Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Solitaire
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
In Solitaire, Alice Oseman has brought to life a vivid, clever, and heartfelt portrayal of what it's like to be a teenager today. This stunning debut novelwhich the Times (London) called "The Catcher in the Rye for the digital age"is perfect for fans of Melina Marchetta, Stephen Chbosky, and Rainbow Rowell.My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last yearbefore all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of exams and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to peopleI had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that's all over now.Now there's Solitaire. And Michael Holden. I don't know what Solitaire is trying to do, and I don't care about Michael Holden. I really don't.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Cortg
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image
Pickpick

I liked this one but didn‘t love it because I thought it was a bit too YA-ish for me. I did like that it covers a lot of what high schoolers are feeling and going through and that they would be able to relate; mental health and depression, a feeling of loneliness etc. I‘m so glad I got to experience high school in the 80‘s & 90‘s rather than today.

blurb
catsuit_mango
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image

I saw that penguin released some new audio books of Pratchett'S witches series, gifted them to a friend, and could not resist trying the xigxag app for myself. Anybody else using it? I like the idea of switching between audio and epub seamlessly.

review
GirlNamedJesse
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
Pickpick

This wouldn‘t normally be my cup of tea, but I‘ll read anything in this universe. I ❤️ Tori and Charlie and Nick, and Michael & Becky are growing on me.

blurb
GirlNamedJesse
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image

Looking on the bright side of a challenging week/weekend: getting to read outside with s‘mores. I am OBSESSED with Heartstopper and I‘m consuming as much media around it as possible. 💕🍃💕🍃

review
MMFinck
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
Pickpick

I found the depressiveness in this one draining, but that didn‘t stop me from reading every single part of the series. I love Charlie and Nick.

6 likes1 stack add
review
kissmehardy
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image
Pickpick

I would not recommend this book if you want a story that goes all the way through the process of healing. I WOULD recommend this story if you want to be anchored in the mind of a teen with depression. Tori isn't always likeable (ugh, what a term), but she IS fully fleshed out, and I appreciate that. #yalit

review
Nessavamusic
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image
Pickpick

This is a hard one to review, it was a sadder book then I expected after reading Heartstopper (this takes place during Volume 4) but focuses on Tori. It has a very different tone, and deals heavily with depression, so know that going in. For a book written by a 17 yo it is impressive, but it does show her age at times. 3.5⭐️

review
peanutnine
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image
Pickpick

So glad I finally read Oseman's first novel, the one that started it all! Check the TWs - it gets real.
I enjoyed learning more about Tori and her struggles with not fitting in. Michael was also a cool character to get to know. But I liked how everyone had flaws and issues to deal with - it is high school after all.
The 'Solitaire' mystery honestly took a back seat to all the character development but I didn't mind.
#SeriesRead2022 @TheSpineView

31 likes1 stack add
review
tracey38
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image
Pickpick

#4 Listened to this on audio. It was a good book, though sad at times. This one is hard to describe. It's about a girl in school in England. She likes to sleep and blog. And keeps to herself a lot after an event that happened with her brother. Then there is this unknown character named Solitaire who is doing weird things at her school that are escalating. It is interesting and I loved the audio. But it does have some trigger warnings.

quote
Michollio
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image

. . .freedom of nonspeech 👏 😄

review
ThePageantHam
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image
Pickpick

This is a strange, at times quite grim book, and it is palpably teenagery. I also don't love Oseman's writing style in this book. And yet, I enjoyed it and am glad I listened to Jayne Entwistle read it in her lovely British accent, because Tori is a difficult, depressed protagonist whose world I was grateful to have a peek into at the end of the day. I recommend checking Oseman's content warnings here: https://www.aliceoseman.com/content-warnings.

review
broughtyoubooks
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image
Mehso-so

Struggled to get through the first major section of it, but it ended up a good story. I think half of the problem was identifying too much with Tori, since I was way too similar in high school. And the parallels with other media were stated a little too heavily, but otherwise worth the read.

review
kaarnalaiva
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image
Mehso-so

This was a bit of a let down for me. I‘ve loved the other books by Oseman I‘ve read but for some reason this didn‘t hook me in. It was okay but nothing too special.

blurb
kaarnalaiva
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image

Went for a little #audiowalk this evening to return some library books🍂

review
Lara.Tomme
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image
Pickpick

First read about Charlie and Nick through the graphic novel Heartstopper. Decided to read a novel by Alice Oseman. I really liked it. Although it covered difficult topic; the story, the characters and the writing style really spoke to me. I also want to read other books by Alice Oseman.

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

blurb
thegirlwiththelibrarybag
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image

I‘m a big fan of the Heartstopper graphic novel series - and slightly older versions of Nick and Charlie appear in this story about Tori Spring (older sister of Charlie).

I‘ve been spending a bit of time on tumblr lately - and I‘ve been loving the authors interactions with readers - and just all the lovely fan art that Alice‘s work has inspired... #tbrmountain

ramblingsofareader this is a great read! enjoy!! 2y
58 likes1 comment
blurb
WeeziesBooks
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image

Sometimes I find cool books at the Dollar Tree.

blurb
inahreads
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image

I was lucky enough to find this at a thrift shop!

juliannebenford Lovely photo! 5y
4 likes2 comments
quote
Boghunden
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image

Starting a new book 😄 I like the writing already. I don't really know what this one's about, but we'll see! 😀 #currentlyreading #coffee #yalit #quote #reading #ya

review
newtsbookblog
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image
Mehso-so

This one, for me, was a confusing one - I honestly think I've passed the catchment age for this book. It felt really slow because of its setting and the fact that "Solitaire" wasn't actually the main theme of the book - I expected Solitaire to be the main theme but it seemed to be a subplot sitting behind the rest of the story. I loved the writing though and am looking forward to reading something else by Alice! Give it a go!

13 likes1 stack add
blurb
Graceful_pages
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image

Hello!!
It's my first post on here! Yay🎉
Let's start this off with a little introduction:
•my name is Isabella, but Isa is okay!
•I've always been in love books, but this passion started maybe 4/5 years ago.
•I'm obsessed with cats.
•I don't know what else to say😂
So yeah, that's me.

Just so you know, I didn't like this book at all. I just like how this photo looks😁

Tnovo Welcome to Litsy!! Hope you enjoy it. 📚 5y
Graceful_pages @Tnovo thank you very much! I hope I will enjoy it too☺️❤ 5y
See All 8 Comments
Meow_Books_Please A fellow book and cat lover! 🖤🐱 5y
MrBook Hi, Isa! Welcome to @Litsy ! We hope you enjoy your stay 😊👍🏻. I think you're going to like it here 😉🙌🏻. It's the most positive, tight-knit, passionate community of bibliophiles 😎👌🏻! Prepare yourself: this will take over your life 😂👏🏻. 5y
Graceful_pages @Meow_Books_Please yay! That's great news😊 5y
Jenni_Capps Loveeeeeee your picture!! Welcome to Litsy!! ♥️♥️♥️ 5y
Graceful_pages @Jenni_Capps aww thanks a lot!🙊☺️ 5y
38 likes1 stack add8 comments
blurb
vicgreentoriafield
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image

I've been in a sort of life funk which put me in a book funk. It took me a month to reread "Slaughterhouse-Five", but i think I'm back. I just finished "Solitaire" which was a super easy read and a very quotable book

blurb
MollyLooby
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
post image

Christmas book haul! 🎄

Jenshootsweddings I loved One! 6y
73 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
theyareader
Solitaire | Alice Oseman
Pickpick

So beautifal. Tori is quirky and sarcastic. Great pranks vibe.