Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
#FoodorBeverageontheCover
blurb
ralexist
Springtime: A Ghost Story | Michelle De Kretser
post image

Completed my Litsy Booked2019 Spring Challenge just under the wire.

1. Night-oriented Title
2. Cli-Fi (Climate Fiction)
3. Indigenous Author
4. Features a Musician
5. Social Media Focus
6. Food or Beverage on the Cover


#Booked2019 #Spring #Nightorientedtitle #CliFi #IndigenousAuthor #featuresamusician #SocialMediaFocus #FoodorBeverageontheCover

BarbaraTheBibliophage Whew! Great job! 5mo
25 likes1 comment
review
GlassAsDiamonds
Mai Tai One On | Jill Marie Landis
post image
Mehso-so

Finding a book with #FoodorBeverageonthecover for #Booked2019 #Spring was surprisingly difficult. Thank heavens for kindle sales during my “Hawaii” phase. Unfortunately other than ticking that box (ha!) this wasn‘t a great read. The characters are interesting and the setting is amazing but mystery was obvious and most of the plot turns on stupidity & abrogating common sense. I‘m not a huge cozy mystery fan & it‘s not bad but... not for me.

Cinfhen Look at you!!! Killing it!!!! 5mo
26 likes1 comment
review
Reviewsbylola
Kitchen Confidential | Anthony Bourdain
post image
Pickpick

That creepy feeling you get when you finish a book, immediately look up the author/subject on Wikipedia, and realize you finished his book on the one year anniversary of his death. 😮

This is a fascinating look into what goes on in a restaurant kitchen. I don‘t think I‘ll be as cavalier when eating out—it certainly makes you wonder about what‘s going on in the kitchen! And sadly I doubt I‘ll ever order mussels or hollandaise Sauce again. 😭

BarbaraTheBibliophage That‘s a sad coincidence. 😰 5mo
Cinfhen Ohhhhh, creepy AF! Congrats on completing another prompt 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻and I totally agree. I don‘t want to think too much about kitchen sanitary 🤢 5mo
See All 20 Comments
Reviewsbylola Even having worked in a restaurant, I never fully appreciated the pace and the frenzy and the orchestration behind what goes on in the kitchen. But yeah, when Bourdain himself explained why he couldn‘t or wouldn‘t order certain things in a restaurant, I take that seriously. 😆 @cinfhen 5mo
Reviewsbylola @meredith3, your heart will positively break over the hollandaise. 5mo
CarolynM I loved the book, but I agree it made me think twice about eating in restaurants! 5mo
Leftcoastzen I still miss him so much, hard to believe a year has gone by. 5mo
LeahBergen Oh, freaky! 5mo
Megabooks How strange! What‘s funny is that he admitted to breaking most of the rules he made in KC in his shows. You should try Medium Raw. I think that book was written when he was at the top of his game. 5mo
Megabooks I saw him speak in Knoxville, which was wonderful! He was great live. 5mo
BarbaraBB A year already...? Wow! 5mo
Hooked_on_books @BarbaraBB took the words out of my mouth. I can‘t believe it‘s been a year. What a sad thing. 5mo
JenReadsAlot I cant believe it's been a year 😢 5mo
Meredith3 WAIT. Why you doin hollandaise sauce dirty like that?? 5mo
Reviewsbylola He basically says never eat hollandaise. 😑 @Meredith3 5mo
Meredith3 @Reviewsbylola well I can‘t do that! 🤘🏻 5mo
Reviewsbylola I‘m not sure I can either. 🙈 But I also don‘t want food poisoning. @Meredith3 (edited) 5mo
britt_brooke Don‘t order fish on Mondays, right? I loved this book. Can‘t believe he‘s been gone a year. The only celebrity I‘ve really cried over. I bawled. 5mo
Reviewsbylola Yes, never order fish on Mondays!!! @britt_brooke 5mo
IamIamIam I went to culinary school for baking and the chapter about the bread had me rolling on the floor!!! They really do take on a life of their own!!! 5mo
109 likes4 stack adds20 comments
review
DivineDiana
Away | Amy Bloom
post image
Pickpick

Finally read this book which was a gift from @Chelsibeau almost a year ago! It took the #booked2019 challenge to make it happen! #foodorbeverageonthecover Lillian Leyb‘s family is slaughtered in a Russian progrom. She comes to America determined to succeed. Her first job is working as a seamstress in a Broadway theater, which soon turns to much more. Lillian receives word that her daughter is still alive, and she begins a journey to find her.

