Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
review
rabbitprincess
Trouble Follows Me | Ross Macdonald
Bailedbailed

Dropped this about 14 pages in when the main character and a few others started having a really racist conversation. I did not wish to spend any more time with these characters.

review
rabbitprincess
The Satan Bug | Alistair MacLean
Mehso-so

Started off all right, but the explanation for the person(s) behind the whole situation was convoluted and hard to follow.

review
rabbitprincess
Pickpick

I came to Mean Girls very late for a millennial (in my 30s) but ended up really liking the movie once I got there. The musical soundtrack is great too. This book is a great overview of the movie's genesis, production, and legacy. There are even a few photos, which I wasn't expecting. I would recommend this if you liked the movie.

blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

Keeping things consistent with the #BookSpinBingo list, just changing out the books in the spaces dedicated to Roll100 picks. Still slogging my way through coursework… might do a 1:1 correspondence next month rather than having 3 papers in 1 space. We shall see.

TheAromaofBooks Woohoo!! 3w
13 likes1 comment
blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

April 2024 #Roll100 picks add yet more audio to the queue!
🎧 The Essential Sherlock Holmes, Vol. 2
📖 Trouble Follows Me, by Ross Macdonald
🎧 The Order of Time, by Carlo Rovelli (read by Benedict Cumberbatch 😍)

review
rabbitprincess
Doctor Who: Apollo 23 | Justin Richards
Pickpick

A soft Pick for this because I do love a Moon-based Doctor Who story and Eleven was credible, but the mechanism for alien invasion was not entirely satisfactory.

review
rabbitprincess
A Man and His Cat 09 | Umi Sakurai
Pickpick

This series is such a good pick-me-up, even if I am guaranteed to cry (usually happy tears) at least once per volume 😂

review
rabbitprincess
Exit Lines | Reginald Hill
Pickpick

An early Dalziel and Pascoe that was pretty good. The three storylines kept things moving well, and there were some thoughtful moments and conversations around aging. Not entirely sure I buy the resolution of one of the storylines, but whatever.

review
rabbitprincess
Pickpick

Fascinating and well put together. I think I‘ll have to get my own copy.

blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

Of course the #BookSpinBingo gods chose the one of my three firm picks that is least likely to be read 🤣
#BookSpin: Le Matou, by Yves Beauchemin
#DoubleSpin: three chapters or articles for coursework

TheAromaofBooks Woohoo!! Looks fantastic!! 1mo
16 likes1 comment
blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

I just realized I never posted my original #BookSpinBingo board for February 2024 (just the list), so here‘s the wrap-up:
✅ BookSpin: readings (selections from 3 different course books)
❌ DoubleSpin: Dalek Empire 3.2
1️⃣ bingo: I1 to I5

TheAromaofBooks Yay!! Fantastic month!!! 1mo
20 likes1 comment
blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

The good thing about keeping things ultra-flexible for #BookSpinBingo is that I get my lists ready a lot sooner 😂 The firm picks for March 2024 are a French book, a Doctor Who audio, and an older thriller.

TheAromaofBooks Woohoo!!! 2mo
17 likes1 comment
blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

March 2024 #Roll100 picks:
1️⃣ Le Matou, by Yves Beauchemin
2️⃣ Destination: Nerva, by Nicholas Briggs (yet another Doctor Who audio 🤣)
3️⃣ The Satan Bug, by Alistair MacLean

PuddleJumper Looks good! 2mo
17 likes1 comment
review
rabbitprincess
Elevator Pitch | Linwood Barclay
Pickpick

I liked this. Some elements of the plot were a little far-fetched, but I was in a mood to roll with them. This was a fast read. I personally did not fear elevators while reading this, or at least no more than usual, but I don‘t hold that against the book blurb 😂

blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

I am here for this double readathon of #20In4 and #FabulousFebruary. My goal will be to fill at least one more bingo square for course reading (I count 3 textbook chapters or articles as 1 square on my BookSpin bingo card) and to read one non-fiction book from the library.

review
rabbitprincess
Winter's Gifts | Ben Aaronovitch
Pickpick

This was good fun and a nice expansion of the Rivers of London universe. I do think calling a 200-page book a “novella” is a stretch though. Maybe it‘s a novella in relation to the 800-page-plus doorstoppers that come out these days.

