Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
AmandaFields

AmandaFields

Joined March 2016

Booklover, library assistant, MLIS student, sewer and crafter, and periodically consumed with wanderlust
review
AmandaFields
Only Human | Sylvain Neuvel
post image
Pickpick

😍😍😍 This was a very satisfying conclusion to this trilogy. The full cast narration for the audiobook really brings the story to life. It took so much self control to not immediate go back to beginning of Sleeping Giants and start listening to the series again.

review
AmandaFields
An Unkindness of Ghosts | Rivers Solomon
post image
Pickpick

I can‘t believe this story ended where it did - I could have easily listened to another ten hours. I want to know more about these incredible characters! (Someone please tell me there will be a sequel!)

18 likes1 stack add
blurb
AmandaFields
Behold the Dreamers | Imbolo Mbue
post image

I heard Imbolo Mbue speak at a library event this afternoon! If you haven‘t heard of this book, it‘s an excellent story about modern America, set around the 2008 financial collapse, and the writing is just stunning ❤️📚

review
AmandaFields
Serpent's Secret | Sayantani DasGupta
post image
Pickpick

Highly recommended this for any fans of Rick Riordan. It‘s a fun adventure story with a kick-butt heroine, based in Indian mythology

review
AmandaFields
post image
Pickpick

I finished this book about a month ago and have been at a loss to describe how much I adored it. The story is about a seamstress who wants to design amazing dresses and a prince who sometimes feels like a princess. The story is enchanting and heartwarming, and the artwork is gorgeous. (The author/illustrator, Jen Wang, is the illustrator of ‘In Real Life‘ by Cory Doctorow for anyone interested.) Is it too early to pick a favorite book of the year?

blurb
AmandaFields
Darth Vader and Son | Jeffrey Brown
post image

I was at a conference for youth librarians today, and Jeffrey Brown was the closing keynote speaker. His speech was hilarious and touching. He closed by asking not how do we help kids to reach *for* the stars, but how do we help kids *reach* the stars. His answer was that we do it together. It was very inspiring. I can‘t wait to check out his upcoming books!

britt_brooke Awesome! 2y
Riveted_Reader_Melissa @Gezemice I know you just read this one! 1y
13 likes2 comments
blurb
AmandaFields
Charleston Receipts | T. H. Huguenin
post image

Our library friends group received an excellent donation. This is a book of recipes. The word recipe is misspelled as receipt on every. single. page. 🤷🏻‍♀️

JacqMac This made me smile. My mom always misspelled recipe like this. She just couldn‘t get it. 2y
AmandaFields @JacqMac Aw, that‘s sweet. While we were looking at this, a young kid came up and said he didn‘t get the joke. I had to really concentrate to write out ‘recipe‘ correctly to show him how close the words are😄 2y
17 likes2 comments
blurb
AmandaFields
Not Quite Narwhal | Jessie Sima
post image

Look at this adorable this picture book 🦄💙 It‘s about a unicorn born thinking he‘s a narwhal who isn‘t a good swimmer until he sees another unicorn on land

16 likes1 stack add
review
AmandaFields
post image
Pickpick

This book is excellent for kids interested in stem or movies or YouTube! (And excellent for librarians looking for program ideas) The instructions start with making a flip book and then making a gif with photos taken on your phone and move up to actual editing software, so it‘s perfect for complete beginners

blurb
AmandaFields
post image

#riotgrams day 28: floral cover 🌸🌼🌷(& finale!)
I am so ready for spring. It was nearly sixty here today, when usually we‘re preparing for another round of blizzards at this point in the year

sunnyaltman How pretty 😍 2y
sudi That cover is beautiful ❤ 2y
20 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
AmandaFields
post image

#riotgrams day 26: fairy tales

No_One Gorgeous cover! 2y
erzascarletbookgasm That cover! 😍 2y
24 likes2 stack adds2 comments
blurb
AmandaFields
post image

#riotgrams day 25: panels, pictures, illustrations
This book is about interesting words in other languages, which is really cool to read about, but honestly I bought this book for these adorable illustrations 🖼

blurb
AmandaFields
Out of Sight | Francesco Pittau, Bernadette Gervais
post image

