Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Guilt Trip
The Guilt Trip: A Novel | Sandie Jones
In the vein of The Other Woman, Sandie Joness explosive new novel The Guilt Trip will have readers gripped to the very last page. Six friends. Rachel and Noah have been friends since they met at university. While they once thought that they might be something more, now, twenty years later, they are each happily married to other people, Jack and Paige respectively. Jacks brother Will is getting married, to the dazzling, impulsive Ali, and the group of six travel to Portugal for their destination weekend. Three couples. As they arrive at a gorgeous villa perched on a cliff-edge, overlooking towering waves that crash on the famous surfing beaches below at Nazar, they try to settle into a weekend of fun. While Rachel is looking forward to getting to know her future sister-in-law Ali better, Ali cant help but rub many of the group up the wrong way: Rachels best friend Paige thinks Ali is attention-seeking and childish, and while Jack is trying to support his brother Wills choice of wife, he is also finding plenty to disagree with Noah about. One fatal misunderstanding . . . But when Rachel discovers something about Ali that she can hardly believe, everything changes. As the wedding weekend unfolds, the secrets each of them hold begin to spill, and friendships and marriages threaten to unravel. Soon, jumping to conclusions becomes the difference between life and death.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
dustys_bookshelf
post image
Pickpick

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

review
BookKenz
post image
Panpan

It's a big ol' no from me, folks.

First fail from my #TBRWrappedUp stack. Praying the next book is a good one because this one made me loose some brain cells.

blurb
BookKenz
post image

I have unwrapped book number two!

I am excited for this one, but often pass it over because reviews can be pretty mixed.

#TBRWrappedUp

review
BookLineNSinker
post image
Mehso-so

I liked this but it surprise me one bit. I found myself again asking this female protagonist why she's doing what she's doing... It was okay I'll give it ⭐⭐⭐
#teamslaughter #scarathlon

review
erickahhh
post image
Mehso-so

This was NOT what I was expecting at all. Based on the cover alone I was expecting something more like “The Guest List.“ I had a hard time getting into this one. It did not capture my attention like I was hoping.

review
LisaLovesToRead
post image
Pickpick

Some may have seen more of the plot twists coming, but they caught me by surprise and kept the suspense levels high.

review
BeeMagical
post image
Pickpick

Book 75🎧 4⭐️

Wiiiiiiild!!👏🏻👏🏻 Got some Lucy Foley vibes for sure.

That end section… did NOT see that coming at all😱 There‘s a lot of accusations getting thrown around so keep your notepad ready!😂 The lieeeeessss🫣💥🚗

+ I‘m a sucker for British narration 😂

32 likes2 stack adds
review
Kaylamburson
post image
Mehso-so

A lot happened in this book, so it was a bit harder to follow on audio. Also likely because I wasn‘t fully engaged in it. The twist at the end was dramatic and unexpected, but it‘s essentially of book of lying, deceit, cheating, and unreliable narrators. I think I would have liked this more in print, but overall wasn‘t for me.

review
alecia3dixie
post image
Panpan

I don't think I ever have been so happy a book was over. I really disliked this one. I mean how naive do you have to be? What's happening is right in front of your face and the main character was like no it's not.. came up with every scenario possible just so she didn't have to face the one right in her face. Also she's a horrible character, I didn't feel bad for her at all, or any of them for that matter. 1/5

blurb
LatrelWhite
post image

?This book remains me of The Guest List??

Rachel and Jack. Paige and Noah. And Will. Five friends who‘ve known one another for years. Then along came Ali, Will‘s new fiancée. The three couples travel to Portugal for Ali and Will‘s destination wedding. The weekend away at the gorgeous cliff-top villa is a chance to relax and get to know Ali an little better. She seems perfectly nice—and Will seems happy after years of bad choices.

Kaylamburson Yes, I read THE GUEST LIST, too and I keep forgetting which one is which lol 2y
11 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
jenreads7
post image
Pickpick

Nice, twisty escape reading. #Libby #audiobook

review
ElleMNOpe
post image
Mehso-so

The writing is good & the pacing is solid, but the characters are terribly unlikable & the plot seriously jumps the shark. I'm not mad at it, but it wasn't quite what I was looking for either. There is a LOT of dysfunction at play. I did figure a major twist, but the tension leading up worked well. And then...the ending. Oh boy. Things were a little crazy up to this point, but then it went full on left turn. It wasn't believable, but it was fun.

review
LaceyDoesLit
post image
Pickpick
review
Madison91
post image
Pickpick

As long and big as this book is, I SMASHED thought it! I think the best thing about a twisty book is the author letting you think you know what‘s going to happen. It honestly was a bit cheesy but sometimes that‘s what you want

4 likes1 stack add
blurb
Madison91
post image

Clearing my schedule in a very optimistic attempt to finish my TBR by the new year. It has never been this small!

review
BookishTrish
post image
Mehso-so

Mostly fun but super predictable thriller. I picked it up because it was set in Portugal (pictured), but the author did very little with the setting.

