Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Sance Tea Party: (A Graphic Novel)
Sance Tea Party: (A Graphic Novel) | Reimena Yee
14 posts | 15 read | 13 to read
Lora wants to stay a kid forever, and she'll do anything to make that happen . . . including befriending Alexa, the ghost who haunts her house. A middle-grade graphic novel about growing up that's perfect for fans of Ghosts and Making Friends. Growing up sounds terrible. No one has time to do anything fun, or play outside, or use their imagination. Everything is suddenly so serious. People are more interested in their looks and what others think about them than having fun adventures. Who wants that? Not Lora. After watching her circle of friends seemingly fade away, Lora is determined to still have fun on her own. A tea party with a twist leaves Lora to re-discovering Alexa, the ghost that haunts her house -- and Lora's old imaginary friend! Lora and Alexa are thrilled to meet kindred spirits and they become best friends . . . but unfortunately, not everything can last forever. Reimena Yee brings to life a story about growing up, childhood, and what it means to let go. A fantastical story following lovable characters as they each realize what it means to be who you are.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Kenyazero
post image
Pickpick

I absolutely loved this beautifully illustrated exploration of self-expression, growing up, imagination, death, grief, and moving forward. Every page has something fun or imaginative to discover, and the characters are a lot of fun. I didn't anticipate this exploring loss and grief, and it was handled really well. I didn't pick this as a Halloween read, but it was fun to read now since it includes Halloween. #Comics #Ghost #Halloween

review
IndoorDame
Sance Tea Party | Reimena Yee
post image
Pickpick

This was a fun impulse read with sweet autumn vibes. I didn‘t love it like I did with The Tea Dragon Society, but I can think of some upper elementary kids I think it would speak to. #Scarathlon2022 #TeamMonsterMash @StayCurious #Spookoween2022 @TheSpineView #31by31 @Catsandbooks #PointsAThon @dieareader @GHABI4ROSES #witchathon @mdm139

TheSpineView Awesome 4mo
DieAReader 🎉🎉🎉 4mo
Catsandbooks I read this one last year and thought it was cute! 👻 4mo
54 likes2 stack adds3 comments
review
underground_bks
Sance Tea Party | Reimena Yee
post image
Pickpick

Feeling left behind by friends who are growing up more quickly, Lora throws herself a seance tea party and kindles a friendship with Alexa, the ghost who haunts her house. This is a beautifully illustrated graphic novel for middle grades, with immaculate Autumn vibes and a thoughtful, if slightly sparse, story about growing up and moving on. ☕️👻🍂

22 likes2 stack adds
quote
Flingogal
post image

Goodreads did me dirty and listed a book twice making me think I'd finished my challenge for 2021.

Luckily @thegirlwiththelibrarybag leant me this super adorable graphic novel.

So.... If you were a ghost, where would you haunt?

thegirlwiththelibrarybag Disneyland does seem like a solid option… but maybe a forest - or a really excellent, messy second hand bookstore? 🧐 👻 13mo
Flingogal @thegirlwiththelibrarybag oooh like the one in Bendigo, that would be awesome to haunt 13mo
thegirlwiththelibrarybag @Flingogal - that was the one I was picturing 👻📚 13mo
12 likes3 comments
review
thegirlwiththelibrarybag
Sance Tea Party | Reimena Yee
post image
Pickpick

I loved this! Can see it becoming an October tradition. It‘s a gentle ode to leaving childhood behind but also to embracing the quirky bits of yourself and not losing sight of magic and wonder.

(I‘m also having Southern Hemisphere feels about being in the opposite season as pretty much any book set in the month of October 🥺)

50 likes1 stack add
blurb
thegirlwiththelibrarybag
Sance Tea Party | Reimena Yee
post image

Still thinking about a “social party” work Christmas party where I didn‘t know anyone - where I filled an awkward silence with - “do you know how Trotsky died? ice pick through the eye.”

Anyway (I‘m not in the social club anymore 😜)

slategreyskies 🤣🤣🤣 1y
Desha 😂😂😂📚👍🏻👍🏻 1y
AmyG Ha! 1y
CarolynM I know the feeling 😬😆 1y
thegirlwiththelibrarybag @CarolynM, it was a party on a train - there was only finger food - it was awful. 1y
45 likes5 comments
blurb
thegirlwiththelibrarybag
Sance Tea Party | Reimena Yee
post image

Mmhmm

blurb
ripley_reads
Sance Tea Party | Reimena Yee
post image

Excited to read this adorable little graphic novel! I just recently read The Okay Witch and loved it so I‘m looking forward to reading more graphic novels! 🔮 🧙🏻

review
Catsandbooks
Sance Tea Party | Reimena Yee
post image
Pickpick

5/5 ⭐️ A young girl not quite ready to grow up befriends a ghost. So much beautiful magic and heartwarming scenes in this book! I will need a physical copy so I can reread!

#scarathlon2021 #teamhendrix #screamathon #spookoween #Wickedathon #bookspinbingo #OutstandingOctober

TheBookHippie This looks so good. 1y
TheSpineView 🤩📖🧡🎃🖤👻🧡 1y
TheAromaofBooks Yay!!! 1y
Andrew65 Well done 👏👏👏 1y
47 likes4 comments
review
rachelsbrittain
Sance Tea Party | Reimena Yee
post image
Pickpick

A cute middle grade graphic novel about a twelve-year-old into all things spooky and the ghost living in her house. Definitely more suited to younger kids, but I enjoyed all the Halloween love and the changing friendships Lora has to navigate.

59 likes2 stack adds
blurb
WanderingBookaneer
Sance Tea Party | Reimena Yee
post image

I raided @BookishMarginalia ‘s books for #24in48 palate cleansers. #24in48Readathon

BookishMarginalia I got some good books! 2y
75 likes1 comment
review
Johanna414
Sance Tea Party | Reimena Yee
post image
Bailedbailed

This one might just be me, because I'm super grumpy this week... but I'm bailing on this one. The art was super cute, but the story felt very similar to many of the other middle grade graphic novels for girls coming out in the last few years. I thought I was in the mood for cute, but I'm apparently not. #TBRDeckofCards

review
GirlNamedJesse
Sance Tea Party | Reimena Yee
post image
Pickpick

I ended up quite enjoying this one, but the beginning was a bit too disjointed for my liking. What can I say, I‘m a sucker for ghost stories. 👻