Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
A Magic Steeped in Poison
A Magic Steeped in Poison | Judy I. Lin
27 posts | 12 read | 31 to read
In this enchanting debut YA fantasy, a young tea-maker travels to the capital city to take part in a cutthroat magical competition that could be the key to saving her sister's life.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
RavenclawPrincess913
post image

Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Awesome cover!! 💗 1d
34 likes1 comment
review
RavenclawPrincess913
post image
Pickpick

I love the cover it's so pretty. It's so sad the main characters sister is dying and if she wins the contest saving her sister would be a good prize like she wants. The fact she accidentally poisoned her and her mom must be hard to live with.

RavenclawPrincess913 I loved the quote that explained their beliefs in death: "Three souls contained within each of us separated from our bodies when we die. One returning to Earth, one to the air, and the final soul descending into the wheel of life." It's a nice way of putting how death works around this point is where I got hooked on the book. When she sold her only memory of her mom she had left in Nánjiāng was very sad. 5d
RavenclawPrincess913 I agree with the makers of the game that they had to take a test to be let into the competition it'll help keep the cheaters out. I also loved how they gave them a price limit for the tea ingredients so make it more fair. The boy she met while shopping for ingredients my gut said don't trust him but later on he helped save the Princess from an assassin attempt. 5d
RavenclawPrincess913 I don't want to go into more detail so I don't spoil the rest of the story for others but all around I loved this book and I would 100% reread it. 5d
35 likes1 stack add3 comments
review
ninergrl6
post image
Mehso-so

Meh. Another book with an interesting premise — magical tea, competition, murder — but poor execution — too many characters, not enough development. Did the lead care about her dying sister, her family‘s reputation, her community, the competition, the princess‘ safety, her love interest, or kingdom politics? Depends on the chapter! It was all over the place, and it REALLY needed a map. The cover is beautiful though. #ya #bookclub #teachersoflitsy

quote
RavenclawPrincess913
post image

quote
RavenclawPrincess913
post image

review
booksandsympathy
Pickpick

This book had more layers than I was expecting. I was expecting tea magic and a competition. I wasn't expecting all the complexities of the magic system and political intrigue. It kept me guessing about what would come next and wanting to keep turning the next page. I'm glad the sequel comes out soon, because it ends on a cliffhanger.

blurb
Branwen
post image

There were cupcakes at the library today, so not only did I get to have a sweet treat for breakfast, but it totally matched my book as well! 🥰🧁 #librarylove #librariansoflitsy

Clare-Dragonfly That‘s gorgeous! They both are 😋 1mo
Ruthiella Perfect match! 1mo
51 likes2 comments
blurb
booksandsympathy
post image

The fourth book I'm reading for the Asian Readathon is a fantasy book with tea magic. Tea. Magic. I am so excited to read this book! The prompt for this book is read a book by an Asian author that has a cover worthy of googly eyes. 👀 The country represented is Taiwan. #asianreadathon2022

merelybookish What a pretty cover! 1mo
20 likes3 stack adds1 comment
blurb
thegirlwiththelibrarybag
post image

Is it the worlds most photogenic book? 🤔 I mean, it‘s definitely a contender!

Thanks for sending it to me @KristiAhlers - I wasn‘t expecting to find anything other than political pamphlets in my letterbox today so this was a huge upgrade!

KristiAhlers Yay!!! I‘m glad you got it! Happy reading, my friend! 💜 2mo
46 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
BookishlyPleasant
post image
Pickpick

A beautifully written fantasy based in Chinese mythology! The tea based magic system was not only unique but very fascinating! While the pace of the story could be a little wonky, I was still gripped and the cliffhanger at the end has me looking forward to the sequel! This book has competition, politics, betrayal and posion!

blurb
lumbricuslibri
post image

💖 𝕊𝕆 ℙℝ𝔼-𝕋𝔼𝔸 🍵

It's finally here!
BookDepo actually cancelled my pre-order, said they're unable to fulfil it (2 weeks after publication!). So I ordered from Amazon, which is more expensive because of shipping (I'm in the PH—and, unfortunately, this isn't available at the local bookstores yet).
Good thing I can use my credit card reward points on Amazon, this was practically free.

Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Beautiful cover 💗 2mo
36 likes1 comment
blurb
Branwen
post image

I can't believe it snowed today! 😂🤣☝️

BookBosomed1 Same. Also, my friend just gifted me that book. How are you liking it? 2mo
Clare-Dragonfly Beautiful picture! I love the contrast of the colorful cover with the black and white snowy scene! 2mo
Branwen @BookBosomed1 I've only just started it, but so far I love it! Magical and unique! I hope you like it too! 💕 @Clare-Dragonfly Thank you! I didn't realize how cool it looked until I was getting ready to post it! Before that I was griping about the snow getting my book wet! 🤣 2mo
59 likes1 stack add3 comments
review
LaytonBooks
Pickpick

A Magic Steeped in Poison by Judy I. Lin is an East Asian-inspired YA that will appeal to fans of Six Crimson Cranes or Jade Fire Gold. The story revolves around Ning, who has magical tea-brewing powers. When her sister grows sick, she enters a shennong-shi or tea-making competition in the imperial city in order to win a favor from the princess. Will she be able to win the competition? Or will other things distract her from her goal?

blurb
booksandsympathy
post image

I also went to Barnes & Noble and splurged a little bit. I went there for A Magic Steeped in Poison but it was buy one, get one 50% off, so I picked up The Siren of Sussex. I somehow hadn't bought the new Veronica Speedwell book yet, so I bought it as well. I don't know which book I'm more excited for. I need to finish a couple of library books first though.

blurb
peanutnine
post image

#ThingsInCommon holding a hot drink
@Clwojick

Clwojick Oooh great match! 🕵🏻‍♀️ 3mo
40 likes1 comment
blurb
peanutnine
post image

Yesterday's #libraryhaul
Look at these pretty covers 😍

Riveted_Reader_Melissa They are beautiful! 3mo
truthinfiction They are all so pretty. 😍 3mo
41 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
lumbricuslibri
post image

WHOA Good thing I made it to the pre-order stage(? Idk lol). That's a huge jump from $17 to $37!

I keep seeing/ reading good things about this + look at that cover!
Might still be a while, though, 'til I get my hands on it.

WJCintron 😍 😍 Beautiful cover!! The colors!! 😍 3mo
lumbricuslibri @WJCintron right?! 💖 3mo
25 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
KristiAhlers
post image
Pickpick

Wow! Not only is this a book that‘s all written, has an amazing set of characters, and the world building was so creative, it was also an emotional read, and has left me with a book hangover! Highly recommend this book! #readingchallenge2022

43 likes3 stack adds
blurb
Skyrimir
post image

This was definitely a cover buy, even though the story also sounds really interesting! It may be one of my favorite covers this year!

Kimberlone Gorgeous cover 😍 3mo
15 likes1 comment
blurb
thegirlwiththelibrarybag
post image

Do my eyes deceive me, sweet book depository?!

Mutters angrily about cost of living increases and Scott Morrison.

thegirlwiththelibrarybag Update : it‘s wayyy cheaper to buy from Booktopia - but they don‘t currently have any stock… (but then that looks to be the case everywhere) 3mo
katy4peas Bookshop.org has it 3mo
katy4peas And they support local bookstores with part of your purchase. 😊 3mo
See All 11 Comments
thegirlwiththelibrarybag @katy4peas, doesn‘t look like they offer international shipping otherwise I‘d be all for it! 3mo
katy4peas @thegirlwiththelibrarybag hmm there is a UK version and a Spain version. Does that help? 🤔 3mo
katy4peas Doh. 🤦‍♀️ UK is back to preorder for it. 😂 🤷‍♀️ sorry! 3mo
thegirlwiththelibrarybag @katy4peas, sadly no - I‘m in Australia. 3mo
KristiAhlers @thegirlwiththelibrarybag I‘m finishing it now. I‘d be happy to mail it to you if you‘d like. I live in Illinois and I‘d be happy to drop it into the post so it can be read again 3mo
thegirlwiththelibrarybag @KristiAhlers - that‘s so kind. The postage might be brutal - could I pay for the postage? 3mo
KristiAhlers @thegirlwiththelibrarybag if that is what you‘d like. My email is katahlers@gmail.com. Email me your addy and I‘ll get it in the post no later than tomorrow. I finished it last night and I‘m running errands tomorrow! 3mo
thegirlwiththelibrarybag @KristiAhlers, thanks! Have emailed ☺️ 3mo
25 likes11 comments
blurb
thegirlwiththelibrarybag
post image

A magic system based around tea…

sprainedbrain Lovely! 3mo
36 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
IheartYA
post image
Pickpick

This book was extremely entertaining and emotional. You're brought right into the action with little backstory, and the story is complex but woven with mastery. The writing style was phenomenal. The character development, pace and world building were spot-on.
...........
Thank you to Bookish First for offering this book in their raffle!
Please use my Bookish First referral code: c2c277e5792a7a0ab

booksellerofyourdiscontent That cover art is gorgeous!!! 3mo
booksellerofyourdiscontent That cover art is gorgeous!!! 3mo
38 likes2 comments
review
underground_bks
post image
Pickpick

You‘ll want to drink in every detail of this tea-centered, magic-infused young adult debut, in which tea masters called shennong-shi wield magic with every brew. When the princess announces a competition for the empire‘s next shennong-shi, Ning, desperate to help a dying sister, grasps at the chance to win any request from the princess. What she finds is enchantment and danger, romance and court politics, friendship and treachery in equal measure.

22 likes3 stack adds