Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Family Remains
The Family Remains: A Novel | Lisa Jewell
A woman stops at nothing to find her husbands murderer in this psychological thriller about twisted marriages, fractured families, and deadly obsessionsfrom the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the brilliantly chilling (Ruth Ware, New York Times bestselling author) The Family Upstairs. When Rachel Rimmers phone rings in the early morning, she is shocked when she hears her husbands housekeeper sobbing on the line. Her husband, Michael, has been found dead in the cellar of his house in France and all signs point to murder. The French police conclude that Michael was killed by his gangster associates. They have no idea that the real killer is still out there: his ex-wife, Lucy. A year later, she and her children are happily living in London, unaware that Rachel is on the hunt for her. She may have never met this woman, but Rachel knows Lucy was the last person to see her husband alive. And there is nothing that is going to stop her from discovering the truth. With her signature electrifying, chilling, and unputdownable (Sarah Pekkanen, New York Times bestselling author) prose, Lisa Jewell weaves another twisty, suspenseful thriller in the vein of Paula Hawkins and Liane Moriarty.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
marleed
post image
Pickpick

I think Lisa Jewell spins a very good story because the Lamb family escapades this time around seemed barely book worthy yet I really wanted to know how it would all resolve. I enjoyed the introduction of Rachel and how her experience meets up with the fate of the Lamb‘s.

35 likes2 stack adds
review
OriginalCyn620
post image
Pickpick

A really good follow up to The Family Upstairs! This isn‘t as thriller-y and creepy as it‘s predecessor, but still a great continuation of the story, and I loved the ending. Oh, Henry!

#bookspinbingo - free space (hello, center square!)

TheAromaofBooks Woohoo!!! 20h
35 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
Monica5
post image
Bailedbailed

I finally made it to the half way point, but I am so bored. DNFing this one.

blurb
Monica5
post image

So excited to start. My Libby hold came in!!!

review
TravelsWithBooks
post image
Pickpick

https://travelswithboooks.wordpress.com/2022/09/28/the-family-remains-by-lisa-je...

I also redesigned my blog. I created an Instagram for my blog too. I haven't had time to post too much to it yet. It's linked on the blog! I have some days off, so I plan on getting to it then.

review
Jemgirl2014
Mehso-so

It‘s definitely not as good as its predecessor. Also, it does not read as a stand-alone sequel so I‘m not sure why it‘s labeled as such. Another issue I have with this book is the character Rachel. I feel like she is so unnecessary to the story. Lastly, the ending is kind of a letdown. I think the only thing that kept me invested in this book is Henry. I had to keep reading to see what he‘d do next! ⭐️⭐️⭐️💫

14 likes1 stack add
review
Laughterhp
post image
Pickpick

I feel like this would have been a better experience if I reread the first book even though this can be read as a stand-alone. This isn‘t very thriller like. It‘s more like a mystery/family drama. I was a bit anxious when reading though.

I love Lisa Jewell and am glad I finally got to pick this one up.

blurb
ShyBookOwl
post image

Yikes! Guess I'm using an audible credit for this one 😅 Just finished book 1 and need to know what happens next!

Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Check out Facebook. If you‘re wanting to buy it there are a lot of great botm buy/trade sites! I just bought this one for $7.50 4w
ShyBookOwl @Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Neat! I'm not on FB so I did not know about that 4w
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks @ShyBookOwl do you live in the US? 4w
ShyBookOwl @Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks I do not. Canada. But I did book 1 on audio so I'd like to do book 2 on audio too, anyways. Luckily, my husband hasn't been reading much lately and has a bunch of audible credits built up that I'm about to snag! Lol 4w
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks @ShyBookOwl awesome! I‘m glad it worked out 🙌🏻 4w
59 likes1 stack add5 comments
review
JoyBlue
post image
Mehso-so

Skip this sequel. Read my full review here: https://debbybrauer.org/#the-family-remains-the-family-upstai...

review
VRM1975
Pickpick

.

review
MallenNC
post image
Pickpick

This was a good sequel to The Family Upstairs, which I thought was a good and creepy thriller. While I had forgotten some of that book, I got my bearings soon enough. There‘s good resolution to the first book, and the epilogue had a good final twist.

