Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell
The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell | Chris Colfer
159 posts | 239 read | 7 reading | 96 to read
Alex and Conner Bailey's world is about to change, in this fast-paced adventure that uniquely combines our modern day world with the enchanting realm of classic fairy tales.The Land of Stories tells the tale of twins Alex and Conner. Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, they leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about. But after a series of encounters with witches, wolves, goblins, and trolls alike, getting back home is going to be harder than they thought.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
hannah-leeloo
post image

Although I wasn't planning on picking a series I have decided I need the escape. My current read and am enjoying it so far. I'm not in the best place in most ways right now so I'm inhaling this. Anyone else read the series? I do hope you're all ok. Hugs to you all, happy reading and weekend littens 📚❤️📖 #fairytales #journey #siblings #magic #fantasy

Roary47 This is a fun series! I‘m working through it too. 💛 1mo
Cupcake12 It‘s on my list. We loved Chris in Glee. Sending love ❤️ 1mo
hannah-leeloo Which book you on @Roary47 ? Love to you too @Cupcake12 ❤️ 1mo
See All 6 Comments
Roary47 @hannah-leeloo I am on book 5. I‘ve given most of them 5 ✨s I just love the quirky funny character and how well it is written. 1mo
Bibliomania I've read the first two so far and love them. I always worry when I start a series that the books are going to get less good as you go through them but so far I've loved books 1 and 2. Great escapism. 1mo
hannah-leeloo I've nearly finished book 1 and I'm greatly enjoying it @Bibliomania looking forward to book 2 1mo
57 likes6 comments
quote
Besties4ever

My most educated analysis with all science and math a hand is that it‘s magic- Alex Bailey 👍👍👍👍

review
Besties4ever
Pickpick

I love this book it puts a new spin on fairytales and is the first in an amazing series. ❤️❤️❤️

blurb
BethM
Wishing Spell | Chris Colfer
post image

I feel bad and frustrated. We celebrated several bdays one of which was my 10 yo niece. When asked what she wanted her mom said unicorns, I asked if she still liked to read ,yes. So we got her the first three Chris Colfer books. She then came up to me and said she doesn‘t want books anymore. First it makes me sad that I was so off the mark. Second I‘m just frustrated. Who says that? My mom would‘ve killed me.

Kshakal I would have never said that!! Plus it makes me so sad that she wouldn‘t want books… especially those, I love those books! 4mo
MegaWhoppingCosmicBookwyrm Did she maybe mean she doesn‘t want physical books? Is she an e-reader? It is sad if she really doesn‘t want anything to do with reading anymore…but hopefully it‘ll just be a phase. 🤷‍♀️ 4mo
Smrloomis Oh no, sorry to hear that! 😣 I‘m surprised she said that to you and hopefully it‘s a phase! Maybe her friends don‘t think books are cool or something? 4mo
See All 9 Comments
Avanders That‘s rough. But I know they go in and out of these no-book phases these days 🤷🏽‍♀️ - my fiend‘s niece went through the same phase around the same time! Bummer though—I stick it out. I still get my friends kids (closest thing I have to nieces and nephews) 1 book for each holiday, in addition to whatever else I might get. They can ignore if they want, but they‘re big readers again!! (The girl is 13 now :)) 4mo
BethM @MegaWhoppingCosmicBookwyrm nope just no books period. @Smrloomis @Avanders @Kshakal thanks. Hopefully it‘s a phase, I doubt it though. I know they‘re having some behavioral issues too. And yea I always try to do at least one book per kid bc I know my SILs don‘t encourage reading. 4mo
Nebklvr Her parents need to remind her of a little thing called manners. When I give out candy, there is always someone who asks for two. Your choices are none or one. 4mo
BethM @Nebklvr I agree but I‘m not going to say anything bc it‘s not my blood family. Plus they‘re very weird about us giving any correction to the kids bc we were the last to have any. 4mo
Nebklvr That is weird. But good on you for being the bigger person. 4mo
Avanders Oh that‘s rough… if the parents aren‘t encouraging reading (or providing direction to the kiddos via correction), then… well it can be an uphill battle. Good for you for being consistent! That‘s incredibly valuable. ❤️❤️❤️ 4mo
29 likes9 comments
blurb
Holliereads
post image

A passage I love in this book. I love marking those parts that just speak to me in a book. 😌

blurb
Roary47
post image

Not a bad month! I actually read 4 books instead of just audio reading the majority of the time. It‘s hard to physically read with two very active young kids. I got 2, 5✨ reads in the tagged and Dog Man. Plus I‘m half way through 3 books I‘m planning on finishing very soon.