#riotgrams day 24: oversized books
This book is approximately half the size of a child. It‘s really fun to watch a kid carry a book nearly as large as them up to the library‘s desk to check out 😆

review
AmandaFields
As the Crow Flies | Melanie Gillman
post image
Pickpick

😍💖 I adored the artwork in this graphic novel. The story was sweet and realistic, and my only real complaint is that the story ended too soon

blurb
AmandaFields
March: Book Two | Andrew Aydin, John Lewis
post image

#riotgrams day 16: black history

blurb
AmandaFields
Farenheit 451 | Ray Bradbury, Cid Knipel
post image

#riotgrams day15: hot books 🔥
(...I‘ll show myself out)

blurb
AmandaFields
Untitled | Unknown
post image

#riotgrams day 14: hearts
Happy Valentines Day littens 💕
This is our library‘s display for Blind Date with a Book - choosing a book based only on the keywords on the hearts 💕
#litsyloveslibraries

blurb
AmandaFields
post image

#riotgrams day 13: pink, red, and white 🌸❤️💭

blurb
AmandaFields
Spinning | Tillie Walden
post image

#riotgrams day 10: book & beverage
Watching the Winter Olympics is making me want to go figure skating again ⛸ (I haven‘t gone since college and was never very good, but the skaters make it look so nice 🤗)
Spinning is an adorable graphic memoir about a young ice skater, btw. Anyone have another rec for a book about figure skating?

blurb
AmandaFields
Six of Crows | Leigh Bardugo
post image

#riotgrams day 9: beloved series
I‘m still surprised by how hard I fell for the Six of Crows series. Language of Thorns isn‘t technically part of The series, but it‘s closely related and I adore it so...🖤

16 likes1 stack add
blurb
AmandaFields
The Belles | Dhonielle Clayton
post image

Look at this amazing map! A good map inside the cover is usually a sign that I‘ll love a book 😍🗺💕

sunnyaltman That color! 😍 2y
15 likes1 comment
blurb
AmandaFields
Behold the Dreamers | Imbolo Mbue
post image

#riotgrams day 7: black writers
Our library district chose Behold the Dreamers as the Capital Area District Read this year, and Imbolo Mbue is coming to speak in April! I‘m super excited to hear her 💕 #litsyloveslibraries

blurb
AmandaFields
Ghost Summer: Stories | Tananarive Due
post image

#riotgrams day 6: short stories

blurb
AmandaFields
post image

#riotgrams day 5: royalty

17 likes1 stack add
review
AmandaFields
post image
Pickpick

Wait! I want to re-do my #riotgrams day 4 pick for purple covers. I originally picked up this manga series because of the incredible cover, and once I started reading I was hooked. This story is perfect for anyone, from a 9-year-old who likes spooky stories to adults who love this art style. The kids at the library book club kept asking me where the “backward book” was after I talked about this series 💜

blurb
AmandaFields
Wild Beauty | Anna-Marie McLemore
post image

#riotgrams day 4: purple 💜

22 likes2 stack adds2 comments
blurb
AmandaFields
post image

#riotgrams day 3: naked hardcovers 🌈📚

Karkar Pretty 😍😍😍 2y
21 likes2 comments
blurb
AmandaFields
Nevada | Imogen Binnie
post image

#riotgrams day 2: current read

blurb
AmandaFields
Untitled | Anonymous
post image

#riotgrams day 1: #shelfie
This is the shelf/nightstand next to my bed where I keep my library books, books I own and seriously should read instead of picking up another library book, some favorite craft books, and a bunch of notebooks 🛏 📚 💙

blurb
AmandaFields
Untitled | Anonymous
post image

I don‘t know how well I‘ll keep up with this, but I‘m going to give the Book Riot #riotgrams challenge a shot on here. (Let‘s see how this goes 🤗)

review
AmandaFields
The City of Brass | S. A. Chakraborty
post image
Pickpick

I thought this was a stand-alone but it‘s first in a trilogy and now I have wait a year to see what happens 😫😫😫 (why do I keep doing this to myself?)

I‘m adding this my list of favorite books. It‘s so well written, with fascinating characters and stunning world building. I loved reading an epic fantasy set in the Middle East 💛

I think I feel a book hangover coming on. Maybe I‘ll just start this one over again...

review
AmandaFields
post image
Pickpick

I‘ve only made one quilt so far, but I definitely want to try out some of the patterns in this book. The pictures are lovely and the instructions seemed easy to follow. There are some really good tips on piecing and finishing quilts, too. I‘ll probably buy this book to keep as a reference

11 likes1 stack add
review
AmandaFields
We Are Okay | Nina LaCour
post image
Pickpick

This was my first read for the new year, and it tore my heart into a million pieces before gently putting it back together. Great read-alike for any John Green fans

blurb
AmandaFields
Christmas-tree Land | Mrs. Molesworth
post image

Look at this adorable little library tree, found at a branch where I was filling in for a day 🎄✨📚

MrBook Awesome!!! 2y
AmandaFields @MrBook I know, right? This library branch is so tiny but they have the best displays 2y
MrBook 😁👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻!!! #LitsyLovesLibraries 2y
17 likes3 comments
review
AmandaFields
post image
Pickpick

