Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Scary Stories for Young Foxes
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
21 posts | 13 read | 31 to read
Christian McKay Heidicker draws inspiration from Bram Stoker, H. P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allen Poe for his debut middle-grade novel, a thrilling portrait of survival and an unforgettable tale of friendship. The haunted season has arrived in the Antler Wood. No fox kit is safe. When Mia and Uly are separated from their litters, they discover a dangerous world full of monsters. In order to find a den to call home, they must venture through field and forest, facing unspeakable things that dwell in the darkness: a zombie who hungers for their flesh, a witch who tries to steal their skins, a ghost who hunts them through the snow . . . and other things too scary to mention. Featuring eight interconnected stories and sixteen hauntingly beautiful illustrations, Scary Stories for Young Foxes contains the kinds of adventures and thrills you love to listen to beside a campfire in the dark of night. Fans of Neil Gaiman, Jonathan Auxier, and R. L. Stine have found their next favorite book.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
NicoleCeBallos
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image
Pickpick

This was great!! The Storyteller is telling scary stories to a group of fox kits. Mia and Uly are the 2 main foxes in the stories and each chapter they encounter a new danger. There's a cameo from a well known author that was very cleverly done.

18 likes2 stack adds
review
amber_ldsmom
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image
Pickpick

4/5🌟
I personally really liked this one, but it did seem pretty dark for a children‘s book. The earlier chapters were definitely more disturbing than the later ones. I‘ll probably have nightmares about Beatrix Potter now. 😬

rubyslippersreads I 🧡 this cover but just don‘t think I could handle the darkness. 🦊 2y
29 likes1 comment
blurb
Juliwyant
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image

On my May listening list

Sweetkokoro Oh this book made my daughter so angry haha. 2y
22 likes1 comment
review
licia.reads
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image
Pickpick
2 likes1 stack add
quote
licia.reads
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image

THE SUN WAS only just peeking over the peachleaf trees, but the heat was already crisping the leaves and steaming the creek and making the dying fields too bright to look at. #FirstLineFridays @ShyBookOwl #scarystoriesforyoungfoxes

blurb
Grrlbrarian
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image

I can‘t figure out the audience for this book. It‘s listed as juvenile (fourth grade!) but is genuinely scary in places with a lot of body horror and harm to animals. Love the illustrations and would make a compelling read-aloud, but 🤔

Bette Totally agree, it was good but really frightening. 🦊❤️ 2y
38 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
MidnightBookGirl
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image

Day 1: Scary Stories for Young Foxes
Joining @StaceyKondla in presenting pics of books on our #tbrpile and #bookstoread. I'm in organizing my shelves again, so I'll just be posting the ones that survive the first culling. #katestbrmountain

StaceyKondla Thank you for joining us! That book looks wonderful (scribbles title down on wishlist....) 3y
61 likes1 comment
review
Bette
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image
Pickpick

I hadn't known what to expect when I read this but I couldn't put it down.
The cover says it all. Scary. Stories. Foxes. 🦊🦊.
It totally delivered.
(I read this a few weeks ago when the whole world wasn't as scary.)

review
BucklingBookshelves
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
This post contains spoilers
show me
post image
Pickpick

Finally finished! I think I would have liked this one more if my focus & attention wasn‘t so scattered & I could have read it in a shorter timespan. Now I know how all the characters connect, I almost want to read it again! I LOVED how Mia & Uly ended up together. I feel the end of the book was particularly well done & I like how all the pieces were woven together. It was just hard to get into it before I made those connections. 🌟🌟🌟 #buddyread

smilingshelves I agree that it was put together well, the way everything interconnected. I love Mia and Uly together. Who knew you could cheer so hard for a relationship/friendship between two foxes? 😊 3y
BucklingBookshelves @smilingshelves I didn‘t know I could either — and it ended up being the best part for me that from their harsh upbringings they found each other, came together, and basically started a family together. 3y
2 likes2 comments
blurb
smilingshelves
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image

Have you had a chance to finish it yet, @BucklingBookshelves ? I did a few days ago. Overall, I enjoyed it, although scary things are not usually my cup of tea. I think the committee did a good job of choosing books actual kids will enjoy reading this year. What are your thoughts?

