Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
kaykay521

kaykay521

Joined September 2016

Abibliophobia: the fear of running out of reading material
blurb
kaykay521
No Visible Bruises | Rachel Louise Snyder
post image

Current TBR, not counting my downloaded audiobooks 📚

review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

Absolutely loved it 😍📚. I‘m a sucker for books about the reading life and Anne did not disappoint! I read this in just a couple hours this afternoon, and actually like it better than Ex Libris: Confessions of a common reader. This one just spoke to me more. FYI if you aren‘t listening to Anne‘s podcast What Should I Read Next you should 😊. It‘s fantastic. I borrowed this from the library but will be getting my own copy ASAP

MizDoniaBuding loved that lil book 2w
40 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
kaykay521
Our House | Louise Candlish
post image
Pickpick

This was a decent thriller. Fiona comes home from vacation to find strangers moving into HER home. Assuming there‘s been a terrible mix up she confronts the new owners. Her ex husband has sold it out from under her and fled. Why did he do this? Where is he? A solid thriller with a few twists I didn‘t see coming.

quote
kaykay521
post image

My English teacher did the same thing, only for me it was 7th grade not 5th..and yes the reaction was the same. Not a dry eye in the house. Boys and girls both

review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

Really good review of English language arts for the middle school crowd. Really liked the explanations and illustrations.

25 likes1 stack add
review
kaykay521
The Silent Patient | Alex Michaelides
post image
Pickpick

Alicia Berenson shot her husband 5 times in the face and then goes completely mute. What happened? Why won‘t Alicia speak? Theo Faber a psychotherapist is convinced he can help Alicia and figure out what happened. Most of the book is told from Theo‘s POV and I found him intriguing. What is his motivation? Is he obsessed with Alicia? I didn‘t see the twist coming. A solid thriller.

Cathythoughts Nice review! I just started this one 1mo
LiteraryinLititz I plan to read this one in the next couple months! 1mo
28 likes2 stack adds2 comments
review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

I read this in about two sittings. Roz‘s account of her elderly parents decline and eventual deaths in their late 90s was both hilarious and absolutely heart wrenching. By the end I was in absolute tears I think anyone who‘s ever cared for a sick or elderly loved one will be able to relate

31 likes2 stack adds
review
kaykay521
Speak: The Graphic Novel | Laurie Halse Anderson
post image
Pickpick

I read the original Speak many years ago when I too was also a teenager. Melinda‘s journey from quiet scared kid to empowered young woman is still as heartbreaking now as it was 15 years ago. Speak is one of my all time favorite YA novels and the updated graphic novel breathes new life into it.

29 likes2 stack adds
review
kaykay521
post image
Bailedbailed

DNF around 30% in, a bunch of corporate mumbo jumbo about rumbles or something or another. I doubt these work in a lot of job situations. I‘ve heard great things about this author, but this was my first attempt at any of her work. Possibly I‘ll try another one and see if I like it.

Clint I‘ve read most all of her books. This one was not my favorite as it was so work centered. I‘d recommend “The Gift of Imperfection” or “Daring Greatly” 2w
29 likes1 comment
review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

This was a great book for those of us ( myself included) who know we struggle with our mental health sometimes, but have never made the leap to actually see a therapist. She explains the process, therapy techniques used, what different therapists are trained to help with, how the appointment might go, etc. Very informative

23 likes2 stack adds
review
kaykay521
post image
Mehso-so

Meh, there were parts of this book I loved, especially her explanation of discernment. Just because a book has questionable content does not mean Christians should automatically stay away. The book lists were interesting, but pretty heavy on religion which was not what I was going for.

quote
kaykay521
post image

A girl who reads is a girl who learns 💗💗💗

20 likes1 stack add
review
kaykay521
post image
Mehso-so

This one fell pretty flat for me guys. I did read the book in about 3 days, but I didn‘t care at all for the characters (except maybe the husbands believe it or not ). The writing was just not good and the plot development felt forced. Both of these women are awful and not in a deliciously fun devilish kinda way 🙄. I am gonna check out the movie to see if it‘s the rare time it‘s better than the book.

review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

I really enjoyed this novel about a young wife and artist who just moved to a new home and is convinced her next door neighbor is a murderer. Really liked the tension between the characters, don‘t wanna reveal too much of the plot bc it does have a few well placed twists.

