Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
mdemanatee

mdemanatee

Joined May 2016

Quirky sidekick w/ a heart of gold. Good for a research montage. Spinoff potential. She/her. https://linktr.ee/mdemanatee
blurb
mdemanatee
Kiss of the Highlander | Karen Marie Moning
post image

Reading for romance book club, and, as expected, not aging super well (and I did read closer to original pub when I was a teen). Anticipating a good discussion.

blurb
mdemanatee
post image

Anyone else noticed the influx of faerie releases so far this year? Looks like the 2000s really are back 😂. I‘m not complaining. https://youtu.be/GXzZYcR1BuI

blurb
mdemanatee
Our Share of Night | Mariana Enriquez
post image

What‘s everyone ordering in the B&N preorder sale? I have a holiday gift card I‘ve been saving for this. Gonna snab Our Share of Night (didn‘t get the last order done in time) and preorder my friend Sarah Hollowell‘s sophomore novel (that I‘ll share more once the HarperCollins strike is resolved) but what else??

blurb
mdemanatee
The Dead Romantics | Ashley Poston
post image

Doing a start of the year unhaul to make room for all those books I will inevitably acquire this year. https://youtu.be/BKJ_n48Mg2U

BooksNBowls I love your reasonings for getting rid of each book! I used to never get rid of books, but I actually enjoy passing them on now. 😊 6d
mdemanatee @BooksNBowls thanks! And I was much the same! The ones I kind of regret giving up once upon a time were all my Ann Rinaldi paperbacks 6d
18 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
mdemanatee
The Survivalists | Kashana Cauley
post image
Mehso-so

A social satire exploring modern anxieties—and what it means to survive— this has a sharp voice that dulls somewhat amidst the tedium it‘s exploring, even with many moments of the absurd. Longer chat on YouTube.
https://youtu.be/xgULjOhFQxU

13 likes1 stack add
blurb
mdemanatee
Untitled | Unknown
post image

Due to a recent uptick in bad takes and bad behavior stemming from negative book reviews, I felt the need to weigh in on this somewhat cyclical discourse. Interested in this communities' thoughts as honest reviews are so important here.
https://youtu.be/drmvn7WYWGM

RowReads1 Very well said! It‘s ok to disagree and have dissenting opinions. 2w
mdemanatee @RowReads1 thank you! And yes! 2w
10 likes2 comments
blurb
mdemanatee
The Survivalists | Kashana Cauley
post image

Slowly and hopefully working through this stack this week.

blurb
mdemanatee
How to Do Nothing | Jenny Odell
post image

Working through this one again as the first time I picked it up wasn‘t the right time and I only got through the introduction.

What are the books in your friend group that cause conversation? I saw a friend post about this one this summer and asked her thoughts. When I posted reading this the other day, a couple friends asked what I was thinking. Clearly we have this book on our minds.

review
mdemanatee
post image
Pickpick

Friends —> Enemies/Academic Rivals —> Lovers YA romance with Hibbert‘s signature heart and banter
https://youtu.be/izrOepVwtK8

12 likes2 stack adds
blurb
mdemanatee
Spare | Prince Harry the Duke of Sussex
post image

Got in a little bit of this in my workday, you know, after PRH finally delivered the audio files 🙄

blurb
mdemanatee
Lore Olympus: Volume Two | Rachel Smythe
post image

It‘s been a curl up on the couch kind of weekend. Though I did manage to get a post-holiday grocery restock in.

14 likes1 stack add
blurb
mdemanatee
Wrapped Up in You | Talia Hibbert
post image

It‘s been a rough couple weeks and today I said a final goodbye to a beloved aunt. Trying to wind down with the book form of her most surprising love— holiday romance movies.

