put down.

blurb
megnews
post image

@Chrissyreadit I received your package today with my next #LMPBC read. Thank you! I adore this card with all the books on it. Hope to get started on the book this weekend.

review
Chrissyreadit
post image
Pickpick

This was a gothic mystery that reminded me of Bronte, Rhys and du Maurier - I enjoyed it and am glad it was picked for #lmpbc- even though I was hesitant about the WW2 time it really was secondary to the story. #lgbtq positive also. I will mail on Monday.

Laughterhp Glad you liked it!! 3w
megnews Looking forward to it 3w
Tamra I really want to read it! 3w
readordierachel You had me at Bronte! 3w
105 likes4 stack adds4 comments
blurb
Chrissyreadit
post image

Anyone else simultaneously reading and listening to multiple books? I both ended the year and began the year with these three books. #lastfirst

LeahBergen How are you liking Lockwood Manor? 3w
CoverToCoverGirl I always have multiple books / audiobooks on the go. 📖📖📖 3w
Chrissyreadit @LeahBergen So far I like it! 3w
See All 6 Comments
Laughterhp I hope you‘re liking Lockwood Manor!! 3w
Chrissyreadit @Laughterhp so far! I‘m almost half way through, and i think it is a good story! 3w
Butterfinger I read multiple books at the same time. 3w
60 likes6 comments
blurb
Chrissyreadit
post image

@Laughterhp it‘s here!!! 🙌👏🙌👏 Thankyou for including some yummy tea flavors! I‘m going to try butter mint tonight. And super cute bookmarks ❤️🥰

Laughterhp Yay! I was so nervous it wasn‘t going to make it! 1mo
Butterfinger Great 1mo
54 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
Laughterhp
post image
Pickpick

I enjoyed this book. It was dark, creepy and atmospheric. I sometimes thought an animal was going to jump at me in the dark 😂

Set at the beginning of WWII the government moves their natural museum exhibit to Lockwood Manor which is of course rumored to be haunted.

Won‘t say more because I ended up reading for #LMPBC (other book got lost in the mail 😔)

#TeamElectricSex Winter Games #TBRRead +16pts

Laughterhp Also, I would give this book a couple of trigger warnings. TW for child abuse. 1mo
Laughterhp @Chrissyreadit I sent this USPS priority mail and it should be there by Thursday! Fingers crossed it makes it there safely and intact this time! If it doesn‘t, I give up! 1mo
LibrarianRyan yeahh 1mo
44 likes3 stack adds3 comments
blurb
Laughterhp
post image

1. Tagged, Hogfather, and The Man in the Brown Suit on Audio
2. How the Dukes Stole Christmas
3. Melmoth by Sarah Perry

#weekendreads

ErickaS_Flyleafunfurled Im reading the Animals at Lockwood right now too! It‘s quite engrossing! 1mo
Laughterhp @ErickaS_Flyleafunfurled It really is! I‘m only about 50 pages in though. 1mo
33 likes2 comments
blurb
Butterflyamore
post image

Are there any keywords in titles or synopses that immediately capture your attention? The word “manor” always piques my interest. After reading the first look of this book Bookish First, I decided to use all of my points to claim a copy! Has this one captured your attention yet?

If you sign up for www.bookishfirst.com to earn free books because of this post, please let them know I sent you by using my referral code: d9c86cb41f080f1fc

blurb
Laughterhp
post image

I won this ARC from BookishFirst! I signed up because @wanderinglynn posted about it! I entered into this giveaway and won! 🥳

This book sounds really good and I can‘t wait to dive into this!

Pub Date: March 2020

#bookishfirst #advancedreadercopy

BridgetteM Congrats! 🥳 2mo
inthegreensandblues Ooooohh looks good! 2mo
UwannaPublishme Way to go! 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻 2mo
49 likes1 stack add3 comments
blurb
Laughterhp
post image

I won this ARC from BookishFirst! I signed up because @wanderinglynn posted about it! I entered into this giveaway and won! 🥳

This book sounds really good and I can‘t wait to dive into this!

Pub Date: March 2020

#bookishfirst #advancedreadercopy

wanderinglynn Yay! 🙌🏻🎉 2mo
21 likes1 comment
blurb
kellyann28
post image

BookishFirsts has been so good to me! Another win of an ARC! 🎉

Maude Yay!! That looks like a great book, I hope you like it :) 2mo
kellyann28 @Maude It looks to be quite interesting! Museums, history, mystery! Hope it's good :) 2mo
24 likes1 stack add2 comments