Bookladylinda I loved this one too! 2mo
26 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
kaykay521
Flammable | Gabrielle Bell
Pickpick

Enjoyed this graphic memoir of Gabrielle returning home to help her mother rebuild after a house fire. They have a fractured relationship strife with past abuses and neglect, but it was an honest real portrayal of a mother daughter relationship. Plus I appreciated Gabrielle‘s speaking candidly about her mental illnesses.

review
kaykay521
post image
Mehso-so

First things first, let me tell you, this book is sloooowwwww. Seriously, I listened on audio and the actual mystery of the skull in the elm tree did not show up til at least 6 or more hours in (it‘s a 22 hour book). This is less traditional mystery and more a study on luck ( or privilege), and family dynamics. It was enjoyable, and a stand-alone from her Dublin murder squad series, which I haven‘t read.

review
kaykay521
post image
Panpan

This book has several issues, too many acronyms and cutesy names for everything , it was confusing. Secondly I thought this book would be a kind of self help guide for social anxiety issues. Her remedy for this is exercise and getting up early, instead of you know maybe actual therapy and maybe medication. Most of this book is just her promoting Daybreakers, her morning dance/rave company 🙄. I‘d rather hurl than dance at 5am with anyone.

kaykay521 Seriously she suggests ways to up dopamine and serotonin levels....isn‘t she aware that some people‘s brains don‘t produce enough of this stuff as it is? 3mo
SleepyDragon If I woke up and exercised/danced af 5 am, I would probably also hurl. 3mo
38 likes2 comments
review
kaykay521
Watching You | Lisa Jewell
post image
Pickpick

Everyone in the posh upscale neighborhood of Melville Heights has a secret and everyone is watching each other. I will say that you find out at the very beginning that someone has been murdered, but you don‘t find out til near the very end who has been killed, why or by whom. I love books about neighborhoods with secrets

kaykay521 Also...so many questions about that ending??!?. Did Nicola kill Viva? Why was she bullying her so bad? How did a teen fake a suicide so well to full police? Or did she convince Viva to kill herself after fooling her about mr fitzwilliam. Did Tom know what Nicola had done before the Lake District trip? I need to talk to people about this book. 4mo
36 likes3 stack adds1 comment
review
kaykay521
Pickpick

Samantha touches on subjects from spreading her father‘s ashes in Nashville to the fun of working in an animal clinic and everything in between, all with humor. This was definitely deeper than I thought it would be.

review
kaykay521
Pickpick

Marianne spends an entire year ( and then some) living by various self help books. The experiment forces her to evaluate her life in ways she never thought she‘d have to. So does self help really help? She answers this with grace and humor.

19 likes1 stack add
review
kaykay521
Circe | Madeline Miller
post image
Pickpick

Really enjoyed this account of the goddess Circe from her perspective. Really puts a new spin on some of the myths most of us are familiar with. I listen to the audio and found it engaging.

review
kaykay521
Bailedbailed

Ugh...I got more than half way through but at this point I have no idea what‘s going on nor do I really care. I have a stack on my desk to read. Time to move on to something that will hold my attention

review
kaykay521
Elevation | Stephen King
Pickpick

I really enjoyed this short sweet King novella, all about finding common ground with one‘s neighbors. I know fans of his lengthier novels might be perturbed by the lack of answered questions, but I was intrigued and finished the book with a sense of love and community.😊

blurb
kaykay521
post image

16000 litfluence y‘all! Between work and graduate school I don‘t get anywhere near the amount of pleasure reading time I would like. That said, I do love this bookish community. This bibliophile has found her tribe ❤️❤️❤️

JanuarieTimewalker13 👌🏽💕 4mo
CoverToCoverGirl 🎉🎉👍 4mo
Jas16 🎉📚👏 4mo
See All 8 Comments
DivineDiana 👏🏻📚👏🏻 4mo
kspenmoll 🙌🏻🎉🎊 4mo
jpmcwisemorgan Yay!!! 4mo
Redwritinghood 🎉🎉🎉🎉 4mo
julesG Congratulations! 4mo
42 likes8 comments
review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

