Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
A Lady for a Duke
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
24 posts | 18 read | 8 to read
A lush, sweeping queer historical romance from the bestselling author of Boyfriend Materialperfect for fans of Netflixs Bridgerton, Evie Dunmore, and Lisa Kleypas! When Viola Carroll was presumed dead at Waterloo she took the opportunity to live, at last, as herself. But freedom does not come without a price, and Viola paid for hers with the loss of her wealth, her title, and her closest companion, Justin de Vere, the Duke of Gracewood. Only when their families reconnect, years after the war, does Viola learn how deep that loss truly was. Shattered without her, Gracewood has retreated so far into grief that Viola barely recognises her old friend in the lonely, brooding man he has become. As Viola strives to bring Gracewood back to himself, fresh desires give new names to old feelings. Feelings that would have been impossible once and may be impossible still, but which Viola cannot deny. Even if they cost her everything, all over again.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
CaitlinByTheBook
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image
Mehso-so

I read this for a romance bookclub. Out of my comfort zone for sure. Overall, most of the story felt far fetched for me. I enjoyed several of the characters. 3⭐️

review
Books.And.Cold.Brew
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image
Pickpick

OMG. I. LOVED. THIS. BOOK. 😭😭 🏳️‍⚧️🏳️‍⚧️🏳️‍⚧️ #AlexisHall #ALadyForADuke

CarolynM ❤️ 1mo
4 likes1 comment
quote
Books.And.Cold.Brew
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image

"Though no sooner were the words out than she saw them for the cage they were: the iron bars of a world that insisted there was only one way to be a man or a woman or a duke."

quote
kera_11
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image

Viola was presumed dead in the war & uses that belief to finally live as her true self. When she finds out her best friend, the Duke of Gracewood, never got over her death/trauma from the war, she is persuaded to visit him. but something about her is so familiar & he can‘t help but be drawn to her. I can NOT stress enough how good this book is. there is so much love, support, understanding & ACCEPTANCE. I love everything about this book. full stop

kera_11 even if you don‘t typically like historical romance, you WILL like this book 1mo
BooknerdsLife Awww I'm so excited about reading this one 😊 2w
7 likes1 stack add2 comments
quote
Books.And.Cold.Brew
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image

CarolynM 🤣🥰 1mo
2 likes1 comment
quote
Books.And.Cold.Brew
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image

Children are stronger than you think ... Besides, they haven't had years and years of silly people filling their heads with silly ideas about what you're meant to do or say or be.

4 likes1 stack add
review
Dragon
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image
Pickpick

I spent today relaxing and reading this fabulous historical romance. Two friends are separated on the battlefield at Waterloo ; one a Duke returns to England with a wounded leg the other “dies” and returns to England as Viola Carroll. Fast forward 2.5 years and the friends are brought together. Friends to lovers trope with a twist. A surprisingly thoughtful story about Viola and her Duke‘s journey to acceptance and love ❤️ 👍👍

36 likes1 stack add
blurb
rachelsbrittain
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image

June Wrap-up 🌈

Books: 17
Pages: 4,883
Longest: A Lady for a Duke (480)
Shortest: Rosebud (96)
LGBTQ books: 14
BIPOC authors: 8
Women / nonbinary authors: 11
Favorite(s): Boyfriend Material and Nuclear Family

Gissy Nice! 📚📚📚📚👏👏👏👏 2mo
47 likes1 comment
blurb
Mindelan
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image

Doing some backyard reading in the evening shade. So excited to start this one- I grabbed it because it looked good and I‘d seen good reviews, and I didn‘t even realize that it was by Alexis Hall. I absolutely tore through Rosaline Palmer the other week and was in a bit of a slump after. I can‘t wait to read another book by the same author about another, and regency one to boot! Truly it is summer

blurb
TaraTLK
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image

A story about two friends who went to war and came back changed, and well, kinda figure out that actually maybe they are in love with each other. The various meddling and not meddling family members were wonderful also. For #RippedBodiceBingo can be used for second chance, high tea, and ghosts.

CarolynM ❤️ 2mo
7 likes1 comment
review
coffees
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image
Pickpick

Alexis Hall really knows how to write a good pining #romance like YESSSS ?? this was so nice to read, dialogue is great and it works that the mains grew up together but also the development was amazing! even the "side" plot was interesting bc you know I'm here for the adult romance. Also the narrator, amazing! #queer #trans #disability #disabled #lgbtq

CarolynM ❤️ 2mo
7 likes1 comment
review
Christy2318
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image
Pickpick

A suspension of disbelief is required at the beginning for how long it takes Gracewood to recognize Viola but this was an angsty #regency delight. It‘s much more serious than the romp of Something Fabulous & I ugly cried my way to a stuffy nose. 🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈 #romance

CarolynM Lovely review❤️ 2mo
28 likes1 comment
blurb
rachelsbrittain
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image

Queer historical romance, just in time for Pride!

bookriot.com/queer-historical-romances/

28 likes1 stack add
review
kissmehardy
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image
Pickpick

