Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Always, in December
Always, in December: A Novel | Emily Stone
A chance encounter during the holiday season brings two people together as quickly as it tears them apart--until fate intervenes again (and again) in this romantic debut novel in the tradition of One Day in December. Every December, Josie posts a letter from her home in London to the parents she lost on Christmas night many years ago. Each year, she writes the same three words: Missing you, always. But this year, her annual trip to the postbox is enlivened by a bicycle collision with a handsome stranger--a stranger that she apologizes to by taking him out for a drink. Josie always thought she was the only one who avoided the Christmas season, but this year, Max has his own reasons for doing the same. As coincidence causes them to spend the holiday together, Josie thinks this might be the start of something new--only for him to disappear without saying goodbye. Over the course of the next year, they continue to bump into each other in places they'd never expect, from New York City to Edinburgh, and it turns out there's more to Max than Josie thought. But will fate bring them together, or will it tear them apart? A devastatingly romantic, life-affirming love story, Always, in December will stay with readers long after they've finished the last page.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
blurb
TheBookHippie
post image


#SUNDAYBUDDYREAD DECEMBER ❄️🎅🏼🌲🕎
Dec 4 Ch 1-10
Dec 11 Ch 11-20
Dec 18 Ch 21- END
Dec 25- Christmas Day -OFF

Everyone welcome!

Remember this Sunday is OFF! ♥️

AmyG Have a wonderful Thanksgiving 🦃😘 3d
melissajayne I will try to participate as best I can; I have a hold on a copy of the book. 3d
CoverToCoverGirl I have my copy ready!🎄 3d
44 likes3 comments
blurb
TheBookHippie
post image

#SUNDAYBUDDYREAD DECEMBER

Dec 4 ❄️Ch 1-10
Dec 11 ❄️Ch 11-20
Dec 18 ❄️Ch 21- END
Dec 25- Christmas Day -OFF

EVERYONE WELCOME ❄️🎄❄️

41 likes1 stack add
blurb
TheBookHippie
post image

Next UP FOR DECEMBER
Our last #SUNDAYBUDDYREAD for 2022!!!

Then it‘s on to 2023!

http://bookhippie.com/index.php/2022/08/01/2023-list-for-my-sundaybuddyread-on-l...

Everyone welcome!

MoonWitch94 Ohhh I‘m joining! 2w
TheBookHippie @MoonWitch94 ♥️❄️ yay!!! 2w
Read4life I‘m in. I already have this one so I‘m not at the mercy of library holds. 🤓 2w
See All 16 Comments
TheBookHippie @Read4life ♥️👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼❄️ 2w
DebinHawaii Trying to time my library hold just right but I may end up buying it. 😆 2w
TheBookHippie @DebinHawaii Thankfully I found it used!! My library does not have it and I've not seen it on kindle sale. 2w
RedxoHearts Ohh I'd never heard if this but it sounds pretty good. 2w
mollyrotondo I will say I‘m looking forward to the cozy mystery next December 😂 2w
TheBookHippie @mollyrotondo you and me both! Although I love a chance to be snarky 😂👀🤦🏻‍♀️ 2w
mollyrotondo @TheBookHippie well that‘s true. These romances allow for some snark 😂 2w
TheBookHippie @RedxoHearts we‘ve read this author before, she‘s usually fun to read this time of year. 2w
TheBookHippie @mollyrotondo besides Mr BookHippie laughs and laughs and laughs every time I‘m reading this type book… gives him great amusement 👀😂😵‍💫🤷🏻‍♀️ apparently it‘s great to watch me read these. 2w
mollyrotondo @TheBookHippie I give my boyfriend the blow by blow when I‘m reading these and he finds my annoyance so amusing lol. He‘s a writer so it also helps him understand how he should try to write either relationships or simply female characters. So they are helpful 😂 2w
TheBookHippie @mollyrotondo solidarity ✊🏼🤪🤣 2w
Quartnea Im excited to join in on this!
1w
TheBookHippie @Quartnea should be fun! 1w
57 likes16 comments
blurb
LitsyEvents
post image

The December #sundaybuddyread hosted by @thebookhippie has been announced! Let her know if you plan to join and want to be tagged.

