Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
SpaceCowboyBooks

SpaceCowboyBooks

Joined May 2019

Reader, writer, bookshop owner, podcaster, publisher. http://spacecowboybooks.com
blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
Space Cowboy Books | Joshua Tree, CA (Bookstore)
post image

Simultaneous Times Ep.18 is now live. Sci-fi & Fantasy audio plays by D.J. Butler & Susan Rukeyser w/ music by RedBlueBlackSilver & Phog Masheeen. Listen on all your favorite podcast players.
https://www.podomatic.com/podcasts/spacecowboybooks
#podcast
#sciencefiction
#fantasy

blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
The Starry Rift | James Tiptree, Jr.
post image

Finally found some Tiptree, can't wait to read this one.

blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
My View of the World | Erwin Schrodinger
post image

For a short book this is a dense read with some interesting speculations on the nature of consciousness.

23 likes1 stack add
blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
post image

Reading the best in speculative poetry.
#poetry #sfpa

SpaceCowboyBooks Any SFPA memeber here? 2w
22 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
Total Recall | Piers Anthony
post image

Adaptation of an adaptation. How bad could it be? How good could it be?
#sciencefiction #movietiein

blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
Pro | Gordon R. Dickson
post image

Only a few chapters in but it's a fun schlocky read so far.

Smrloomis That cover is awesome 😂 3w
19 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
Space Cowboy Books | Joshua Tree, CA (Bookstore)
post image

Usually my book reviews are too long to post here but the full reviews can be read on my website. Updated regularly. http://spacecowboybooks.blogspot.com/p/book-reviews.html?m=1 #bookreviews #sciencefiction

blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
All My Sins Remembered | Joe Haldeman
post image

And now onto Joe Haldeman. I hope it lives up to the last book I read. Ted Chiang's Stories of Your Life and Others was so good that I feel like I'm going to disappointed by the next few books I read.

RamsFan1963 This is one of my all time favorite books!! I've recommended it several times to people just beginning to dip their toes in the sci-fi genre. I hope you enjoy it. 1mo
SpaceCowboyBooks Thanks @RamsFan1963 I'll let you know what I think in a few days. 1mo
SaraFair Gonna try it! There are lots of Haldeman options at my local used bookstore. I just keep grabbing Heinlein. Lol. 1mo
See All 7 Comments
SpaceCowboyBooks @SaraFair Can't go wrong with Heinlein. So far this one is pretty good. You might also like Scalzi's Old Man's War. 1mo
SaraFair I LOVED Old Man‘s War and went crazy reading all but the last one of the series! I want to try other Scalzi too, but did not care for Redshirts. Suggestions? 1mo
SpaceCowboyBooks @SaraFair If you dig militaristic space opera the Hellhole trilogy by Brian Herbert and Kevin J Anderson was pretty good. 1mo
SaraFair I have just been on your website and I will be using it a lot I see! I can probably go crazy at the local used bookstore now. I didn‘t really think of Old Mans War as militaristic, I loved the part about getting a new body with the same brain and also learning about a book‘s aliens. I also loved the Sparrow and Ancillary Justice. 👍🏻👍🏻 1mo
20 likes2 stack adds7 comments
review
SpaceCowboyBooks
The Diagnosis: A Novel | Alan Lightman
Mehso-so

Somewhat enjoyable but a tedious read.

12 likes1 stack add
blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
Space Cowboy Books | Joshua Tree, CA (Bookstore)
post image

Simultaneous Times science fiction podcast Ep.17 now streaming on your favorite podcast player. https://www.podomatic.com/podcasts/spacecowboybooks #sciencefiction #podcast #audiofiction #radiodrama #radioplay #scifi #speculativepoetry #speculativefiction

11 likes1 stack add
blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
post image

Only 2 stories into the book but I already love it. Wonderfully original ideas!