review
Roary47
post image
Pickpick

All✨ I wish I could give more than 5, because this book would get it. I love fairy tale retellings and this one has so much adventure, magic, and humor. Twins Conner and Alex have been having a really rocky year. Then they fall through their Grandmother‘s storybook and start living the stories they grew up with. To get home they need magical items to make a wishing spell. Along the way they learn more about themselves and the secrets within. ⬇️

Roary47 Originally, I wanted to read this story because I loved Chris Colfer in Glee. However, I read it this time for #FairyTaleReading Challenge @Charityann since the main villain is Snow Whites, Evil Queen. It is also my #BookSpinBingo @TheAromaofBooks (edited) 11mo
Roary47 @Littlewolf1 This is also a #RoaringWolf read “Finally”. 11mo
TheAromaofBooks Woohoo!!! 11mo
20 likes3 comments
review
Mshookquilts
post image
Pickpick

We got snowed in the day after Christmas and I ran out of books. My daughter loaned the Garber book and my grandson also loaned me this book knowing I‘d have to finish it at home. I loved that Chris Colfer stuck closer to the original fairy tales than the Disney version. This was a delightful adventure. Twins fall into their story book and go on all kinds of ventures in their attempt to get back home.

blurb
Roary47
post image

Yes! This has been on the waiting list for a while and it has Snow White in the prologue so I‘m planning on this for January for #Fairytalereading challenge. Woot woot! Thank you for hosting @Charityann

blurb
Folts

I love books that take a new look at an old story, especially a fairy tale. So good!

2 likes1 stack add
review
BookBr
Pickpick

This was a fun read, with enough inventiveness to keep it going and likeable characters. The language was a bit repetitive and it was trying a little too hard to be cinematic, if that makes sense. Jay says: I liked it; it was fun and exciting. Jay is a lot less chatty at 13😂 But I know he really liked it because he kept wanting to read more!

blurb
IhoardBOOKS
Wishing Spell | Chris Colfer
post image

Fun middle grade fantasy book about twin siblings that fall into a fairytale book and try to work out how to escape. Along the way they learn the extras to the fairy tales they grew up with and more.
I liked the story but I really disliked the audiobook, there was music playing the entire time in the background of the narrator and it was incredibly distracting. I‘ve already done book 2 though and can say that‘s not a problem going forward.

blurb
BookBr
post image

When we still read together, which is more often than it could be, for sure, Jay and I are working through Land of Stories. It‘s...okay — somewhat predictable and not as well edited as it could be, but the characters are believable and engaging and the plot keeps moving well enough. Jay LOVES it, so that‘s a recc right there. #YA #jayreads

review
Ast_Arslan
post image
Mehso-so

Too childish and trivial for me!
I think it could be perfect at a very young age, but for an adult it's not so entertaining. I found out the final twists from the very beginning 😅
2½⭐⭐/5

blurb
Ast_Arslan
post image

This could be a picture of my childhood, but it's not!
The cake is called 'Torta della Nonna' (Granny's cake translated... Idk why) and it's a famous italian cake with custard and pine nuts 😋 Delicious!
After #Therailwayman I picked up #Thelandofstories #Thewishingspell ... I need something less challenging 😅🤣

charl08 That looks amazing! 2y
Ast_Arslan @charl08 it is 🤣 2y
19 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
ravenlee
post image
Bailedbailed

I tried reading the tagged aloud with the kiddo, and after three weeks and 148 pages I talked her into bailing. Maybe it would be better read alone? I feel like the idea has been done before and better (Sisters Grimm, for instance). Might give it a try again another time, or just leave it for the kiddo.

On to Harry Potter! I‘m hoping to savor this first time through with the kiddo, alternating books and movies, and taking our time about it.

katy4peas Land of stories is often a read-alike to HP. You might like the Edward Eager books! 😊 2y
28 likes1 comment
review
megnews
post image
Pickpick

The gang‘s all here. Snow White, Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, the Little Mermaid, the Frog Prince, Little Red, Goldilocks, Jack, Prince Charming, Mother Goose and more in this wonderful fairy tale world.

blurb
Aswenson
post image

Almost done with book one. Only took all summer! ☺️

JenReadsAlot Love this picture! 2y
Sace This picture deserves the #BestOfLitsy award! 🏅 2y
CatLass007 😻😻😻😻😻 2y
34 likes4 comments
blurb
BookBelle84
post image

Day 3 #20series20days #top20series

I absolutely love these kids adventures in the fairy tale world.

