Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Learning to Breathe
Learning to Breathe | Janice Lynn Mather
7 posts | 6 read | 12 to read
Sixteen-year-old Indy struggles to conceal her pregnancy while searching for a place to belong in this stunning debut novel thats perfect for fans of Amber Smith and Sara Zarr. Indira Ferguson has done her best to live by her Grammys rulesto study hard in school, be respectful, and to never let a boy take advantage of her. But it hasnt always been easy, especially while living in her mothers shadow. When Indy is sent to live with distant relatives in Nassau, trouble follows her. Now she must hide an unwanted pregnancy from her aunt, who would rather throw Indy out onto the street than see the truth. Completely broke with only a hand-me-down pregnancy book as a resource, Indy desperately looks for a safe space to call home. After stumbling upon a yoga retreat, she wonders if perhaps shes found the place. But Indy is about to discover that home is much bigger than just four walls and a roofits about the people she chooses to share it with.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
Eggs
Learning to Breathe | Janice Lynn Mather
post image

1️⃣ 🇺🇸
2️⃣ 🇧🇸
3️⃣ 🇨🇦
4️⃣ 🇮🇪
@wanderinglynn #hellothursday

wanderinglynn Thanks for playing! 🌎 10mo
75 likes2 comments
blurb
Eggs
Learning to Breathe | Janice Lynn Mather
post image

Janice Lynn Mather's debut novel resonates with warmth and purpose in a style that is almost poetic. It worked for me and made the characters real.

SW-T I was hesitant when I started it, but fell into it happily as it went along. Wanted to eat the food too! 10mo
81 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
MaggieCarr
Learning to Breathe | Janice Lynn Mather
post image
Pickpick

“A powerful, poignant story about refusing to let the past dictate who you are or who you will become.” —Kirkus Reviews When Indy is sent to live with relatives in Nassau, trouble follows her. Now she must hide an unwanted pregnancy from her aunt, who would rather throw Indy out onto the street than see the truth. Indy is about to discover that home is much bigger than just four walls and a roof—it‘s about the people she chooses to share it with.

review
EJG31
Learning to Breathe | Janice Lynn Mather
post image
Pickpick

Highly recommend this YA fiction book about family relationships, struggling to be more than a stereotype and perseverance. Loved the main character Indy. This is a part of the blurb inside the jacket cover that sums up the premise of the book.

15 likes1 stack add
review
SW-T
Learning to Breathe | Janice Lynn Mather
post image
Pickpick

Enjoyed Indy‘s story of wanting to be normal and learning to breathe. Set against a backdrop of family bonds, broken trust, and finding your own identity when everyone around her kept telling her who they thought she was, in unflattering terms. Vivid descriptions of places and especially food. Also liked the yoga retreat and its staff.

blurb
SW-T
Learning to Breathe | Janice Lynn Mather
post image

Heard this was good, but so far it‘s even better than expected! #bookaholic #pleasantlysurprised #reading

blurb
Kelly
Learning to Breathe | Janice Lynn Mather
post image

Back to some ereading. I've been told this one is super good.

34 likes2 stack adds