Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Disappearing Act
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
23 posts | 29 read | 17 to read
The critically acclaimed and bestselling author Catherine Steadman returns with her next breathless, Hitchcockian thriller, full of twists that hit one after another - perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Harriet Tyce and Paula Hawkins.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
MrsReads1
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image
Pickpick

This was a great thriller with a satisfyingly twisty plot and well-developed characters. I'm not usually a fan of books that feature the entertainment industry so prominently but this was a pleasant surprise. Steadman's writing is compulsively readable and I will continue to pick up her work. 4/5 stars.

review
swishandflick
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image
Mehso-so

On the whole, I was entertained. But I spent most of the book wanting to slap some sense into Mia as she made one asinine judgement call after another, and that took some of the enjoyment out of it. But on the other hand, the plot kind of hinged on those asinine choices so 🤷🏽‍♀️ ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Alfoster Haha! Good thing I‘ve only slapped characters in my head and not in real life!😱 6mo
JamieArc That seems to be a repeating theme with this author. I felt the same way about another book she wrote. 6mo
swishandflick @JamieArc Good to know! This was my first of her books. 6mo
75 likes1 stack add4 comments
review
MallenNC
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image
Pickpick

I really enjoy Catherine Steadman‘s thrillers. They‘re easy reads, and good on audio. It‘s especially fun bc she‘s an actress who reads them herself. I think this one was the most fun yet, even though I wanted to shake the main character several times! I‘d be a terrible character in a thriller because I would have left the missing person‘s stuff with someone else at the first opportunity.

blurb
Read4life
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image

A bit late with this post. I had a great time reading during the #AwesomeAugust readathon.
I finished 9 books and completed 3 bingos on my #BookSpinBingo card 💙🤓

Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks 🙌🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻 13mo
Andrew65 Brilliant, well done and thanks for taking part 👏👏👏🙌🥳🍾🥂😍 13mo
TheAromaofBooks Yay!! Fantastic progress!! 13mo
32 likes1 stack add3 comments
review
KristiAhlers
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image
Pickpick

I have to tell you I was hesitant to pick this one up as I wasn‘t a huge fan of a previous title this author wrote. This one though was a page turner. You‘ll need to suspend disbelief once in awhile but Mia and Nick are a great pair of characters you‘ll want to take the journey with. This is a fast paced psychological thriller.

review
bookandbedandtea
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image
Pickpick

The story was hugely entertaining and I felt the narration was superb. I was slightly sorry every day when my commute ended because I wanted to keep listening. Despite my enjoyment of the story I did have to work to suspend my disbelief at time. Several of the events, and more importantly, Mia's decision making throughout, strained credulity. I actually really liked Mia (and Nick! ) and it was a fun listen so it's a pick.

review
Hooked_on_books
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image
Pickpick

British actress Mia goes to LA for a round of auditions after an acting triumph back home and meets Emily, who promptly disappears. Mia worries and tries to find Emily and spooky things start happening. There are some definite holes in this, but it‘s an entertaining, propulsive read. Plus, the fact that the author is an actress leant insidery authenticity.

Megabooks My library has this but I had passed. I think I‘ll give it a second look! 14mo
Hooked_on_books @Megabooks I wasn‘t interested in it until I heard the author interviewed on the NYT book review podcast. I think I‘ll give her other books a try now! 14mo
Kappadeemom I liked it! 14mo
48 likes3 comments
blurb
BBooks
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image

Catherine Steadman does it again. I absolutely loved this book! I could not stop reading it. She's also the narrator and does a fantastic job. Downside, now I have to wait for her next book. 📚💚

2 likes1 stack add
review
Tiffiney
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image
Pickpick

I liked this one! A good mystery that keeps you wondering what's going on until the end. Much better than her last book, Mr. Nobody, which was a snooze fest IMO.

review
BookishTrish
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image
Panpan

I did not like this book and all and only kept reading out of mild curiosity. The premise was thin. Things came waaaaay to easily to the MC Mia. On the plus side, the glimpse into Hollywood‘s dark side seemed plausible and probably based in truth or rumoured truth. Not for me. On to one of my (way too many?) library holds

blurb
BookishTrish
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image

Half done and 💯 cant understand Mia‘s motivation at all. Still mildly curious about Emily, and so I trudge onward…

review
marleed
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image
Pickpick

Okay, nothing can convince me that a foreigner would visit America in hopes of advancing her budding acting career, and make the choices Mia did. But did that stop me from enjoying this book? No, not really - my interest in seeing the story unfold was with the author to its end.