53 likes1 stack add
blurb
TheBookHippie
post image

#SUNDAYBUDDYREAD DECEMBER

Dec 4 ❄️Ch 1-10
Dec 11 ❄️Ch 11-20
Dec 18 ❄️Ch 21- END
Dec 25- Christmas Day -OFF

Everyone welcome!! ❄️💚♥️

KristiAhlers Oh please tag me! I don‘t have a holiday themed read yet! 2w
mcipher I‘m in, too! I love as many holiday reads as possible❤️ 🎄 2w
See All 13 Comments
Deblovestoread Thanks for the reminder! I need to get a copy. 2w
kspenmoll Me too! 2w
TheAromaofBooks Oh!! Do add me to December's list - I'm always up for another holiday read!! 2w
CoverToCoverGirl Add me please! 🙋🏼‍♀️ 2w
TheBookHippie @kspenmoll I can‘t believe we‘ve hit December already!!! ♥️💚 2w
Catsandbooks Going to try to get a copy! 2w
TheBookHippie @Catsandbooks yay. I‘m notorious for not liking smultzy stories I think half the fun is me trying to behave 😂😂 2w
55 likes13 comments
blurb
TheBookHippie
post image

#SUNDAYBUDDYREAD DECEMBER ♥️

blurb
TheBookHippie
post image

Our DECEMBER #SUNDAYBUDDYREAD 🌲🎄🎅🏼❄️⛄️

Everyone welcome ♥️

blurb
TheBookHippie
post image

#SUNDAYBUDDYREAD DECEMBER ❄️

All welcome ♥️

CoverToCoverGirl Me please!🙋🏼‍♀️ 2mo
TheBookHippie @CoverToCoverGirl can‘t believe DECEMBER 😝 2mo
41 likes2 comments
blurb
TheBookHippie
post image

#SUNDAYBUDDYREAD DECEMBER ❄️

Everyone welcome ❄️❄️❄️❄️

review
bree.v08
post image
Mehso-so

⭐️⭐️/5

review
julesG
post image
Pickpick

Emotional, life affirming story of loss.

#20in4 #readathon @Andrew65

Andrew65 Sounds interesting. 3mo
63 likes1 comment
blurb
robinb
post image
squirrelbrain Thanks for the tag Robin! 😘 4mo
Librarybelle Thanks for the tag! 4mo
mabell Thanks for the tag! 👋❤️ 4mo
31 likes3 comments
review
Sci.Cricketts
post image
Mehso-so

So when I picked this up I thought it was a romance Holiday read— it‘s not. I stopped reading and now I finally picked it up to finish it. The book lacked the character connection for the romance piece, but all makes sense later. I liked it, but it‘s probably a read once for me book.

review
ajmayorquin
Panpan

This book was hard for me to read. It was frustrating and sad.

review
rebbyj
Pickpick

Fantastic. Damn ending.

review
Curvybookgirl
post image
Pickpick

I enjoyed this debut novel. I had mixed emotions reading it but overall it‘s a well written easy read

review
bookandbedandtea
post image
Pickpick

This wasn't what I expected but I certainly enjoyed it. What a tear jerker!

review
erank58
post image
Panpan

OK. I knew this was going to be sad and was spot on with the ultimate ending--I like emotional romances and normally love these types of stories. This started out so strong... But Dear God, the in-berween??? Between the coincidences, missed understandings, and insta love with no development, this is officially on my "Worst of the Year" list!

On a side note--Merry Christmas to those who observe!!

review
marleed
post image
Pickpick

There seems to be a formula to most rom-coms (I‘m looking at you Hallmark channel). I added this to my TBR assuming the cover met that formula, but before my hold was available I was forewarned this was more of a rom-dram. Gut-punch that this is, I appreciate this story paved it‘s own path.

