Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Gork, the Teenage Dragon
Gork, the Teenage Dragon: A novel | Gabe Hudson
Fans of Harry Potter and Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy will relish this teenage dragons spellbinding love story filled with bighearted humor and imagination. No good human won't love this dragon named Gork. Dave Eggers Gork isnt like the other dragons at WarWings Military Academy. He has a gigantic heart, two-inch horns, and an occasional problem with fainting. His nickname is Weak Sauce and his Will to Power ranking is Snackliciousthe lowest in his class. But he is determined not to let any of this hold him back as he embarks on the most important mission of his life: tonight, on the eve of his high school graduation, he must ask a female dragon to be his queen. If she says yes, they'll go off to conquer a foreign planet together. If she says no, Gork becomes a slave. Vying with Jocks, Nerds, Mutants, and Multi-Dimensioners to find his mate, Gork encounters an unforgettable cast of friends and foes, including Dr. Terrible, the mad scientist; Fribby, a robot dragon obsessed with death; and Metheldra, a healer specializing in acupuncture with swords. But finally it is Gork's biggest perceived weakness, his huge heart, that will guide him through his epic quest and help him reach his ultimate destination: planet Earth. A love story, a fantasy, and a coming-of-age story, Gork the Teenage Dragon is a wildly comic, beautifully imagined, and deeply heartfelt debut novel that shows us just how human a dragon can be.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
bookandcat
post image
Mehso-so

Between pan and so-so for me (2.5 stars) - Gork is a teenage space dragon who is nicknamed Weak Sauce and is nothing like his famous grandfather Dr. Terrible but must get the girl and find a planet to conquer by day's end. Some parts are hilarious and made me LOL but some of it made me eyeroll - the writing/execution just isn't there the way the premise promised. I kept getting stuck during it but finally am done. #lmpbc
@TsundokuAleax @Schlinkles

bookandcat Finished the end of this as part of #deweysreadathon #readathon - I can also finally review it for #netgalley (it's very, very overdue 😆🙃) 3mo
Schlinkles I had a lot of the same feelings about it. It helped that I had to finish it for a book club so I had a definite deadline. 3mo
bookandcat @Schlinkles same it would have been unfinished for netgalley for forever otherwise 🙃 3mo
TsundokuAleax Oh, there was so much eye rolling for parts but kept reminding myself that it is for younger readers. I know a lot of children who like action but not reading would enjoy this a lot 3mo
bookandcat @TsundokuAleax agree whole heartedly! His style is kind of like...a less refined Chuck Wendig. Very punchy and fast paced 3mo
21 likes5 comments
blurb
LibrarianRyan
post image

#7days7covers

Day 7 person 8

54 likes1 stack add
review
TsundokuAleax
post image
Pickpick

I realized last night that I never posted about this lovely book. It was such a fun but layered ride to see Gork fail at being a terrible dragon. To see how they taught and did things was funny and a bit sad for how out of place Gork was. I did enjoy much of the story and logic for how they did things. This is a perfect book for middle grade students but I would happily read again. #lmpbc @Schlinkles @bookandcat

LibrarianRyan I have this, and its actually on my read soon TBR cart. I love the cover of yours. I have the hard cover with the hand giving the rock on sign. 4mo
TsundokuAleax @LibrarianRyan I saw that cover and agree. But both are fun covers. 4mo
25 likes2 comments
blurb
Schlinkles
post image

On to something that has the potential to be much more fun than Fitzgerald, this month‘s sci-fi and fantasy book club pick.

LibrarianRyan I like that cover. Mine has an orange cover. 7mo
AmberWB This one was a lot of fun 😊 7mo
TsundokuAleax Omg, this sounds amazing. I hope it is as good as I want it to be 7mo
Schlinkles @TsundokuAleax This is going to be my pick for our group. I‘m way behind with moving and work. I‘ll get it out to you ASAP! 7mo
TsundokuAleax @Schlinkles no worries and this makes me so excited now. Good luck with the move. It is never fun and summer weather will not help either 7mo
35 likes1 stack add5 comments
review
AmberWB
post image
Pickpick

This book was a lot of fun. Not perfect, but definitely fun. The main thing to remember while reading Gork, is to not take the story seriously- because Gabe Hudson certainly doesn‘t (in a good way!). The story makes me think of Hitchhiker‘s Guide to the Galaxy, Vonnegut, the 80s movie Some Kind of Wonderful, How to Train Your Dragon, Serenity....and so on. It‘s a hard book to categorize, but I enjoyed my time with it!

blurb
AmberWB
post image

1. Reading the tagged book- it is delightfully bizarre.
2. Coffee with Bailey‘s
3. Diet Coke

#weekendreads @rachelsbrittain

rachelsbrittain Thanks for joining in ☕😊 12mo
Jee_HookedOnBookz 👋Amber!! I recognize your name on our jb list! 👋 12mo
42 likes2 comments
blurb
noturavgnerd
post image

The only important thing to pack for my vacation!

review
Sorceress_Of_Books
post image
Pickpick

I really liked this book from scaly green face to scaly green ass I laughed so many times while reading this book!

8 likes1 stack add
review
Pogue
post image
Pickpick

This book is my second for #deweysreadathon. It was so funny. A bit predictable in the romance but still funny.

