Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
EJG31

EJG31

Joined December 2017

"You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me" C.S. Lewis. ??
reading now icon
Furyborn by Claire Legrand
review
EJG31
White Elephant: A Novel | Julie Langsdorf
post image
Mehso-so

Somewhat entertaining, but overall it lacked a solid storyline. There were too many things going on that made it hard to feel invested in the story.

review
EJG31
Once Upon a River | Diane Setterfield
Pickpick

Great story, kept me intrigued till the end!

review
EJG31
The Iron Flower | Laurie Forest
Pickpick

Took my time with this book but I enjoyed it. It is a YA fantasy, the first in a new trilogy. I feel that the story is very relatable to the current state of world affairs from a global scale right down to individual communities.

review
EJG31
Stationery Fever: From Paper Clips to Pencils and Everything in Between | John Z. Komurki, Angela Nicoletti, Luca Bendandi
post image
Pickpick

I love notebooks, memo pads and sticky notes! You can never have enough sticky notes🙂 #philosophia
#giveaway
Thanks @sisilia for the chance to win this box of stationery goodies!

sisilia Thank you so much 😘 I agree with you on sticky notes; it‘s never enough! 🙈 9mo
15 likes1 comment
review
EJG31
Learning to Breathe | Janice Lynn Mather
post image
Pickpick

Highly recommend this YA fiction book about family relationships, struggling to be more than a stereotype and perseverance. Loved the main character Indy. This is a part of the blurb inside the jacket cover that sums up the premise of the book.

15 likes1 stack add
review
EJG31
Those Other Women | Nicola Moriarty
Pickpick

One of the many books I enjoyed on my week off. Perfect beach book even though I read it on my couch. 🙂 Lol!

review
EJG31
Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World | Ashley Herring Blake
post image
Pickpick

Absolutely wonderful middle grade read. Loved the realness of all the characters especially Ivy. I finished the book fighting back the full watershed of tears that were rolling down my cheeks. This book will resonate with many young people struggling to find themselves amidst the chaos of middle school, everyday life and whatever else life throws their way. I think it will help them feel safe and hopefull and aware that they are not alone.

Nute Fabulous review! 10mo
EJG31 @Nute Thank you, I just noticed your comment now!! 9mo
22 likes2 comments
review
EJG31
post image
Pickpick

Great summer read. It is a follow up book to Cafe by the Sea but it can also be enjoyed as a stand alone. I enjoyed the characters and their storylines as well as how they all connected.

review
EJG31
Front Desk | Kelly Yang
post image
Pickpick

Excellent middle grade book about inclusiveness and acceptance and persistence. Great story based on some of the author's own personal experiences as a child when she first came to America. #mglit #ireadmiddlegrade

review
EJG31
The Elizas: A Novel | Sara Shepard
Pickpick

I found the parralel stories confusing initially, as I somehow missed that Eliza was sharing parts from her soon to be published book. I enjoyed it although it was a little (maybe a lot) far fetched. Not sure how I felt about the ending as I'm still not sure what really happened, but given that the book was about mind games and manipulation, the ending was very fitting in that respect.

review
EJG31
post image
Mehso-so

I was definitely expecting more from this book. It is an easy read but did not grab or hold my attention at all.

review
EJG31
The Rabbit Listened | Cori Doerrfeld
post image
Pickpick

A gentle reminder that silence is often golden. Instead of trying to fix things or offer solutions, little rabbit was just there for Taylor and it made all the diiference in the world.

13 likes1 stack add
quote
EJG31
post image

Really need to read this book. I spoke hurtfully to someone this morning stemming from an issue that happened almost 2 years ago (that I obviously can't let go of) and as soon as the words were out of my mouth, it was too late. It has ruined my day, maybe theirs and others, but mostly I'm pissed off at myself right now. #thinkbeforeyouspeak #bethebettterperson #youcanttakeitback

10 likes1 stack add
review
EJG31
Pickpick

Excellent book. Check out my full review on Goodreads: #Edelweiss+ https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35959168-the-secrets-between-us

blurb
EJG31
Tradition | Brendan Kiely
post image

Currently reading..

blurb
EJG31
The Lido | Libby Page
This post contains spoilers
show me
post image

I enjoyed this book from beginning to end, even when it brought tears to my eyes; the setting, the characters, the story, the writing, and the story. Such an endearing, heartfelt book about friendship, community, personal struggles and believing in oneself. Perfect for fans of Fredrik Backman, Rachel Joyce, Gabrielle Zevin, Robin Sloan, Jonas Jonasson.
Thank you @simonandschuster and #NetGalley for this opportunity. Coming in July 2018

14 likes1 stack add
blurb
EJG31
post image

I was hooked by the second chapter. I was looking forward to starting this because I thoroughly enjoyed her debut book 'Himself'. It is not a fast paced story, and I am ok with putting it down, but the intrigue is there nonetheless. Interesting characters and plot.

