Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Don't Cry for Me
Don't Cry for Me | Daniel Black
14 posts | 9 read | 16 to read
"Don't Cry for Me is a perfect song."--Jesmyn Ward A Black father makes amends with his gay son through letters written on his deathbed in this wise and penetrating novel of empathy and forgiveness, for fans of Ta-Nehisi Coates, Robert Jones Jr. and Alice Walker As Jacob lies dying, he begins to write a letter to his only son, Isaac. They have not met or spoken in many years, and there are things that Isaac must know. Stories about his ancestral legacy in rural Arkansas that extend back to slavery. Secrets from Jacob's tumultuous relationship with Isaac's mother and the shame he carries from the dissolution of their family. Tragedies that informed Jacob's role as a father and his reaction to Isaac's being gay. But most of all, Jacob must share with Isaac the unspoken truths that reside in his heart. He must give voice to the trauma that Isaac has inherited. And he must create a space for the two to find peace. With piercing insight and profound empathy, acclaimed author Daniel Black illuminates the lived experiences of Black fathers and queer sons, offering an authentic and ultimately hopeful portrait of reckoning and reconciliation. Spare as it is sweeping, poetic as it is compulsively readable, Don't Cry for Me is a monumental novel about one family grappling with love's hard edges and the unexpected places where hope and healing take flight.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Adventures-of-a-French-Reader
Don't Cry for Me | Daniel Black
post image
Pickpick

Such an excellent and insightful story! A dying black man writes to his estranged gay son, telling him about his childhood, how it influenced him as a father, telling him how he feels as a dad, what he wishes he had done, his regrets, etc. Very well written, definitely a book worth reading.

NeorahGarcia I loved this book. So thought provoking. It will stay with me for a long time. 4w
24 likes1 comment
review
Hooked_on_books
Don't Cry for Me | Daniel Black
post image
Pickpick

Jacob and Isaac are an estranged father and son and Jacob has always been a hard man. But now he is dying, and wants to reach out to Isaac to try to make a connection, so this is told as a long letter to Isaac. I found this a tough read, as there are some seriously deplorable things about Jacob, but it‘s quite good.

review
Lizthewiz
Don't Cry for Me | Daniel Black
post image
Pickpick

This was a heartfelt letter from a father to his son. It was an emotional read as they had an estranged relationship. The author writes this book as if it was his father writing to him. It‘s how he imagined his father would have written to him, had his father not forgotten things with Alzheimer‘s. This book was good, took me a while to read because I‘ve been in a reading slump, but good nonetheless.

quote
kera_11
Don't Cry for Me | Daniel Black
post image

a novel written through letters that Jacob writes on his deathbed to his estranged son. explaining how he grew up, the things he was taught and why he was the way he was, and struggled to except Isaac‘s queer identity. at times he seems to seek redemption and at others he makes no apologies for his ways.
I did find myself wishing to know if Isaac ever got or read the letters and his response but this book is poignant being one sided as is.

7 likes1 stack add
blurb
erank58
Don't Cry for Me | Daniel Black
post image

Day 3 of #TarotTakeover and still going strong!

Five of Wands deals with conflict, both with others and with oneself. This makes me think of the tagged (a recent quick read) in which the narrator recalls his struggle to accept his son, which resulted in their fragmented relationship. Check it out! @ErinSueMreads

ErinSueMreads You are doing great! I've really enjoyed your book choices. Power through to the end! 3mo
27 likes1 comment
review
Cinfhen
Don't Cry for Me | Daniel Black
post image
Pickpick

This book exceeded my expectations. Jacob is dying and before he leaves this earth, he wants to explain to his estranged son in the form of letters why he had such a difficult time accepting his queerness. It‘s breathtaking and heartbreaking. It gave me Ocean Vuong vibes. Audio narration was excellent. 5 stars. Reads like a memoir.

Megabooks It is such a excellent book! Glad you enjoyed it. 4mo
Cinfhen My first 5 star fiction this month @Megabooks 4mo
73 likes4 stack adds2 comments
review
Kitta
Don't Cry for Me | Daniel Black
post image
Pickpick

Feeling a lot of emotions related to this book. It‘s titled don‘t cry for me, but I did.

A dying father writes letters to his gay son - partly about his own history and partly an apology for how he treated his son. It‘s beautiful seeing his growth and understanding his story.

Honestly it‘s the letter I‘d love to receive from my parents.

#BOTM

TrishB I hope you do one day♥️ if that‘s what you need. 4mo
Kitta @TrishB Thanks 4mo
Megabooks 💜💜💜 4mo
22 likes3 comments
blurb
Cinfhen
Don't Cry for Me | Daniel Black
post image

I‘ve picked up three audiobooks today but nothing is sticking…Heard great things about this one so 🤞🏼🤞🏼
#ScribdAudio

DGRachel I know that feeling all too well! Good luck! 4mo
Cinfhen So far this is excellent @DGRachel 💓💓💓 4mo
DGRachel I‘ve heard really good things about that book. 4mo
LeeRHarry Not related to this post but I‘ve been catching up on the figure skating at the Olympics - you must be a very proud auntie Cindy! What a dream come true and to make it to the free programme, amazing! 🤩 4mo
Cinfhen Thanks so much @LeeRHarry she had a beautiful skate at the short program but unfortunately her free skate wasn‘t her best performance. We discovered after the fact that she fell during practice Saturday morning and hurt her knee that she had surgery on. Anyway, it didn‘t really matter as she achieved her personal goal- to make it to the final round and enjoy the experience- which SHE DID!! I‘m SOOOO PROUD ♥️Thanks for reaching out xx 4mo
64 likes5 comments
blurb
Kitta
Don't Cry for Me | Daniel Black
post image

Taking a day trip out to Beacon, NY to go to the art gallery and wander the town. Starting this on the train ride.

