Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Vessel
Vessel: A Novel | Lisa A. Nichols
18 posts | 9 read | 23 to read
An astronaut returns to Earth after losing her entire crew to an inexplicable disaster, but is her version of what happened in space the truth? Or is there more to the story…. A tense, psychological thriller perfect for fans of Dark Matter and The Martian. After Catherine Wells’s ship experiences a deadly incident in deep space and loses contact with NASA, the entire world believes her dead. Miraculously—and mysteriously—she survived, but with little memory of what happened. Her reentry after a decade away is a turbulent one: her husband has moved on with another woman and the young daughter she left behind has grown into a teenager she barely recognizes. Catherine, too, is different. The long years alone changed her, and as she readjusts to being home, sometimes she feels disconnected and even, at times, deep rage toward her family and colleagues. There are periods of time she can’t account for, too, and she begins waking up in increasingly strange and worrisome locations, like restricted areas of NASA. Suddenly she’s questioning everything that happened up in space: how her crewmates died, how she survived, and now, what’s happening to her back on Earth. Smart, gripping, and compelling, this page-turning sci-fi thriller will leave you breathless.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
mreads
Vessel: A Novel | Lisa A. Nichols
post image
Pickpick

Fast paced thriller revolving around the mystery of what happened to a space exploration team, when only the pilot makes it back six years after losing contact and she has amnesia. Solid 4⭐, a few things resolved conveniently but on audio they didn't distract.

ErickaS_Flyleafunfurled Oooo! Sounds good! 1d
batsy Yes, I too like the sound of this! Thanks; never really saw this mentioned anywhere else and it sounds like my kind of sci-fi 🙂 1d
43 likes3 stack adds2 comments
blurb
mreads
Vessel: A Novel | Lisa A. Nichols
post image

#audiocrafting while listening to the tagged book, sci fi with mystery and possibly some horror ? About a quarter of the way in and it's really good.

@cobwebmoth making use of the kit you sent in the #makerswap. I got some larger canvas and another tube of blue paint but that kit had everything needed and I had a great time painting. Thanks again!😀

cobwebmoth Oh, they look awesome! I'm so glad you enjoyed it.☺ 3d
Bookwm85forever The artwork looks awesome!! 3d
Soubhiville Those are cool! I especially like the top one with some purple in it. 💜 3d
llwheeler Wow, looks awesome! 3d
48 likes5 comments
review
nicebicycle
Vessel: A Novel | Lisa A. Nichols
post image
Pickpick

4 stars for this psychological thriller set at NASA.

9 likes1 stack add
review
bookishlyblessed
Vessel: A Novel | Lisa A. Nichols
post image
Pickpick

Really compelling characters and amusing story. My first book of #24in48 down. Also over halfway through my audiobook!

blurb
bookishlyblessed
Vessel: A Novel | Lisa A. Nichols
post image

Now back to reading!!! Continuing with this one, I only got 124 pages in before I was dozing last night. Now for more coffee and an unhealthy breakfast.

#24in48 #currentlyreading

blurb
bookishlyblessed
Vessel: A Novel | Lisa A. Nichols
post image

Trying to get 4 hours under my belt before I sleep. We will see if that happens but so far I'm going pretty strong. Thanks Death Wish coffee, lol. We have a thunderstorm happening rn so ideal reading weather. My husband and dog are asleep and I have to know what actually happened on this mission!

#24in48 @24in48

blurb
bookishlyblessed
Vessel: A Novel | Lisa A. Nichols
post image

First up for #24in48readathon is this one. I have my water and cozy blanket. Let's do this!!!

@24in48

6 likes1 stack add
blurb
bookishlyblessed
Vessel: A Novel | Lisa A. Nichols
post image

T-minus 90 minutes until #24in48readathon starts. I have my coffee, and my partial stack (I also have some ebooks not pictured). Watching a movie until its time!!

@24in48

review
Bookboss
Vessel: A Novel | Lisa A. Nichols
post image
Pickpick

I raced through this story of a woman astronaut who returns to Earth as the sole survivor of her mission to another planet. She has no memory of what happened to the crew. I wanted to see what the author was going to do with this premise. I would have liked more exploration of the characters, and I found the story predictable. I suspect that this is the first in a series, but although it was entertaining, I‘m not desperate to read the next book.