16 likes1 stack add
quote
mdemanatee
Time Is a Mother | Ocean Vuong
post image

review
mdemanatee
Bloodmarked | Tracy Deonn
post image
Pickpick

The Goodreads Choice Awards 2022 YA Fantasy winner of my heart https://youtu.be/0ghuoQVtUCo

Liatrek My favorite book this year! 2mo
mdemanatee @Liatrek so good! And such an expert sequel 2mo
11 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
mdemanatee
Bloodmarked | Tracy Deonn
post image

Briana clearly needed to have read more Torchwood fanfiction.

review
mdemanatee
post image
Pickpick

Looking for a Depression-era supernatural noir set in Chicago with a sapphic romance at its heart? How 'bout a quick read to pad your 2022 reading goal or just get you through to the end of the year? You're in luck! https://youtu.be/iundIC22zJA

11 likes1 stack add
blurb
mdemanatee
post image

What are you voting for this year? While I will admit some categories pleasantly surprised me (though more on the longlist than the short), the romance also felt overall kind of flat to me. https://youtu.be/m2aZnPvoWQ4

blurb
mdemanatee
Untitled | Untitled
post image

Call me naive, but I am baffled and disappointed HarperCollins has continued to resist showing up to the table for its union. I talked about it a little yesterday. https://youtu.be/1D7dk6w7E2Q

LibrarianRyan I agree. It's been 2 weeks already. it makes me sick. 2mo
28 likes2 comments
blurb
mdemanatee
post image

Finally reading the new Amari (Yes, primarily on my Kobo copy to protect my beautiful Waterstones special edition. Yes, I may have a problem) and when I tell you this book has me STRESSED. But also these books have given me back a magic I wasn‘t sure I would find again and I adore them.
https://youtu.be/vAfeB-LSyrk

18 likes1 stack add
blurb
mdemanatee
Malice House | Megan Shepherd
post image

The reward for going through all 60 judges on the ballot

RowReads1 Good job! I just skipped them. 3mo
14 likes1 comment
review
mdemanatee
Spells for Forgetting | Adrienne Young
post image
Mehso-so

It's my birthday! If you want to throw some birthday engagement at my youtube, I won't tell. I generally try to talk about a specific title every Friday and then do other assorted bookish content like monthly anticipated, wrapups, adaption opinions, occasional hauls, or whatever happens to strike my fancy, and I would love for you to join along if at all interested. https://youtu.be/X6M153y2kig

blurb
mdemanatee
Spells for Forgetting | Adrienne Young
post image

Whelp, completed my pared down challenge but am still behind for the year in my head.

ju.ca.no Really good 👌🏼 3mo
15 likes1 comment
blurb
mdemanatee
post image

When your re-read oddly coincides. Also what a great 24th bday present to myself on the original read.

blurb
mdemanatee
Spare | Prince Harry the Duke of Sussex
post image

Did I preorder the audiobook? Yes.

Kelly_the_Bookish_Sidekick I love that he called the book Spare. 😆 I've only ever been mildly intrigued by the Royal Family, but this is something I'd listen to. 3mo
Mitch It‘s a great title! 3mo
mdemanatee @Mitch if a team member came up with it and not him that member deserves a raise. A+ 3mo
mdemanatee @Kelly_the_Bookish_Sidekick Same! I usually enjoy my royals fictional but I am in for this. 3mo
19 likes4 comments
blurb
mdemanatee
Normal People | Sally Rooney
post image

Can I ask you a question? Are you in need of books to read at midnight while listening to Taylor Swift's new album? https://youtu.be/C4ivgTb8Cog

blurb
mdemanatee
post image

It‘s the perfect day to read in the park.

Emilymdxn Love this book so much! 3mo
mdemanatee @Emilymdxn I am utterly charmed so far for sure! 3mo
20 likes2 comments
review
mdemanatee
post image
Pickpick

Haunting but not Haunted.
https://youtu.be/CNxQp0sOT9w

quote
mdemanatee
post image

review
mdemanatee
House of Hunger | Alexis Henderson
post image
Pickpick

Carmilla meets Countess Bathory, House of Hunger is making vampires dangerous and sexy again. And the atmosphere here is just top notch gilded fever dream.
https://youtu.be/_4RL30jqO14

review
mdemanatee
post image
Pickpick

Listen, I may not know much about poetry, but I know enough to know these are stellar.