KathyWheeler Usually I love to listen to the Rivers of London stories, but I wish I‘d read this one instead. I think I‘d have liked it better. 2mo
rabbitprincess @KathyWheeler I‘ve heard great things about the audios and plan to re-read the main books that way. I won‘t read this one that way though 😉 2mo
KathyWheeler @rabbitprincess The main ones are fabulous as audiobooks! 2mo
16 likes3 comments
review
rabbitprincess
The Defector: A Novel | Chris Hadfield
Bailedbailed

I am less enamoured of fighter jets than I am of space travel, so this was a slog. I have so little time for pleasure reading these days that I can‘t spend it on books I‘m not enjoying.

Content warning for animal death (chapter 53).

review
rabbitprincess
Mehso-so

I find the cover art super creepy and don‘t like that the Doctor Who logo is absent. It makes the story look pulpy (which it is, but shhh). This is one of those Fourth Doctor and Sarah Jane ones where they get captured about four times and Sarah Jane nearly gets killed twice (not through anything she did, just the fact that she‘s travelling with the Doctor). It‘s a quick read and probably better if you‘ve watched and enjoyed the TV version.

review
rabbitprincess
Easy to Kill | Agatha Christie
Pickpick

This was a re-read and a good one. It feels quite sinister because of how “ordinary” all the deaths are. No fancy poisons or weird weapons. This is a stand-alone Agatha and works better for it.

review
rabbitprincess
Mystery Man | Colin Bateman
Pickpick

This was darkly funny with a great pace. It was distressing how many of the narrator‘s many neuroses I found completely reasonable 😂 If I can get my hands on another volume in the series, I will read it.

review
rabbitprincess
Pickpick

This was lovely. I am 100% here for this trend of bookshop-related fiction from Japan, even if this particular example does not contain cats.

20 likes1 stack add
blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

January 2024 #BookSpinBingo wrap-up:
❌ BookSpin: Dalek Empire 3.1: The Exterminators
✅ DoubleSpin: Three chapters of readings: Snook ch. 7, Amalberti chs. 1 and 2
1️⃣ bingo

TheAromaofBooks Yay!! Fantastic month!!! 2mo
18 likes1 comment
blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

I didn‘t read a lot of what I wanted to in January 2024, so keeping things loosey-goosey for #BookSpinBingo in February. The only firm choices are my Roll100 picks.

blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

#Roll100 picks for February 2024:
1.Dalek Empire 3.2: The Healers (Big Finish)

2.Elevator Pitch (Barclay)

3.Doctor Who and the Masque of Mandragora (Hinchcliffe)

Dalek Empire 3.1 is on January‘s list but I haven‘t read it yet ?

PuddleJumper 🤣 I've not read my January picks either. Good luck for Feb! 3mo
rabbitprincess @PuddleJumper Thanks! 😄 2mo
21 likes2 comments
review
rabbitprincess
Mehso-so

I wanted to like this more than I did. The story was intriguingly told and the world being built had many interesting elements. However, it felt incomplete, possibly because it was a novella rather than part of a longer work. The storytelling was the sort of thing I‘d want in like a 500-page novel.

review
rabbitprincess
Howl's Moving Castle | Diana Wynne Jones
Pickpick

I have the feeling that younger me would have read a copy of this to death if she‘d had it back then. Current me liked this a great deal. I would pick up a copy if I stumbled across a nice edition.

review
rabbitprincess
Pickpick

A lowish pick because the last two chapters read like the translator got tired 🤣 some typos, repeated text, etc. I would love to get my hands on a copy in French to compare the two.

review
rabbitprincess
Pickpick

Maurice Druon‘s novels have proven quite zippy for me, relatively speaking. Although I‘m reading them in my second language, they are quite short (250ish pages including historical notes) and the story moves quickly. I don‘t know much French history so I‘m learning a lot.

blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

I‘m off next week on a course, so the readathon comes at a perfect time! I plan to finish two of my Roll100 picks (Dalek Empire audio and The Empress of Salt and Fortune) for sure, then the rest will be left to chance.

review
rabbitprincess
Pickpick

I fould this really interesting and compelling. The most challenging part for me to grasp was what all those abbreviations stood for; the theory of practical drift made sense.

review
rabbitprincess
A Man and His Cat 08 | Umi Sakurai
Pickpick

Several new characters to throw into the mix in this volume. Mr Kanda certainly had a full house 😄 Great fun to start 2024 off with.

blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

Best of December for #12BooksOf2023 is Managing the Risks of Organizational Accidents, by James Reason. I am a NERD, what can I say 😂😂😂

blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

Best of November for #12BooksOf2023 is Writing for Busy Readers, by Todd Rogers and Jessica Lasky-Fink. As someone who edits for busy readers, I found this book really helpful. It told me some things I was doing right and some things I should try.

blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

Best of October for #12BooksOf2023 is The Last Devil to Die, by Richard Osman. I love the Thursday Murder Club series and this one provided a good stopping point for the characters to take a break while Osman writes something else for a bit.

blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

January 2024 #BookSpinBingo board:
#BookSpin: Dalek Empire 3.1: The Exterminators
#DoubleSpin: Three chapters of readings
Both my audiobooks AND a print book I‘m currently reading are on the same line! Of course none of that line is a readings square 😂

TheAromaofBooks Yay!! Looks fantastic!! 3mo
19 likes1 comment
blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

Best of September for #12BooksOf2023 is Babel, by R. F. Kuang. Rich and thought-provoking, and as a former translator I loved reading a book with translators as protagonists.

blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

December 2023 #BookSpinBingo wrap-up:
✅ BookSpin: An unowned book (The Stone, by Nigel Tranter)
❌ DoubleSpin: Transit, by Ben Aaronovitch
1️⃣ Bingo (O1 to O5)

TheAromaofBooks Yay!! Looks fantastic!! 3mo
18 likes1 comment
review
rabbitprincess
Pickpick

Another book I forgot to review! This was my last book finished for 2023. I learned a lot and enjoyed making connections to other books I‘d read in the field.

blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

My #BookSpinBingo will be a lot different this year because I am starting a part-time Master‘s degree. I did the math and figured that last year, I finished a book every 3 days, so to give myself the illusion of reading progress, I made half my spin list “three chapters of readings”. An article will count as one chapter. We‘ll see how well this works 😁

Sapphire Congratulations on starting your Masters! 3mo
mom2bugnbee Congratulations! This sounds like a great way to work your goals into your schoolwork. 3mo
rabbitprincess @Sapphire @mom2bugnbee Thank you both! ☺️ 3mo
TheAromaofBooks Woohoo!! Good luck!! 3mo
rabbitprincess @TheAromaofBooks Thanks! ☺️ 3mo
21 likes5 comments
blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

#Roll100 wrap-up for 2023: I read 21 of my 36 picks, and managed to read ALL of the picks for July, August, and September! I don‘t know how many other books off the list I read because I deleted the list from my master document after the December picks were announced (I was itching to create a new list for January 😆), but this year I‘m going to track that.

blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

Best of August for #12BooksOf2023 was The Gifts of Imperfection, by Brené Brown. As a recovering perfectionist I found this book useful, especially the acknowledgement that working on accepting imperfection is a process, not a thing to check off a list ?

blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

Best of July for #12BooksOf2023 is The LGBTQ+ History Book. DK‘s Big Ideas Simply Explained series is excellent.

blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

Best of June for #12BooksOf2023 was a re-read, Emily‘s Quest by L.M. Montgomery. I love this trilogy!

review
rabbitprincess
Uncontrolled Flight | Frances Peck
Mehso-so

Forgot to review this earlier. I liked the accident investigation details but found the characters‘ personal lives too messy.

blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

Best of May for #12BooksOf2023 is Stone Blind, by Natalie Haynes. I adored this retelling of Medusa‘s story.

blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

Looking forward to another year of #Roll100! Here are my picks for January 2024:

The Empress of Salt and Fortune (Vo)
Les poisons de la couronne (Druon)
Dalek Empire 3.1: The Exterminators (Big Finish)

Glad to have an ebook and an audiobook in the mix as I will be travelling in January 😄

blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

Best of April for #12BooksIn2023: Love and Let Die, by John Higgs. This book compares and contrasts the cultural impact of the Beatles and the James Bond franchise. Fascinating!

blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

#12BooksOf2023

Best of March: Here and Now and Then (Chen). I loooooove time travel in my sci-fi, so I loved this book to pieces. An excellent debut. It was recommended to me as a read-alike for Back to the Future, and I think that's a valid comparison, although there's definitely some Doctor Who mixed in as well.

blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

I‘m late to the #12BooksOf2023 game, so here are my Day 1 and 2 picks.

Best of January: The Tea Dragon Society (O‘Neill). Very cute dragons and a great story. I need to buy a boxed set of the trilogy.

Best of February: Between the Stops (Toksvig). I read this in print and three chapters in, I ran off to buy the audiobook too. I love Sandi Toksvig and want to be her when I grow up 😄

Andrew65 Great choices, especially the Sandi Toksvig book I would imagine. 4mo
21 likes1 comment
blurb
rabbitprincess
post image

Belated #DashingDecember 2023 wrap-up: 3 books and 5 articles for my upcoming master‘s degree.

The books:
Past Lying (McDermid)
The Red Right Hand, by Joel Townsley Rogers
Managing the Risks of Organizational Accidents, by James Reason