Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Spanish Daughter
The Spanish Daughter: A Gripping Latinx Historical Novel | Lorena Hughes
11 posts | 7 read | 3 to read
An engrossing, suspenseful family saga filled with unpredictable twists and turns. Chanel Cleeton, New York Times bestselling author of Next Year in Havana A lushly written story of bittersweet family secrets and betrayals. Andrea Penrose, author of Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens Perfect for fans of Julia Alvarez and Silvia Moreno-Garcia, this riveting novel takes you inside the real-life history of early twentieth century Ecuador and the coastal town known as the birthplace of cacao. Told in rich detail, this beautiful novel of sweeping historical fiction from an award-winning author is not to be missed. As a child in Spain, Puri always knew her passion for chocolate was inherited from her father. But its not until his death that she learns of something else shes inheriteda cocoa estate in Vinces, Ecuador, a town nicknamed Pars Chiquito. Eager to claim her birthright and filled with hope for a new life after the devastation of World War I, she and her husband Cristbal set out across the Atlantic Ocean. But it soon becomes clear someone is angered by Puris claim to the estate When a mercenary sent to murder her aboard the ship accidentally kills Cristbal instead, Puri dons her husbands clothes and assumes his identity, hoping to stay safe while she searches for the truth of her fathers legacy in Ecuador. Though freed from the rules that women are expected to follow, Puri confronts other challenges at the estatenewfound siblings, hidden affairs, and her fathers dark secrets. Then there are the dangers awakened by her attraction to an enigmatic man as she tries to learn the identity of an enemy who is still at large, threatening the future she is determined to claim Passionate and suspenseful, The Spanish Daughter is a satisfying historical mystery set in a lush tropical land. Foreword Reviews STARRED REVIEW EngrossingAs addictive as chocolate. Publishers Weekly
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
WhisperingRealms
post image
Pickpick

Read this with an open mind to walk in a character‘a shoes that will face some interesting experiences. This is not your traditional love story, but it is something so much more. It‘s the essence of what makes us stop. When we embrace another perspective, we learn a great deal about ourselves. Puri‘s journey was a beautiful and amazing discovery of what it means to find forgiveness, move forward, and embrace new beginnings.

5 likes1 stack add
blurb
BarkingMadRun
post image

Finished this today! Such a good book! A very quick read and with that, my #bookspin is done! My #doublebookspin is Sanditon, which I‘m buddy reading so that will be done later in the month! @TheAromaofBooks

TheAromaofBooks Woohoo!!! 4mo
Bookish_Gal Both of these books were really good 4mo
43 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
Roary47
post image
Pickpick

4✨We go back and forth in time with 3 characters to unfold secrets, and mystery. Our main character is disguised 🥸 as her husband after an attack to them both from a mysterious scared man. The fight for their lives leaves her husband dead and the question of who sent someone to dispose of them? I had a lot of thoughts, but figured it out right before the reveal. It was repetitive at times, but not overly distracting.

Roary47 I realized just now that this was my #bookspin also. Yay! @TheAromaofBooks 4mo
TheAromaofBooks Woohoo!!! 4mo
9 likes2 comments
review
Bookish_Gal
post image
Pickpick

This was a book with a front on family chocolate business, hiding a story on the hidden world of men. Puri learns this many ways through her late father, a plantation worker, and even her married sister. From being unrestrained to a wild attraction to many women. She learns to appreciate her late husband more as she impersonates him. There‘s a lot going on. ending left me satisfied enough, although I didn‘t see it coming from past twists
#ouabc

blurb
Bookish_Gal
post image

Blizzard like storm is done and we‘re piled in pretty well. (Shoveled out too) Basic New England life here. Needed a cup of hot cocoa for this book about a cocoa plantation.
In which the plot thickens on the mystery of who wants Puri dead, and why. It‘s keeping well my attention just with Puri pretending to be her husband and learning “the ways of men”
#ouabc

review
Allylu
post image
Pickpick

I thought the story was very good. Puri inherited a cacao plantation from her father and an attempt was made on her life en route to Ecuador, then her husband was killed. To find the killer, Puri posed as her husband and told her siblings she died at sea. The results were interesting. #6 #BookSpinBingo #11 #BFC2022 #JUMPSTART2022 #ReadtheSpanishSpeakingWorld Ecuador #Pantone2022ColourChallenge Basil #TidyBookshelfDiverseReading #Wintercosy

Clwojick Brilliant! 💖 5mo
Roary47 I just got this in my once upon a book club box. It looks really interesting. 😍 5mo
wanderinglynn That sounds like an interesting plot. 5mo
TheAromaofBooks Woohoo!!! 5mo
25 likes4 comments
blurb
Bookish_Gal
post image

The premise of this story sounds so intriguing- lady in Spain learns she inherits late father cocoa plantation in Ecuador. Not just that, but she has to disguise herself dad her husband in order to take the title as women aren‘t allowed to. Heavy feminist vibes with how it sounds she wants what she is told is hers. Also, it‘s about how todays chocolate got started in the 1920‘s 🍫 😋
#ouabc

review
PatriciaU
post image
Pickpick

From the Publisher: Set against the lush backdrop of early twentieth century Ecuador and inspired by the real-life history of the coastal town known as the birthplace of cacao, this captivating #OwnVoices novel from the award-winning author of The Sisters of Alameda Street tells the story of a resourceful young chocolatier who must impersonate a man in order to survive.

From me: Read this gorgeous book!

review
abookishbutterfly
post image
Pickpick

Although I felt the writing style was a bit bland, the narrative is packed with a richness that helps make up for what the writing lacks. The historical and cultural detail, along with a compelling mystery, kept me invested all the way through. I also found Puri‘s perspective on how differently she was treated as a man interesting.

My full review: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/4363687964

blurb
PatriciaU
post image

Settling in for a quiet afternoon with my pup and a new book. Just the pace I need today.

blurb
Rhondareads
post image

Gorgeous cover rave reviews perfect read for this holiday weekend.