Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder | Holly Jackson
12 posts | 9 read | 34 to read
The case is closed. Five years ago, schoolgirl Andie Bell was murdered by Sal Singh. The police know he did it. Everyone in town knows he did it. Almost everyone. Having grown up in the small town that was consumed by the crime, Pippa Fitz-Adeleke chooses the case as the topic for her final project. But when Pip starts uncovering secrets that someone in town desperately wants to stay hidden, what starts out as a project begins to become Pip's dangerous reality . . . Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying, We Were Liars, Gone Girl and The Hazel Wood.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
Dawnrod1970
post image

So excited received the book I won from Goodreads!

review
Quippe
Pickpick

Holly Jackson‘s debut YA thriller is a page turner that‘s perfect for SERIAL obsessed readers that cleverly mixes third person narration with extracts from Pip‘s report notes to provide background, advance the plot and allow readers to take stock. However, there‘s perhaps too much plot for this novel and some strands don‘t get developed as much as they should, while the revelation at the end didn‘t quite convince in terms of motivation.

blurb
Dawnrod1970
post image

So excited I won the tagged book from Goodreads! #freebooks #goodreads

samanthagutt Congratulations! That‘s so exciting 🎉 2mo
AmyG Yay! I won 2 books in Oct....and never fot them. I hope you get yours soon! 🎉 2mo
27 likes2 comments
review
Kateri
post image
Pickpick

Loved this - expected it to be a predictable teen read but it totally had me gripped (read it in a day) and I didn‘t see the twists and turns coming. Excellent read, definitely keeping an eye out for her next book!

2 likes1 stack add
blurb
Tashreads
post image

Red stack - all to be read 😉 where to start?

Prairiegirl_reading Dark matter is a super quick, fun read. The nickel boys is excellent but a much tougher read. Both excellent in their own way. 3mo
53 likes1 comment
review
BookDragonNotWorm
post image
Pickpick

5 stars for the title of this book! 4 stars for the plot. I enjoyed it, but certain things (*see spoiler below) ruin books for me. Twisty plot, good writing.

BookDragonNotWorm I fail to see how harming an animal can ever be integral to a plot. Write around it. Find another way. Just. DON'T. Do it. 5mo
43 likes3 stack adds1 comment
review
emmaturi
post image
Pickpick

This was my last read for August and I read it in one day. It was really good. It is about a girl doing a school project in which she wants to try to solve a real murder in her town. #bookcovers #crimenovels

review
wistfulreader
post image
Pickpick

4/5 stars to this debut YA thriller! a gripping, easy read that kept me guessing the whole way through. the main character had a distinct voice, and the chapters were interspersed with fun creative ‘production logs‘ as she conducted her own investigation into this apparent closed-case murder! oh and its set in my home town!!!!!! definitely recommend if you like fun, thought-provoking YA thrillers.

review
Laru79
post image
Pickpick

Just finished this, I wolfed it down in record time!! It was such a great twisty thriller written from the perspective of a girl doing a school project on a 5 year old murder in her town. There were plenty of suspects and plenty she uncovered that the police didn‘t. I really liked the style of the book and it was also funny in places, there were caring family bits and it kept me wanting to read more to find out what Pippa found out - a good sign!

Follow.my.read Sounds like Flavia Deluce novels? 7mo
Laru79 @Follow.my.read haven‘t tried Flavia, but might have to if they‘re like this!! 7mo
30 likes4 stack adds2 comments
blurb
emilyrose_x
post image

1. I have just started My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier 😄
2. On The Come Up by Angie Thomas. I loved The Hate You Give soooo much!
3. A Good Girl's Guide to Murder (which I posted about a week ago and is also really, really good!!)

#weekendreads @rachelsbrittain

rretzler I‘ve wanted to read My Cousin Rachel for a long time. 8mo
emilyrose_x @rretzler I'm enjoying it so far! 8mo
45 likes2 comments
review
emilyrose_x
post image
Pickpick

tHiS bOoK iS iNcReDiBlE!

This is the best book I have read this year by far. When I picked it up I didn't realise how new it was (only released 2 weeks ago and maybe not available in the US yet?) I absolutely cannot wait for her next book to be released :)

90 likes12 stack adds
blurb
Missusb
post image

I am loving this exciting, tension-building mystery thriller. Hope it‘s able to sustain the engagement through to the end. #sogood #preview #currentlyreading #murdemystery #julyrso2019

26 likes2 stack adds