Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Unpregnant
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
27 posts | 25 read | 30 to read
Perfect for fans of Juno and Jennifer E. Smith comes this hysterically funny and heartfelt YA novel about fierce friendship, reproductive rights, and the wild road to adulthood. This breakout teen debut is from authors Jenni Hendriks (writer for How I Met Your Mother) and Ted Caplan (music editor for The Hate U Give, The Greatest Showman). Seventeen-year-old Veronica Clarke never thought she'd want to fail a test--that is, until she finds herself staring at a piece of plastic with two solid pink lines. With a promising college-bound future now disappearing before her eyes, Veronica considers a decision she never imagined she'd have to make: an abortion. There's just one catch--the closest place to get one is over nine hundred miles away. With conservative parents, a . . . let's say less-than-optimal boyfriend, and no car, Veronica turns to the only person she believes won't judge her: Bailey Butler, a legendary misfit at Jefferson High--and Veronica's ex-best friend. The plan is straightforward: a fourteen-hour drive to the clinic, three hours for the appointment, and a fourteen-hour drive home. What could go wrong? Not much, apart from three days of stolen cars, shot guns, crazed ex-boyfriends, aliens, ferret napping, and the pain and betrayal of a broken friendship that can't be outrun. Under the starlit skies of the American Southwest, Veronica and Bailey discover that sometimes the most important choice is who your friends are.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image
TheBookHippie ✊🏼✊🏼✊🏼✊🏼 3mo
26 likes1 comment
review
DrLReads
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
Pickpick

A funny and at times, moving, YA read. Highly recommend!

blurb
blondie
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image

Current read.
I was going to watch this movie after binging Euphoria and remembered that I have the book.

quote
VioletMoonBooks
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image
review
Anita
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image
Pickpick

This was amazing! So funny and definitely captures small town MO well. Also, it‘s Eva-approved.

blurb
Anita
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image

review
JenniferEgnor
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image
Pickpick

I watched the movie, not knowing about the book. This is a very positive story that shows the very real struggle of getting access to abortion care. (I picked these two photos to zero in on the point). Reproductive coercion, unnecessary legislation, fake clinics and more—this is a fantastic story of one girl who thought: it can‘t happen to me.

quote
JenniferEgnor
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image

You are not going to regret this! After this weekend is over, it‘s not going to be the weekend you got an abortion. It‘ll be the weekend you saw the spot where motherfucking aliens landed on the motherfucking earth!

quote
VioletMoonBooks
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image

Sitting on the icy-cold toilet seat in the third stall of the girls‘ bathroom, I desperately squeezed my thighs together and concentrated on not peeing.
#Unpregnant #JenniHendriks #TedCaplan #firstline #openingline #book #books #bookhoarder #bookhaul #bookhauler #bookholic #bookholics #bookheaven #bookjunkie #bookjunkies #bookjunky #bookjacket #bookjackets #bookjacketdesign #bookjacketdesigner #bookkeeper #YoungAdult #Contemporary #Fiction 💚💚💚

review
VioletMoonBooks
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image
Pickpick

I really enjoyed this book. It is definitely one of my favorites. The situations they find themselves in along the way are hilarious. It was equal parts funny and full of heart. I would definitely recommend this book. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
#Unpregnant #JenniHendriks #TedCaplan #book #books #bookvibe #bookvibes #bookvsfilm #bookvsmovie #bookbag #bookbags #bookbinding #bookbeau #bookblog #bookblogger #bookbackpack #YoungAdult #Contemporary #Fiction 📚💕📚💕📚

25 likes2 stack adds
blurb
VioletMoonBooks
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image
review
vanslibanan
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image
Bailedbailed

I think I won't be finishing reading the book after I saw the movie. #bookstoscreen

Tera66 Oh no.☹ Is the book bad, the movie bad, or both? 2y
vanslibanan The movie is okay. The writing even better. I'm just pro life. That's where my dilemma lies @Tera66 2y
51 likes2 comments
review
saheffernan
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
Pickpick

Although the subject matter at hand isn't "funny" the writers made it lighthearted while still addressing a very heavy topic that instead of being shoved into a corner no one wants to talk about should be discussed in whatever way we can. A roadtrip to an abortion clinic , a broken friendship, a broken future, a boyfriend who's overbearing and comedic relief for the heavy parts a book I'd recommend if you need to talk about the heavy topic

review
natalieebloom
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image
Pickpick

Honestly, I am almost in tears simply because I‘m sad this book is over! A YA masterpiece that portrays female friendship so accurately. And, hello, yes, let‘s NORMALIZE abortion in a positive light in YA! Those of you that follow me know I read a lot of YA and this is one of my favorite YA novels in a long time. I can‘t wait to see the movie - I hope it does this book justice.