27 likes1 stack add
review
everlocalwest
post image
Mehso-so

I wanted to like this one. I was looking for something light and I loved the tone in the beginning but it just couldn't sustain. I almost bailed more than once but I so rarely bail. Not terrible, would have been a really fun short story.

blurb
StaceyKondla
post image

Popped into Indigo today with my daughter and ended up grabbing these two for myself. Gork sounds hilarious and Icarus Down is on the Prix Aurora Ballot this year.

blurb
gossamerchild
post image

I think this has great potential for seriously #awkward moments 😂. A book about a teenage dragon nicknamed Weak Sauce-count me in! #tbr

#fallintobooks @RealLifeReading

45 likes4 stack adds
blurb
StormyReads
post image

Happy #NationalBookLoverDay !!!!

I had this whole plan of me holding my favorite books that impacted my life but I had no time. So...improv photo!

Tag that book I used as a background.

blurb
jessicarenee
post image

Looking at new books that came in at work today. I'm sold on this one!! 🐉📖

Laura317 Yes, please!! 2y
32 likes3 stack adds1 comment
quote
andytbarnes
post image

So far Gork, the Teenage Dragon is scratching just the itch I was hoping to 😎 #birthdayspace thanks for the chance at more books @Liberty .

49 likes2 stack adds
blurb
WoodyWoodson
post image

Pibb is sooooo tired of me reading about teenage dragons, and would rather I read a nice book about dogs. Or snacks. Or both. Just no more dragons. #dogsoflitsy

WoodyWoodson He wanted me to clarify: "no books about dogs as snacks". 3y
Tanzy13 🐶 3y
LauraJ Pibb is adorable! 3y
26 likes1 stack add3 comments
review
NerdyRev
post image
Bailedbailed

I almost never bail on books, especially books I purchased. I gave this one a good college try, but was just not feeling it at all. I may come back to it down the line, but not yet. I don't know what I expected, but it wasn't this.

blurb
daena
post image

Took advantage of Half Priced Books 40% coupon to get Gork 🐉. Also grabbed two others. I feel like the last person to read The Passage...time to rectify that!

RanaElizabeth Oh my goodness, Gork sounds so delightful! 3y
44 likes2 stack adds1 comment
review
BookishBron
Pickpick

This was really weird! But I liked it (I actually liked it more after I finished than while I was reading). Also, a bit funny.

review
vlwelser
post image
Pickpick

Not sure how I feel about this one. But it was fun and entertaining, so I'll give it a 👍. 💖📖🐲🐉👑🌹

review
howlinglibraries
post image
Panpan

I'm not even bothering with a full review. All I can say is that the humor in this book is trying WAY too hard. I couldn't finish it but it didn't deserve a "bail", sadly. 1/5 ⭐️

Madeline Uh-oh. I have this on my Netgalley shelf! 3y
howlinglibraries @Madeline I hope you like it more than I did! 3y
28 likes2 comments
blurb
Readcommendations
post image

What a fun novel! Dragons, spaceships, and robots... oh my!

5 likes1 stack add
blurb
vlwelser
post image

Obviously this cover. 🐉🐲💖📖 I just can't even take a good photo today. Time to move along.

2 likes1 stack add
blurb
Waynegjr
post image

I am SO excited to to start this book. Plus, what a cover!

monalyisha Love it! 😍 3y
TheBookStacker I enjoyed his book a lot! 3y
35 likes3 stack adds2 comments
quote
annyeongbada
post image

Hello everyone! I just started using Litsy! Soooo, uhm i grabbed this thread from @saguarosally 😅

1. Hmm, my current location: PHL 😅
2. Uhm, just checking it out. (I'm not leaving bookstagram!!!)
3. Harry Potter. ♥️
4. Nope. 😅

#welcomelitten #littens

saguarosally I'm on IG and Litsy, though I'm not really into much bookstagramming. There's room for both! 3y
15 likes1 comment
blurb
JennyReadsBooks
post image
blurb
JennyReadsBooks
post image
blurb
JennyReadsBooks
post image

I am fully prepared to have this book turn my world upside down and inside out in the wackiest of ways. Let's do this. #heretherebedragons #ARC #amreading #gabehudson #GorkTheTeenageDragon @penguinrandomhouse #rockon

blurb
vivastory
post image

The only thing better than new books, are free new books.

TheLibrarian So jealous. Really looking forward to 3y
batsy I've had my eye on Bedlam Stacks but I haven't read her first (I think?) book yet. The Watchmaker one. 3y
vivastory @batsy Watchmaker of Filligree Street is also on my TBR 3y
LeahBergen Lucky you!! 3y
diovival Truth! 3y
49 likes1 stack add5 comments
blurb
BookishTrish
post image

I would like this right now, please

TheBookStacker I just got the ARC very excited to read it 3y
BookishTrish @TheBookStacker Ooooh Let me know what you think 3y
56 likes2 stack adds2 comments
blurb
TheBookStacker
post image

So excited I got this. Going to start in on it bright and early tomorrow morning!

27 likes1 stack add
blurb
EmilyChristine
post image

Think I might have to read this one. A teenage dragon whose nickname is Weak Sauce and has an occasional problem with fainting. Yup.

Soubhiville I love the cover! 3y
EmilyChristine @Soubhiville Right? Rocker dragon! 3y
25 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
TheBookNess
post image

Really enjoying this one so far. Couple chapters in and I can't put it down

3 likes1 stack add