quote
mdemanatee
post image

blurb
mdemanatee
The Notebook | Nicholas Sparks
post image

Is the Notebook musical better than the book?
https://youtu.be/SKy0rcuQn_8

blurb
mdemanatee
The Notebook | Nicholas Sparks
post image

Got discount tickets to the musical Sunday so decided I should read the book and it is…not good so far

blurb
mdemanatee
post image

That day of book club binge

review
mdemanatee
post image
Pickpick

Really loved this one and am grateful I got to see Adriana Herrera speak at Printer‘s Row Lit Fest last weekend and get my book signed.
https://youtu.be/bN_TqA6t_9I

blurb
mdemanatee
post image

Time to prep for Printer‘s Row Lit Fest this weekend with two books I already had on my TBR for the month anyway.

blurb
mdemanatee
post image

Self care is a highly anticipated read a a frozen cocktail.

review
mdemanatee
post image
Pickpick

Rule number one is that you gotta have fun. OR Rule number one is that you don't fall for a Duke while on a chase through the countryside to rescue a women on her way to Gretna Green before her father gets to her first to murder her. No one said you can't have a little casual flirtation along the way though. Then again, that may be a little wordy.
https://youtu.be/zKz-5NPN9eI

review
mdemanatee
post image
Pickpick

Lots of thoughts on this one. Try to talk through some on YouTube. https://youtu.be/DwyU5i8rPvU

blurb
mdemanatee
Persuasion | Jane Austen
post image

Sunday mornings.

blurb
mdemanatee
Well Met | Jen DeLuca
post image

Went to Ren Faire today and definitely thought of this book a lot.

blurb
mdemanatee
Persuasione | Jane Austen
post image

Well, I definitely won‘t be finishing my reread to watch tomorrow night, but will hopefully sometime this weekend.

28 likes1 stack add
blurb
mdemanatee
Our Wives Under the Sea | Julia Armfield
post image

A summer evening with a cool breeze, a good book, and the sounds of a little league game in the background.
https://youtu.be/d_GiOzPyhrs

Chelsea.Poole Great photo! 7mo
mdemanatee @Chelsea.Poole thanks! 7mo
18 likes2 comments
quote
mdemanatee
Our Wives Under the Sea | Julia Armfield
post image

What a dang good opening though.

blurb
mdemanatee
post image

When you go to the bookstore for one, *maybe* two books.

Erinreadsthebooks My go-to justification for this exact scenario: “I mean, it‘s not like books go bad.” I say it to myself quite often. 😅 7mo
mdemanatee @Erinreadsthebooks I helped justify with the 10% off I earned for all year for doing the indie bookstore crawl. Lol 7mo
22 likes2 comments
review
mdemanatee
Book Lovers | Emily Henry
post image
Pickpick

I was worried this wouldn‘t live up to the hype but I didn‘t need to be. This knew its audience and it knew where to play into tropes and where to subvert them. And it was witty and sexy too. (Bonus messy bookshelf). https://youtu.be/51Ivd9X76oM

blurb
mdemanatee
The Fastest Way to Fall | Denise Williams
post image

Goodnight cow jumping over the moon.

blurb
mdemanatee
Mr. Malcolm's List | Suzanne Allain
post image

If you're like me and still on your coffee for the morning and need something to watch and/or have been interested in Mr. Malcolm's List, I chat about the book/movie briefly for youtube. In potential bookworm blasphemy, I think you can skip the book altogether before seeing the movie. https://youtu.be/o3wSVf-VjWQ

blurb
mdemanatee
post image

Been too long since I read on the riverwalk.

ju.ca.no Looks nice🥰 7mo
15 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
mdemanatee
Woman, Eating | Claire Kohda
post image

Literary vampire novel? Great for fans of Otessa Moshfegh or Sin Eater by Megan Campisi (if you have any concerns about becoming obsessive with food I would sit this one out). https://youtu.be/vns6Vz_hZUQ