Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Dearly Beloved
The Dearly Beloved: A Novel | Cara Wall
A luminous debut novel about two young couples whose lives become intertwined when the husbands are appointed co-ministers of a venerable New York City church in the 1960s, spanning decadesfor readers of Ann Patchett and Nicole Krauss. Charles and Lily, James and Nan. They meet in Greenwich Village in 1965 when Charles and James are jointly hired to steward the historic Fourth Presbyterian Church through turbulent times. Their personal differences however, threaten to tear them apart. Charles is destined to succeed his father as an esteemed professor of history at Harvard, until an unorthodox lecture about faith leads him to ministry. How then, can he fall in love with Lily--fiercely intellectual, elegantly sternafter she tells him with certainty that she will never believe in God? And yet, how can he not? James, the youngest son in a hardscrabble Chicago family, spent much of his youth angry at his alcoholic father and avoiding his anxious mother. Nan grew up in Mississippi, the devout and beloved daughter of a minister and a debutante. James's escape from his desperate circumstances leads him to Nan and, despite his skepticism of hope in all its forms, her gentle, constant faith changes the course of his life. In The Dearly Beloved, we follow these two couples through decades of love and friendship, jealousy and understanding, forgiveness and commitment. Against the backdrop of turbulent changes facing the city and the churchs congregation, these four forge improbable paths through their evolving relationships, each struggling with uncertainty, heartbreak, and joy. A poignant meditation on faith and reason, marriage and children, and the ways we find meaning in our lives, Cara Walls The Dearly Beloved is a gorgeous, wise, and provocative novel that is destined to become a classic.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Jenken1998
post image
Pickpick

Second book down for #readathon #deweyoct #deweysreadathon

I enjoyed this well written book about complicated people with complex lives and faiths. Charles and James are hired to pastor the same church in Ny in the 60s. They bring with them not only two very different wives but strengths that compliment one another. As their lives face turmoil you see them question their calling and faiths and they learn to face trials together as a team.

Reggie This sounds good. 3w
49 likes2 stack adds1 comment
blurb
Jenken1998
post image

Book 2 for #readathon.. its a lovely night on the patio.

55 likes1 stack add
review
MicheleinPhilly
post image
Pickpick

Achingly lovely writing. YMMV depending on how you feel about religion but I found this reminiscent of Marilynne Robinson‘s writing. It is a gentle exploration of marriage and faith spanning several decades. It is a “quiet” novel so those looking for something plot heavy will be disappointed but I thought this was just bursting with humanity. 4.5 ⭐️.

LeahBergen What a lovely review. ❤️ 2mo
MicheleinPhilly @LeahBergen Thanks love! 😘 2mo
Christine This has moved from “on my radar” to “definitively stacked” since I love everything about your review. 2mo
See All 11 Comments
Avidreader25 Sounds wonderful! 2mo
Cinfhen Great review 🤓#stacked 1mo
Reviewsbylola Wow girl, you sure know how to make me stack a book! 😍 1mo
MicheleinPhilly @Christine I hope you love it! 1mo
MicheleinPhilly @Avidreader25 It is! It made me feel all warm and fuzzy. ☺️ 1mo
MicheleinPhilly @Cinfhen If I didn‘t want to keep it I would send it to you. But it is too special to give away. 1mo
MicheleinPhilly @Reviewsbylola Awwww shucks, Steph. 😘 1mo
Cinfhen You‘re so sweet but I might just buy my own copy 😘 1mo
62 likes8 stack adds11 comments
blurb
MicheleinPhilly
post image

May I blow off work for the rest of the day? #currentread

LeahBergen Pickles says, “Yes, please”. 2mo
Redwritinghood It‘s Friday afternoon, so I think it‘s required! 2mo
valeriegeary I did so....a resounding yes! 🤗 2mo
kspenmoll I hope you did/could!!! 2mo
Reviewsbylola Gorgeous cover! 2mo
67 likes1 stack add5 comments
blurb
LauraBeth
post image

Pretending its Fall and making pumpkin bread - because I need for Fall to hurry up and get here and cool things off in the south.

Listening to All The Books podcast. The tagged book was discussed and seems to be gaining a lot of momentum lately. Lots of very positive reviews. I can‘t wait to read it!

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/all-the-books/id993284374?i=1000447321219

OrangeMooseReads Fall needs to get here in the north too. But we can skip winter 3mo
TrishB Sounds lovely 💕 3mo
See All 15 Comments
BookNAround I need fall too. I hate feeling like I live in a swamp every time I walk out the door. Blech! (edited) 3mo
wanderinglynn Yum, pumpkin bread. 😋 But I‘m not ready for fall. It‘s only been in the low 70s here in the Pacific Northwest this week. So I‘m okay with that. 3mo
LauraBeth @orangemoosereads and @melissa_j I agree about winter - it's a terrible season!
(edited) 3mo
LauraBeth @trishb the book or the pumpkin bread? 😃 3mo
LauraBeth @booknaround It's the worst! I love summer until mid-August hits. 3mo
LauraBeth @wanderinglynn oohh low 70s sounds in the Pacific Northwest sounds heavenly! 3mo
saresmoore Hey, it was only like 85 out tonight for our family walk! 😅 I‘ve been craving Fall things, too. 3mo
LauraBeth @saresmoore Only 85! At what - like 8:30? 😂 It‘s too hot 🥵 3mo
TrishB The bread 🍞😁 3mo
Cathythoughts Love the Autumn too ... really ready for it & winter too 3mo
LauraBeth @Cathythoughts I‘m ready for it! 🍁🍂 3mo
LauraBeth @TrishB it made for a delicious breakfast! 3mo
100 likes15 comments
review
Lauren.Archer
post image
Pickpick

I really enjoyed reading this story and found this easy to read. I wanted to savor this wonderful writing and this story and was just a little bit sad when it was over.

Thank you NetGalley and Simon & Schuster for and Advanced Reader's Copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

For my full review visit: http://obsessedbookaholic.com/2019/08/06/the-dearly-beloved/

review
EKonrad
post image
Mehso-so

Gorgeous writing but it missed the mark for me. Not enough action in the plot and repetitive thoughts about belief in God. ⭐️⭐️⭐️ #Netgalley

Full review on Goodreads