TobeyTheScavengerMonk I loved this collection, but I did get tired of reading the words “foetus” and “megafoetus” in that one story. 1mo
22 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
The Evolution Man | Roy Lewis
post image

Currently reading this scifi satire.
#sciencefiction #humor

Bookwomble I've got a copy of this tbr - how're you finding it so far? 1mo
SpaceCowboyBooks @Bookwomble Just finished it. It was a fun easy read, kinda silly. Not amazing but good. 1mo
Bookwomble Not amazing but good isn't the worst endorsement! I'l give it a go at some point 😃 1mo
15 likes1 stack add3 comments
blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
post image

Looking forward to this one from one of my favorite authors, the amazing and dark JG Ballard.

SpaceCowboyBooks Hi @TobeyTheScavengerMonk I haven't read Empire of the Sun yet but I have read many of his books and he's one of my favorite authors. 1mo
TobeyTheScavengerMonk It‘s his autobiography about his childhood separated from his parents in Japan-occupied China and it is BRUTAL. Little Christian Bale plays young Ballard in the movie too. 1mo
11 likes3 comments
blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
Station Eleven | Emily St John Mandel
post image

Just started Station Eleven. Will let you know what I think as I get further into it.

Megabooks Best. Book. Ever. Seriously 2mo
IamIamIam @Megabooks DITTO!!! I listened to this and really need it in print! 😍😍😍 2mo
39 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
Kindred | Octavia E. Butler
post image

Finally reading Kindred. Loving it so far, difficult to put down. #sciencefiction

SpaceCowboyBooks Holy moly this book is getting dark. 2mo
Reggie Oof, this book made me realize what the true horrors of slavery were. This book is one of my new all time favorites. 2mo
23 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
SpaceCowboyBooks
Eye for Eye | Orson Scott Card, Lloyd Biggle, Jr.
post image
Pickpick

Not my favorite of Card's books but I still really enjoyed the audiobook during a long drive.

TobeyTheScavengerMonk Stefan Rudnicki! That dude has a great voice. I listened to him narrate 2mo
17 likes1 comment
blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
Future Anthropology | Jean-Paul L. Garnier
post image

Woohoo! Future Anthropology, my book of science fiction poems has been nominated for the Elgin Award. Given for the best speculative poetry book of the year. It's a great honor to be nominated and to have the introduction of the book by Bryan Thao Worra. If you are an SFPA member please download consider Future Anthropology for your vote. #sfpa #speculativepoetry #elgin #elginaward

Reggie Congrats!!! 2mo
15 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
Space Cowboy Books | Joshua Tree, CA (Bookstore)
post image

Simultaneous Times science fiction podcast episode #16 featuring short stories by Julie Carpenter & Anastasia Wasko. https://www.podomatic.com/podcasts/spacecowboybooks #sciencefiction #scifi #podcast #radioplay #radiodrama #shortstories #audiofiction

blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
Deeper than the Darkness | Gregory Benford
post image

Reading Greg Benford's Deeper Than the Darkness. Started off kind of slow but now it's starting to get interesting. #sciencefiction #scifi

14 likes1 stack add
blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
The Stars My Destination | Alfred Bester
post image

Thinking about reading this one next. I've heard that it's wonderful but I'm not sure if I should read this or Demolished Man first. #sciencefiction

blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
Slan: A Novel | A. E. van Vogt
post image

Finally reading Slan by A.E. van Vogt and loving it so far!