Absolutely loved it, I have read reviews that people found Eleanor irritating. I don‘t know if it‘s because I have an autistic younger brother or what, but I found her endearing. I was so rooting for her throughout the book. 💗

CouronneDhiver Loved her too! Great book. I can recommend two readalikes: 4mo
kaykay521 Awesome! I‘ll add them both to my TBR 4mo
47 likes1 stack add3 comments
quote
kaykay521
post image

“If someone asks you how you are, you are meant to say FINE. You are not meant to say that you cried yourself to sleep last night because you hadn‘t spoken to another person for two consecutive days. FINE is what you say.”

review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

I figured what better way to read a book about the befits of reading aloud then to have the book read aloud to me! This is an excellent book backed by scientific research, and anecdotal evidence about the benefits of reading aloud. The book focuses on the benefits for children but also delves into the benefits for adults and the benefits for the reader too. I love reading aloud, and the joy it gives , hopefully you will too after reading this.

36 likes1 stack add
review
kaykay521
post image
Bailedbailed

Soooo I guess I must be a donkey! Sorry y‘all I bailed about half way through. The author seems to have a problem with extroverts ( I‘m not one by the way, definitely an introvert). She‘s constantly saying in the book we‘re suppose to be uncomfortable All the time. It‘s as if she‘s saying if you‘re comfortable you‘re lazy. Look lady I have anxiety I‘m already more uncomfortable than I should be. This book might be for some but it‘s not for me.

LauraJ Useful review! Thanks!! 5mo
29 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

I‘ve thoroughly enjoyed all three of these lore books, started listening to the podcasts and plan to check out the amazon series. Anyone who has a love for the strange and spooky would enjoy it.

Patchshank I listen to the podcast. I've been curious about the books. How closely related are they to the podcast? Is he just retelling the same stories? 5mo
kaykay521 @Patchshank I‘ve only listened to a handful of podcast episodes so far, so I personally haven‘t read any stories I‘d already heard. The book does say it features stories from the podcast, so I imagine it‘s stories he‘s already told with some bonus material thrown in. 5mo
38 likes2 comments
review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

Gorgeous book, chock full of illustrations. Will definitely add to your TBR. I borrowed from the library but would love to have my own copy to sit on my coffee table.

Stephaniereads1 It looks amazing. 5mo
43 likes2 stack adds1 comment
review
kaykay521
The Library Book | Susan Orlean
post image
Pickpick

Simply wonderful, an account of the fire in the 1980s at the Los Angeles Public Library. Plus a history/love letter to libraries in general. Read it!

quote
kaykay521
The Library Book | Susan Orlean
post image

quote
kaykay521
The Library Book | Susan Orlean
post image

cobwebmoth 😔 6mo
33 likes1 comment
review
kaykay521
Whiskey in a Teacup | Reese Witherspoon
post image
Mehso-so

Meh, pretty book but nothing of real substance here. I wish she had written an actual memoir instead of what essentially is a coffee table book.

britt_brooke I listened to this on audio and enjoyed it (it had a nice PDF to reference), but you make a good point. I would like to see an actual memoir from her one day. 6mo
LauraJ I‘m holding out for an autobiography! 6mo
33 likes2 comments
quote
kaykay521
The Library Book | Susan Orlean
post image

There‘s a strange poetry in burning a copy of Fahrenheit 451, although like the author I‘m not sure I could do it.

Leftcoastzen Only if it was riddled with bedbugs! 6mo
32 likes1 comment
review
kaykay521
post image
Mehso-so

Bina is a girl who always seems to be in trouble. When one last transgression gets her kicked out of the house her mother shares with her step family, she high tails it to NYC to spend the summer at Catherine House. A place her mother also stayed in her youth. The book was ok, but I had lots of questions in the end.

review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

An interesting account of some of the well known spooky or haunted places throughout the world, including The Stanley Hotel, The Bell Witch, and Glamis Castle, among other places. Great if you‘re into creepy stuff.