EadieB I haven't heard of this series before. Looks interesting! 2y
31 likes2 stack adds1 comment
blurb
rose.colored.books
post image

New post on instagram today! @rose.colored.books

review
books45
post image
Pickpick

This was a great book by Chris Colfer! (I would give it a 4.9 out of 5 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.9) You should really give this book a read can‘t wait to read book 2! 📚

review
Hestapleton
post image
Pickpick

This was the right book at the right time. I started reading this the day after my grandma passed and I finished it on the day we bury her. To escape into a world of fairy tales and light adventure was exactly what I needed. That‘s the magic of stories and why I‘ll always be a reader. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Book 11/12 for #bfc28

Sharv_Sona I know right the book is AWESOME!! 3y
Sharv_Sona Don't forget to check out the other books in the series. 3y
Sharv_Sona I am sorry to hear about your grandmother. 😔😭 3y
Emily92Bibliophile Wonderful series. About to start the 6th and last one💙His audiobooks are amazing as well! Colfer is an amazing narrator. So sorry to hear about your grandmother 💔 3y
70 likes4 comments
review
Madison_swart
post image
Pickpick

This MF book about twins who go to a magical land alongside the fairytale characters that they read about growing up. This would be a great PR so they can talk about what connections they can make with the characters. Thelandofstories.com has all the information about this book and the rest in the series as well as other cool videos and activities.

Madison_swart EL strategy use discovery learning activities and UDL principle 8.3 foster collaboration and community. #UCFLAE3414sp20 3y
carolinem Wow I love the cover of this book! 3y
deiacovab Wow I know you‘re not supposed to judge by a cover but this one really pulls me in. I‘d love to read this one 3y
See All 11 Comments
Keishla.O I love stories of this genre, I will have have to check this book out! Great resource for students and teachers! 3y
Brennap That sounds so fun and I bet most kids would know the characters! I would love to read! 3y
McKaylaH Terrific resource, interesting book!! Thank you for sharing, definitely have to check this out! 3y
ShardaeP This sounds so interesting. Also, I love the cover page. 3y
RaivionneC Great choice Madison! I love this genre, I will define have to check this read out thanks for sharing they align perfectly with your UDL also! 3y
Sharv_Sona I have already read all the books 3y
Sharv_Sona And to you who are planning to check out the book, don't forget to read the other ones in the series!! 😄 3y
DrSpalding I have not seen this resource yet! I‘m thrilled you chose to read this story. It is an excellent series that teachers are reading aloud to their students and students can‘t get enough! This could be considered traditional literature or fantasy. 3y
9 likes11 comments
quote
Sharv_Sona

"Sometimes we forget about our own advantages because we focus on what we don't have. Just because you have to work a little harder at something that seems easier to others doesn't mean you're without your own talents"

quote
Sharv_Sona
Wishing Spell | Chris Colfer

"Courage is one thing that no one can ever take from you."

Nute Welcome to Litsy! It‘s a warm and friendly community. I know that you will enjoy yourself here. I‘m looking forward to getting to know you!🙂 3y
Sharv_Sona Thank you!! 3y
Sharv_Sona 😄 3y
2 likes3 comments
quote
Sharv_Sona

"A villain is a victim whose story hasn't been told"

rather_be_reading welcome to litsy 📚☕📚 #litsywelcomewagon 3y
Sharv_Sona Thank you! 😊😁 3y
Eggs Welcome to Litsy 🥳👏🏻🤗 3y
See All 6 Comments
Sharv_Sona Thank you 3y
Sharv_Sona 😊😁 3y
RaimeyGallant Welcome! 3y
4 likes6 comments
quote
raeglenn
post image

OMGOSH this book was soooo good!Best quote is when they are trapped in a cage and Alex says “kiss her you idiot,and we‘ll get out of here”🤣🤣🤣

IvorysBooks 😂 2y
6 likes1 comment
review
TheBookKeepers
post image
Pickpick

I enjoyed this MG book with my boys! We‘ve been reading it at bedtime since Aug & it definitely kept their interest. The author did a great job capturing the spirit of an elementary boy & girl that makes this relatable! Do you have any favorite Middle Grade books?

sblbooks I have so many favorites it's hard to pick just one. Have you read 3y
megnews Anything by Christopher Paul Curtis or Rita Williams-Garcia. 3y
TheBookKeepers @sblbooks no I haven‘t but it‘s on my TBR bc the cover art looked adorable lol!! 3y
ness My students have really loved the Rick Riordan Presents books, especially the Aru Shah series by Roshani Chokshi! 3y
100 likes2 stack adds4 comments
blurb
Gillyreads
post image

Under strict instructions from my 9yo sister to read this series asap

10 likes1 stack add
review
Wildeanise
post image
Pickpick

#3 the genre of the book is fiction fantasy this book is good so far it‘s about a boy and a girl that have a tight family situation with money, and the boy (Conner) is doing really bad in school. Their grandma gives them a book that they read when they were younger but they didn‘t know that it was enchanted until Alex ( girl) goes into it and they get lost in this enchanted book. Read this if you like enchanted story‘s full of fun and adventure.

