Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Gentleman's Guide to Getting Lucky
The Gentleman's Guide to Getting Lucky | Mackenzi Lee
31 posts | 36 read | 14 to read
"The queer teen historical you didn't know was missing from your life." -- Teen Vogue, on The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue In this funny and frothy novella that picks up where the New York Times bestselling The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue leaves off, freshly minted couple Monty and Percy fumble through their first time together. Monty's epic grand tour may be over, but now that he and Percy are finally a couple, he realizes there is something more nerve-wracking than being chased across Europe: getting together with the person you love. Will the romantic allure of Santorini make his first time with Percy magical, or will all the anticipation and build-up completely spoil the mood?
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
PuddleJumper
post image
Pickpick

A lovely little interlude that deals with relationship anxiety and communication

31 likes1 stack add
review
JoeMo
post image
Pickpick

This is a fun continuation of A Gentleman‘s Guide to Vice and Virtue. It picks up with everyone enjoying some R&R before making their return to England. The focus is on Monty‘s and Percy‘s attempts to consummate their relationship. In typical fashion, nothing goes as planned, Percy acts as a gent, and Monty a bit of a diva. If you loved the original, this is a great way to spend 2 hours and the narration by Christian Coulson is grand. 4/5

quote
ThePageantHam
post image

💌💌💌

annahenke Omg truer words have never been spoken 😂😂😂 2y
12 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
broughtyoubooks
post image
Pickpick

A cute kind of epilogue to Gentlemen's Guide. Writing felt kind of awkward to begin with but figured itself out by the crux of the novella and its title elements.

blurb
Sharpeipup
post image

Thankfully it was a short book otherwise I‘d have melted reading it outside.

32 likes1 stack add
review
K.Wielechowski
post image
Pickpick

Monty and Percy are my new favorite couple. This novella gives a little more view into the comedy of errors that is their relationship. Takes place after Gentleman‘s Guide.

SiameseCatsRead I found it too short. I know it was written as a novella, but I wanted more! 3y
K.Wielechowski @kelly_anne absolutely! To be honest, I could stand to read 4-5 books of Monty and Percy‘s adventures. Can‘t wait to see how the third book fits into the trilogy. 3y
7 likes2 comments
review
hissingpotatoes
post image
Pickpick

4.5/5⭐ Lee does an incredible job of taking the reader through Monty's insecurities and making them feel entirely real, reasonable, and relatable. She also does a phenomenal job of making the reader laugh out loud and shake their head at all the characters. The dialogue is great, the emotional arcs are great, and I was entertained every second. These characters are ridiculous and frustrating and hilarious and I love them.

quote
hissingpotatoes
post image

I would teach my body to regrow my heart each time I gave it to him, over and over and over again. Heart after heart after heart—every one of them his.

quote
hissingpotatoes
post image

And it‘s going to be a disaster. But that‘s all right, because we‘ll have each other, and there‘s no one on this goddamn planet I‘d rather be a disaster with than you.

blurb
hissingpotatoes
post image

MONTY. This excuse should not be valid for a grown-ass adult! (But it's so painfully accurate omg.)

blurb
hissingpotatoes
post image

“Do you mean to tell me that you have not actually fornicated yet?“

IT'S THE FIRST LINE OF THE BOOK. Very promising. 😄

Also loving the little illustrations throughout. #firstline

blurb
hissingpotatoes
post image

Truer words have never been spoken. #dedication

review
Eyelit
post image
Pickpick

This novella was a sweet addition the the series. Monty and Percy work through some insecurities and strengthen their relationship. Could have been longer, imho, but I think I‘ll always want more of this series!

Above is the dedication of the book. 😅

Soubhiville That‘s great 😂🤣 3y
92 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
Eyelit
post image

Welp, Tilney saw an opportunity to jump into the empty laundry bag... and then couldn‘t figure out how to get out. And because I‘m as much of a jerk as him I let him vocalize his displeasure for a bit before helping him out. In my defense, I honestly thought he‘d figure it out in his own. 🙄🤷🏻‍♀️
Really love it when the kittehs ‘help‘ out with the chores. 😂

#audiocleaning #audiochores #caturday #catsoflitsy

QuietlyLaura Sweet Tilney! 😻😍💕 3y
julesG 😂😂😍😍 3y
GondorGirl Sweet, silly baby! 😹 3y
See All 6 Comments
valeriegeary Hahaha! 🤣🤣 3y
Tamra Super Helper! 3y
Meaw_catlady 😻 3y
93 likes6 comments
review
BookishRedhead
post image
Pickpick

This was such a fun and cute one sitting read.
I adore this trio!

review
danimgill
post image
Mehso-so

A cute enough story for fans of Percy and Monty who will read anything about them but really it‘s nothing of substance and felt more like fanfiction than an officially-authored novella.

review
Nitpickyabouttrains
post image
Pickpick

A cute novella set after book one in this series. Definitely not a stand alone.

blurb
xicanti
post image

My next #weeklyforecast features my slightly out of control bedside reading stack.

I‘m currently reading the tagged novella. It‘s a delight.

I‘m intrigued by THE QUEENS OF INNIS LEAR, but I‘m still not sure if I‘m in the right mood for it. I‘ll probably take a break at page 100 and reassess after I‘ve read something else.

