Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Dress in the Window
The Dress in the Window: A Novel | Sofia Grant
3 posts | 7 read | 13 to read
A perfect debut novel is like a perfect dressits a must have and when you try it on it fits perfectly. In this richly patterned story of sisterhood, ambition, and reinvention Sofia Grant has created a story just right for fans of Vintage and The Dress Shop of Dreams. World War II has ended and American women are shedding their old clothes for the gorgeous new styles. Voluminous layers of taffeta and tulle, wasp waists, and beautiful colorall so welcome after years of sensible styles and strict rationing. Jeanne Brink and her sister Peggy both had to weather every tragedy the war had to offerPeggy now a widowed mother, Jeanne without the fianc shed counted on, both living with Peggys mother-in-law in a grim mill town. But despite their grey pasts they long for a bright futureJeanne by creating stunning dresses for her clients with the help of her sister Peggys brilliant sketches. Together, they combine forces to create amazing fashions and a more prosperous life than theyd ever dreamed of before the war. But sisterly love can sometimes turn into sibling jealousy. Always playing second fiddle to her sister, Peggy yearns to make her own mark. But as they soon discover, the future is never without its surprises, ones that have the potential to makeor breaktheir dreams.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
ReadZenRites
post image
Pickpick

A scrumptious debut novel about three women adjusting to life, loss & hardship after WWII. Poverty is a stark new reality for sisters Jeanne & Peggy when the war derails marriage plans. Orphaned, and Peggy pregnant, they‘re reliant on Peggy ‘s Mother-in-Law Thelma for a home. Thelma can ill-afford more mouths to feed, but won‘t a baby fill the hole left by her dead son? Will they find a way to happiness & prosperity, or will secrets destroy them?

ReadZenRites ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 2y
Richryan52 Thanks so much for the like. If you are a Holmes fan I think you‘ll enjoy it 2y
50 likes3 stack adds2 comments
blurb
MargaretPinardAuthor
post image

Loving the beginning of this book--more depth than I expected. First time reading this author, and craving some women's perspectives...not disappointing so far! Like a mix of #adriannatrigiani and #kathleenrooney and dealing with hardship after #WW2 in #philly area...

The_Real_Nani If you loved this, you might like Our Duty by Gerri Hilger. You can get an ARC here: http://gerriwettahilger.com/ Thanks! 13mo
4 likes2 stack adds1 comment
review
intothehallofbooks
post image
Pickpick

I love the focus on how these three women struggle to shift gears and find financial independence when their plans for the future are derailed by WWII. They've all lost men in the war and are grieving, with bills to pay.

I also SO love that each one defines family and success for her own self. These are flawed, imperfect feminists. I wondered how the ending could be satisfying with the secrets and betrayals, but I found it redemptive.

#LitsyAtoZ

Reecaspieces I won this book somehow....I will move it up my list. Sounds great 2y
56 likes5 stack adds1 comment