My brother and I read a series called The Edge Chronicles when we were in middle/high school, and we fell in love with Chris Riddell's illustrations because of that series. His art works so well with Gaiman's dark and quirky storytelling. This is such a beautiful book 😍

blurb
AmandaFields
I Hear Adventure Calling | Emilie Baker Loring
post image

I shared this picture on instagram earlier and thought some of you might like to see it, too. I found this book at work today and was inspired by the cover design - I think it'd be a lovely embroidery piece

blurb
AmandaFields
The Stars Beneath Our Feet | David Barclay Moore
post image

I picked up a couple ARCs at #MLA17AC today, and I'm really excited about The Stars Beneath Our Feet! I want to offer the kids at my library books they can relate to, not books that treat them like they need to be sheltered from anything remotely difficult

blurb
AmandaFields
post image

Anyone familiar with this book? It was given to everyone at the conference today, and I'm curious what it's like since this isn't the type of book I'd normally pick up #MLA17AC

blurb
AmandaFields
post image

Manoush Zomorodi is the keynote speaker at the Michigan Library Association Annual Conference today. She's a great speaker and her book sounds really interesting - about learning to be bored again and give ourselves space to go into "default mode," which lets us think creatively #MLA17AC

AmandaFields The best part is she's not advocating for a full digital detox - just a bit more breathing space 2y
5 likes1 comment
review
AmandaFields
post image
Mehso-so

This story grew on me after a while. It is about a man who climbed Mt Everest in 1996 and was one of only three on his climbing team to survive. If you like adventure stories, sports memoirs, or Christian memoirs this is a good pick. I normally wouldn't pick up this kind of story, but I read it for my library's book group 🏔

review
AmandaFields
post image
Pickpick

Can a book be spooky and sweet at the same time? This story is basically about a strange demon-creature taking care of a little human girl. Normally I prefer colorful art in graphic novels, but the black and white art in this is lovely and really suits the tone of the story

review
AmandaFields
Legend | Marie Lu
post image
Pickpick

If anyone is looking for a readalike for The Hunger Games or another YA dystopia, this is the book you want

review
AmandaFields
When Dimple Met Rishi | Sandhya Menon
post image
Pickpick

This is a super cute YA romance story. It's set in the summer before the main characters start college. Their parents want to set them up in an arranged marriage & send them to a coding competition. It's an adorable love story playing with the idea of fate and it deals with following your dreams while also handling family expectations. I loved that Dimple gets to be a smart and talented character. I'll be handing this to girls interested in coding

13 likes1 stack add
review
AmandaFields
Shadow and Bone | Leigh Bardugo
post image
Pickpick

I just bought a ticket to see Leigh Bardugo in Grand Rapids 😁😁😁 I adored Six of Crows and had been putting off the original Grisha trilogy because I didn't want the story to be over. I finally gave in, and it turns out the Grisha trilogy was as good as I expected

14 likes1 stack add
review
AmandaFields
post image
Pickpick

Listen to this series on audio, seriously, go borrow it from your library right now. The audiobook has a full cast recording and it's the best performance for a book I have ever listened to. I read Sleeping Giants in print last year, but now I'm going to re-read it on audio. With the books being set up as a series of files/recordings and with the excellent narrators, listening to this book is a very immersive experience

review
AmandaFields
Clue #1 | Paul Allor
post image
Pickpick

I don't normally read comics in issues, but I borrowed this one from my brother. If you like the movie or play version of clue, you'll like this comic, too. It has the same sense of humor, and it adds in some new characters. The butler is amazing as always

blurb
AmandaFields
Persuasion | Jane Austen
post image

Oh no, my books 😭 I overwatered the plant on top of my bookshelf and didn't realize. An hour later I came back and the water had dropped over the edge onto the edges of the shelves below. Only four books were damaged, luckily, but I need to be more careful with my plant in the future 😐

blurb
AmandaFields
S. | J. J. Abrams, Doug Dorst
post image

Who needs a tripod when you have books? 💻🎥📚

review
AmandaFields
X: A Novel | Ilyasah Shabazz
post image
Pickpick

X is the 2017-18 Great Michigan Read. This book is about Malcolm X's childhood in Lansing and Mason (which was fun since I live near Lansing) and follows him through his teens/twenties in Boston and New York. This is excellent historical fiction and gives a different perspective on life in the Great Depression and WWII. The story is written by Malcolm X's daughter, and she does an excellent job of bringing his character to life. #greatmichiganread

blurb
AmandaFields
post image

I've always loved would you rather games!

1. Beer 🍻
2. Cover - I mostly read library books, so when I buy a book it's because I already love the story or because I love the cover design
3. Forest 🌲(I turn into a lobster in the sun)
4. Fantasy novels!
5. Out of those four, I think I'd date Elizabeth Bennet. Mr Darcy is my second choice (I'd love to live at Pemberly)

Thanks for the #bookishwouldyourather game @Kalalalatja 😁

Kalalalatja Thanks for playing along! ☺️ 2y
10 likes1 comment