ErickaS_Flyleafunfurled Bummer it was predictable- sounds like an interesting premise 1mo
Bookboss Well, I have read a great deal of science fiction. If you are new to the genre, it might seem fresher. 1mo
rretzler 😻 1mo
Severnmeadows It reminds me of Sandra Bullock in Gravity. Great film! 1mo
41 likes2 stack adds4 comments
review
ReadingEnvy
Vessel: A Novel | Lisa A. Nichols
post image
Pickpick

Confession: I took a few vacation hours and drove to a coffee place in the next town so I could finish listening to this book. I enjoyed this story about a woman who returns home from a multi-year space journey, without her crew and without any memories of what happened. I like how the audiobook has two narrators.

Annl That sounds like a fun day! 1mo
mcipher I love this idea so much!! What a cool thing to do. 🤗 1mo
53 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
Laughterhp
Vessel: A Novel | Lisa A. Nichols
post image
Pickpick

This book was really good! And it made me realize I need more sci-fi mystery books in my life! If you have any suggestions let me know!

Catherine returns from space after everyone thought she was dead. Her husband has moved on, her daughter is 18 and graduating high school. Catherine has a lot of ups and downs on her return. She‘s losing time and having violent urges. Ending was a little odd, but still good.

#ReadingUSA2019 - MI (Author)

Bookboss I just picked it up from the library yesterday! 1mo
Librarybelle 👍 1mo
Laughterhp @mreads Thanks! I‘ll definitely check it out! 1mo
44 likes3 stack adds4 comments
blurb
Laughterhp
Vessel: A Novel | Lisa A. Nichols
post image

Sorry for the kind of awful photo. There are so many people currently at the beach!

Happy 4th of July Littens!

Currently in Portland, ME at Crescent Beach.

This is the perfect beach read. A mystery set around a space adventure. I do not want to put it down!

With friends who have an apartment in Portland and the hubby, pictured here 😊He brought a book to the beach, but isn‘t reading. (He‘s not a big reader) 🤷🏻‍♀️.

#4thofJuly #BeachRead

rather_be_reading its not an awful pic at all! 2mo
Laughterhp @rather_be_reading Thanks! I‘d personally prefer if there were less people in the background and more ocean!! 2mo
41 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
Mel
Vessel: A Novel | Lisa A. Nichols
post image

Tide pools and lave beds 🌋 #vacation #currentlyreading

blurb
Laughterhp
Vessel: A Novel | Lisa A. Nichols
post image

Yikes! I didn‘t realize how big my #JulyTBR was until I stacked it all up!

So, I don‘t know if I‘ll be able to get to all my #MakeMeReadIt books this month. But I‘m gonna try!

I‘ve already started 2 books, the tagged and Terra Nullius. So hopefully that will help.

I also plan to try to listen to some Agatha Christie audiobooks so I can participate in #CozyInTheSun

Tamra The Sparrow 💚 2mo
ferskner That's my plan too! 2mo
Librarybelle Great plan! 2mo
58 likes3 comments
review
BestOfFates
Vessel: A Novel | Lisa A. Nichols
post image
Mehso-so

A six-person mission to another galaxy returns home with a single survivor who doesn‘t remember what happened in this sci-fi tale. It was so engrossing I read it in a single day but I found a few of the interpersonal relationships implausible and for a moment thought the ending was a cliff-hanger.

review
Sara_Planz
Vessel: A Novel | Lisa A. Nichols
post image
Pickpick

If you‘re not a fan of hardcore sci-fi but like some of the elements of it, then this book will read well for you. I loved the literary feel to it without it being super science heavy. Much more about interpersonal relationships and and internal dialogue. I loved it.

31 likes1 stack add
blurb
Sara_Planz
Vessel: A Novel | Lisa A. Nichols
post image

Just started this and it‘s so good!!!

31 likes1 stack add
review
skrishna
Vessel: A Novel | Lisa A. Nichols
post image
Pickpick

The book isn‘t out until May, but I want y‘all to keep an eye out for it because I really enjoyed it. It‘s about a presumed-dead astronaut who returns to Earth with no memory of her mission or why she‘s the only survivor. It mixes issues of gender expectations, balancing ambition and family, the ethics of space exploration, and more with a tense, gripping storyline.

40 likes6 stack adds