Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Godmersham Park
Godmersham Park | Gill Hornby
3 posts | 1 reading | 3 to read
FROM THE #1 BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF MISS AUSTEN 'So envious of anyone yet to read this. A triumph!' Nigella Lawson 'I read it straight through without looking up ... Godmersham Park provided me with a perfectly contented day.' Karen Joy Fowler 'Utterly absorbing and illuminating. Written with a sure and stylish hand. Gill Hornby's best book yet.' Esther Freud A masterly piece of storytelling' Helena Kelly __________________________ January 1804: Anne Sharpe arrives at Godmersham Park in Kent to take up the position of governess. At thirty-one years old, she has no previous experience of either teaching or fine country houses. But her mother has died and she desperately needs an independent income if she is to survive. For her new charge, twelve-year- old Fanny Austen, Anne's arrival is all novelty and excitement. But Anne is keenly aware that her new role is an awkward one: she is neither one of the servants nor one of the family, and to balance a position between the 'upstairs' and 'downstairs' members of the household is a diplomatic chess game. One wrong move may result in her instant dismissal. She has just begun to settle into her position when dashing Henry Austen and his younger sister Jane come to stay. Both take an immediate interest in the pretty, clever governess who quickly becomes drawn into the above stairs life of the Austen family. Despite her best endeavours, Anne finds that she is beginning to fall in love. But has her survival at Godmersham Park just become a good deal more precarious? __________________________ Praise for Miss Austen and Gill Hornby . . . 'The perfect book to wrap yourself around on a dark night' STYLIST 'You can't help feeling that Jane would have approved.' OBSERVER 'Celebrates unexamined lives, sisterhood and . . . kindness and loyalty' SUNDAY TIMES 'A deeply imagined and deeply moving novel' KAREN JOY FOWLER 'It won't surprise me if this is one of the books of the year' RTE 'An ingenious and affecting embroidery on the fact of the author's life' SUNDAY MIRROR 'Fans of Pride and Prejudice and Emma will enjoy this touching story' SUNDAY EXPRESS 'Extraordinary and heart-wrenching, Miss Austen transported me from page one' LARA PRESCOTT 'Tender and touching . . . Hornby movingly celebrates the fortitude of Cassandra' DAILY MAIL 'A moving, often funny novel. Richly imagined and spryly told', MAIL ON SUNDAY 'A wonderfully original, emotionally complex novel' IRISH EXAMINER '[A] . . . subtle and delicate novel' WOMAN & HOME
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
blurb
LeahBergen
Godmersham Park | Gill Hornby
post image

I really enjoyed my recent read of Miss Austen so I went ahead and ordered Godmersham Park. I‘m so glad they stayed with the same “embroidered” cover design! The reverse of the book jacket looks like the back of a worked piece of embroidery, dangling threads and all.

This upstairs/downstairs novel tells the story of Anne Sharp, governess to Jane Austen‘s niece, Fanny. I‘m looking forward to it!

TheKidUpstairs Oh, those covers are gorgeous! 1d
jlhammar Beautiful! 1d
See All 16 Comments
Gissy 😍Beautiful editions! 1d
KristiAhlers My copy of Godmersham Park arrived the other day from London! It‘s so pretty. It‘s my next read! Let me know when you pick it up to read! 💜 1d
catebutler I recently read Miss Austen and really enjoyed it too! And these editions!! So clever and absolutely beautiful front to back. 😍 1d
Cathythoughts They are lovely Leah 💫 1d
MaureenMc 😍 20h
LeahBergen @Gissy Aren‘t they? 🥰 17h
LeahBergen @KristiAhlers Awesome! I may not get to it soon but I‘ll let you know. 😊 17h
LeahBergen @catebutler I know! They put in the extra work for these, didn‘t they? 17h
LeahBergen @Cathythoughts Thanks, Cathy! 😘 17h
LeahBergen @MaureenMc 😘😘 17h
KristiAhlers @LeahBergen yeah I‘ve got several ahead of it myself. I just love reading ANYTHING Austen! 💜 14h
DivineDiana These covers are beautiful! I love the idea of an embroidery motif! ❤️ 12h
74 likes2 stack adds16 comments
blurb
KristiAhlers
Godmersham Park | Gill Hornby
post image

My #goldsborobook edition arrived in the post today! 💜 have any of my #pemberlitten friends read this yet? I can‘t wait to dive in

sprainedbrain Oh that‘s gorgeous! I have not read it yet, but I‘m very much looking forward to it. I just LOVED her Miss Austen. ❤️ 3d
KristiAhlers @sprainedbrain me too. This is a signed and numbered edition so I‘m super excited for it. 3d
Sparklemn It's on my wish list. It looks delightful. Love the cover! 3d
39 likes3 comments
blurb
Crinoline_Laphroaig
Godmersham Park | Gill Hornby
post image

Besides #JaneandtheExcellentReadalong I want to read as many as possible of these. I've been saving Godmersham Park for #AusteninAugust. #PemberLittens