From the reviews I‘ve seen it‘s gonna be a hell of a read!

review
Megabooks
Don't Cry for Me | Daniel Black
post image
Pickpick

This heart-shattering novel is letters from a dying father to his son. Jacob is a Black man born in 1940s Arkansas. He believes there is one way to be a man and raise a son. When his son is born queer, he doesn‘t know how to deal. He resorts to violence. He drives a wedge in the family. As he is dying, he tries to explain himself and show his son what time has taught him. Get the tissues! 😭 #botm

vivastory Between yours & Stephanie's review, I will 100% be adding this to my March BOTM 4mo
Megabooks @vivastory this is one I‘m almost 💯 sure you‘ll enjoy! 4mo
squirrelbrain Stacked! 4mo
See All 10 Comments
Christine Sounds wonderful - and I love that cover! 4mo
Megabooks @squirrelbrain @Christine it was fantastic! As is the cover 👍🏻 4mo
Cinfhen Gorgeous photo!! #stacked 💜 4mo
BarbaraBB Wow! 4mo
Megabooks @Cinfhen @BarbaraBB thanks! This one was amazing! 4mo
Suet624 What @BarbaraBB said. 😊 4mo
Megabooks @Suet624 it was so good! 4mo
110 likes6 stack adds10 comments
blurb
Kitta
Don't Cry for Me | Daniel Black
post image

My #BOTM is here!!! I‘m so excited. My first box. What a great valentines present to myself haha.

17 likes1 stack add
quote
rjsthumbelina
Don't Cry for Me | Daniel Black
post image

❤️

blurb
erank58
Don't Cry for Me | Daniel Black
post image

Apparently A River Enchanted is going to be a series, so I may try it from the library before I commit. Excited for my picks this month! What did everyone else get? #botm

Victoriahoperose I got Don‘t Cry for Me, also!! (And The Golden Couple and A Flicker in the Dark). 5mo
erank58 @Victoriahoperose I loved A Flicker In The Dark!! I thought it was one of the better-written thrillers from the last few years. Enjoy! 😊 5mo
Victoriahoperose @erank58 I‘m so glad I got it this time!! I can‘t wait to get to it!! 5mo
56 likes3 comments
blurb
swishandflick
Don't Cry for Me | Daniel Black
post image

The confirmed February #BOTM picks! The jury's out on whether or not I'll skip, it might come down to how good the add-ons are. And how awful is that Vladimir cover?! 🙈

Alfoster Loved The Golden Couple!❤️👏 5mo
Brooke_H That cover was cracking me up before I even read your comment. 🤣 5mo
See All 18 Comments
Megabooks Going to look these up this weekend! Thanks!! 😁😁 5mo
Branwen I burst out laughing when I saw the Vladimir cover! Then I laughed even harder after reading your comment! 🤣😂 5mo
Branwen I am absolutely getting A River Enchanted and also Peach Blossom Spring, which looks SO GOOD! And hopefully there will be some good add-ons as well! 5mo
Kimberlone I won Vladimir from a Goodreads giveaway, and I‘m super excited to read that, but I haven‘t heard of any of these others. I‘ll need to explore deeper to see if any of them are of interesting enough for a BOTM pick. I‘m trying to be more selective about my BOTM choices this year since I have so many on my TBR still. 5mo
Christyco125 I‘m with you. I may be skipping these. 5mo
BarbaraBB That cover indeed 😂😂 5mo
Breanne1 Every month I look forward to this tag, thanks @swishandflick ! I need to look in to these, haven‘t really heard of them. Without looking at synopsis I can tell I‘ll probably be skipping Vladimir… 5mo
Reviewsbylola I‘ll probably go library with Vladimir and Don‘t Cry For Me. I don‘t care for either cover so I‘m not going to bother buying them. I‘m going with Peach Blossom Spring. 5mo
Amor4Libros I read The Golden Couple and loved it!! 5mo
Kangaj1 I also loved The Golden Couple! 5mo
marleed The Vladimir cover is horrible! 5mo
Cinfhen Yay!!! I love your sleuthing!!!! Need to investigate 🔬 5mo
catiewithac This is an easy pass for me. Thanks for posting! 5mo
Costrye Hmmm I might get peach blossom spring, don‘t cry for me and the golden couple! 5mo
TheBookStacker Vladimir is getting such buzz but I‘m skeptical on the cover though I also find it hilarious 5mo
94 likes1 stack add18 comments