Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Beast
Beast | Brie Spangler
A witty, wise, and heart-wrenching novel that will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan. Tall, meaty, muscle-bound, and hairier than most throw rugs, Dylan doesn't look like your average fifteen-year-old, so, naturally, high school has not been kind to him. To make matters worse, on the day his school bans hats (his preferred camouflage), Dylan goes up on his roof only to fall and wake up in the hospital with a broken leg--and a mandate to attend group therapy for self-harmers. Dylan vows to say nothing and zones out at therapy--until he meets Jamie. She's funny, smart, and so stunning, even his womanizing best friend, JP, would be jealous. She's also the first person to ever call Dylan out on his self-pitying and superficiality. As Jamie's humanity and wisdom begin to rub off on Dylan, they become more than just friends. But there is something Dylan doesn't know about Jamie, something she shared with the group the day he wasn't listening. Something that shouldn't change a thing. She is who she's always been--an amazing photographer and devoted friend, who also happens to be transgender. But will Dylan see it that way?
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
review
LoverofLit
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
Pickpick

This book was wholly unexpected, but in such a great way. I went into this thinking it was going to be light and fluffy (and it totally was!) but it also tackled tough topics and had some deep themes interspersed with heartwarming love. Not much in common with the original but still holds the message of "Don't judge a person on appearance" and "It's ok the be different." #pop19 #popsugar2019 #popsugarreadingchallenge
A Retelling of a Classic

43 likes3 stack adds
blurb
LoverofLit
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image

Well that's a new word I didn't know 😂😂

CrowCAH Wow! Thanks for sharing a new word; I didn‘t know throwing people from a window was a thing and that it had its own word!!! 6mo
26 likes1 comment
blurb
LoverofLit
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image

👊 What a punch right to the solar plexus that last line is 💔

22 likes2 stack adds
quote
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
22 likes2 stack adds
quote
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
13 likes1 stack add
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
review
Victoriahoperose
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
Pickpick

Oh how I loved this book. It was so incredibly unexpected. I went in thinking it would be a light and typical retelling of Beauty and the Beast and it was so much more than that. It really gave a new look to the old tale with the message of being open to love based on the core of people rather than what everyone else sees. This was really truly very good. Everyone should read this book.

LiteraryinLititz Great review! 1y
30 likes4 stack adds1 comment
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
10 likes1 stack add
review
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
Pickpick

I decided to read this book in honor of Pride Month. This was a very unique retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I usually don‘t go for contemporary novels but I had a good feeling about this one. It made me smile, laugh, and even cry a little bit. This is something that I recommend everyone should read. 🥀🏳️‍🌈⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ #Beast #BrieSpangler #book #books #bookgeek #bookgeeks #bookgeeky #bookgang #bookgasm #geek #geeks #geeky #bookgirls 💕💕💕💕💕

17 likes2 stack adds
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
16 likes1 stack add
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
Moodyreader I just got this one from my library! 2y
12 likes1 comment
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
quote
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
2 likes2 stack adds
blurb
Redjewel_7734
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image

#theretellingbookswap Wow!!! Such great choices 😍 Thank you so much @Alicia Your selections are perfect!!! My package to you will go out today. The last thing I was waiting on finally came in over the weekend 😊Hope you like my selects as much as I love what you picked for me 💜💜💜💜

Mommamanzi Beast has a beautiful cover! 2y
CoffeeCatsBooks I love looking at everyone's choices. Deathless looks really good. 2y
the-flashley East! I read that in middle school and absolutely loved it. You're making me all nostalgic! ❤️ 2y
See All 14 Comments
Alicia Im so glad you like these picks!!! This was such a fun swap! I can't wait to hear how you like them all! And don't stress on mine!! You got plenty of time! 2y
Redjewel_7734 @Mommamanzi I know! I 💜 it 😍😍😍 2y
Redjewel_7734 @CoffeeCatsBooks I think that‘s the one I‘m going to read first 😊 2y
Redjewel_7734 @The-Flashley I‘ve never read it so I‘m glad to know I‘ve got something great to look forward to...that may be my 2nd read after Deathless 😊 2y
Redjewel_7734 @Alicia I can‘t wait to see if you liked what I picked 😊 2y
Kalalalatja Deathless is awesome! 👌 2y
Alicia @Redjewel_7734 I'm sure I will love them!! I am so excited to see!! 2y
Redjewel_7734 @Kalalalatja 😍🙌🏻 2y
JazzFeathers Fantastic! Hey, what's that retelling of East of the Sun West of the Moon? That's one of my favourite fairy tales! 2y
Redjewel_7734 @JazzFeathers it‘s one of the fairy tales I wasn‘t super aware of, but I‘ve checked it out & can‘t see how this retelling reshapes it 😊 2y
114 likes14 comments
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
blurb
love2dazzle
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image

For today's #signedbooksundays photo prompt I am choosing Beast. Beast is a favorite of mine. Not to mention I love @briedanna she is amazing.
.
This is definitely a copy I hold dear since Brie signed it for me. I have to say I miss seeing her since she moved away from #pdx
.
#booknerdigans #bibliophile #booknerd #yalit #instabook #igreads #booklover #bookworm #bookaddict #dazzledbybooks #ireadya #bookdragon #bookish #becauseofreading #pnwreaders