The prose was occasionally more purple than I strictly prefer, but I really loved Viola and Gracewood (re)discovering each other! The details of Viola being trans during the Regency were well thought out without ever being A Big Deal, which may have been my favorite part. Or maybe it was Gracewood owning his power. Or both. #historicalromance

CarolynM Yes, the prose was rather overwrought at times. Unusual for Alexis Hall. 2mo
kissmehardy @CarolynM I think people get self-conscious when writing historicals sometimes and try to make their sentences "fancier" to "fit" the period when it's really not necessary. Hopefully future books will be less stilted! 2mo
5 likes2 comments
blurb
xicanti
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image

The last couple days were so busy I didn‘t get much time with A LADY FOR A DUKE or with Casey. Gonna try to rectify both those things today. The chunk of the book I‘ve read so far makes me weepy in the very best way, with plenty of Alexis Hall‘s signature humour sprinkled in amongst the more serious issues.

41 likes1 comment
review
rachelsbrittain
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image
Pickpick

What a sweet historical romance! I loved this friends to lovers story featuring two former soldiers, one of whom was believed to have died at Waterloo but actually saw the battle as an opportunity to finally live as herself. Despite gender and trans identity being important to the story, Hall managed to create plenty of internal and external conflict that had nothing to do with either which was so refreshing. Highly recommend.

blurb
xicanti
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image

Leftover walnut shrimp for breakfast, plus the start of A LADY FOR A DUKE. I hope I get enough time to really sink into it today!

review
CarolynM
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image
Pickpick

Hall says one of his goals was to write “a historical romance with a transgender heroine in which the fact that the heroine is transgender is not the main source of conflict or narrative tension”. He has succeeded admirably. The MCs are dealing with a lot of baggage besides that. There is a lot more angst than in his more recent books but also flashes of his usual wit. #romantsy #gaymay

51 likes1 stack add
blurb
rachelsbrittain
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image

1. The Dance Tree and A Lady for a Duke

2. True Biz and Salt to the Sea

3. Read as many LGBTQ books as possible!

#WeekendReads

Maria514626 1.) The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, and Becoming Eve 2.) Strange Practice, Meet Me in the Margins 3.) Finish my #bigjunereadathon list, especially the three LGTBQ for Pride Month. 3mo
43 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
Crinoline_Laphroaig
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image
Pickpick

I love Alexis Hall's Regency Romances for the humor. But especially abecause everyone deserves a Happy Ever After. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

CarolynM I‘m halfway through and there‘s been a lot more angst than humour. 3mo
Crinoline_Laphroaig @CarolynM true. And then suddenly a funny moment. Especially liked discussion of Butler names. 3mo
37 likes2 comments
blurb
Crinoline_Laphroaig
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image

Where have you listened to sexy times with 🎧⁉️

There I was pushing my 🛒 cart through Walmart, Bluetooth Earbuds in, ignoring the other shoppers and the story got steamy.

I live in Rural Oklahoma not exactly the most welcoming place when it comes to 🌈 community. So I found it especially fun to be reading.

Arietta_Charles You really do listen everywhere! If they only knew they were missing out on a world of interesting characters. 🤗🤗🤗 3mo
julesG IKEA with one of Julia Kent's books. It's become a ritual. Whenever I have a new JK book on audio, I visit IKEA (it's local, only a 20min drive). 3mo
See All 6 Comments
CarolynM I mostly listen to audio books while I‘m out for a walk which I usually take along a relatively busy street. I think people walking in the other direction must wonder about my facial expressions sometimes 😆 @julesG 😂 I can‘t say I‘ve ever thought about IKEA like that. Might make my next visit more interesting😂 (edited) 3mo
Chelsea.Poole lol!! 😆 3mo
43 likes6 comments
blurb
xicanti
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image

Happiness is when you find a brand new release at the thrift store! I‘ve got this one on hold at the library, but they take so frickin long to process anything other than literary fiction that I‘m happy to pay $2 to skip the line. Here‘s hoping it‘s one of the Alexis Halls I can‘t stop screeching about rather than one of the ones I like a whole lot.

Centique Wow what a find! 3mo
xicanti @Centique I had a dissonant moment when I saw it there. 3mo
Crinoline_Laphroaig I finished it last night and loved it! 3mo
xicanti @Crinoline_Laphroaig I‘m excited to dive in! Just gotta clear a couple library books first. 3mo
47 likes1 stack add4 comments
blurb
Crinoline_Laphroaig
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image

Happy Publication Day! I'm doing some Spring Cleaning the next couple of days. Always nice to have #listenwhileyouwork book you've been anticipating for awhile. I love Alexis Hall's Regency Romance because everyone deserves a Happy Ever After. 🏚🧹🧼📖🎧

CarolynM Reading this now🙂 3mo
38 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
nitalibrarian
A Lady for a Duke | Alexis Hall
post image

Just started an ARC of this historical romance with a trans heroine and the Duke she left behind.

CarolynM I'm green with envy. Can't wait to read it. 4mo
27 likes1 comment