68 likes1 stack add
review
OutsmartYourShelf
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image
Pickpick

For 80-90% of this book I was hooked, the MC was fairly easy to like & the pace was blistering with some excellent twists. I literally couldn't put it down! I think the ending felt rather rushed though & it didn't quite do justice to the rest of the book in my opinion, but I enjoyed the rest of it so much that it deserves 4.5🌟

Thanks to NetGalley & publishers, Simon & Schuster, for the opportunity to read an ARC. #NetGalley #SimonandSchuster

21 likes2 stack adds
review
guinsgirlreads
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image
Pickpick

A British actress who goes to LA to land a big role, and then ends up in the middle of another actresses disappearance..

I really liked this one even though the main character is a bit frustrating at times with her thoughts and decisions!

20 likes3 stack adds
blurb
guinsgirlreads
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image

Next read!

SilversReviews A friend read this and didn‘t like it. I hope it works out better for you. 1y
guinsgirlreads @SilversReviews I could do without a lot of her fluff usually, but this one seems ok so far! 1y
SilversReviews @guinsgirlreads Glad it isn‘t too bad. 1y
26 likes1 stack add3 comments
review
TorieStorieS
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image
Pickpick

After enjoying both of Steadman‘s previous novels, I really looked forward to this one! It‘s engaging from the start when Mia, an actress who is unexpectedly single, takes her career from London to LA. The plot takes some unexpected twists after an odd encounter at an audition- there are plenty of red herrings thrown in! It‘s a riveting read- one that I read in practically one sitting! I can‘t wait to see what her fourth novel will be about!

Alfoster Loved it too!❤️😘 1y
TorieStorieS @Alfoster I‘m so glad!! I really couldn‘t put it down!! Though I did get a bit hung up on my own theories concerning Emily! 1y
54 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
SilversReviews
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image

Thank you, @penguinrandomhouse for this SURPRISE book.

review
rather_be_reading
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image
Mehso-so

I loved Steadman's other two books so I could not wait to get my hands on this one. It started off strong and I read 70% in one day! Her writing just sucked me and I was dying to know where the heck Emily went! However, I HATED the ending. It was rushed and did not seem believable. Even the big twist at the very end did not do it for me. I also did not really care for the main character Mia, but I cannot put my finger on why.

Victoriahoperose Yea I can definitely see that!! I did have some issues with it, too. It was okay. Not my fave, definitely. 1y
56 likes2 comments
quote
rather_be_reading
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image

Unbeknownst to me, I read 68% of this yesterday!

susurran I love turning off the counters and just plowing through a book early in the morning, when it's quiet. Then I turn the counter on before bed and I'm like, "Wow! 52%?!" Sort of a nice surprise. 1y
rather_be_reading @susurran YES!! Thats exactly what I did on this one! 1y
49 likes2 stack adds2 comments
quote
rather_be_reading
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image

A very nutritious lunch, I know. 🤣 All I wanted for lunch was to read uninterrupted with a snack!

TrishB Totally understandable. They look tasty 😁 1y
Karkar Are those any good? I saw them but was too scared to pick up a whole bag. 1y
she.hearts.horror Those sound scrumptious 🤩 1y
See All 8 Comments
RamsFan1963 I had a small bag of the honey mustard ruffles just the other day. I rarely eat chips, but those were pretty tasty. 1y
rather_be_reading @Karkar they were delicious! 1y
rather_be_reading @she.epeolatry so good! 1y
75 likes1 stack add8 comments
quote
rather_be_reading
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image

Book 66
#arc

TheNerdyProfessor I'm curious to know if this is good! 1y
Victoriahoperose I just read this one!! I liked it. Can‘t wait to see what you think 😊 1y
52 likes3 stack adds4 comments
review
Victoriahoperose
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image
Pickpick

This is about a woman, Mia, who goes to Los Angeles from London to audition for some roles after being in a big film. She meets a girl at an audition who disappears after leaving Mia with her car keys and wallet. Mia starts to become concerned about the girl and goes down a rabbit hole about what happened to the girl she met. This kept my interest and I liked the way it ended. A bit predictable, but enjoyable! #netgalley

33 likes1 stack add
quote
rather_be_reading
The Disappearing Act | Catherine Steadman
post image

Cant wait to get to this one. I enjoyed her other two.

48 likes1 stack add