67 likes4 stack adds
review
MallenNC
post image
Pickpick

This is a pick, but only because I was warned it was sad! I still wasn‘t prepared for WHY it is sad, but that perspective helped. I liked the chapters in the female MC‘s point of view best. I don‘t think readers should go into this expecting a holiday romance, because if I had, I‘d have been really mad.

review
Victoriahoperose
post image
Mehso-so

This one was cute but a bit too predictable for me. It just didn‘t have anything that really grabbed me when I was reading it. It felt like a typical romance with Christmas thrown into the mix. It had some super sad parts and I just felt like the relationships weren‘t developed enough for me to really get into it the way I wanted to. Cute story. Not my favorite but not bad at all.

Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks Awww 😽😽 11mo
Victoriahoperose @Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks they love to keep me company when I read lol 11mo
PaperbackPirate 😻 11mo
25 likes3 comments
blurb
Chili
post image
TheSpineView Great job! 12mo
keys_on_fire Totally unrelated, but my first thought was, “What is a 14 day book?” 🤣🤣 12mo
Chili @keys_on_fire It is the length of the check out period. 🤣 Most of the libraries in our library system put that limit on new books. 😁 12mo
TheAromaofBooks Yay!! 12mo
Jadams1776 🎁🎄👍🏻🎉🎅🏻 12mo
25 likes5 comments
review
peaknit
post image
Pickpick

I might have really cried at the end had I not been in a doctors waiting room. It was a decent “sort of” holiday read with an unpredictable conclusion. #Wintergames2021 #TeamGameSleighers 🎄

JenReadsAlot Should I add to my list for next year? 12mo
peaknit @JenReadsAlot I think you should! 12mo
31 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
ReadingEnvy
post image
Panpan

Um, how should I put this, it's kind of a spoiler. Don't call a book a romance if it doesn't have an HEA. If you go in looking for a light feel-good read but leave it sobbing, what has been accomplished? I didn't sob, I was just disgusted. I outgrew the Lurlene McDaniel bullsh!t as a teen.

Strong opinions but that's how I roll.

Prairiegirl_reading With no happy ending it‘s absolutely NOT a romance!!! 12mo
StayCurious Boo. With no HEA what‘s the point? Thanks for the warning 12mo
ReadingEnvy @Prairiegirl_reading exactly!! It's against the contract! 12mo
See All 9 Comments
ReadingEnvy @StayCurious I was so mad, lok 12mo
EvieBee Okay, I had to google HEA. And now that I have, I‘d be just as mad! I still haven‘t fully recovered from Crash Landing on You. Ugh. 12mo
ReadingEnvy @EvieBee when something is marketed as romance it's only requirement is that happily ever after, so I was annoyed, clearly. 12mo
CarolynM I don't mind a HFN, but if there's no H it's no #romantsy 😆 12mo
CoffeeAndABook Ha! Love this review 😂 I saw the cover and was about to hit „stack“ when I read the review. Pooh! No HEA - that‘s no good at all!!! 12mo
ReadingEnvy @CarolynM precisely 12mo
55 likes1 stack add9 comments
review
Bakingbookworm
post image
Panpan

2.5 STARS - This book didn't hit the mark for me. Not enough romance - too much InstaLove, miscommunication trope and an ending that came out of nowhere and felt like an emotional Hail Mary. Not my cuppa tea but I'm feeling rather cranky about this book so take my review with grain of salt. You may love it.

Review: https://bit.ly/AlwaysInDecemberReview

review
robinb
post image
Pickpick

This was such a good book, especially for a debut! But be aware…three-hanky alert! Josie “literally” runs into Max on her way to post a Christmas letter to her parents (which she‘s done for the past 20 years) who passed away when she was 9. Through sheer coincidence they end up sharing the holiday together as Max‘s flight to NYC has been canceled. They have an intense connection, but Max leaves her with only a brief note as explanation. 🔻

robinb Over the next year, several times they meet unexpectedly by chance. This book is not your average rom-com. It has deeper, more serious themes including dealing with long-term grief, handling terminal illness and determining how to move forward when it seems you‘ve taken the wrong path. 🔻 1y
robinb I loved both mains and the supporting characters as well, and this was very well-written, leaving me with a story that will stay with me no doubt for quite awhile. I look forward to more from this author. Recommended. 5/5⭐️ 1y
54 likes2 stack adds2 comments