21 likes1 stack add
review
EJG31
From Ant to Eagle | Alex Lyttle
post image
Pickpick

Great read. For my full review go to, https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2381332545

Beckys_Books Nice review. 13mo
EJG31 Thanks @Beckys_Books, I appreciate hearing that. I struggle with book talking so I'm working on it. I have a hard time reviewing books without rambling on and on, so I struggle when trying to provide readers advisory at work. 🙂 13mo
15 likes2 comments
review
EJG31
Far from the Tree | Robin Benway
post image
Pickpick

Enjoyed listening to this book. Good storyline, I thought the author did a good job in her portrayal of their lives and emotions and how they come together. Good YA book.

review
EJG31
post image
Pickpick

In this memoir, O'Farrell shares 17 instancesof how she or someone around her has come close to death. I like her writing style, not too flowery, but descriptive enough and at the same time succint enough to draw the reader into the experience. Fictional short stories have always left me wanting so I avoid them, but these were just rght.
Looking forward to reading her other books.

erzascarletbookgasm Nice review. Good to know, I have this on my TBR, hope to get to it soon :) 14mo
19 likes1 comment
review
EJG31
Still Me | Jojo Moyes
post image
Pickpick

Loved it. Lou has moved to NYC for a year, leaving her new boyfriend Sam and the comforts of home behind. Working for a wealthy family has its perks, until it doesn't. There are more than a few surprises for her during this year, but probably none greater than the personal discovers she makes about herself.

blurb
EJG31
post image

@BookishBeth & @bookworm83, I made a dent in my decluttering and the book. I will probably rewind a couple chapters because I was not giving it my full attention. So far I am enjoying it.
#cleanupisle18

EJG31 @BookishBeth and @bookworm83, I did some more listening today on my walk, I'm on chapter 8 today. How are you ladies doing? #cleanupisle18 #walknread 13mo
BookishBeth I‘m about halfway through the book and have some chores in my plans for tonight. I‘ll do some more listening then.🤓 13mo
15 likes2 comments
review
EJG31
Every Note Played | Lisa Genova
Pickpick

Another tear jerker from Lisa Genova, this time dealing with ALS. I have enjoyed all her books despite the fact they made me cry.

review
EJG31
A Discovery of Witches | Deborah E. Harkness
Pickpick

Never in a million years did I think that I would read, let alone love a book with witches, werewolves and vampires, but I listened to this trilogy and absolutely loved it. It was amazing!!!

PurpleyPumpkin Ahh, this has been on my tbr for a very long time! Your review is encouraging me to push it up my list. 👍🏽😉 14mo
15 likes1 comment
review
EJG31
Us Against You | Fredrik Backman
post image
Pickpick

Beartown was great but I was surprised that I liked "Us Against You", more. When i finished it all I could say was "wow!"
Thank you #NetGalley

StillLookingForCarmenSanDiego Welcome to Litsy 🖐😁 1y
Wife Welcome to Litsy!🌹 1y
CarolynM Welcome to Litsy🌼 1y
See All 8 Comments
asiriusreader Welcome to Litsy! 1y
BookNerd9906 Welcome! Have you read Ove yet? 14mo
Jess7 Ohhh sooo jealous! 14mo
Karkar I cannot wait to read this one!! 14mo
26 likes8 comments
review
EJG31
Endling #1: The Last | Katherine Applegate
post image
Pickpick

One of my favourite authors. Quite different from her other books as it is darker and more action packed. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and was excited to discover it is the first in a series. Looking forward to #2.

#netgalley

14 likes1 stack add
review
EJG31
Beartown: A Novel | Fredrik Backman
post image
Pickpick

I started reading this book as an advanced reader copy and couldn't get into it. Last August a co-worker asked if I had a read it cause she loved it and we have similar reading tastes. I read it in a few days and loved it. Backman is a great stoyteller, I enjoyed all his books so far. This book is so relevant to the times and definitely makes you think.

#netgalley

erzascarletbookgasm I hope to read it this month. Welcome back to Litsy :) 1y
LitsyBuddyRead Week 3 Discussion (through chapter 38, page 301 is now up). The final #litsybuddyread discussion for this book will be posted Sunday, April 29th. 14mo
17 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
EJG31
Scythe | Neal Shusterman
post image
Pickpick

Excellent read! It definitely lived up to all the hype it is receiving. @blacksheep I only wish I'd thought to bring Thunderhead home with me as I can't wait to get started.

blacksheep It was SO good! I was lucky to come across Thunder Head in Walmart! 1y
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Welcome to Litsy!! 📚🎉💗 1y
EJG31 @Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Thank you, I'm still finding my way and figuring out how it works. 1y
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks @EJG31 You‘re welcome!! Checkout these #Litsytips: http://bit.ly/litsytips and #LitsyHowTo videos: http://bit.ly/litsyvideos There‘s so many fun things to do: book exchanges, buddy reads, photo challenges and more! 🎊🙌🏻🎉📚 (edited) 1y
staci.reads Welcome to Litsy! 🙌 14mo
11 likes1 stack add5 comments
review
EJG31
Pickpick

Dish

Chelleo Welcome to Litsy! I loved this one too! 1y
PurpleyPumpkin I really enjoyed this one too. 🙌🏽 14mo
6 likes2 comments
review
EJG31
Sun Is Also a Star | Nicola Yoon
Pickpick

Loved this book.

PurpleyPumpkin Yes!!!🙌🏽 14mo
3 likes1 comment
review
EJG31
Good Dog | Dan Gemeinhart
Pickpick

Another great story by Dan Gemeinhart. Narrated by a recently deceased loyal dog who is determined to return to earth and make sure "his boy" is safe, before he enters the afterlife. Thus begins Brodie's harrowing journey as he pieces together the murky and unsettling flashbacks that he hopes will lead him to his boy one last time before it's too late for him to go to Heaven.

review
EJG31
The Journey of Little Charlie | Christopher Paul Curtis
post image
Pickpick

What a great book for middle grade students. An intriguing story told in first person by 12 year old Charlie Bobo, as he somewhat unwillingly becomes part of a mission to capture a slave family who escaped to Detroit, and return them to South Carolina. It will make a great classroom read-aloud and is perfect for children who enjoy historical fiction or action adventure stories.