CocoReads I‘ve been to the Stanley! It‘s an interesting place. And I took the daytime tour. I‘d love to go back sometime and take the night tour. 6mo
45 likes3 stack adds1 comment
review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

I really enjoyed this thriller about a group of girls who go missing from a sleep away camp and the mystery surrounding the camp‘s origins. Kept me guessing til the end.

36 likes1 stack add
review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

I‘m a sucker for twisted fairy tales and this one doesn‘t disappoint. 👍💗

DGRachel I have two others from this collection on my shelf. I really need to get to them... 7mo
alanacristin Ohhhh this looks exciting! i just started the Ursula story 7mo
39 likes2 stack adds2 comments
review
kaykay521
The Dinner List | Rebecca Serle
post image
Pickpick

A great book based on the premise of “what 5 people living or dead would you want to have dinner with”. I laughed and cried, and was also surprised. What a sweet book 💗.

38 likes1 stack add
review
kaykay521
Educated: A Memoir | Tara Westover
post image
Pickpick

I‘m stingy with my ratings. I rarely give anything 5 stars. A book has to really speak to me to get that high a rating. It needs to be something I believe EVERYONE should read. This book is that. Tara was raised by survivalists in the mountains of Idaho and never attended school. She now holds a PhD. The book is so much more than her journey through academia. What do you do when you realize your current values conflict with how you were raised?

Dragon My mom is a retired teacher so I‘m sending her this book for Christmas 🎄 glad to hear it‘s as good as the hype. 8mo
monalyisha I rarely give books the full 5 star rating. I usually save them for books I consider favorites. I‘m with you: 5/5. 💖 7mo
49 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
kaykay521
The Dinner List | Rebecca Serle
post image

Current TBR 💕📚

review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

Harriet is down on her luck and has been since the death of her beloved mother a few years earlier. The bills and loan sharks are at her heels, so when she gets a letter saying she‘s gotten a inheritance from her grandmother it seems too good to be true.....especially since Harriet‘s grandparents have been dead 20 years. A good chilling read that kept me guessing.

Dragon I just started this one today. Glad to hear you enjoyed it ! 👍😀🐉 8mo
43 likes1 comment
review
kaykay521
Pickpick

A good mystery involving a young bookstore clerk, her estranged father and a murder she witnessed as a child. All of which come to a head after a favorite customer kills himself in the store.

review
kaykay521
post image
Pickpick

I watched the PBS mini series and voted. This book is the perfect companion piece, detailing all 100 books featured. I borrowed from the library but I‘m probably gonna buy my own copy for my personal bookshelf.

40 likes1 stack add
review
kaykay521
The House Swap | Rebecca Fleet
post image
Mehso-so

Caroline and Francis‘s marriage is hanging on by a tiny thread, so many things left unsaid they tiptoe around each other. Deciding to participate in a house swap they trade their London flat for a small house in the suburbs. But, what‘s suppose to be a vacation to heal their marriage may end up breaking them up for good. This was ok, the twist didn‘t seem that twisty and I didn‘t seem to care about the characters.

review
kaykay521
Pickpick

I‘ve been gobbling up these little books on all sorts of different subjects. This is by no means exhaustive, but it is a nice refresher into the major literary players in American Literature.

27 likes1 stack add
review
kaykay521
Mehso-so

This one was ok. A group of NY moms who dubbed themselves The May Mothers all decide to go out one night and have fun kid free. During the night one of the babies is taken from his crib. The book isn‘t bad but I didn‘t seem to click with any of the characters. It‘s a solid so so for me.

review
kaykay521
The Last Mrs. Parrish | Liv Constantine
post image
Pickpick

Tore through this 12 hour audio in less than 2 days, that‘s in addition to actually going to work lol. I had a couple minor issues, otherwise it was a deliciously devilish read. I‘m a sucker for “seemingly perfect lives revealed as not so perfect”

36 likes1 stack add
blurb
kaykay521
post image

Current TBR...plus The Last Mrs Parrish on audiobook 📚😍