Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Mathematician's Shiva
The Mathematician's Shiva: A Novel | Stuart Rojstaczer
WINNER OF THE 2014 NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING DEBUT FICTION For readers of This Is Where I Leave You and Everything Is Illuminated, a brilliant and compelling family saga full of warmth, pathos, history and humor (Jonathan Evison, author of West of Here) When the greatest female mathematician in history passes away, her son, Alexander Sasha Karnokovitch, just wants to mourn his mother in peace. But rumor has it the notoriously eccentric Polish migr has solved one of the most difficult problems in all of mathematics, and has spitefully taken the solution to her grave. As a ragtag group of mathematicians from around the world descends upon Rachelas shiva, determined to find the proof or solve it for themselveseven if it means prying up the floorboards for notes or desperately scrutinizing the mutterings of her African Grey parrotSasha must come to terms with his mothers outsized influence on his life. Spanning decades and continents, from a crowded living room in Madison, Wisconsin, to the windswept beach on the Barents Sea where a young Rachela had her first mathematical breakthrough, The Mathematicians Shiva is an unexpectedly moving and uproariously funny novel that captures humanitys drive not just to survive, but to achieve the impossible. From the Trade Paperback edition.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
blurb
Cinfhen
post image

#RedRoseSeptember Another book from my virtual #TBR ~ Im not really good at #mathematics but I believe my virtual TBR + my physical TBR = 4861 books or something like that 😉

EDmdj Wow!!!👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻 1w
Bklover Never enough. Keep ‘em coming!❤️ 1w
Cinfhen Hahaha @EDH1226 @Bklover my math could still be off by 1000 or so books 😜 1w
See All 13 Comments
valeriegeary Yes, that number sounds about right. 😆 1w
Cinfhen Hi 👋🏽 @valeriegeary It‘s been forever!!!! Hope all is well and you‘re ankle(?) foot (?) is fully healed xx 1w
BarbaraBB Great post 😂😂 1w
valeriegeary Forever is not an exaggeration# 1w
valeriegeary Oh my gosh. I apparently forgot how to use this app and hit send too early. 😁 My ankle is pretty back to normal now. I'm running again. Which is excellent! I'm trying to juggle a lot of social media and work stuff right now so I've decided to do Litsy on the weekends! 🤗 1w
arlenefinnigan Love that cover! 1w
Cinfhen I do too @arlenefinnigan ❣️❣️❣️❣️❣️ 1w
Cinfhen I‘m glad you‘re back to running and happy to know you‘re out there doing your thing @valeriegeary Litsying on weekends is a great compromise xx 1w
Mdargusch WOW! 1w
Cinfhen My “math” might be overinflated @Mdargusch 😜but it‘s still a ridiculous number that I‘ll never control 😂😂 1w
94 likes13 comments
blurb
mreads
post image

My current read is not about math thankfully 😄, but includes quite a few eccentric mathematicians. For a book I thought I'd bail on I'm really enjoying it.

Pictured with a succulent that should be red tipped by poor thing doesn't get enough direct sunlight.

#succulentsaturday @ReadosaurusText @saguarosally

#30JuneBooks @howjessreads current read

ReadosaurusText My firestick plant didn‘t make it through the fall and winter because I just couldn‘t find the right sunny spot for it. Yours is so pretty! I like that little armadillo figurine. 4mo
saguarosally I‘m all for books about math! 4mo
mreads @ReadosaurusText firestick! Thank you could not remember what it was called. Sorry yours didn't make it. The armadillo my friend brought back from Mexico for me. 4mo
49 likes1 stack add3 comments
review
Reita325
Mehso-so

I thought this was going to be a mystery but it was the story of a female math prodigy from Russian. It was an unusual read but I think the subject matter would only appeal to a limited audience.

review
MsLeah8417
Mehso-so

A quirky read

blurb
SheilaChew
post image

A nice shady spot by the pool to read - I'm on a cruise this week!

