Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Inheritance of Orqudea Divina
Inheritance of Orqudea Divina | Zoraida Cordova
Perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman, Isabel Allende, and Sarah Addison Allen, this is a gorgeously written novel about a family searching for the truth hidden in their past and the power they've inherited, from the author of the acclaimed and "giddily exciting" (The New York Times Book Review) Brooklyn Brujas series. The Montoyas are used to a life without explanations. They know better than to ask why the pantry never seems to run low or empty, or why their matriarch won't ever leave their home in Four Rivers--even for graduations, weddings, or baptisms. But when Orqudea Divina invites them to her funeral and to collect their inheritance, they hope to learn the secrets that she has held onto so tightly their whole lives. Instead, Orqudea is transformed, leaving them with more questions than answers. Seven years later, her gifts have manifested in different ways for Marimar, Rey, and Tatinelly's daughter, Rhiannon, granting them unexpected blessings. But soon, a hidden figure begins to tear through their family tree, picking them off one by one as it seeks to destroy Orqudea's line. Determined to save what's left of their family and uncover the truth behind their inheritance, the four descendants travel to Ecuador--to the place where Orqudea buried her secrets and broken promises and never looked back. Alternating between Orqudea's past and her descendants' present, The Inheritance of Orqudea Divina is an enchanting novel about what we knowingly and unknowingly inherit from our ancestors, the ties that bind, and reclaiming your power.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
Johanna414
post image

Read the first few chapters of this on my lunch break today, and I'm hooked! This will probably be the last #newyearwhodis title I get to this month, though I do want to read a few others from my list throughout the year. @monalyisha @sebrittainclark

monalyisha Fantastic! ✨ I hope you enjoyed! (My book club is reading this one later this year.) 11h
37 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
Larkken
post image

One bingo for December! Pretty good 👍🏻🤩 #bookspinbingo #wintergames2021
Tagged was my favorite from this month, I think!

review
Christyco125
post image
Pickpick

Catching up on my #BOTM picks. I usually skip out on their magical realism options and go for the thrillers, but this was definitely worth the credit. Dysfunctional family dynamics, intrigue, finding your true self, and a talking crocodile - couldn‘t ask for more. #hardback #christyread #TouchOfMagic

review
ReadingEnvy
post image
Mehso-so

This is the December pick for the Sword & Laser book club and podcast, and has magic in the form of family curses, living stars, and generations of a family coming together to witness the death (?) of the matriarch. The author was born in Ecuador and the story is very much nestled inside Ecuadorian places, names, and traditions (it reminds me of the time my book club read The Potbellied Virgin, but that had more Catholic stuff in it.)

Nutmegnc My library hold just came in for this one!! 1mo
ReadingEnvy @Nutmegnc I'll be interested in hearing your thoughts! 1mo
Nutmegnc @ReadingEnvy definitely!! 1mo
See All 6 Comments
Nutmegnc @ReadingEnvy So far I feel like there is a whole lot of description and not a lot of story? Yet? Maybe that changes? I‘m at a solid “so…so” for now. 1mo
ReadingEnvy @Nutmegnc yeah the author could have used some advice on structure,.because she infodumps a lot at the beginning. What's discovered - if someone gets their own intro chapter - they will matter. If they are only mentioned in passing at a funeral - not so much 1mo
Nutmegnc @ReadingEnvy Good to know!! 1mo
46 likes6 comments
review
Laughterhp
post image
Pickpick

I loved this book! I wasn‘t really sure what to expect from this one, but I‘m so glad I picked it up. It was so magical, and gave me lots of feelings and I loved the way the story unraveled.

+16pts

TheSpineView Awesome! 2mo
keys_on_fire Pretty! And you already have gifts under the tree! 🎄 🎁 ❤️ 2mo
See All 6 Comments
TheAromaofBooks Yay!!! 2mo
Laughterhp Oh forgot this fits Latinx author for #Booked2021 (even though I‘m nowhere near completing this challenge) @4thhouseontheleft @Cinfhen @BarbaraTheBibliophage 2mo
Cinfhen That‘s ok!! Every book read counts!!!! 2mo
57 likes6 comments
review
Larkken
post image
Pickpick

A lovely fairytale filled with magical inheritances, witchy women, and fallen stars. Good Neil Gaiman and Latin American vibes, all at the same time! It even made me change my goodreads vote for best fantasy novel 😆
Not a “Christmas” book, but I got 270 words for the #wintergames2021 word search! I‘ll tally up the points, including readathons, in the spreadsheet
#mistletoemaniacs

Clwojick 🥳🥳 2mo
22 likes1 comment
blurb
Laughterhp
post image

Well, was supposed to go on a date with the hubby to dinner and the nutcracker… but at dinner they told me bread was gluten free and it wasn‘t… so now at home waiting to see what happens 😬🥺🥴

Bookzombie Oh no! That‘s awful. Hope you are okay! 2mo
Chrissyreadit Ugh! That‘s awful! I hope it‘s not too bad. 2mo
Laughterhp @Bookzombie @Chrissyreadit Thanks. It was worse than I was expecting but the bright side is I know I haven‘t actually eaten gluten in 5 years. But I‘m better now. 2mo
53 likes1 stack add3 comments
blurb
bnp
post image

You are invited to my home on May 14th, the year of the Hummingbird. (from the first section, Invitation to witness a death)

#FirstLineFridays
@ShyBookOwl

blurb
Coleen_Nieto
post image

I'm usually pretty ok with unreliable narrators.

I love bookmarks! Or quitterstrips lol.

The Cemetery of Forgotten books series.

