Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
#mglit
review
kateteaching7and8
Banjo | Graham Salisbury
post image
Pickpick

This is a fast-paced and heartrending story. The books focuses on relationships (both between humans and humans and animals). There is also a strong focus on trust. The chapters are fairly quick and the story pulls you in. This is perfect for reluctant readers. This is a great middle grades book for readers who enjoy books about dogs and their relationships with people. It's also set in eastern Oregon and will be out in October. #mglit #dogbook

review
kateteaching7and8
Each Tiny Spark | Pablo Cartaya
Pickpick

This book is absolutely amazing, and I have so many good things to say. I love that it brings attention to neurodiveristy, PTSD, and immigration issues/laws. This book covers some big issues and it does so in a way that is accessible to middle grade readers and get them thinking about what is going on in their world. I'm looking forward to reading other books by Cartaya. #mglit #middlegradelit #readinginthemiddle

review
kateteaching7and8
The Crooked Sixpence | Jennifer Bell
post image
Pickpick

This is a quirky middle grades novel full of magic, mystery, and intrigue. I loved the world of Lundinor and learning about all the uses for uncommon objects. The characters and world are unique and the story had a solid mystery line. Sometimes it's easy to predict what will happen next, but this book had some twists that I didn't see coming. #mglit #mgseries #fantasy #middlegradelit #readinginthemiddle

jenniferajanes Welcome to Litsy!🎉📚 4mo
3 likes1 comment
review
kateteaching7and8
Bad Magic (Bad, #1) | Pseudonymous Bosch
post image
Pickpick

This book is full of mystery, adventure, and humor. I love all the allusions to The Tempest (which is one of my favorite Shakespeare plays). I also loved the use of annotations by the narrator they not only provided additional information, but insight into the mysterious narrator, and humor to the overall story. I think this is a great book for my readers who like James Patterson books. #mglit #readinginthemiddle #middlegradelit #badmagic

blurb
heidisreads
Roll | Darcy Miller
post image

A #kidfreeweekend means I not only read a book in a day - I READ A BOOK IN ONE SITTING! And this one was SO good! A story of friendship during "that" age when friends are growing up at different speeds. Set in #minnesota ❤️❤️❤️ The main characters reminded me of Jess and Leslie in Bridge to Terabithia. #kidlit #mglit

12 likes2 stack adds
blurb
absolutebookish
post image

Finished Walk on Earth yesterday & loved it! Will definitely continue the series!
So I decided to start reading The Jumbies! I had to...I've been neglecting my #MGlit. Gotta mix it up. Don't want to suffer "mal-LIT-trition". ? No? Too much? Sorry. ?
Well, let's just say that so far I'm LOVING THIS BOOK! I ? Corinne, our brave & bold MC. The setting, a beautiful Caribbean island. And our Jumbie, so cunning & elusive. Can't wait to find out more.

WhatDeeReads So. Good! And there‘s a sequel. 2y
absolutebookish @WhatDeeReads 💙💙💙 That's actually what encouraged me to read this book. And I'm looking forward to it already! 😄 2y
5 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
itsabbe
Nest | Esther Ehrlich
post image

Summer weekends mean hours in the park, peach iced tea, and books set in Cape Cod. #mglit

blurb
aLmYbNeNr
post image

Eleven-year-old Zomorod has moved four times in her short life, starting with her family's move from Iran to America. Starting over yet again and now entering middle school, Zomorod decides to go by "Cindy" to make the new girl transition a bit easier. She does make some friends despite having to sidestep ignorant questions about camels and other perceived notions of her culture; and that's only if people realize she and her family aren't Mexican.

aLmYbNeNr But then Iran starts making the news. There's a revolution happening and then a group of American are held hostage. Cindy and her family become targets of racism and prejudice. How can she balance Iranian and American culture along with middle school and all of the hate? 2y
aLmYbNeNr Set in late 1970s America during the Iranian Revolution and crisis, the content of this semi-autobiographical novel is relevant today. Themes include new kid worries and friendships, family issues, and identity. Suggested for fans of Lucky Broken Girl and Blackbird Fly. 2y
23 likes1 stack add4 comments
blurb
absolutebookish
post image

Starting Razzle Dazzle Unicorn for the @24in48 Hour Readathon! I love Phoebe and Marigold...they're soooo cute and funny! I've been a fan of this series so far, so I'm sure I'll love this book, too! 😄
Reading slump, you're going down!
#RazzleDazzleUnicorn #fantasy #mglit #graphicnovels #24in48 #Readathon #ReadingChallenge

blurb
aLmYbNeNr
post image

We did a mini genre project at work over the past few months. My genre was multicultural books and due in June. I'll be sharing a few of the books here. Below is my annotation:

Fourth grader Mateo Martinez is living through a bit of a rough patch. His best friend used to be Johnny Ramirez, but Johnny doesn't hang out with him anymore. Mateo starts hanging out with Ashwin, who shares his values of bravery, loyalty, and honor.

aLmYbNeNr In fact, the two often pretend to be medieval knights and their bikes are their trusty steeds.

But...pretending to be a knight gets Mateo into trouble. Strike two. Then, one night Mateo's old trike that was handed down to his little sister goes missing. His parents think he's hiding it from Mila, so he enlists Ashwin to help catch the thieves.
2y
aLmYbNeNr Of course, Mila insists on tagging along. To Mateo's immense surprise, it turns out that skunks stole Mila's trike and...they talk? 2y
aLmYbNeNr The title character's Mexican American culture is there but not heavily focused on. Expect strong themes of bullying, friendship, and sibling relationships. Recommended for reluctant readers, as well as fans of adventure and anthropomorphic characters. Suggest to young readers interested in Rick Riordan's books but who aren't quite ready for them yet.#themidnightwarofmateomartinez #robinyardi #booksandflowers #booksandfood 2y
17 likes3 stack adds4 comments