LisaMorr I read that this year too and loved it! What made you pick it up and read it now? 3mo
SpaceCowboyBooks @LisaMorr I recently gave a lecture on the history of Pulp Fiction and realized that this book was a gap in my knowledge, had been meaning to read van Vogt for a while. I'm dedicating most of this year to reading authors I haven't read yet. 2mo
14 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
post image

Giving a talk on the history of Pulp Fiction last night at Bijou Cinema before the screening of The Thing From Another World. #sciencefiction #pulpfiction #scifi #history

rretzler Love the story! One of my favorites. The film with Kurt Russell wasn‘t bad either. 2mo
17 likes1 comment
blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
Who Goes There? | John Campbell
post image

I'll be giving a talk on Pulp Fiction before this screening of The Thing From Another World. #sciencefiction #pulpfiction #movienight #scifi

Geeklet I love the movies based on that story so much. There‘s supposed to be a full novel coming out soon. I kickstarted it and I hope it‘ll ship soon. 3mo
SpaceCowboyBooks @Geeklet Thanks for the tip, hadn't heard about that yet. 3mo
19 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
Darwin's Radio | Greg Bear
post image

Does anyone recommend this book? I love Greg Bear and am thinking of reading this one next. Blood Music is one of my favorite novels.

blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
Space Cowboy Books | Joshua Tree, CA (Bookstore)
post image

Just picked up this gem but couldn't find it in the database here. Circa 1975.

blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
Space Cowboy Books | Joshua Tree, CA (Bookstore)
post image

Do you love audio fiction? Check out Simultaneous Times science fiction podcast. Available on itunes, spotify, googleplay and all of your favorite podcast players. Would love to know what you think. #sciencefiction #podcast #scifi #audiofiction

BethM Is this serialized? I love sci-fi! 3mo
SpaceCowboyBooks It's not a seriel, stand alone short stories. New episode the 15th of each month. Interviews with the authors and musicians the 1st of every month. 3mo
10 likes2 comments
blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
Echo of Creation | Jean-Paul L Garnier
post image

I wrote this one. Does anyone know how to add a pic to the database? #sciencefiction #scifi

rretzler I don‘t think we can add them, I think the system goes through and adds covers to most books periodically but for some reason some books don‘t get updated. 3mo
SpaceCowboyBooks Got it, thanks. 3mo
Eggs Welcome to Litsy 🤗👏🏻 3mo
12 likes3 comments
review
SpaceCowboyBooks
post image
Pickpick

Hilarious novel by local Joshua Tree speculative fiction author Jon Christopher. In the vein of Vonnegut and Robbins. #jonchristopher #humor

review
SpaceCowboyBooks
post image
Pickpick

Latest issue of Desert Oracle. I highly recommend these minibooks as well as their podcast. Southwest folklore and facts.

review
SpaceCowboyBooks
post image
Pickpick

I always love Ballard and this one was no exception. The middle class rise up in a dada revolution against themselves. #ballard

review
SpaceCowboyBooks
Stranger in a Strange Land | Robert A. Heinlein
post image
Pickpick

One of my favorites. Of all things he predicted televangelism in this one. #sciencefiction #Heinlein

blurb
SpaceCowboyBooks
post image

Reading and enjoying this fascinating book about cephalopod intelligence.

Megabooks Sounds cool! Welcome to Litsy! 👍🏻📚 3mo
SpaceCowboyBooks Thanks! Happy to have found a place for people who love books. 3mo
See All 14 Comments
BookwormAHN Welcome to Litsy 😺 3mo
SW-T Welcome to Litsy 🙂 3mo
rretzler Welcome to Litsy! 📖 3mo
Kaylamburson Welcome to Litsy!!! Hope you love it here. 3mo
wanderinglynn Welcome to Litsy! 👋🏻 Sounds like a fascinating read. 3mo
tpixie Welcome to Litsy!! 🥳📚🥳 3mo
CoffeeNBooks Welcome to Litsy! 📚 3mo
DebinHawaii Welcome to Litsy!! 🎉📚🎉Hope you enjoy it here! 3mo
LitsyWelcomeWagon Welcome to Litsy! Hope these #Litsytips by @RaimeyGallant http://bit.ly/litsytips and #LitsyHowTo videos: goo.gl/UrCpoU are helpful. #LitsyWelcomeWagon
3mo
RaimeyGallant Welcome! 3mo
StillLookingForCarmenSanDiego Welcome to Litsy 💖📖💖 3mo
33 likes3 stack adds14 comments