@MoonWitch94 #thoughtfulthursday

Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks 🧡🧡🧡 2mo
16 likes1 comment
blurb
Coleen_Nieto
post image

1. YES! Politics and Prose, Powells, Shakespeare and Co and on and on. I'm visiting my sister this week and I may be able to cross Politics and Prose off the list.
2. I've always got a list...just forget to consult it.
@TheSpineView #two4tuesday

TheSpineView Thanks for playing and happy Tuesday! ❤📚❤ 3mo
16 likes1 comment
review
PatriciaU
post image
Pickpick

Have you ever found a book so good that you deliberately take your time reading it so you can savor every word? This is one of those books. Gorgeous writing, superb use of magical realism. Read this.

BookBelle84 I loved this book! 3mo
37 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
Coleen_Nieto
post image

1. The Inheritance of Orquidea Divina and The Beast's Heart ❤ .
2. I've been invited to a Halloween party on Saturday and looking forward to trick or treaters on Sunday.
3. I'm thankful for candy, mental health professionals, holidays, Autumn, kids, pets...
@Eggs #wondrouswednesday

Eggs Wonderful🍫🎃🍭 3mo
17 likes1 comment
blurb
Coleen_Nieto
post image

1. Kind of...I keep a bullet journal and I write letters to my husband in a notebook @Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks gave me. ☺
2. Not especially in the sense of finishing books but I'm enjoying what I'm reading.
3. I'm grateful for friends and books. And books that are friends. @eggs #wondrouswednesday

Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks ❤️❤️❤️ 3mo
Crazeedi Hugs💗💗💗 3mo
Eggs Thanks for playing Coleen ❤️ I wrote to Gabe (R.I.P.) for a few years—it helped 3mo
Coleen_Nieto @Eggs ❤❤❤thank you so much. I so appreciate the support. 3mo
Eggs @Coleen_Nieto 💗💗💗 3mo
15 likes5 comments
review
NikkiCureton
post image
Pickpick

Such a magical story. The secrets that kept the Montoya‘s separated and in the dark were only overcome by their overwhelming love and support for each other. Loved the storytelling and enjoyed this book immensely!

4 likes2 stack adds
blurb
Linsy
post image

I'm loving this book!! If I were to pick a group of people to help me fight the baddiea, the Montoyas would be pretty far up on my list! 🌺

#zombiesquad #littensdressedinblood
@MidnightBookGirl

73 likes1 stack add
blurb
Linsy
post image

Taking a break from counting up my week 1 totals -- those readathons are taking seriously forever -- with some tea and reading in the bath! 🛁

#fantasticstrangelings #scarathlon2021 #teamslaughter

CoffeeAndABook Luke‘s Diner cup! ☕️ always a joy to see 🙌🏼 3mo
ChaoticMissAdventures I am reading the same book! (But for #teamhendrix ahahah)
3mo
80 likes2 comments
blurb
Coleen_Nieto
post image

1. The Inheritance of Orquidea Divina and Under the Whispering Door.
2. I am really enjoying the tagged book, all the magic and mystery. Under the Whispering door is good too but it's about death and that's a little hard these days.

@TheSpineView #two4tuesday

TheSpineView I get not wanting to read anything dark. I have several books to read but since t hff e pandemic I just have not wanted to read anything depressing. Thanks for playing! 🧡📖🧡 4mo
20 likes1 comment
review
Sumi
post image
Pickpick

A family saga - some weird magic- interesting characters. I have trouble verbalizing about this novel. The family is full of interesting people & odd secrets. It drew me in & had kept me going to its very satisfying conclusion.

blurb
Linsy
post image

About to go in for ankle surgery! 😬 I'm really enjoying this book. The magic reminds me of Alice Hoffman, but much more overt than Practical Magic. #strangemagic #littensdressedinblood

MegaWhoppingCosmicBookwyrm Hope your surgery goes well and that your recovery is quick! ❤️ 4mo
BookNAround Good luck with the surgery! 4mo
Smrloomis Hope everything goes well and that you‘re healed up in no time! 🤞🏽 4mo
See All 9 Comments
rabbitprincess Best wishes for an uneventful surgery and speedy recovery! 4mo
TheSpineView Hope all goes well!
4mo
Ruthiella Wishing you a swift recovery! 😀 4mo
Jas16 Wish you a speedy recovery! 💐 4mo
MidnightBookGirl All the healing vibes and happy reading! 4mo
Linsy Thanks everyone!!! 🤗 It's definitely not the most pleasant thing in the world, but I'm healing up well! I've been walking with a painful limp the last three years, so this is really a blessing, if difficult. Thank goodness I have books and littens to keep me from going stir crazy! @MegaWhoppingCosmicBookwyrm @BookNAround @Smrloomis @rabbitprincess @TheSpineView @Ruthiella @Jas16 @MidnightBookGirl 4mo
70 likes4 stack adds9 comments
review
sebrittainclark
post image
Pickpick

5/5

This novel is incredible. It alternates between telling the story of Orquidea's past: how she got her magical gifts and made it to her home if Four Rivers, and the story of her three descendants who inherit her magic. It's sometimes hard to keep up with changing timelines in a novel, but I couldn't put this down. I was always excited to see where the story was going and what Orquidea's secrets were.

TheAromaofBooks Woohoo!!! 4mo
ChaoticMissAdventures So excited to see this review! It is on my TBR for next month. 4mo
sebrittainclark @ChaoticMissAdventures I've been recommending it to everyone. It's fantastic! 4mo
55 likes4 stack adds4 comments