11 likes2 stack adds
blurb
Prairiegirl_reading
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image

Happy #litsypartyofone!! I'm not totally loving this book but very much enjoying this evening of 📚& ☕️all by myself!!!

review
Crewgurl
Beast | Brie Spangler
Pickpick

Very interesting take on a serious subject. I liked it overall, but some of the character development was a little crazy.

blurb
AmandaL
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image

Currently reading: It's a take on Beauty and the Beast, where Beauty is a trans girl and Beast is a tall hairy 10th grade boy. The insta-love came on strong and quick, and it feels like some of the messages are being slammed over the readers head rather than organically coming up in the story.

Bibliogeekery I've been wanting to check this one out! #transbooks 3y
AmandaL @Bibliogeekery I think it's worth reading, but I've got some mixed feelings. Every time I start to feel like it's a sweet story, it becomes predictable. I'm a little over half way done. If you read it, I can't wait to read your thoughts on it! 3y
Bibliogeekery @AmandaL I was wondering whether it would be good or schmultzy. Will let you know what I think when I read it! 3y
44 likes2 stack adds3 comments
review
SpringtimeLibrarian
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
Pickpick

Wry, coversational, and endearing, I loved reading this book. Told from Dylan's point of view, I was rooting and hoping for his friendship and relationship with Jamie from the start. Spangler's writing and storytelling kept me reading late. It was a joy and a treat to read this novel.

review
Christy2318
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
Pickpick

Beauty & the Beast - Beauty is a trans girl & Beast is a 6'7" hairy 15 year old. Told from Beast's POV. - "I know that book you have gave you a million options to support in the most helpful Helpy McHelp-Help way, but here's the honest truth: I'm just a guy who likes a girl. So I'm whatever that's called and that's it." #diversebooks #romansty

Zelma I listened to Spangler on a panel addressing transgender books and all of her co-panelists (including Meredith Russo) were super excited about this book. 👍 3y
43 likes5 stack adds1 comment
review
UnidragonFrag
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
Mehso-so

Not sure how I feel about this. Jamie was the wise minority trope and Dylan was just so frustrating as a narrator. I'm not a fan of the whole miscommunication as a plot device thing.. but I guess it was interesting enough to keep me reading. I didn't realize when I got it from the library, but this is set in Portland. Second book in asmany months.

#borrowed #youngadult #transgender #lgbt #thatcovertho

LindsayReads I have that same bookmark! 3y
nicki @LindsayReads wow... I've never even seen a bookmark like that! I stood a moment looking at the image and thinking " this paints don't belong there" and only then I realised it was a bookmark... I guess I need some sleep 3y
UnidragonFrag @LindsayReads I got mine from work! @nicki haha .. that's why I got it! At first glance it does look like a paint pallet :) 3y
nicki @UnidragonFrag hahaha well... It's working pretty well! 3y
13 likes4 comments
blurb
BookishMarginalia
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image

At our happy place @TheBookmarkPR to #getindie -- here's the #TBRtemptation stack so far 🤓😎😊

UnidragonFrag I'm reading Beast right now. Not sure how I feel about it yet. Great stack! 3y
131 likes2 stack adds2 comments
blurb
UnidragonFrag
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image

Can I just say how pretty this cover is though?

I've got very mixed feelings so far. The reviews say the fact that Jamie is transexual is pretty much the only plot point and I don't dig when people use diversity like that. But other reviews say it's sweet.. so I guess we'll see. I'll give it three chapters.

review
libraryfangirly
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
Pickpick

One of the best LGBTQIA books I've read this year. Jamie's story is pretty authentic to stories of trans friends I've had in the past. Well-developed characters and a plot that moves along at a great pace. Excellent debut YA novel. #bookreview #bookstagram #booklr #youngadult #youngadultbooks #yalit #lgbtqia #queerbooks #queerlit #queer #booklover

13 likes3 stack adds
blurb
libraryfangirly
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image
annahenke Lovely photo! 3y
10 likes1 comment
quote
Garabrandtreviews
Beast | Brie Spangler

'I wanted to be her movie star , and now I‘m feeling like the guy sweeping up popcorn and scraping old gum and boogers off the seats.'

quote
Garabrandtreviews
Beast | Brie Spangler

'I grin to myself. If there‘s one charming thing passed down through time, it‘s that humans are all a bunch of horny nerds who can‘t wait to talk about it.'

quote
Garabrandtreviews
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image

Sorry... not sorry.

Garabrandtreviews Not done. Just started, but stayed up way too late 3y
3 likes1 comment
blurb
Garabrandtreviews
Beast | Brie Spangler

It's out!!!! I am so freaking excited! Also, I may not get much sleep for work.

quote
MidnightBookGirl
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image

Really enjoying this book!

blurb
MidnightBookGirl
Beast | Brie Spangler
post image

What I'm reading right now.