Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
SarahSDavis

SarahSDavis

Joined July 2016

Sassy book goddess at www.brokebybooks.com Kirkus, & Book Riot. Librarian. Novelist. Cat mom. Student at VCFA's MFA Children and Young Adults.
review
SarahSDavis
post image
Bailedbailed

At page 165, the bookmark is coming out for good. I haven't finished a book this year (!!) because this one has been sucking the fun out of reading. I'm done with this mediocre thriller that is one more entry in literature's long history of exploitative sensationalism that fetishizes female mental illness. This time, I didn't even find it believable. Forgettable--thank god!

blurb
SarahSDavis
post image

Current mood... ☺️📚🎄 I started reading Jenny Colgan a few years ago, and it‘s been so nice to see her comforting, cozy, and yummy stories find a home here in the states (and in our bookstores! not that I don‘t love the Book Depository and British covers 😀)

blurb
SarahSDavis
Sweetbitter: A novel | Stephanie Danler
post image

12 Days, 7 Books. Cat shirts. Warm socks. Cats. Red Bull. #reading #books #bookblogger #readingchallenge #goals

quote
SarahSDavis
post image

2:28 am - the moment when you have to turn in for the night even if it means leaving a John Green novel behind till morning.

review
SarahSDavis
Manhattan Beach: A Novel | Jennifer Egan
post image
Pickpick

Back on Litsy! Didn't realize it's been so long. I finished this book a few days ago at 3 a.m. I felt like I lived in this novel's world for the week it took to finish it.

TrishB Have that on my tbr 👍🏻 2y
5 likes1 comment
blurb
SarahSDavis
post image

My July TBR... I'm almost done with numbers 2-4 so maybe I can complete this.

blurb
SarahSDavis
Ill Will: A Novel | Dan Chaon
post image

Stranded in my car because I missed my train to go in the city and meet my friend for lunch. I'm waiting for the next one. I could not have chosen a better book to make the time fly. Twisty and suspenseful, dark and delicious prose, this thriller is a great way to kick off summer reading season.

SilversReviews Awesome....always great to have a book with you. You never know when you will need it for an emergency time filler. :) 2y
9 likes1 comment
blurb
SarahSDavis
Bad Romance | Heather Demetrios
post image

SO excited for the latest novel from writer/teacher/friend Heather Demetrios! Her novel "I'll Meet You There" was a life changing read for me. I'm sure "Bad Romance" will be just as raw, gritty, and emotional. ❤️??

Marchpane This looks great 👍 2y
kate_reads I really liked this. An emotional read for sure, but I thought it was really well done. 2y
8 likes2 stack adds2 comments
blurb
SarahSDavis
post image

One of the (rare, few) joys of freelancing is when multiple paydays converge on your (empty) bank account. Today, I had a rare triple payday...and happened to be near Barnes and Noble! 😊

TrishB Great haul 👍 2y
12 likes1 comment
blurb
SarahSDavis
post image

Reading this as research for a Book Riot article I'm writing. I'm glad I pushed through the introduction, which felt oddly unfocused and trite, because I'm really enjoying it now. It's about 1 am, so I've got to get to bed, but I can't wait to return to this slim and poignant memoir tomorrow (well, today).

10 likes1 stack add
blurb
SarahSDavis
Marlena | Julie Buntin
post image

A weekend of red reading ahead.

8 likes1 stack add
blurb
SarahSDavis
Richard Nixon: The Life | John A. Farrell
post image

Well, as sure as the clock marches forward and the sun rises, we are living in a daily, minute-to-minute sense of chaos. I'm interested to learn more about Nixon's presidency, the closest parallel to Trump, according to some. If there is anything to compare it to.

review
SarahSDavis
Takedown | Corrie Wang
post image
Panpan

Skip it.
For a better take on public shaming, check out Jon Ronson's "So You've Been Publicly Shamed" (NF).

review
SarahSDavis
Miss You | Kate Eberlen
This post contains spoilers
show me
post image
Panpan

At 28, I am tracing patterns in my history, so the topic interested me. But the pacing was WAY off. It spans 16 years and 433 pages, but Part 1 encompasses 107 pages and four months, much of it repetitive theme and exposition building. It's a dirge. The final part is just 30 pages, so the climax feels forced & rushed. The whole conceit of the book is contrived. Not whimsical. Readalike: Jill Mansell, whose novels capture fate and love way better.

blurb
SarahSDavis
Super Sad True Love Story | Gary Shteyngart
post image

Stopped by Joseph Fox Bookstore today in Philadelphia for some pay-day fun.

blurb
SarahSDavis
post image

I think they made the box just for this book! *sob* 😭Obama is still my #1. I judge all men against him. 💞Maybe that's why I'm single!