MissYaremcio I love this! It sounds like Jumanji! Great review! 3y
5 likes1 comment
blurb
Soubhiville
post image

Here‘s my #bookreport!
I finished my #OwlPost book, and also the above. Arms From the Sea was not for me. I‘m loving The Circle!

Cinfhen Looks like a productive week... I was NOT a fan of The Circle 🙃glad you‘re enjoying it 3y
Cinfhen How was Almost Sisters??? 3y
Soubhiville @Cinfhen I liked The Almost Sisters. There was focus not just on sisterly relationships, but those with nieces, grandmothers, and female friends. I loved the main character, a comic book artist who finds she‘s gotten pregnant accidentally. I also loved her grandmother, who is suffering from a type of dementia, but still wants control of her small town southern life. 3y
See All 6 Comments
Cinfhen Someone mentioned it for bookclub / what do you think!???! 3y
Soubhiville @Cinfhen it could be a good choice. It‘s a fun quick read, but there are issues to discuss- elder care, a bit of mystery, a bit about technology, and racism. I found it predictable, but not in a way that detracted from enjoying it. 3y
Cinfhen Thanks 😘 3y
58 likes6 comments
review
Emily92Bibliophile
post image
Pickpick

Great audiobook! First time to start reading Chris Colfer‘s series and LOVED it. He is a wonderful storyteller, and the audiobook made the story even more even more magical. Can‘t wait to continue this series !

blurb
Emily92Bibliophile
post image

Feeling a bit like Olivander at the moment 💫 I am immensely enjoying this book as an audiobook. Chris Colfer is a wonderful storyteller and I have no idea why I have put this series off for so long! ➡️QUESTION: What Harry Potter Character do you think I am dressing up as for Halloween? Wand is similar to my characters‘ but a little extra detail and glitter to make it my own ⬅️

Scochrane26 Mcgonagall? 3y
Emily92Bibliophile @Scochrane26 I wish! I hope to next year - I wanted to be a character I already had most of the costume for 😊 I‘ll post on Thursday who I am 👍🏻 3y
18 likes2 comments
review
jessinikkip
post image
Pickpick

This was a good book featuring twins trying to find their way home but also the big bad wolf pack, the evil Queen, trolls and goblins that kidnap and enslave people and a witch in a gingerbread house.

+11 point #TeamStoker(10 theme, 1 participation)
@TheReadingMermaid

BeansPage 🧟‍♀️ 3y
Sharv_Sona Spoils a lot though 3y
Sharv_Sona Anyways 3y
Sharv_Sona The book is AWESOME 3y
33 likes1 stack add4 comments
blurb
jessinikkip
post image

For Halloween I think I'll dress up as a gas station worker who is out of patience and just wants to read this book and do this #TeamStoker thing but people keep asking questions like "are the tacos tacos?" and "the salted pretzel. Is it...salted?" .....oh wait..... Thats every day.....

+1 @TheReadingMermaid

ljuliel At least your costume wouldn‘t cost you much. 3y
anewton91 So is the ice...made of like....real water? 3y
blank "Are the tacos tacos" What does that even mean? ? 3y
See All 8 Comments
BeansPage 🧟‍♀️ 3y
TalecArashi "I want my quesadilla WITH cheese" 3y
jessinikkip @laurenslibrary I'm still not sure but an older gentleman very angrily wanted the answer to it. 3y
jessinikkip @anewton91 no its made of all my hopes and dreams 3y
jessinikkip @TalecArashi now youre just being complicated :P 3y
34 likes8 comments
blurb
jessinikkip
post image

"I will continue to be degraded into nothing but a grotesque villain until the end of time. But what the world fails to realize is that a villain is just a victim whose story hasn't been told."

A great read for #TeamStoker
+1 point
@TheReadingMermaid

BeansPage 🧟‍♀️ 3y
38 likes1 comment
blurb
jessinikkip
post image

Starting a series that I heard is pretty good and I had to share this dedication! I'm glad to be reading a series I already expect to enjoy for #TeamStoker

+1 point @TheReadingMermaid

BeansPage 🧟‍♀️ 3y
Butterfinger I love that quote. 3y
32 likes2 comments
blurb
megnews
post image

From my tbr: a middle grade, modern day fairy tale mashup.