Also I just noticed how many times I said good in this review. It‘s a good book! 🤣

25 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
AvidReaderandGeekGirl
post image
Pickpick

4 stars, The narration was amazing! I like how they brought in a new character to freshen it up. And I liked the final few swerves. It was overall a fairly enjoyable book, but trigger warning for rape! I couldn't remember a lot of the first book, but I think I may have enjoyed this one just as much.

review
KristiAhlers
post image
Pickpick

Oh Henry! This was a perfectly twisted sequel to The Family Upstairs which I read years ago. This can read as a total standalone so fear not on that. A lot of twists and plenty of characters to keep you well entertained. Solid suspense. Love this author.

53 likes1 stack add
blurb
BooksCoffeeNurse
post image

Off to a good start! ❤️

63 likes1 stack add
blurb
AvidReaderandGeekGirl
post image

Listening to this one now! So far it's pretty good.

blurb
cassiopia
post image

Henry is back!!!! And omg, he's no Joe Goldberg, but he's still pretty twisted. And I am here for it.

I finished this late last night. It was pretty entertaining.

blurb
deeannloso
post image

Great sequel!! I highly recommend it! #LisaJewell

25 likes1 stack add
blurb
Laughterhp
post image

Er mah gawd! Er mah gawd! I met Lisa Jewell today!

This was the first author event I‘ve ever gone to and probably the first author I‘ve actually ever met. And I‘m so awkward, so I didn‘t actually know what to say to her 🤣. I didn‘t even say I loved her books or she was my favorite author 🤷🏻‍♀️. Maybe next time. 🤪

Ruthiella I‘m sure she‘s used to awkward book lovers. I wouldn‘t know what to say either! 😂 2mo
BarbaraBB Love the pic! 2mo
Gissy But you have the photo with her for ever! Priceless! 🤗❤️ 2mo
58 likes1 stack add3 comments
blurb
BookBridget
post image

Can't wait to read the new Lisa Jewel!

Monica5 I'm on hold for it through Libby. It's a 6 week wait. 2mo
BookBridget @monica5, 6 weeks is like 6 months in book time. 2mo
52 likes2 comments
quote
Smlambert725

“And when you hate someone, it leaves deeper scars on your psyche than loving someone ever can.”
#August2022

review
Mpcacher
post image
Pickpick

This is a sequel to Jewell's “The Family Upstairs“ and I think it makes for a much better read if you have read that one first. This one starts where the last one ends and we get to reconnect with the cast of characters, in addition to meeting a few new ones. I really enjoyed it and found that it had me pondering my ideas of right and wrong. These are complicated characters in difficult circumstances. I gave it a solid 4/5.

8 likes1 stack add
blurb
Laughterhp
post image

Eek!

Lisa Jewell is coming to my local bookstore!

Now to see if I can find a friend to go with me because I‘ve never been to an author event before!

review
angieinwonderland
post image
Pickpick

That was such a well told sequel. It gave enough hints to remind me of the first book I had read so long ago without being tiresome. Two p.o.v were told in the first person and the rest of the p.o.v were in third person and it really just worked so well to show significance. 4 stars! The first quarter was felt a little slow and then down the slide you go!

5 likes1 stack add
review
HappilyEverKrafter
post image
Pickpick

This is the sequel to Jewell‘s “The Family Upstairs.” I am sometimes wary of sequels, but this one definitely did not disappoint! This continues the stories of the Lamb and Thomsen children, who are still suffering the effects of their traumatic childhoods. This reveals how far they are willing to go to keep secrets buried. Make sure you read “The Family Upstairs” first!

Thank you to Goodreads and the publisher (and Lisa Jewell!) for the ARC!

review
angel1
post image
Pickpick

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
Thank you Goodreads for the ARC...now...let me just say, I was up until 3am just to finish this book!😱
So good, and I loved the first but this sequel is even better!! A page-turning, thrilling sequel that will keep you up reading through the night!!

27 likes2 stack adds