blurb
SarahSDavis
Miss You | Kate Eberlen
post image

It's really starting to pick up now in part two. Thank god! Part one seemed to drag. Sad I have to go to bed now.

blurb
SarahSDavis
City of Thieves: A Novel | David Benioff
post image

$13 opening day at the library book sale. I'll probably go back tomorrow! 📚🛍

blurb
SarahSDavis
The Jungle Book | Rudyard Kipling
post image

Having a cat moment: In his mind, he is a cheetah asleep in a tree in the jungle. In reality, he is a domesticated house cat dozing off on his mom's bookshelves. 😂🐈🛏 Look at that little foot! 😊

quote
SarahSDavis
A Colony in a Nation | Chris Hayes
post image

"To Sarah, My Soul." I have a litttttle bit of a crush on Chris Hayes (???) so I just had to adjust the wording on his dedication here. ??

review
SarahSDavis
All Grown Up | Jami Attenberg
post image
Pickpick

I'm glad I put this book down for more than a month when I was halfway through it. I'm glad I finished it. A quiet masterpiece.

7 likes1 stack add
blurb
SarahSDavis
City of Thieves: A Novel | David Benioff
post image

Let's do this #readathon, Littens! 📚🦅

BookishClaire Ooh, loved GOOD ON PAPER and ALL GROWN UP 2y
9 likes1 comment
blurb
SarahSDavis
Takedown | Corrie Wang
post image

Finally crawling out of a reading slump to show my face on Litsy. I'm liking this book so far! I'm just really hoping the current most likely suspect is a red herring and there's a twist ahead!

rubyslippersreads 😻😻😻 2y
5 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
SarahSDavis
post image

125 pages in and if I had to choose one word to describe this it would be "contrived." That being said, I'm reading a few heavy books right now, so I'll stick around to see how this plays out.

blurb
SarahSDavis
post image

"Simmer for 20 minutes" oh, goody! Book time. Do you read while you cook?

blurb
SarahSDavis
post image

A little late to draw this up, but here's my March 2017 TBR list. Have you read any of these? Are any of them on your list?

Josie Dark Matter was pretty good! 2y
TrishB I have A List of Cages on my tbr! 2y
10 likes2 comments
blurb
SarahSDavis
Spaceman of Bohemia | Jaroslav Kalfar
post image

#BlizzardBooks library haul! I am fortified for the storm. ❄️😊☃️📚

Librariana An excellent quantity! Just the right amount 😊 Stay safe and warm! 2y
SarahSDavis Thanks, you too @librariana! 😊📚 2y
9 likes2 comments
blurb
SarahSDavis
The Hate U Give | Angie Thomas
post image

That feeling when... you pick up four holds from the library, and the jacket cover is so slick and you're the first person to crease it...

blurb
SarahSDavis
post image

Currently reading!

11 likes4 stack adds
blurb
SarahSDavis
post image

Two of the books were by the same author (Ronson). Looks like I've got the momentum! I see you: Goodreads Reading Challenge, even if I am 12 books behind schedule.

blurb
SarahSDavis
post image

Here's a nice view of downtown for you while I read "The Psychopath Test" and wait to pick my mom up from the train. Love the 30-40ish quiet minutes alone I get to read when I pick her up.

blurb
SarahSDavis
Nobody Notices Minerva | Wednesday Kirwan
post image

Minerva enjoys the boxes from my book mail.

blurb
SarahSDavis
post image

Amazon shopping spree...

blurb
SarahSDavis
post image

Hanging around the cats as I start this book. (The Girl Before is hidden in there.)

8little_paws Cute critters!! I love Matt Taibbi, thanks for the heads up he has a New book! 2y
Eamann Taibbi really has a way with titles 2y
16 likes2 stack adds2 comments
blurb
SarahSDavis
Lincoln in the Bardo | George Saunders
post image

So much book mail today! The best Valentine's treat. 💖❤💜💞😍

blurb
SarahSDavis
The Dry | Jane Harper
post image

Does anyone else use Sunday nights to finish up books? I'm hoping to finish The Dry tonight.

RadicalReader @SarahSDavis definitely appreciate Sunday's so I can finish a book and then really enjoy the following day so I can go to the library and get new books 2y
RadicalReader @SarahSDavis did the book improve when you finished it compared to when you started it? 2y
8 likes2 comments
blurb
SarahSDavis
Idaho | Emily Ruskovich
post image

One of the things that helps me read a lot is always having a book--or mountains of books--within arm's reach. Witness my coffee table collection. What does your #bookpile look like?

blurb
SarahSDavis
The Dry | Jane Harper
post image

It must be said. This book is dry! Litsy, tell me it gets better. I'm about halfway through. #MAKEROOMMAKEROOM

10 likes1 stack add
review
SarahSDavis
post image
Pickpick

I don't think I've ever read anything quite like this before. Stunning. Chilling. A bit of an uncanny read, to be honest.

quote
SarahSDavis
Six Four | Hideo Yokoyama
post image

Tons of #bookmail today! Can't wait to open these up.