Colette‘s my current short fiction collection.

I might not finish CRISIS.

I‘ll keep plugging away at the Sagas and Limón.

review
swishandflick
post image
Pickpick

This felt like getting a few extra chapters of The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue. A quick, adorable follow up with Percy and Monty (love them!). Takes place after the first book in the series but before Felicity's story in book two ❤️

My friend let me use their cabin upstate for the holiday weekend and it's been wonderful. Not quite ready to go home 😭

Cortg Awe, I read this book this morning as well! ❤️ 3y
MissAimz_55 Going to have to read this . I loved both gentleman‘s guide and the lady‘s guide . 3y
89 likes2 comments
review
Cortg
post image
Pickpick

I was adding to a teen display I have at work and came across this little gem of a novella! A fun little side story of Monty and Percy‘s relationship packed with lots of amusement and emotion. Passing this on to my daughter before returning it.
❤️🧡💛💚💙💜

review
Mirazzles
post image
Pickpick

I really enjoyed this novella. It is a short but sweet glimpse into Monty and Percy‘s days after the first novel left off. I absolutely love these two and this book made me laugh and smile! 😊 #mustread #lgbtq #YA #bibliophile

Clwojick Just read this one last night. I love Monty and Percy. ♥️ 3y
58 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
Clwojick
post image
Pickpick

Last night was another one of those nights where I could not sleep for the life of me. Knowing I had to be awake at 4:45am, I tried to go to sleep at 9pm, but ended up tossing and turning until 2:30am. On the plus side, I managed to finish off 3 audiobooks, and start on a 4th. The tagged being my favourite of the lot.

Now I‘m sleepy and cranky, and off to start my first of seven shifts in a row. 😅 #JumpStart2020 @Lizpixie

Butterfinger Hope you have a great day. 3y
Leftcoastzen I‘m sorry, not sleeping is horrible! 3y
TheAromaofBooks Ugh so sorry to hear that! Hopefully you can sack out when you get home tonight!! 3y
See All 7 Comments
Gaylagal2 Oh my gosh I know that feeling! Awful 😬 Take care 🤙 3y
Lizpixie Welcome to the #LitsyInsomniacsClub partner!🥱 (edited) 3y
tracey38 I have been having the same issues lately. I'm sorry. Not sleeping and then working and being tired and cranky is awful. Hope you get good sleep tonight. 3y
alisiakae @Lizpixie There‘s a #LitsyInsomniacsClub? Definitely using that hashtag the next time insomnia strikes! 3y
106 likes1 stack add7 comments
review
Jovy
post image
Pickpick

I knew going in this was going to be hilarious and adorable but I was not prepared for the depth of emotions, especially since the book was so short. Fans of Monty & Percy will not be disappointed! #Booked2020 #finishinaday

Also my pick for #PopSugar2020 A book with a great first line - “Do you mean to tell me that you have not actually fornicated yet?” 😂

Cinfhen 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼🎉 3y
BarbaraTheBibliophage Good job! 📚♥️👊🏻 3y
35 likes3 stack adds2 comments
quote
jackilynn
post image

**Art found on Google**

blurb
jackilynn
post image

Excited to finally be able to pick this up. I just adore Monty & Percy!

blurb
Mirazzles
post image

So far this book is quite funny, witty, and charming... I started reading it about an hour ago and I‘m over halfway through... what a way to wrap up 2019 😊#lgbtq #YA #Mackenzilee #bibliophile #mustread

44 likes3 stack adds
review
Abby2
post image
Pickpick

Charming filler novella that satisfies. So many quotable lines

blurb
Nutmegnc
post image

This novella is set directly after the resolution of the first in the series. I read it quickly but it is just as delightful as the first novel. I hear good things about the audio, too...the same actors reprising their roles from the first audio-which was spectacular. #queerlit #queerYA

review
Lovesbooks87
post image
Pickpick

I loved Monty and Percy in The Gentleman‘s Guide to Vice and Virtue. I was bummed when I couldn‘t read this when it first came out. So I was so excited when I saw that it was being released again. My only complaint is that I wish it was long. I wanted to know more about Monty and Percy. Can‘t wait until the next Montague Sibling book comes out!

alisiakae Did you hear the first book is being made into an HBO film! 3y
Lovesbooks87 @4thhouseontheleft I did! I am excited! 3y
43 likes2 comments
blurb
Scochrane26
post image

I had forgotten that this novella was being released today until I saw it on my kindle this morning. I‘ve been very busy today w/ work & still have a bunch of work tonight, but I started this at lunch & am going to take a break to finish it. Enjoying the brief visit w/ Monty, Percy, & Felicity, then waiting until August for the next book.

review
Crinoline_Laphroaig
post image
Pickpick

Monty is a disaster. Felicity tries to help. Percy is adorable. Incredibly funny and sweet.

First read when it was gift from author for Pre Ordering: The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy
Glad it finally made it to actual Book. Can't wait to see more of this family in: The Nobleman's Guide to Scandal and Shipwrecks. 💙💙💙💙💙
#booksforbreakfast

39 likes3 stack adds