Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Leave No Trace
Leave No Trace: Better to disappear when you have so much to hide | Mindy Mejia
A hostile wilderness is watching you. Spine-chilling thriller from the author of THE LAST ACT OF HATTIE HOFFMAN for fans of Jane Harper's FORCE OF NATURE and Chris Whitaker's TALL OAKS Ten years after a boy and his father went missing in the wilderness of Minnesota's Boundary Waters, the boy - who is no longer a boy - walks back out of the forest. He is violent and uncommunicative. The authorities take him to Congdon Mental Institution in Duluth, on the edge of mighty Lake Superior. There, language therapist Maya Stark is given the task of making a connection with this boy/man who came back from the dead. But their celebrity patient tries to escape and refuses to answer any questions about his father or the last ten years of his life. In many ways he is old far beyond his years; in others, still a child. But Maya, who was abandoned by her own mother, has secrets, too. And as she's drawn closer to this enigmatic boy, she'll risk everything to reunite him with his father who has disappeared from the known world - but at what cost to herself?
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Pandalibrarian
post image
Pickpick

While parts of this were hard to believe, I did enjoy it overall. I loved reading about the Boundary Waters Canoe Area and Ely. The sense of place and love for the area really came through. I liked how the backstory of both main characters was revealed in bits and pieces with an unexpected ending. I also enjoyed how the author brought in the geological aspects of the BWCA and that rocks played an important role in the story.

review
imabusybee
post image
Pickpick

Finished this on my little walk today...Its raining again so its the treadmill later to reach my step goal. Great book 4 stars! 5/16 #BFC #bookfitnesschallenge @wanderinglynn

CoverToCoverGirl 👊👏 4mo
BookwormAHN Nice job 👏🏻 4mo
Chrissyreadit Awesome! 4mo
See All 7 Comments
baes 🙌🏻 4mo
wanderinglynn Great progress! 🙌🏻 4mo
66 likes7 comments
blurb
imabusybee
post image

Started this on my walk this afternoon. #BFC #bookfitnesschallenge @wanderinglynn

nelehelen Nice! How is it so far? 4mo
BookwormAHN Good pick 👏🏻 4mo
wanderinglynn Sounds like an interesting pick. 4mo
See All 6 Comments
dariazeoli Looks good. Leave no trace of footprints on your walk 😉 4mo
Read4life On my tbr. Hope you enjoy it 💙 4mo
imabusybee @nelehelen not to far into it but so far very interesting and mysterious 4mo
54 likes2 stack adds6 comments
blurb
Kappadeemom
post image

I‘m off all week and blowing up my TBR pile! 💣📚

RadicalReader You go girl you‘ll conquer it all 5mo
Kappadeemom @RadicalReader don‘t think that will happen but I‘m gonna put a dent in it!! 😀 5mo
RadicalReader Feel feee to check out Number the Stars by Lois Lowry and The One by John Marrs 5mo
47 likes2 stack adds3 comments
review
OutsmartYourShelf
post image
Panpan

Maya is working as an assistant language therapist at a psychiatric facility, when she is assigned to help 19 year old Lucas. He was last seen 10 years ago when he disappeared with his father into the wild forest.

Starts off well but degenerates into the trope of supposedly intelligent woman ignores experts & does something both stupid & unlikely. Frequent eye rolls deployed on this one. 2⭐️

review
Hooked_on_books
post image
Mehso-so

Lucas Blackthorn emerges from the boundary waters of #Minnesota 10 years after disappearing with his father. He commits an act of violence then will only speak to young speech pathologist Maya. This promising beginning then devolves into absurdities that I just didn‘t buy. The characters were interesting, but too many coincidences and silliness. It did have a strong sense of place, which was good for #ReadingUSA2019.

Librarybelle Bummer! But, at least it had a strong setting! 7mo
NatalieR Dang it! I own this on Audible where I have a serious TBR. Oh well, I can probably return it if I don‘t like it. 7mo
Pamwurtzler Too bad!! 7mo
48 likes2 stack adds3 comments
blurb
Rebonkula
post image

#selfiesunday Happy Sunday Littens! 🖤

review
jmbeichler1128
post image
Pickpick

This is a great read with a twist you might not see coming! Definitely recommend it to anyone who likes a mystery.

blurb
Bookworm84
post image

Interesting characters in a wonderfully real setting. By the end, I really felt like I had been to the Boundary Waters.

1 like1 stack add
review
rjsthumbelina
post image
Pickpick

Liked this way more than her last book. Still not perfect, but I really loved these characters and wanted to unravel all the mysteries of their stories. There are about 4 different mysteries here, plus not knowing how the current storyline would resolve! And I loved the strength of all the settings too: each setting was almost it's own character.Easily one of my top 2 thriller reads of the year.

