Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Loveboat, Taipei
Loveboat, Taipei | Abigail Hing Wen
7 posts | 4 read | 11 to read
Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen, and praised as an intense rush of rebellion and romance by #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Garber, this romantic and layered Own Voices debut from Abigail Hing Wen is a dazzling, fun-filled romp. Our cousins have done this program, Sophie whispers. Best kept secret. Zero supervision. And just like that, Ever Wongs summer takes an unexpected turn. Gone is Chien Tan, the strict educational program in Taiwan that Ever was expecting. In its place, she finds Loveboat: a summer-long free-for-all where hookups abound, adults turn a blind eye, snake-blood sake flows abundantly, and the nightlife runs nonstop. But not every student is quite what they seem: Ever is working toward becoming a doctor but nurses a secret passion for dance. Rick Woo is the Yale-bound child prodigy bane of Evers existence whose perfection hides a secret. Boy-crazy, fashion-obsessed Sophie Ha turns out to have more to her than meets the eye. And under sexy Xavier Yehs shell is buried a shameful truth hell never admit. When these students lives collide, its guaranteed to be a summer Ever will never forget. A unique story from an exciting and authentic new voice. Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the Ashes Equal parts surprising, original, and intelligent. An intense rush of rebellion and romance. Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Caraval Fresh as a first kiss. Stacey Lee, award-winning author of Outrun the Moon "Fresh, fun, heartfelt, and totally addictive, a story about finding your placeand your peoplewhere you least expected." Kelly Loy Gilbert, author of the William C. Morris Award finalist Conviction
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Preciouz29
Loveboat, Taipei | Abigail Hing Wen
Pickpick

This is a pick for me, but I think my expectations were waaaay too high and that is how I ended up disappointed. Disclaimer, I was actually on Loveboat in the heyday of the late 90s/early 2000s. This felt like the author was trying to cover too much and I would have loved to see her cover less topics, but in a bit more depth. Also, I didn‘t enjoy that she didn‘t really show that there were students in the trip who weren‘t so....selfish?

review
SassenachTheBookWizard
Loveboat, Taipei | Abigail Hing Wen
post image
Pickpick

I really really liked this book. It was one of my most anticipated and didn't disappoint. I can definitely see why it was compared to To All the Boys I've Loved Before and Crazy Rich Asians.
I liked the conflict, the different rep, the discussions about class, wealth, racism and immigration.

Rep: a variety of Asian representation including Chinese American first generation own voice

ElizaMarie The artwork on this cover is gorgeous! 1w
80 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
SassenachTheBookWizard
Loveboat, Taipei | Abigail Hing Wen
post image

One of my most anticipated books of 2020! Agh this and BTS's comeback trailer in one day!

Melismatic You‘re a Kpop fan? Yessss - hello kindred spirit! 2w
SassenachTheBookWizard @Melismatic the hardest of Hobi stans lol it's been a MONTH already with BTS and ATEEZ coming back and then RedVelvet's Psycho. 2w
Melismatic @SassenachTheBookWizard 💃🏻💃🏻💃🏻💃🏻 2w
55 likes3 stack adds3 comments
blurb
essayareayaitch
Loveboat, Taipei | Abigail Hing Wen
post image

Who doesn't love a book launch/talk that gives you stickers, and has Teaspoon tea? Bonus: moderator was Sabaa Tahir. Can't wait to dive into this book

review
KimmyM
Loveboat, Taipei | Abigail Hing Wen
post image
Pickpick

This was such a good book! It had a YA Crazy Rich Asians vibe. I loved Ever's story and her summer of romance and rebellion, and her conflicting desires to please her parents and be true to herself. So so good. Can't wait for more.
This is out next month and I am highly recommending it! 4/5 ⭐ #arc #earc #ya

8 likes1 stack add
review
JAMZ
Loveboat, Taipei | Abigail Hing Wen
post image
Pickpick

This was such a juicy read!! Perfect for Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen fans, this had such a perfect amount of drama and development. I LOVED it!