Heideschrampf Lovely cover! 3y
smilingshelves @Heideschrampf Isn't it compelling? 3y
BucklingBookshelves Still working my way through. 😬🤷🏼‍♀️ The whole Beatrix Potter episode really tripped me up, but now I‘m finally getting into it more. I didn‘t know at first the stories would intertwine, so it was feeling disjointed until Mia and Uly met up. Hopefully I‘ll finally get to the end soon. I‘m really loving the illustrations though, I must say. (edited) 3y
See All 6 Comments
smilingshelves @BucklingBookshelves No problem! I just didn't want to miss out on a discussion through lack of posting. I agree that the Beatrix Potter part was a little weird. I'll never look at Peter Rabbit the same way again! 😄 3y
BucklingBookshelves @smilingshelves me either! 😳 I‘ll definitely put a post up when I finally finish. 📚 3y
25 likes6 comments
blurb
stuck.in.the.stacks
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image

Well we have some crazy plans this weekend... and by crazy plans I mean lots of reading!

We are participating in our first ever @24in48 #readathon.

What's on your #stayhomeandread TBR? Let us know in the comments!

https://stuckinthestacks.com/2020/03/20/24in48-readathon-tbr/

quote
BucklingBookshelves
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image

So many great quotes at the beginning of this book! I‘m really loving the writing style so far. #buddyread @smilingshelves

smilingshelves It certainly is creepy, as advertised! 😀 3y
5 likes1 comment
blurb
smilingshelves
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image

@BucklingBookshelves My library hold finally came in! When do you want to start? #buddyread

BucklingBookshelves Oooh yay! I can start today if you want. Just last night I was feeling like I wanted to start something but I couldn‘t decide what! I just checked and it‘s divided in 8 parts. What do you think of aiming for 1 or 2 parts per day? It sounds like a page-turner so I‘d like to think I can do 2 per day, but we could always re-evaluate :) 3y
smilingshelves @BucklingBookshelves Two a day sounds good. Let's begin! 3y
30 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
Bette
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image
Pickpick

The haunted season had arrived in the Antler Wood.

#FirstLineFridays

@ShyBookOwl

review
Meghan1
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image
Pickpick

OMG!! I can see why this was a Newbery honor book this year! What a wonderful story!

MartinaLove I like the cover! 3y
Meghan1 @MartinaLove the illustrations were amazing! There weren‘t many, but they were awesome! 3y
MartinaLove @Meghan1 It's on my wish list! 3y
63 likes3 stack adds3 comments
review
TracyReadsBooks
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image
Pickpick

Scary stories indeed. And, an absolutely brilliant, haunting MG book by an author who respects his young readers & their ability to handle everything life throws at them—the good, the bad, & the ugly—just like the 2 young foxes whose adventures are at the center of this book. Filled with danger, thrilling adventures, fear, family that cares & family that couldn‘t care less, resilience, courage, love & more. So good. Highly recommended. ❤️🦊❤️

blurb
TracyReadsBooks
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image

Next up is a MG debut which is also a 2020 Newbery Honor book. According to descriptions, the author drew inspiration from Stoker, Lovecraft and Poe (reason enough to read the book if you ask me) in writing this story about two young foxes who get separated from their litter and find themselves in a world full of monsters during the haunted season in Antler Wood. It certainly sounds interesting!

24 likes1 stack add
blurb
Reading-in-LallahLand
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image
blurb
LibrarianRyan
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image

I have a galley copy of this but have not read it yet. It looks fun.

Out July 30

#CoverLove #KidsEdition

blurb
Liberty
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image

Forgive the terrible screen shot, I‘m reading an e-galley. But OMG I had to share it with you, because I am reading it right now and it‘s a foxing delight. AND SCARY. The author calls it “National Geographic scary” because nothing happens in it that doesn‘t happen in nature, but it is INTENSE. I can‘t wait for all the children to be frightened. What does the fox say? “THE CALL IS COMING FROM INSIDE THE HOUSE.” 🦊☠️🖤

Briary Okay, I need this book. This year is is murdering my TBR with all these awesome releases 📚🙀 4y
104 likes12 stack adds1 comment
review
kamoorephoto
Scary Stories for Young Foxes | Christian McKay Heidicker
post image
Pickpick

I have FRESH NEW #bookreviews up on my blog for #TheNewMe by Halle Butler (dark comedy, literary fiction), #SkyWithoutStars by Jessica Brody and Joanne Rendell (YA sci-fi reimagining of #LesMisérables), and #ScaryStoriesForYoungFoxes by Christian Heidicker (middle grade Poe-inspired woodland tale).

I enjoyed all three! But SO different.
You could say I have broad reading tastes... ??‍???

http://kamoorephoto.booklikes.com

73 likes1 stack add