#spell #chillingphotochallenge #scarathlon

MariettaSG My daughter had to read this for year 6 and didn't find it very interesting. 3y
MariettaSG I feel it was too young for her. 3y
megnews @MariettaSG yes I think it‘s aimed more toward 3rd or 4th grade 3y
32 likes3 comments
blurb
VioletCavalier
post image

#7Days7Covers Day 3.

7 days, 7 covers you love.

Who's next?

megnews I‘m reading this for #BBRC Middle grade! 3y
VioletCavalier @megnews It's a good one! 3y
17 likes2 comments
review
paulareadsallthetime
post image
Mehso-so

I listened to the audiobook at work. It was entertaining but not one of my favorites.

review
lycomayflower
post image
Bailedbailed

I wanted to love this, but I found the characters flat and the dialogue really clunky. Oh, well. Onwards.

blurb
lycomayflower
post image

Circumstances are going to allow me to make reading a priority for the next week. Gonna see how many of these I can read by next Sunday. Tagged cut off the top of the photo.

GypsyKat Great stack!!! 3y
18 likes1 comment
blurb
TheBookKeepers
post image

Reading these along with my 5th grader! I love when he connects personally with book characters and I can see his own involvement in the plot 😍

NaomiO I love those books, they are truly a treasure. I love sharing them with my nieces. Amazing boundng moments. ❤ 3y
74 likes1 comment
review
Bookjunkie57
post image
Mehso-so

⭐️⭐️⭐️

blurb
Bookjunkie57

Mr Colfer keeps saying “fusstrated” instead of “frustrated” and it‘s annoying me sooooo much.

review
alisiakae
post image
Pickpick

I adore Chris Colfer. From his days on Glee, to his activism and what he has done since with this series, he is an incredible person. LoS is my daughter‘s favorite series along with HP, and it is with all of that in mind I give this a 👍. This is a reread; last time I listened to the audiobook. I do hope the writing and character development improves in the subsequent books. #bbrc #mgme #writtenbyanactor

#middlegrade #seriesread

TheSpineView 🤩🤩🤩 3y
alisiakae Apparently I was harsher on GR the first time I read it. My review from 2015: Three stars since my daughter loved it.

Certainly no Harry Potter, and the dialogue and writing is extremely stilted and left a lot to be desired. The fairy tale characters are cookie-cut outs and very one-dimensional, which was extremely disappointing. However, it did have a cute premise.
(edited) 3y
LibrarianRyan This has been on my TBR for a while. And everyone‘s tastes change with time. 3y
See All 8 Comments
alisiakae @LibrarianRyan Actually, my taste hasn't changed, I think I'm just being nicer. 😂The main reason I'm reading the whole series is in honor of my daughter's love for it. We often swap reading lists, and she has been asking me to finish the series (I bailed on the 2nd book the last time I read these), for a VERY long time. 3y
alisiakae @LibrarianRyan I will say I‘m a few chapters into the 2nd book and notice an improvement in Colfer‘s writing. I keep forgetting how young he was when the first one was published! (edited) 3y
LapReader I want some of that ice cream! 3y
alisiakae @LapReader It is so good! A Jeni‘s 🍦 shop opened near us a not too long ago, but the line is always really long, so I was excited to find it in the grocery store! 3y
LapReader We have only just got Ben and Jerry‘s in my part of Australia! 3y
94 likes5 stack adds8 comments
blurb
alisiakae
post image

Taking a much-needed break from the hell that is sorting LEGO sets. 🥵

daena That water bottle is everything! 3y
alisiakae @daena I love llamas! 😃 3y
AmyG It is so cute!!! 3y
See All 11 Comments
Scochrane26 😂😂 3y
Caroline2 Just don‘t step on them....🤬 3y
CoffeeK8 I give you a lot of credit for sorting.... I have given up on my son‘s sets 3y
alisiakae @CoffeeK8 we‘re getting ready to sell a bunch of sets, that‘s the only reason why I‘m doing this. 😂 3y
alisiakae @Caroline2 The worst pain in the world! 3y
CoffeeK8 @4thhouseontheleft 😂 that‘s the only reason I could imagine doing it 3y
Purrfectpages I want that bottle! 3y
alisiakae @Purrfectpages I found it at my local Books-A-Million, but I've seen it a few other places as well. It's made by Studio Oh. 3y
110 likes11 comments