Libby1 Ooh! Lovely. Where are you going? What did you bring to read? 2y
Bookzombie That looks great! Hope you have fun and relax! 2y
SheilaChew @Libby1 We went to Ensenada. So fun! I are too much and didn't finish my book! 2y
27 likes1 stack add4 comments
blurb
SheilaChew
post image

I'm enjoying this book, but it's slow reading.

blurb
SheilaChew
post image

Reading and sewing on this slow summer morning. The book is getting good.

25 likes1 stack add
blurb
SheilaChew
post image

Afternoon with my daughter - cold coffee drinks and our current reads.

31 likes3 comments
blurb
SheilaChew
post image

Breakfast + reading = perfect morning ☀️
💙📚

JoeStalksBeck How is this book? 2y
k.reads Love your mug! 2y
SheilaChew @JoeStalksBeck So far good! I'll post an update when I finish it. 2y
SheilaChew @k.reads Thank you! (It's from Joanns) 2y
27 likes4 comments
review
jess_mccoy
post image
Pickpick

I really enjoyed this! Such interesting and genuine characters. I also found this page quite interesting. (Published in 2014)

8 likes2 stack adds
blurb
jess_mccoy
post image

I realized I'm holding my paper book really close to my face. I usually read paper books during he day and kindle books at night.

7 likes1 stack add
blurb
autumnlupin
Mathematician's Shiva | Stuart Rojstaczer
post image

I had no idea this was a subgenre, sounds like my kind of subgenre

blurb
jess_mccoy
post image

Reading at the hockey rink, trying to block the noise of the claw machines with music in my headphones.

blurb
SuperPunkNinja
post image

👊 🤕 📚

TheBookAddict 😆😂💕👍🏽 3y
30 likes2 comments
blurb
balletbookworm
post image

Want to take your mind off the election? Rojstaczer presents a family dramedy during the depths of a Madison, WI winter - a batch of batty emigré mathematicians decide to complete Sasha's mother's theorem to a Millenium Problem during her shiva. But a solution isn't the only thing that comes to light that week.

Buy this and put it in your eyeballs. (And even if math is not your bag, don't worry. The main draw is the family stuff)

Oftencantdecide I loved this book- it's surprisingly funny. Just really great overall. 3y
23 likes1 comment
blurb
Owlizabeth
post image

This has been sitting on my TBR for a while and my library doesn't have it! Yay #kindledeals

Godmotherx5 I found it at a used bookstore. 3y
30 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
StuartR
post image

Actual block of model for the shiva house. The book cover illustrator, from Italy, somehow came up with something uncannily similar to the real thing.

blurb
MommyReadsSoSheDoesntDrink
post image

I'm almost done this interesting, touching, and funny novel. One of my 4-year olds looked at the cover and said, "I like that the penguin is following the people into the house." It took me a minute. ?

KCorter LOL. I wouldn't have even thought of that. Smart kid. :) 3y
5 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
Geri
post image

This was a departure from the sci-fi/fantasy that I normally read. It's a book in which not much seems to happen but you can't put it down and come away contemplative and with a book hangover.

review
Yossarian
post image
Pickpick

I feel like there are some books that you know will be for you, but won't be for everybody, just by the title.You like scientific puzzles? Pure reason versus religious tradition? A death reveals long buried secrets? Do you already know what a Shiva is? If so, give it a try. If not, don't.

MyBookLife This sounds great!! 3y
Angelala007 It really does! 3y
ramyasbookshelf I'm already trying to get the book! 3y
See All 10 Comments
zugchop Verrrrrrrrrrry interesting...... 3y
kristina_with_a_k Oh my. I'm in!! 3y
emryderm Sounds interesting!!! 3y
Zakia Added! 3y
adamantreader I just got this one from my local bookstore. It sounds interesting. 3y
Lova I really enjoyed this book. I love when authors don't talk down to the reader about complex ideas. 3y
Mimi28 Sounds good! 3y
72 likes59 stack adds10 comments