Cinfhen Beautiful photo!!! I read 2 other books by same author that I enjoyed White Houses & 5mo
DivineDiana @Cinfhen Thank you! I definitely plan to read more of her work! 5mo
BarbaraTheBibliophage Sounds interesting! 5mo
See All 6 Comments
CarolynM I loved this one😍😍😍 5mo
DivineDiana @CarolynM It was quite the adventure! ❤️ 5mo
70 likes6 comments
review
TorieStorieS
post image
Pickpick

This has been on my shelves for a while, and I‘m glad that #Booked2019 prompted my reading (#FoodOrBeverageOnTheCover)- it‘s a quick cozy mystery that would make for a great #Vacation read! You may solve the mystery before Auntie Poldi, but not without being utterly charmed and laughing along the way! I‘m already looking forward to tracking down the sequel! #SongsOfSummer

Cinfhen Yay!!! Another prompt ✔️ 5mo
TorieStorieS @Cinfhen Thanks!! I am enjoying this year‘s prompts!! 😊😘🤗 5mo
Cinfhen So happy to hear that 😁 5mo
See All 7 Comments
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks ❤️❤️❤️ 5mo
BarbaraTheBibliophage I‘m also glad to hear it‘s been a fun challenge for you. Great job on finishing one more! 5mo
OriginalCyn620 😎📚🎶 5mo
TorieStorieS @BarbaraTheBibliophage only two left for spring!! 😄 5mo
53 likes7 comments
review
Hestapleton
Sweetbitter: A novel | Stephanie Danler
post image
Pickpick

My pick for #booked2019 #foodorbeverageonthecover
I know there are a lot of mixed reviews for this one, but I really enjoyed it. The protagonist is a bit whiney, but the writing and atmosphere is lovely and you can‘t beat good writing about food. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

60 likes1 stack add
review
Kalalalatja
Bitter Orange | Claire Fuller
post image
Mehso-so

This was okay, but not as compelling as Fuller‘s other books. It took too long to get going and the end felt a bit rushed. Fuller‘s writing is beautiful and atmospheric as always, but the story lacked something.

#Booked2019 #FoodorBeverageontheCover

Cinfhen Yup, exactly how I felt and @Simona did too! It was a bit disappointing after 6mo
ShyBookOwl Love the cover 6mo
BarbaraBB What a pity! I‘m in no hurry to read it now! 6mo
See All 7 Comments
Cathythoughts I gave it a pick at the time ... but looking back , So-So is the best description 6mo
Kalalalatja @Cinfhen @BarbaraBB @Cathythoughts definitely a pity, because Fuller can write! But where her first two books were page turners for me, this was a bit of a slog to get through. Maybe expectations were too high 🤷‍♀️ @ShyBookOwl it is really pretty, and there‘s a kind of foiling in the oranges, but I couldn‘t capture it in a pic 👌 6mo
Simona @Cinfhen Swimming Lessons is still in my TBR pile, but after Bitter Orange I don‘t feel any rush to read it ... 6mo
Cinfhen Swimming lessons was good @Simona much better than Bitter 🍊, but I don‘t think you need to rush to read it... 6mo
98 likes7 comments
review
OriginalCyn620
American Panda | Gloria Chao
post image
Pickpick

I enjoyed this light, fun read! Mei is a great MC and this book is a good glimpse into Asian culture, and how different generations can clash.
Read for #booked2019 #foodorbeverageonthecover and #LLB19 #receivedinalitsyswap and #popsugar2019

BarbaraTheBibliophage Nice review and photo! 👊🏻♥️📚 6mo
Cinfhen Great photo and lovely review 6mo
OriginalCyn620 @Cinfhen thank you! 😁 6mo
47 likes4 comments
review
ralexist
Bread Alone: A Novel | Judith R. Hendricks
post image
Pickpick

#Booked2019 prompt of #FoodorBeverageontheCover - this was a lovely little find. Wyn's perfect life falls apart and in rediscovering who she is, she takes up her first job in years at a bakery. Full of friendship, loss, and warmth, this book reminds me of those who combine the simple romance of cuisine with the complex romance of life. Fans of Joanne Harris' Chocolat and Richard C. Morais' The Hundred-Foot Journey may enjoy this.

4thhouseontheleft Great pick for this prompt! It looks like a cute read. 😃 7mo
Cinfhen Exactly what @4thhouseontheleft said 💕💕 7mo
33 likes2 comments
blurb
maleahrae
post image

Diane's story is captivating and important. It's so sad to think that this is happening to families all over our country. I especially liked her facts and call to action at the end!
#booked2019 #foodorbeverageonthecover
@BarbaraTheBibliophage @Cinfhen @4thhouseontheleft

Cinfhen Cotton candy for the win!! And I‘ve been meaning to read this memoir!! Thanks for the reminder 💜 7mo
4thhouseontheleft Great pick for this prompt! 7mo
59 likes2 stack adds2 comments