Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
#Hereintheblack
blurb
rohit-sawant
post image
Cinfhen Nice ! Completely forgot about batman 🦇 2y
TrishB Good choice 👍🏻 2y
batsy 👌 2y
41 likes3 comments
blurb
Lizpixie
post image

#NuYear After #24in48 #readathon I almost slept 48hrs,but I‘m #HereInTheBlack with Batman:Nightwalker by Marie Lu ,what‘s more black than a bat🦇 I adore the Waterstones covers for this series, I have Wonder Woman:Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo & can‘t wait for Catwoman by Sarah.J.Maas! Thankyou so much @ScorpioBookDreams for sending it from England along with the tartan diary, cute postcard & gorgeous desktop calendar from Scotland🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

Cinfhen Lovely 😊 🖤 2y
kamoorephoto Man, when I‘m back in England in the summer, I am going to have such trouble not only buying new books but buying second copies of books I already have. 2y
See All 7 Comments
TrishB Great stuff 👍🏻 2y
ScorpioBookDreams Glad it FINALLY arrived! 💕 2y
Lizpixie @ScorpioBookDreams me too! The satchel was all ripped and dirty, I‘m surprised everything was still in good condition honestly, there‘s only a few dings in the book that aren‘t so bad. I can‘t wait to get Catwomsn & apparently the last is about Superman! Yay! The last book for you is coming tomorrow so I‘ll be sending a package your way on Friday, I hope you like the Aussie classics I‘ve chosen for you💕💕💕 2y
ScorpioBookDreams @Lizpixie I‘ve actually got the courier company investigating why it lay in the U.K. for two weeks! They can‘t explain it at the moment. I‘m sure I‘ll love any books you picked for me 💕 2y
78 likes7 comments
blurb
DivineDiana
post image

I read this book many years ago but I will never forget the power of this story! A nonfiction book about a white journalist who in 1959 disguised himself as a black man and traveled for six weeks through the South in the United States. #nuyear #hereintheblack

Alfoster Yes! Loved this!😍 2y
Cinfhen Oh, sounds fascinating 2y
TrishB Sounds intriguing! 2y
See All 9 Comments
Sweettartlaura This is on my TBR for this year - can‘t wait! 2y
Izai.Amorim Many decades ago a German writer lived and worked disguised as a Turk and wrote a book about the hardships and discrimination that guest workers ( as they were called then, not immigrants) faced daily. 2y
DivineDiana @Izai.Amorim Thank you for letting me know. Did not know about this one! I find this type of undercover work fascinating ! 2y
75 likes4 stack adds9 comments
blurb
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks
post image

#Hereintheblack
#Nuyear

I‘m missing some, but I loved these!!!

SpeculativeFemale Oh, I read the first four or five of those a while back and never got the rest of the series. I should really go back to them sometime. 2y
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks @SpeculativeFemale yeah I think there are several others, but I stopped too!! So many so little time!! 2y
WordyForever Oh my freaking god I love these books. I‘m not caught up on the series but it‘s one of my goals this year. 2y
See All 20 Comments
Myhusbandhatesreading I loved these too!! I got up to The King but haven‘t gotten to the last few. 2y
ReviewsbytheMrs Confession: I hear so much about these books but I haven‘t read any 🤭 I am guessing they‘re addicting?? 2y
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks @ReviewsbytheMrs yes... I got addicted for a while and read all of these back to back!!! 🤦🏼‍♀️🤷🏼‍♀️ Probably about 10 years ago lol 2y
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks @WordyForever I know!!! They are soooo good!!! 2y
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks @ReviewsbytheMrs Do you live in the US? 2y
TheSleepyCat Love these! 2y
CoverToCoverGirl Ahhhh... I love and adore my Brothers unconditionally! ❤️❤️❤️😎 2y
debthmpsn Years ago I read the first few in the series...this makes we want to go back and reread those and all the others since....:) 2y
Cinfhen Ooooh! They look like chunkstrers🙈#bigbookmonitoralert @minkyb 2y
TrishB Not read these! 2y
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks @ReviewsbytheMrs if you want to read the first one I will send it to you!! Loverofbooks75@gmail.com ☺️ 2y
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks @TrishB they are sooo good!! 2y
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks @Cinfhen yes!!!! So good too!! 2y
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks @debthmpsn so many, so little time!!! 📚📚📚 2y
ReviewsbytheMrs @Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks oh gosh, you are the sweetest! I will email you today! 2y
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks @ReviewsbytheMrs awesome!!! ☺️💕I‘ll get it to you!! And btw Wrath is my favorite brother!! 2y
122 likes4 stack adds20 comments
blurb
KarenUK
Black Rabbit Hall | Eve Chase
post image

