Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Winemaker's Wife
The Winemaker's Wife | Kristin Harmel
10 posts | 11 read | 31 to read
Love and betrayal, forgiveness and redemption combine in a heady tale of the ever-present pastfantastic! Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris The author of the engrossing (People) international bestseller The Room on Rue Amlie returns with a moving story set amid the champagne vineyards of northern France during the darkest days of World War II, perfect for fans of Kristin Hannahs The Nightingale. Champagne, 1940: Ins has just married Michel, the owner of storied champagne house Maison Chauveau, when the Germans invade. As the danger mounts, Michel turns his back on his marriage to begin hiding munitions for the Rsistance. Ins fears theyll be exposed, but for Cline, half-Jewish wife of Chauveaus chef de cave, the risk is even greaterrumors abound of Jews being shipped east to an unspeakable fate. When Cline recklessly follows her heart in one desperate bid for happiness, and Ins makes a dangerous mistake with a Nazi collaborator, they risk the lives of those they loveand the champagne house that ties them together. New York, 2019: Liv Kent has just lost everything when her eccentric French grandmother shows up unannounced, insisting on a trip to France. But the older woman has an ulterior motiveand a tragic, decades-old story to share. When past and present finally collide, Liv finds herself on a road to salvation that leads right to the caves of the Maison Chauveau.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
blurb
Bookworm223
The Winemaker's Wife | Kristin Harmel
post image

Not as good as her other book “The Room on Rue Amelie”. Not sure if I like where the ending is going. Update- the ending was better than I thought.

blurb
Sills
The Winemaker's Wife | Kristin Harmel
post image

A history of survival, anguish, love, secrets, and heroism-during WWII in the beautiful french wine country. Germany had invaded France and demanded champagne/wine at an unrealistic pace. One winemaker will produce, hide and work for the resistance against the Nazis, but his passion for another and betrayal of his wife will begin a chain reaction of doom, mistaken identity, regret and forgiveness. Two generations later the whole story is revealed.

tpixie Sounds great! 2mo
Sills @Tpixie I thought so-kept me speculating in several parts about the winemakers wife. 2mo
tpixie @Sills interesting!! 2mo
24 likes3 comments
review
SassyBookworm
The Winemaker's Wife | Kristin Harmel
post image
Pickpick

This was a beautiful yet heartbreaking novel. It‘s goes between a few stories that eventually tie in together but mainly the past character Ines and current character of Olivia/Liv. It‘s everything I love in a historical fiction, action, love, adventure, heartbreak and the enduring human spirit during tough times. Definitely 5 stars from me 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

#SassyBookworm😏 #TheWinemakersWife #HistoricalFiction #Libby

90 likes5 stack adds
review
Reecaspieces
The Winemaker's Wife | Kristin Harmel
post image
Pickpick
75 likes1 stack add
review
TheHeartlandBookFairy
The Winemaker's Wife | Kristin Harmel
post image
Pickpick

WOW! what an incredible story, I could not put this book down! Absolutely fascinating, riveting! This was one of my favorite books so far this year 😊 📚♥️🥂2👍👍, 5⭐s!

24 likes1 stack add
review
tammysue
The Winemaker's Wife | Kristin Harmel
post image
Pickpick

🍇🍷 5 ★ A fabulous book I highly recommend! Set at the century‘s old Maison Chauveau Winery in the Champagne region of Nazi occupied France, The Winemaker‘s Wife is an absolutely delicious concoction of love, secrets, betrayal, and redemption. I read this compelling novel in one sitting, yes it was that good! A 2019 favorite for me.

#netgalley #TheWinemakersWife #GalleryBooks

SheReadsAndWrites I need a good one! Thanks. 😊 Have you ever read The Lost Vintage by Ann Mah? So good! 3mo
tammysue @SheReadsAndWrites Yes, I absolutely loved it!! I know you‘ll enjoy this book, it put me in mind of The Lost Vintage while reading it. 😁 3mo
Eggs Stacked! 3mo
SheReadsAndWrites 🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼 3mo
51 likes5 stack adds4 comments
review
SilversReviews
The Winemaker's Wife | Kristin Harmel
post image
Pickpick

♥️ DO NOT MISS READING THIS BOOK!! ♥️

France, wine, WWII, present day, and love - all of this wrapped into one amazing, difficult-to-put-down read.

FULL REVIEW: https://tinyurl.com/y5p78psn

@GalleryBooks

tammysue Happy to see you loved this one too Elizabeth! 3mo
SilversReviews @tammysue Ohhhh. I did. 😍 3mo
43 likes2 stack adds2 comments
blurb
SilversReviews
Winemaker's Wife | Kristin Harmel
post image

A MUST READ!!

FULL REVIEW AUGUST 13.

France, wine, WWII, present day, and love - all of this wrapped into one amazing, difficult-to-put-down read.

Ms. Harmel weaved a beautiful tale filled with authentic characters and a story line that kept me turning the pages to learn more as well as cry with the characters.

Absolutely LOVED this book. Do not miss reading this book. 5/5

@GalleryBooks

Hollie Stacked! 4mo
SilversReviews @Hollie ENJOY!!! LOVED the book!! 4mo
tammysue I just started this today, really enjoying it. 3mo
SilversReviews @tammysue It is FABULOUS!! ENJOY!! 3mo
60 likes5 stack adds4 comments
review
Callsie
The Winemaker's Wife | Kristin Harmel
post image
Mehso-so

Book 41 of 2019, looking good for my goal of 80 this year #readingchallenge got an arc of this from #NetGalley full review up on goodreads, but the gist of it is, this was ok, not great. I think the author was being too ambitious and should have stuck with 2 narrators not 3, the “voices” didn‘t seem developed enough.

review
TheHeartlandBookFairy
The Winemaker's Wife | Kristin Harmel
post image
Pickpick

This was such a wonderful book! I loved the history and the suspense, the ro redmance and the knowledge. Enough wine info to satisfy this cork dork, enough history to satisfy my love of historical fiction, and wonderful twists and turns by the author to keep us guessing up until the end. I'm hoping there's a sequel to tie up some loose ends 😁🍷🍇

21 likes1 stack add