Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Fleishman Is in Trouble
Fleishman Is in Trouble: A Novel | Taffy Brodesser-Akner
10 posts | 7 read | 2 reading | 19 to read
A finely observed, timely exploration of marriage, divorce, and the bewildering dynamics of ambition from one of the most exciting writers working today—for readers of Jonathan Franzen, Lauren Groff, and Tom Perrotta Toby Fleishman thought he knew what to expect when he and his wife of almost fifteen years separated: weekends and every other holiday with the kids, some residual bitterness, the occasional moment of tension in their co-parenting negotiations. He could not have predicted that one day, in the middle of his summer of sexual emancipation, Rachel would just drop their two children off at his place and simply not return. He had been working so hard to find equilibrium in his single life. The winds of his optimism, long dormant, had finally begun to pick up. Now this. As Toby tries to figure out where Rachel has gone, all while juggling his patients at the hospital, his never-ending parental duties, and his new dating app–assisted sexual popularity, his tidy narrative of the spurned husband with the too-ambitious wife is his sole consolation. But if Toby ever wants to truly understand what happened to Rachel and to his marriage, he is going to have to consider that maybe he never saw things all that clearly in the first place. A searing, utterly unvarnished debut, Fleishman Is in Trouble is an insightful, unsettling, often hilarious exploration of a culture trying to navigate the fault lines of marriage—an institution that has proven to be worthy of both our great wariness and our great hope. Advance praise for Fleishman Is in Trouble “Blisteringly funny, feverishly smart, heartbreaking, and true, Fleishman Is in Trouble is an essential read for anyone who’s wondered how to navigate loving (and hating) the people we choose.”—Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney, author of The Nest
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
KimmyM
Fleishman Is in Trouble: A Novel | Taffy Brodesser-Akner
post image

Treated my shelf to some new goodies, just in time for the weekend! I've heard great things about both of these.
#treatyourshelf #tgif

14 likes1 stack add
review
QuintusMarcus
Fleishman Is in Trouble: A Novel | Taffy Brodesser-Akner
post image
Pickpick

Tough book to read: there's really not a lot of enjoyment to be had from reading about a miserable marriage going down in flames. The enjoyment comes from the author's brilliant build up of the narrative, and her final ingenious solution. A lot has been made in the press about the humor of the book--there are some sharply funny moments, but overall I don't find raunch to be a good substitute for wit. Still, a very good novel and worth reading.

review
BooksForEmpathy
Fleishman Is in Trouble: A Novel | Taffy Brodesser-Akner
post image
Pickpick

I devoured this book. It is SO smart + on point with the social circles and constructs I am finding myself at the edge of right now. Firmly in my early 30s, I am at the cusp of having to come to terms with what having a child and a career will look like. The pressures of being a woman have never seemed so daunting.

This book is about marriage and ambition and divorce and mental health and gender and it is so OF THE MOMENT it took my breath away.

8little_paws I've heard a lot of great stuff about it! I'm in my late 30s, I hear ya. 3w
8little_paws I will say now in my late 30s, I got so burned out on work I no longer care what my career looks like. It's a source of income, that's it. I do what's asked of me and I don't go above and beyond any more. It's not worth it. 3w
Ashley_Nicoletto Great review! I must pick this up. 3w
See All 6 Comments
saresmoore I just got this from the library—can‘t wait to read it now! 3w
TrishB Stacked, great review 👍🏻 I‘m in my early 50s and saddened to hear that the choice is still so difficult ☹️ 3w
AmyG I just picked this up for my ibooks. I will have to bump it to the top. 3w
53 likes9 stack adds6 comments
review
NEgardener
Fleishman Is in Trouble: A Novel | Taffy Brodesser-Akner
Panpan

Taffy Brodesser-Akner is a talented writer, but you wouldn't know it from this book. I listened to the audiobook - all 14 hours of it - & not once did I find any of the characters appealing. I kept listening because it got good reviews, at times could be insightful & I wanted to know what happened to his wife. However, despite my hope that it would get better, it dragged on & on & ultimately fell flat.

blurb
NEgardener
Fleishman Is in Trouble: A Novel | Taffy Brodesser-Akner
post image

Listened to the above-tagged book while spending the day in my flowerbeds & vegetable garden. I‘m not sure if I actually like any of the characters but the plot is intriguing.

Crazeedi Everything looks healthy and awesome!! 4w
3 likes1 comment
blurb
Mitch
Fleishman Is in Trouble: A Novel | Taffy Brodesser-Akner
post image

More dangerous articles to read is you want to get through your TBR in the next 100 years!🤣

https://bookmarks.reviews/the-best-reviewed-books-of-the-week-6-21-2019/

Crazeedi Arrrghh!!! I'm overwhelmed !!! Torture!!! Enough!!!😊 4w
Soubhiville 🤣😂🤣. Who are we fooling? Getting through one‘s TBR is the world‘s most impossible quest! But the most fun to attempt, too 😁. 4w
67 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
Mitch
Fleishman Is in Trouble: A Novel | Taffy Brodesser-Akner
post image

Cool short article where 5 authors share summer plans of where to visit, what to listen to and of course what to read !

https://www.vanityfair.com/style/photos/2019/05/summer-books-to-read

Theaelizabet Thanks for posting!👏 1mo
Mitch @Theaelizabet there‘s some fun ideas ! 1mo
Hooked_on_books Great article! 1mo
64 likes3 comments
review
Well-ReadNeck
Fleishman Is in Trouble: A Novel | Taffy Brodesser-Akner
post image
Panpan

Just no. This novel did not work for me at all. None of the characters were likeable or sympathetic and the story was a drag. I only kept reading because of reviews saying that the final third makes it all worth while. I disagree. The “twist” felt gimmicky and did nothing to elevate this for me. It felt like it was trying to be Where‘d You Go, Bernadette? But it was a miss for me. #netgalley

review
The_Real_Nani
Fleishman Is in Trouble: A Novel | Taffy Brodesser-Akner
post image
Pickpick

If I were reading this book with my book club, we‘d have so many angles to dissect that we‘d probably finish at least two bottles of wine and all the cheese and crackers, and maybe the brownies too. Full review now up on my blog! https://www.therealnani.com/review-fleishman-is-in-trouble/ @penguinrandomhouse

RidgewayGirl I just finished this one. I thought the ending was stronger than the rest of it. 3mo
The_Real_Nani @RidgewayGirl Yes, that third part completely changes the context of the story. 3mo
4 likes2 comments
review
The_Real_Nani
Fleishman Is in Trouble: A Novel | Taffy Brodesser-Akner
This post contains spoilers
show me
Pickpick

At first, I thought this was a book about a guy who was bitter and angry about his divorce, but PLOT TWIST, it‘s not. Or, rather, it‘s more than that. The protagonist is male but the narrator is female, which is not apparent at first but it changed my reading of the book when I realized it. Forthcoming from Random House June 2019 #netgalley