#NuYear #Hereintheblack One from my TBR/ latest bookoutlet haul.... The blurb says it‘s for fans of Sarah Waters and Kate Morton... so I‘m excited! Going to use it for #Pop18 #abookwithananimalinthetitle

LazyOwl Ooh, I love Kate Morton 2y
Reviewsbylola I have had this on my tbr since it was released! 2y
ApoptyGina69 I just got this book for Christmas! 👍📚 2y
Cinfhen I almost bought this one!!! Can't wait to hear your thoughts!! 2y
TrishB Good choice 👍🏻 2y
61 likes5 comments
blurb
DeborahSmall
post image
Cinfhen 🖤 2y
Cinfhen How's your brother doing??? 2y
TrishB Good one 👍🏻 2y
DeborahSmall @Cinfhen he‘s moved in with my dad until he‘s on his feet. The bag burst on Saturday night so that wasn‘t very pleasant for him. Will take a long time to adjust 2y
Cinfhen Aww, can't get a break😔I'm so sorry the road to recovery isn't going to be quick or easy. 2y
70 likes5 comments
review
arlenefinnigan
Night | Elie Wiesel
post image
Pickpick

This is such a powerful, moving read. Brutally, unflinching honest about the treatment inside the concentration camps and what that did to people. A stark warning from history - people thought it wasn't as bad as the rumours suggested, but it was much worse.

Edited to add: having Googled the lyrics to #HereInTheBlack, this might fit #NuYear @Cinfhen @TrishB

Listener15 Gah. I had listened to this too. So hard, so good 2y
Cinfhen The one book I often reread just so I‘ll never forget #WeRember 💔 2y
arlenefinnigan @Listy aye, tough listen, but so very worth it. 2y
See All 6 Comments
TrishB A really good interpretation of the lyrics 💔 2y
arlenefinnigan @Cinfhen I've always said I think Anne Frank's diary should be compulsory reading for all school children, I think this similarly essential reading. 2y
Cinfhen All 3 of my kids were assigned this book in 10 grade...and my older son went with his class to Poland as part of his history class😔He was fortunate to have 2 Auschwitz survivors as his “guides” 2y
36 likes2 stack adds6 comments
blurb
GrilledCheeseSamurai
Planetes Omnibus | Makoto Yukimura
post image

#NuYear #HereInTheBlack
@Cinfhen @TrishB

A #Manga about space janitors. 🤣

Its really alot more than that...I'm obviously oversimplifying. It's really good though. Made by the same dude that does Vinland Saga. 🤘

TrishB Space janitors 😂😂 2y
TricksyTails Ooh I‘ve been wanting to get my hands on these! I love Makoto Yukimura. 2y
Serotonin This has totally been on my TBR 👍 Wait...I think I may actually have the anime somewhere...in my house 2y
78 likes1 stack add3 comments
blurb
Kalalalatja
The Night Circus | Erin Morgenstern
post image

#HereintheBlack translates to black books in my head. So here are a selection of some of my pretty, black books 🖤🖤🖤

#NuYear

Mommamanzi ❤️📚❤️ 2y
Cinfhen Love it 🖤🖤🖤 2y
TrishB And they are very pretty 🖤 2y
See All 8 Comments
rubyslippersreads 😍😍😍 2y
blondie 🖤🖤 2y
Moray_Reads Gorgeous editions 2y
readordierachel You have the prettiest books 😍 2y
113 likes1 stack add8 comments
blurb
Melissa_J
post image

#Hereintheblack The Blackhouse is the first novel in Peter May‘s intriguing Lewis trilogy, which is set on the Isle of Lewis in the Hebrides. #NuYear

Cathythoughts Nice one 👍🏻 2y
TrishB Another series I have never got to! 2y
Cinfhen Well played!! I‘m still thinking on this prompt 🤨 2y
See All 11 Comments
Andrew65 @TrishB I love the Lewis Trilogy, wonderful series. Book 3 had a total jaw dropping shock in it that left me reeling. Do read them. @Cathythoughts @Cinfhen (edited) 2y
Cinfhen No, im not familiar with this series @Andrew65 but your comment has my interest 2y
Andrew65 @Cinfhen I love the feel of the Scottish Islands and communities it evokes as well as the characters and mystery. @Cathythoughts @TrishB 2y
TrishB I‘m trying not to start any new series until I‘ve cleared some existing ones......! 2y
Cathythoughts Thankyou for the tip , I‘m going to adjust my TBR & get this book shortly🙏🏻The Blackhouse is the first one so 👍🏻 @Andrew65 @Melissa_J (edited) 2y
Melissa_J @TrishB I‘m currently on the same mission. We‘ll see how long I last 🤣 2y
Andrew65 @TrishB @Melissa_J I was on the same mission yet somehow started 4 Series last month! 😂 2y
Andrew65 @Cathythoughts Hope you enjoy it when you get to it. 2y
60 likes11 comments