23 likes1 stack add
blurb
rjsthumbelina
post image

I started this book at about 9 tonight.Now it's 1:15 in the morning and I'm within 50 pages of halfway through it!It's a very intriguing story, with a main character who is a young speech therapist working at a psychiatric hospital where she was a patient for a while,due to some trauma we don't know about yet.A patient comes in who has spent over half his childhood living in the woods with his father, and he will only talk to Maya.So good so far!

blurb
heidisreads
post image

Bottom middle and bottom right were #audiobook
Wendy Webb and Mindy Mejia are thrilling #Minnesota authors!! I also read the first three volumes of the Runaways #comix by Brian Vaughan. #NovemberStats #november

blurb
heidisreads
post image

could I BE any more Fall-ish? 🧡🤣

22 likes1 stack add
blurb
HeatherBlue
post image

I had some doubts about this book at points, but I really feel like it stuck the landing.

blurb
ReadingRover
post image

Sorry for not posting earlier! I got my #favoritepoetswap package! 📦Yay for Litsy Book Mail!!! So excited for this! @LazyDays

Bookishthoughts Yay!!!🎊🎊🎊 11mo
ReadingRover @LazyDays 😆 I just realized that the book I tagged is called Leave No Trace! I meant to tag something just called poetry so idk how that happened 😝 it works though since I don‘t know the sender yet! 11mo
34 likes2 comments
blurb
HeatherBlue
post image

Love it when library holds come in!!!

49 likes1 stack add
review
guinsgirlreads
This post contains spoilers
show me
post image
Mehso-so

Finally finished a book! I‘m so glad moving is over! This one lacked suspense and intrigue for me..it definitely didn‘t go where I thought it was going to either. Something about the therapist/patient relationship that I just couldn‘t take.

blurb
guinsgirlreads
post image

New house is coming along.. dinner is started.. I feel like I can sit here and read for a minute or two.. yay! 😊

RadicalReader @guinsgirlreads love salads they‘re my favorite 11mo
28 likes1 comment
blurb
guinsgirlreads
post image

I‘ve had enough of unpacking boxes for today! #amreading !!

RadicalReader @guinsgirlreads looking forward to reading this novel been having it on my to be read list for a while now 11mo
36 likes2 stack adds1 comment
quote
Matilda
post image

It wasn‘t until my late 20‘s that I really understood this was a thing that existed for some people and suddenly a bunch of stuff made sense.

49 likes1 stack add
review
Mirandareads
post image
Panpan

I hate leaving negative reviews but I have to after reading this one. This story was incredibly boring. I made myself stick it out because I really wanted to be wrong. What....a....complete.....waste....of my precious reading time. ☹️ Feeling extremely frustrated!

RaimeyGallant Have you heard of the John Cardinal mysteries? I was watching the show on Crave TV, and now I'm super pumped to get to the other books in the series. Maybe that will cheer us both up? 12mo
Mirandareads @RaimeyGallant Haha yes maybe that will! I haven‘t heard of them but I‘ll be looking them up 👍🏼😊 12mo
CouronneDhiver Reviewing isn‘t a personal attack on anyone - just an honest opinion. Onward and upward! 12mo
16 likes3 comments
blurb
Tanzy13
post image

A tense and gripping read that plumbs the depths of grief and longing; dark and atmospheric, with palpably vivid details and complex characters harboring plenty of secrets, Leave No Trace is the perfect combination of gorgeous prose and edge-of-your-seat storytelling...

62 likes3 stack adds
blurb
Melli

Well on to my next read.. I really should be in bed..

review
MilenaM
post image
Pickpick

I became a fan of Mindy‘s writing after reading Everything You Want Me To Be last year. Leave No Trace is very different from EYWMTB but just as brilliant and incredibly engrossing. Make sure to pick your copy when it comes out on September 4th! Thank you @bookishhq and @atriabooks for my early copy! #amreading #LeaveNoTrace #bookstagram #NetGalley

review
howjessreads
post image
Mehso-so

If you like scary books, you‘ll like this. I had nightmares. 😂🤦🏼‍♀️ Full review coming for Shelf Awareness. #jesshowreads2018

robinb I really want to read this one! Is it scary, scary or scary suspenseful...? 1y
howjessreads @robinb scary suspenseful. Slash scarily annoying because the heroine just KEEPS DOING DUMB/scary things. 😂🤷🏼‍♀️ 1y
robinb @jesshowbooks I hate heroines who never learn....🙄🙄🙄😂😂😂 1y
70 likes1 stack add3 comments
blurb
howjessreads
post image

I‘m opening my #bookmail in my IG stories! All advance copies provided by Shelf Awareness in exchange for four reviews! I got some fun ones this month - check out the stories for mini thoughts on all of them. (I‘m jesshowbooks over there too!)

robinb I want to read Leave No Trace (read the first chapter as a preview, and it sounds great!) and happy to see Amory and Milo back! 😊 1y
80 likes1 comment
blurb
Rhondareads
post image

Two thrillers Leave No Trace & B.A, Paris new book Bring Me Back something about hot weather outside a.c. blasting a thriller to add to the chill spells summer.

Lovesbooks87 Bring Her Back was an amazing book. The twists kept coming until the very end! 1y
13 likes1 comment