Zoes_Human Those are nice doors! 2y
41 likes1 comment
quote
BookishTrish
post image

…Portuguese symbol or not, it‘s not something you would give to your fiancé‘s brother, and that‘s without the double entendre

Bklover This made me laugh!! I had this on library hold and it just came in. I can‘t remember why I chose it, but although it sounds cheesy it might be fun!! 2y
45 likes1 comment
review
Kempfme
Pickpick

I received this read from NetGalley.
Rachel and Noah once thought in college that they could be more than friends, but it never happened and they married other people, Jack and Paige. Jack's brother, Will, is about to marry Ali in Portugal. Rachel is looking forward to getting to know Ali, but Paige thinks Ali is just attention seeking. Secrets are reviled and tensions get high.
People that like Lucy Foley's Guest List will enjoy this read.

review
Lesliereadsalot
Panpan

A group of friends and relatives gathers in Portugal for a wedding. Who‘s sleeping with who? Who‘s a kid‘s real father? I‘m still not sure what happened at the end.

review
Reecaspieces
post image
Mehso-so
blurb
Booksandtea23
post image

Summer of #Thrillers… this months B&N pick 🧳

review
BClark
Panpan

This entire book the story was based on supposition and a continual state of emotional angst for no useful purpose to the story. This didnt seem like a full story just flipping around, no expansion in depth except for one character. A constant "flipping the script" to the point it was just annoying. I read it because it was this month's Barnes and Noble book club pick. I just dont know why they picked it.

4 likes1 stack add
review
Hooked_on_books
post image
Pickpick

Six friends convene in Portugal for the wedding of two of them, and there is tension from the start, followed by suspicions of infidelity. The characters are basically all despicable and you can tell twists will be coming, but for the most part, I didn‘t know what they would be. I enjoyed this and would read this author again. This was my first #netgalley audiobook, and the sound quality wasn‘t great. But that cover!

46 likes2 stack adds
review
KristiAhlers
post image
Mehso-so

Yeah this story was just meh. And the reasons for it are 1)unlikable characters. I‘m not talking one. I‘m talking all of them up until say the last two chapters maybe? 2)too much effort to throw off the reader about the “plot” and bad character/good character that the reader can spot it from a mile away. Or rather first chapter in. 3) what little plot there was was not fleshed out well. Not sure I‘ll read this author again.

BoleyBooks I had a similar experience with this one. I loved the cover and wanted to love the story…but meh. 2y
KristiAhlers @BoleyBooks me too! I read another title I think it was called The Other Woman which was for the Reese Witherspoon Book Club and wasn‘t a fan. A lot of build up for a rushed ending. This may just be an author who doesn‘t do it for me. I know I won‘t bother buying one of her books again. 2y
31 likes2 comments
blurb
BoleyBooks
post image

Happy Pub Day!! 🥳🎉🎉
The Guilt Trip by Sandie Jones with Minotaur Books

📚Book Review- https://www.boleybooks.com/2021/05/08/the-guilt-trip/

#TheGuiltTrip #minotaurbooks #boleybooks #bookbeast #bookreview #NetGalley

36 likes1 stack add
review
Well-ReadNeck
post image
Mehso-so

An entertaining audiobook thriller. Great narration. Very clear differentiation between characters. The ending was a bit off/didn‘t quite fit the plot to that point, but overall a fun read. #ARC #Netgalley #audiobook

76 likes1 stack add
review
TheSuspenseIsThrillingMe
post image
Mehso-so

3.5 ⭐ Not quite what I wanted this books to be. Very "dramatic" with not enough depth. ?

You can find a full review of this title on my Blog
https://thesuspenseisthrillingme536483068.wordpress.com/2021/07/16/%e2%98%a0revi...

Lindsays_books A lot of these ‘popcorn‘ thrillers lack depth 3y
TheSuspenseIsThrillingMe @Lindsays_books I absolutely. There have been quite a few lately. 2y
16 likes2 comments
blurb
BoleyBooks
post image
blurb
BoleyBooks
post image

Tackle the TBR 🤓📚#boleybooks #ARC #netgalley #sandiejones #theguilttrip #bookbeast #bookjoy What are you reading? 😊

40 likes1 stack add
blurb
Kappadeemom
post image

Two couples travel to a wedding. Both couples are hiding things and the couple getting married are also hiding secrets. Put all of these secrets in a blender, add a little closeness caused by staying in a house together, add a hefty dose of alcohol and you have a great beach book.

26 likes3 stack adds