Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
capriciousreader

capriciousreader

Joined February 2016

capriciousreader.com / mom / wife / reader / graphic designer / blogger
reading now icon
The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula Le Guin
review
capriciousreader
The Phantom Forest | Liz Kerin
post image
Pickpick

Out July 16TH. This YA fantasy is unlike anything I‘ve read before. Set in a distant future where society has collapsed because of the revelation that all religions had gotten VERY little right, a young woman and her younger brother survive on the edges of their village. When one of the siblings is chosen as a human sacrifice to the demon known as The Savage, all *hell* breaks loose. Wonderfully dark and subversive, I couldn‘t put this book down.

21 likes1 stack add
blurb
capriciousreader
The Left Hand of Darkness | Ursula Le Guin
post image

Should this be my first Le Guin?

StillLookingForCarmenSanDiego It was my first. 2mo
SpaceCowboyBooks I recommend the Lathe of Heaven. 2mo
suzisteffen @SpaceCowboyBooks I‘m with you - Lathe of Heaven. I also love the Earthsea books! 2mo
22 likes3 comments
blurb
capriciousreader
post image

Spending my #Readathon with this magic. It is amaaaaazing.

36 likes2 stack adds
blurb
capriciousreader
The Fellowship of the Ring | John Ronald Reuel Tolkien, Alan Lee
post image

Reaching 40, without reading, these books feels like a tragedy I need to rectify.

23 likes1 stack add
blurb
capriciousreader
Their Eyes Were Watching God LP | Zora Neale Hurston
post image

Read to me, Ruby Dee.

Readergrrl I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this Audible version! 💜💜💜 2mo
28 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
capriciousreader
post image

This book makes me crazy hungry.

BethFishReads Oh new to me! Thanks 2y
capriciousreader @BethFishReads It was delicious! lol 2y
18 likes1 stack add3 comments
review
capriciousreader
Bluebird, Bluebird | Attica Locke
post image
Pickpick

Absolutely amazing way to start the year.

blurb
capriciousreader
Forest Dark: A Novel | Nicole Krauss
post image

I raided the library.

blurb
capriciousreader
The Night Circus | Erin Morgenstern
post image

Did this have to be read by Harry Potter??? 😂 #timetoreread #butcaniseparatehimfromHP?

chowmeyow I can't listen to anything else Jim Dale narrates for this reason! It's a shame. 2y
26 likes1 comment
blurb
capriciousreader
Dracula | Bram Stoker
post image

There‘s Sunday afternoon sorted then. #best #rereadingrules #readathon #30daysofreadathon

TrishB Nice cover 👍 2y
27 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
capriciousreader
Slade House | David Mitchell
post image

Afternoon plans. #ripxii

Gnoe What does that tag mean? If you don't mind me asking ;) 2y
capriciousreader It's the hashtag for the Readers Imbibing Peril reading event that happens every fall. This is its 12th year! 2y
30 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
capriciousreader
The Winter People: A Novel | Jennifer McMahon
post image
Pickpick

Sweet kittens Littens. This book had me on the edge of my seat up to the very end. I almost quit because the beginning was rather sad but I'm glad I stuck it out. The audio is superb with Cassandra Campbell doing most of the heavy lifting and Kathe Mazur handling the flashbacks. Perfect book for this time of year and for #RIPXII

Megabooks 💚💚 Campbell!! 2y
27 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
capriciousreader
post image

My #ripxii pile is glorious.

Reviewsbylola A great stack! 📚 2y
33 likes1 comment
blurb
capriciousreader
post image

#RIPXII stars Friday! Details and more at the two links in the graphic. Come join us!

Reviewsbylola Yassssss!! I need to put together a reading stack. 2y
emilyhaldi Fun! 👻 2y
19 likes3 comments
blurb
capriciousreader
Seveneves: A Novel | Neal Stephenson
post image

Ready for Sunday. Ready for Seveneves? Remains to be seen.

LauraJ The kitty looks ready. 2y
18 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
capriciousreader
post image

Have I met my new best friend?

Jaimelire Good one ❤️ 2y
24 likes2 stack adds1 comment
blurb
capriciousreader
The Strangler Vine | M.J. Carter
post image

Sunday night plans in motion.

14 likes1 stack add
blurb
capriciousreader
post image

Assume Sunday position.

21 likes1 stack add
review
capriciousreader
The Sculptor | Scott McCloud
post image
Pickpick

Even better the second time.

23 likes3 stack adds
review
capriciousreader
post image
Bailedbailed

I'm sad this is on my iPad. I kinda want to throw it at the wall.

nomadreader 😂😂😂 2y
WanderingBookaneer It's so bad. I wish I'd bailed. 2y
TrishB Good to know 😀 2y
18 likes3 comments
blurb
capriciousreader
The Seed Collectors | Scarlett Thomas
post image

Sunday plans.

Nat_Reads Great cover! 2y
Gnoe @Elsje have you read this One yet? 2y
Elsje No, I haven't! It looks really promising!!! 2y
18 likes1 stack add3 comments
blurb
capriciousreader
Edgar and Lucy | Victor Lodato
post image

I couldn't resist the cover.

18 likes1 stack add
blurb
capriciousreader
post image

Oh this is going to be good.

18 likes2 stack adds
review
capriciousreader
Pachinko | Min Jin Lee
post image
Pickpick

It feels early to say it was the BEST book of the year, so I'll just say it's in my top ten. A wonderful book with amazing characters, gorgeous writing, and a learning experience about a culture I knew little about. Just an amazing experience.

Jaimelire It's my next read. I am looking forward to it. 2y
25 likes1 comment
blurb
capriciousreader
Pachinko | Min Jin Lee
post image

Sweet kittens Littens. This book is 😍.