8 likes2 stack adds
review
cwarnier
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image
Mehso-so

This was a great adventure book. I didnt necessarily like how they portrayed abortion though. But the girls were able to figure out who they really were, and not just in relationship to HS.
#bbrc #teenangst becomingamovie
#booked2020 #autumn #thinkpink

blurb
cwarnier
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image

What to do ? Tv, litsy browsing, lunch, grade school work, lesson plan or read.
How to choose?

review
NotCool
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
Bailedbailed

I‘m not the target audience of this and it seemed over written to me. But I literally made it half a chapter into this book, so hopefully, it turns some corners further on.

review
la_isla
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image
Pickpick

This was so much better than I thought it would be, especially given the premise. I enjoyed the humor, and the heart, and I almost feel the need to own my own copy. #quarantinereads

review
Lauredhel
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image
Pickpick

100% agree! This book is fantastic.and it's not just a comedic abortion friendship story, it's a comedic abortion ROAD TRIP friendship story. Recommend.

64 likes2 stack adds
blurb
Lauredhel
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image

I‘m about forty percent through this terrific book. A Christian girl headed for valedictorian finds herself pregnant... with the nearest abortion clinic that doesn‘t require parental consent being a thousand miles away. A road trip book with a difference. Reading for #thinkpink prompt in #booked2020 challenge! I‘m just calling it Djeran here now though it‘s perhaps still a little warm.

86 likes5 stack adds
blurb
Cailey_Mac
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image

I‘m literally falling asleep at work today, so a funny book should perk me back up! #currentread #tbr #backonit

cozypunk What a pretty book! 3y
Cailey_Mac @DWpalooza it is! It was a weird funny book too😅 3y
32 likes3 stack adds2 comments
review
Moonprismpower
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image
Panpan


Maybe it was me but the plot and the character of Bailey was so out of control it was unbelievable. I believe Veronica felt she only had the choice if this ex best friend but the shenanigans Bailey causes seemed way over the top. Especially for such a serious situation. And I understand Veronica would go to any lengths to get to Albuquerque I think to ensure she actually made it she would have ditched Bailey long ago.

DebinHawaii Welcome to Litsy!! 🎉📚🎉Hope you are enjoying it here! Check out @LitsyWelcomeWagon to get more connected —there‘s great links to Litsy tips in the profile. 3y
LitsyWelcomeWagon Welcome to Litsy! Here are links to #Litsytips: http://bit.ly/litsytips and #LitsyHowTo videos: https://goo.gl/UrCpoU. There‘s lots of fun things to do: book exchanges, buddy reads, photo challenges and more! #litsywelcomewagon 3y
Nute Welcome to Litsy! It‘s a warm and friendly community. I know that you will enjoy yourself here. I‘m looking forward to getting to know you!🙂 3y
Eggs Welcome to Litsy 🥳🎈 3y
Moonprismpower @Eggs thank you! I‘m having a bit of fun with it 😁 3y
4 likes5 comments
blurb
leatherpages
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image

All my pretty hardbacks🙃 See any favorites?

StillLookingForCarmenSanDiego Hope you're enjoying Litsy so far 💖📚💖 3y
41 likes2 comments
review
Nitpickyabouttrains
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image
Pickpick

Ya about an abortion. But also about friends and family and finding people you can be yourself with.

15 likes3 stack adds
review
ambam1987
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image
Pickpick

I‘ve never read anything like this before. Very interested in seeing the film when it comes out.

14 likes3 stack adds
blurb
LauraBeth
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image

Library Holds. Also - I just got a notification from the library that my hold for Patchett‘s The Dutch House is In-Transit. 🙀 Whenever it says that, I‘ve gotten the book either that day or the next day. Wondering if the release date was moved up? 🤔

MicheleinPhilly Feeling girly today? 3y
LauraBeth @MicheleinPhilly occasionally it happens! 3y
valeriegeary 👏👏👏 3y
LauraBeth @valeriegeary the task will be to read them before they're due back to the library! 😂 3y
97 likes1 stack add4 comments
blurb
Kelly
Unpregnant | Jenni Hendriks, Ted Caplan
post image

Giving this a whirl.

18 likes1 stack add