Tanzy13 🐱 2y
14 likes1 comment
review
SarahSDavis
post image
Pickpick

Really enjoyed this highly readable exploration of public shaming. This was my first Jon Ronson book, but I liked his style and already have The Psychopath Test out from the library. The book was strong throughout, but I thought the final chapters and afterward were especially interesting. I liked following his journey as he drew his conclusions, that there wasn't a strong, defined thesis throughout. That's how I think, too. Highly recommended.

blurb
SarahSDavis
post image

Shaming Minerva for bad cat breath! I am just about done with this book. Really enjoying it.

blurb
SarahSDavis
post image

Back on Litsy and back to reading after a mini slump that (knock on wood!) has lifted. I've never read anything by this author, but I love his style.

9 likes1 stack add
review
SarahSDavis
post image
Panpan

Friday, Jan. 6, 2017
Read: Bridget Jones's Baby (First book of the year)
Brain cells burned: approx. 20,678
Verdict: V. v. bad.
Seems like Fielding phoned this one in. Jokes are stale, writing is uninspired. Crucially, Bridget is missing. Her trademark witty, self-deprecating, relatable voice is AWOL.
Think I could tip my head over and the sugar-water remains of my brain would spill out.
As a did-hard Bridget Jones fan, I am greatly disappointed.

8little_paws I love this review 2y
SarahSDavis Sorry! Returning to Litsy after a few days away. @rubyslippersreads I did read it! I actually liked it all right. Not perfect, but way better than this. What did you think? @8little_paws Thanks! 😊 2y
rubyslippersreads @SarahSDavis I haven't read this one yet, but liked Mad About the Boy about the same amount that you did. 2y
RadicalReader @SarahSDavis absolutely wonderful review love how you organized your review to make it easy to obtain the point of the review 2y
6 likes5 comments
blurb
SarahSDavis
It's New Year's Day! | Richard Sebra
post image

I took 2016 off the GRC, but I'm back and my goal is bigger than ever for 2017. Friend me! https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/4396079-sarah-davis-broke-by-books

blurb
SarahSDavis
Loner | Teddy Wayne
post image

My ten best books of 2016. Am eclectic list of favorites, many debuts. I tend to reward books that weren't perfect but took chances and whose authors have lots of ambition and promise. http://brokebybooks.com/best-books-2016

blurb
SarahSDavis
post image

Ho ho ho. Splurged on a Kindle Paperwhite for myself. Picking up where I left off in this book. I think I might try nonfiction for a while to jog me out of my reading funk.

BookishMarginalia Kindle 💜👍🏼 2y
Alicia That helped me when I was in a slump! Hope you enjoy 😊 2y
Tanzy13 🎄 2y
Christine Good for you!! (Also I loved this book a lot.) 2y
RadicalReader @SarahSDavis I first thought this book was going to be the oops. But this should be quite good 2y
13 likes5 comments
blurb
SarahSDavis
post image

Went to Main Point Books at its new location in Wayne, PA. Got some vacation reads.

RadicalReader @SarahSDavis most agreeable this is how everything should follow perfect path 2y
9 likes1 comment
blurb
SarahSDavis
The Paradox of Choice | Barry Schwartz
post image

So last night when I couldn't sleep I redid the bookshelf in the living room and filled it with my current top TBRs. I'm trying to read more than one book at a time. Where would you start? 📚🤔 (PS: I just discovered stickers! 😱🎉💃)

BookBabe 😁🙌🏻 3y
Weaponxgirl I like to read a fiction and nonfiction at the same time at the very least. And then I often have something on the go in each format of book. Audio, overdrive on phone, print book from library and something on my kindle in case of having to read in the dark (I work nights). 3y
9 likes2 comments
blurb
SarahSDavis
Big Little Lies | Liane Moriarty
post image

Although I find it hard to trust a book with an exploding flower/lollipop on the cover, I am enjoying this so far. And I can't sleep! So it's me, the couch, the cats, and a Christmas afghan burning the midnight oil when it's 26F and snowing outside. ❄️🐈🕶

RadicalReader @SarahSDavis agreeable to have covers that are so entertaining even when the cover is colorful and bright 2y
7 likes1 stack add1 comment