Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl | Stacy McAnulty
14 posts | 16 read | 14 to read
Middle school is the one problem Lucy Callahan can't solve in this middle-grade novel perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by 7s. Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test--middle school! Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that's not a math textbook!). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation? A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different. "An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here!" --Kate Beasley, author of Gertie's Leap to Greatness
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
Corar
post image

Max and I are participating in the Dewey's Readathon!
1) Maryland, USA
2) ME: Nimona and Max: Miscalculations of Lightning Girl.
3) Pumpkin Dump Cake
4) My other hobby is photography. Max does martial arts and acrobatic gymnastics.
5) I didn't make it to the grocery store or library yesterday, so we are working with what we have in the house this time. Hopefully that will result in a reduction of the TBR.
#deweyoct #readathon #deweysreadathon2019

NomiReads Pumpkin dump cake sounds pretty good! 3w
9 likes1 comment
review
Kboltz
post image
Pickpick

Read this to see which grade it would be best for. I love books for YA that have science or math based facts and have a good story. This book is one of these. Takes place in middle school but I think that if a 4th - 5th grade student has heard of Pi, then this is a great book. We may add it to our summer reading list!👍🏼👍🏼

review
Daisey
post image
Pickpick

Today has pretty much been all about apples, baking, and books! I finished this middle grade novel while my spiral apple bread was rising. It‘s a really great story about friendship and acceptance. The main character Lucy has been a math genius since she was struck by lightning, but while going to public school for a year she‘s just trying to be normal. I loved all the math that was woven into the story and the dog named Pi.

#middlegrade #TRS2019

Sace Lovely bread! Lovely book, too! I enjoyed it as well. 😁 2mo
Stacypatrice @Daisey - That looks delicious!! 2mo
See All 8 Comments
Daisey @RestlessFickleBookHoarder @rather_be_reading @Stacypatrice Thank you all! It turned out really well. 🍎 🍏 2mo
CafeMom Apples, baking and books sounds like a great day. 2mo
valeriegeary Oh yum! 2mo
Daisey @CafeMom @valeriegeary It was a wonderful day and the bread turned out delicious! 2mo
kspenmoll That pie!!! Yum! 2mo
60 likes2 stack adds8 comments
blurb
Daisey
post image

Starting a new #middlegrade book this evening . . .

jploves2read I just bought some of these books for my school. I am going to give them a try as well. 🙂 2mo
Daisey @jploves2read I loved the math in this one! 2mo
jploves2read @Daisey thanks for the info. That might come in handy. 🙂 2mo
56 likes3 comments
review
ravenlee
post image
Pickpick

Book eight done for #24B4Monday #SummersEndReadathon!

Lucy is having some trouble adapting to middle school. Some of her struggles are unique (after being struck by lightning she became a math savant, but has done OCD behaviors to contend with too), but, as one of her classmates points out, she‘s not the only one struggling. The dog made me cry.

@Clwojick @Andrew65 @TheReadingMermaid

Close to 18 hours now!

ravenlee Given Lucy‘s obsession with pi, I find it fitting that Litsy shows this as my 314 book. 3mo
TheReadingMermaid Wow girl you are doing fantastic!!! 3mo
Andrew65 Sounds interesting, and a great time. 👏👏👏 3mo
Andrew65 @ravenlee 😳😱😂 That‘s incredible! 3mo
Clwojick Going strong! 💪🏻 3mo
28 likes5 comments
review
Nitpickyabouttrains
post image
Pickpick

A middle grade book about a girl who was hit by lightning and it changed the way her brain works. She deals with normal issues like fitting in and making friends, while also trying to hide what she can do so her peers won‘t know she‘s different.

review
Eggs
post image
Pickpick

13 year old Lucy is an "acquired" savant; she was struck by lightning at 8 and the brain damage resulted in her genius but as OCD as well. She's been homeschooled and has already completed 2 years of college online. Now she's headed to middle school, much to her dismay...

SarahBradley Read and loved it. 9mo
Eggs I read it bc it was on my list of your Book Blurb recommendations 💗📚💗 9mo
99 likes3 stack adds2 comments
review
Nebklvr
Pickpick

The main character bordered on too precious; however, the story was saved by good writing and great side characters. The themes discussed included differing family structures, bullying, friendship, and self-confidence. The kids will come to the book for the lightning and stay for the more relatable parts of the story.

review
Abby2
post image
Pickpick

Really good ya novel about a math whiz and making friends in middle school.

8 likes2 stack adds
blurb
hwestfall
post image

My daughter enjoyed this book and encouraged me to read it. Pretty good so far!

review
whimsy_rainbow
Pickpick

A lighthearted YA novel but it was good! It was just what I needed inbetween a serious book about genes.:)

blurb
whimsy_rainbow

Light, fluffy YA reading for the Labor Day weekend. After a really long week at work, I just wanted something lighthearted to read.:)

blurb
Kangaj1
post image

ARCs I picked up from work today...after my girl took a few.

MariettaSG The poet x looks interesting, just added it to my book list. 1y
41 likes1 comment
blurb
LibrarianRyan
post image