Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Lakesedge
Lakesedge | Lyndall Clipstone
4 posts | 4 read | 5 to read
A lush, gothic fantasy from debut author Lyndall Clipstone about monsters and magic, set on the banks of a cursed lake, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Brigid Kemmerer. When Violeta Graceling and her younger brother Arien arrive at the haunted Lakesedge estate, they expect to find a monster. Leta knows the terrifying rumors about Rowan Sylvanan, who drowned his entire family when he was a boy. But neither the estate nor the monster are what they seem. As Leta falls for Rowan, she discovers he is bound to the Lord Under, the sinister death god lurking in the black waters of the lake. A creature to whom Leta is inexplicably drawn... Now, to save Rowanand herselfLeta must confront the darkness in her past, including unraveling the mystery of her connection to the Lord Under.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
AmyTheBookdragon
Lakesedge | Lyndall Clipstone
post image
Pickpick

This was such a long eerie gothic romance with lush descriptions and elements of the paranormal, with the main setting being a dark manor near a corrupted black lake. The MC Leta is determined to save the world, and is so brave and sassy. I loved the relationship she has with her brother Arien. The romance was a perfect enemies to lovers with a brooding love interst being the mysterious Lord Rowan. The plot was enjoyable and left on a cliffhanger

AkashaVampie That cover... 💜💜💜 3d
AmyTheBookdragon @AkashaVampie It's the UK cover😍 but the US edition is even more beautiful!! 3d
AkashaVampie @AmyTheBookdragon wow.. I will have to check it out then. 3d
32 likes2 stack adds3 comments
quote
AmyTheBookdragon
Lakesedge | Lyndall Clipstone

"I thought I could burn myself down to save the world. But I never thought of of what to do if the world burned all around me instead."

review
Kar2b
Lakesedge | Lyndall Clipstone
post image
Pickpick

I enjoyed how atmospheric this book was, the slow burning romance between Leta and Rowen, and the mythology/religion of the Lady and Lord Under. I thought the story wrapped up quite well, so I‘m not sure since it says #1 what book two will bring or how many there will be in total. Could be read as a stand-alone.

6 likes1 stack add
review
Avanders
Lakesedge | Lyndall Clipstone
post image
Panpan

It was pretty terrible—super weirdly repetitive & clichéd & oh-so-tropey. It‘s *not* gothic or modern gothic… though certain obvious elements have been shoved into the story to make it appear so. But it got the extra star for being such a quick and easy read. Deserved? Idk, maybe not…. ;p I really start to wonder if I‘m too old for YA… but when I think about Six of Crows & other well-written YAs, I think, “no, this just isn‘t good.” ??‍♀️
⭐️⭐️

Avanders Or this trilogy that I loved: 4w
kellyann28 Oh that's a bummer! I have this on my TBR 🥴 4w
Avanders @kellyann28 Well — if you can tear through it… maybe it‘s still worth starting and seeing how you like it? Some people have really loved it… 🤷🏽‍♀️😁 4w
BethM The cover is pretty? Lol. I have the same feelings about YA, but then I think of ACoTaR and others. My theory is that “good” YA was when I was a YA reader before we knew what to call it. For the most part then and now “good” was also always sff based. Now some YA has devolved into angsty teen garbage which is not what made us love the genre. 3w
Avanders @BethM lol! The book is beautiful — this copy also has pretty end pages and was signed… I wanted to love it. I totally agree — sooooo much angsty garbage! 😂😂 (edited) 3w
63 likes5 comments