Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Red, White, and Whole
Red, White, and Whole | Rajani LaRocca
10 posts | 7 read | 5 to read
A heartbreakingly hopeful #ownvoices novel in verse about an Indian American girl whose life is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia. Reha feels torn between two worlds: school, where shes the only Indian American student, and home, with her familys traditions and holidays. But Rehas parents dont understand why shes conflictedthey only notice when Reha doesnt meet their strict expectations. Reha feels disconnected from her mother, or Amma, although their names are linkedReha means star and Punam means moonbut they are a universe apart. Then Reha finds out that her Amma is sick. Really sick. Reha, who dreams of becoming a doctor even though she cant stomach the sight of blood, is determined to make her Amma well again. Shell be the perfect daughter, if it means saving her Ammas life. From Indies Introduce author Rajani LaRocca comes a radiant story about the ties that bind and how to go on in the face of unthinkable loss. This is the perfect next read for fans of Jasmine Warga and Thanhh L?i.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
Professional_Book_Dragon
Red, White, and Whole | Rajani LaRocca
post image
Pickpick

If I could have given this more than 5 stars I would have. I‘m a pretty liberal eater. I give a lot of four and fives but this one is WORTH it! I have not wept like this since Fredrik Backman‘s The Way Home Gets Longer and Longer.

35 likes1 stack add
review
Nebklvr
Red, White, and Whole | Rajani LaRocca
post image
Pickpick

A beautifully lovely and sad story if family, friendship, and loss. Written in verse.

ozma.of.oz Oh that cover is beautiful! 😍 8mo
Nebklvr @ozma.of.oz Just wonderful 8mo
46 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
GirlNamedJesse
Red, White, and Whole | Rajani LaRocca
post image
Pickpick

I loved many things about this book, but the ideas surrounding blood (literally), family, and forging the many different parts of yourself into one self were my favorite.

blurb
GirlNamedJesse
Red, White, and Whole | Rajani LaRocca
post image

#BookSpin list for June. Trying something different this month for Bingo. I‘ll use the number board, but I‘m going to leave most of them open and use a random number generator to plug books in once I‘ve read them. (So not officially bookspinbingo. 🤪)I keep feeling like I can‘t read what I want because it won‘t “count”. Looking forward to reading one of these next month, though!

TheAromaofBooks Oooo I like this idea!!! I'm interested to see how it works for you!! 8mo
GirlNamedJesse I somehow didn‘t include #5, which is, of course, this month‘s #bookspin! It was Burn Bright by Patricia Briggs. Luckily I still had my original list! 😂 8mo
3 likes2 comments
quote
SarahBradley
Red, White, and Whole | Rajani LaRocca
post image

“I have one life, /where I try to merge all the places/I‘m from: India and America,/ mother and father/ past, present ,/ and future.” Book 30 #MGMarch #middlegrademarch Absolutely beautiful story in deftly flowing verse. @Eggs @megnews @SaturnDoo

Reign_1982 I had to bail on this one too. 10mo
10 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
Lovesbooks87
Red, White, and Whole | Rajani LaRocca
post image
Pickpick

My heart after reading this middle grade novel. Reha is Indian American who is torn between two worlds, her school and her family and her community. She is trying to figure out everything when her mom becomes sick and is diagnosed with Leukemia. Then her whole world becomes trying to help her mom get better and the fear of what happens if her mother doesn‘t. This novel was told in verse and had my attention from page 1.

54 likes1 stack add
review
Reign_1982
Red, White, and Whole | Rajani LaRocca
post image
Bailedbailed

I tried, and I really wanted to like this book. But I couldn't.

blurb
Reign_1982
Red, White, and Whole | Rajani LaRocca
post image

review
IhoardBOOKS
Red, White, and Whole | Rajani LaRocca
post image
Pickpick

An amazingly heart wrenching story told in verse.
Reha struggles with her identity as an Indian American girl, first gen. Her parents place high hopes in her and her identity is split between who she is at school and who she is among her family and community.
Reha‘s life is turned upside down when her mom gets sick, if she becomes the perfect daughter will it be enough to bring her Amma back to her?
#ownvoices #netgalley
***
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

review
TracyReadsBooks
Red, White, and Whole | Rajani LaRocca
post image
Pickpick

This middle grade novel, told in verse, about a young girl who struggles to fit in, to balance her heritage (her family is from India) with her desire to be American, and to find a way to save her mom from a devastating illness had me laughing and crying and feeling all the emotions. A fantastic story about heritage, belonging, family, friendship, and finding your place in the world. On sale 2/2/21.