Megabooks Agreed!! 2y
29 likes2 stack adds1 comment
blurb
capriciousreader
The Fact of a Body: A Murder and a Memoir | Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich
post image

Of to an excellent start. Have listened to 35% of this book today!

29 likes3 stack adds
review
capriciousreader
Beartown: A Novel | Fredrik Backman
post image
Pickpick

I'm having a hard time finding the words for this book. At the beginning I was slightly doubtful (sorry, Mr. Backman) that this story set in a hockey town would be for me. Now that this roller coaster of a book is finished, I'm finding myself missing Beartown and (the good of) it's citizens. I won't forget this book for a long while. *note: there is a rape and its aftermath is intimately explored in this book.

peaknit I completely agree. It left me kind of speechless. So good. 2y
23 likes1 comment
blurb
capriciousreader
Valiant Gentlemen | Sabina Murray
post image

Time to pick a new book and these are the top four contenders. Any recommendations?

xicanti A DARKER SHADE OF MAGIC is wonderful! 2y
19 likes1 comment
blurb
capriciousreader
post image

What. A. Beginning.

awonderinglife Oh I can't wait to read this one!! 2y
22 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
capriciousreader
post image

What is it @Liberty says? I couldn't be more excited if I swallowed a cat and broke out in kittens? Yeah, I'm that.

melrailey I absolutely love this! 2y
30 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
capriciousreader
The Wanderers | Meg Howrey
post image

For fans of The Martian and Station Eleven? Let's just see how alike the three are....

22 likes2 stack adds
review
capriciousreader
post image
Pickpick

I really hope there another book after this because OMG THAT ENDING.

BethFishReads I know!!!!! I need book 3 right now 2y
capriciousreader @BethFishReads Yes!!! What an ending!! 2y
BethFishReads Seriously 2y
20 likes3 comments
blurb
capriciousreader
post image

I am beside myself excited to start listening to this!! 😍

16 likes1 stack add
blurb
capriciousreader
All Our Wrong Todays | Elan Mastai
post image

This audiobook is just so wow.

EliNeedsMoreShelves I'm just starting this - not audio, but I hope it's still great. 2y
24 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
capriciousreader
post image

Freezing at soccer practice with this!

30 likes1 stack add
blurb
capriciousreader
Behind Her Eyes | Sarah Pinborough
post image

Sometimes a change of pace is just what the doctor ordered! Thanks @kerry!

kerry Yes! Can't wait to hear what you think. Like I said before, it's not highbrow literature but it's CERTAINLY captivating. 2y
BethFishReads Wondering what you'll think of the end 2y
capriciousreader @BethFishReads I'm beginning to wonder that myself! 2y
30 likes2 stack adds3 comments
review
capriciousreader
post image
Pickpick

❤❤❤❤❤

Unique. Gorgeous. A must for fairy tale and folk tale fans.

26 likes3 stack adds
blurb
capriciousreader
The Possessions | Sara Flannery Murphy
post image

Have I mentioned how crazy, wonderful, freaky, and hard-to-put-down this book is???

Reviewsbylola Yay!! Maybe this will be next up for me. 2y
23 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
capriciousreader
post image

We don't handle anticipation well in this family. #happyvalentinesday #lasthurrahbeforetakingonnewmortgage #penguingalaxy

32 likes1 stack add
blurb
capriciousreader
Lincoln in the Bardo | George Saunders
post image

Can Nick Offerman read everything please?

BethFishReads I am LOVING THIS. I have an hour to go 2y
capriciousreader I just started! The cast! Wow! 2y
29 likes2 stack adds2 comments
blurb
capriciousreader
Norse Mythology | Neil Gaiman
post image

Hello, gorgeous.

35 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
capriciousreader
Butter: A Rich History | Elaine Khosrova
post image

Super Bowl reading.

BookishMarginalia Looks interested! 2y
BethFishReads I've had this forever and still haven't read it. I'll await your report 2y
26 likes2 stack adds2 comments
blurb
capriciousreader
Archivist Wasp: a novel | Nicole Kornher-Stace
post image

The light at the end of the tunnel? I am (hopefully) at the end of a 5 week reading slump. I have listened to almost half of this book today. Is the slump over? God, I hope so.

LauraBeth I hope your slump ends soon! 💕 2y
BethFishReads I hate slumps 2y
22 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
capriciousreader
post image

So excited to finally be reading this! #diverseathon

44 likes2 stack adds
blurb
capriciousreader
The Dry | Jane Harper
post image

Apparently I needed a change of pace. Reading slumps be funny. And also not. #slumpssuck

22 likes1 stack add
blurb
capriciousreader
post image

When in Reading Slump, try Sy Montgomery. My new motto. #readingmyowndamnbooks

18 likes1 stack add
blurb
capriciousreader
post image

Be good to me January!

Reviewsbylola I read Swimming Lessons and QotN in December. Enjoy! 3y
SarahSaysRead Just Mercy and Homegoing are so great. 3y
40 likes2 stack adds2 comments
review
capriciousreader
post image
Pickpick

Oh December, you were so good to me.

Reviewsbylola Reading Pull Me Under right now and loving it! 3y
39 likes1 comment
blurb
capriciousreader
post image

Oooooo, make that Dr. Ruth, badass!

24 likes3 stack adds
blurb
capriciousreader
Swimming Lessons | Claire Fuller
post image

Hey! I was reading that!!

Mdargusch I just finished Swimming Lessons. What do you think so far? 3y
capriciousreader @Mdargusch I'm not far in but I'm interested! 3y
33 likes1 stack add2 comments