Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Caroline_Roberts

Caroline_Roberts

Joined December 2017

reading now icon
Night Tiger by Yangsze Choo
review
Caroline_Roberts
Empire of Sand | Tasha Suri
Pickpick

I loved this one! Great world-building and characters- Mehr was a great protagonist. I finished it in about a day, I didn't want to put it down!

review
Caroline_Roberts
Giver of Stars | Jojo Moyes
post image
Pickpick

Best book I've read in a long time. The setting and characters drew me in so much that I devoured it in 2 days. The plot was perfectly paced so that I never wanted to put it down!

JenlovesJT47 I freaking loved this book! Probably my favorite book from 2020 ❤️ 6mo
9 likes1 comment
review
Caroline_Roberts
Pickpick

I just finished Fountains of Silence and loved it! It was beautifully written and atmospheric, and I really liked all of the characters. I found some parts to be slightly anti-climactic, but it was such an enjoyable read that I didn't mind.

blurb
Caroline_Roberts
Night Tiger | Yangsze Choo
post image

Starting this tonight! I'm a few chapters in and enjoying it so far!

review
Caroline_Roberts
Mehso-so

I really had trouble getting into this one. The story is mostly sad for every character with (in my opinion) no real payoff at the end. It was a unique story, but I can't say I recommend it.

3 likes1 stack add
review
Caroline_Roberts
post image
Pickpick

Just finished this (in 2 days) and I'm having trouble even finding the words to describe it. It was heartbreaking and beautiful and a story that desperately needed telling. I found myself crying and whispering "No!" into the pages, then later nodding along with the characters I was rooting for. Read this please.

atla Ooh, I have this on my nightstand TBR. You just bumped it up a few notches! 1y
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks We are reading this in September for our #SundayBuddyRead 📚 1y
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks @atla join us in December for our buddy read!! 1y
atla @Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks ooh! How do I do that? 1y
Alwaysbeenaloverofbooks @atla we divide the book into sections over the month and have discussion every Sunday. You can check out the hashtag #SundayBuddyRead! Sometimes we talk into the week. If you can‘t join on Sunday, you can join anytime 😊 1y
6 likes5 comments
review
Caroline_Roberts
The Silent Patient | Alex Michaelides
Pickpick

I finished this one in 2 days. It was suspenseful and well constructed!

review
Caroline_Roberts
Pickpick

Loved this book as much as the author's first, The Whisper Man. It was spooky and suspenseful and it kept me guessing. This is a great one for fans of thrillers!

review
Caroline_Roberts
Empire of Gold | S A Chakraborty
Pickpick

Fantastic ending to this high fantasy trilogy. Made it about halfway through and then couldn't put it down so I read the last 400 pages in one night. If you haven't started the series yet go get started!

review
Caroline_Roberts
Chosen Ones | Veronica Roth
post image
Pickpick

I read this in a single afternoon. The premise was unique and intriguing and I really liked the flawed main character. I would highly recommend this to anyone in the mood for a fantasy page-turner.

review
Caroline_Roberts
Valentine | ELIZABETH. WETMORE
Pickpick

I enjoyed this one- it's beautifully written. It's not really a plot-driven story, more of a portrait of the women of West Texas.

review
Caroline_Roberts
Pickpick

I finished this one in about 3 days- it was the perfect mix of historical fiction and fantasy and I thoroughly enjoyed it!

review
Caroline_Roberts
The Mercies | Kiran Millwood Hargrave
Pickpick

It's been a long time since I read a book written so beautifully. Based on Norway's witch trials, this book is atmospheric, lyrical, and horrifying. You won't be disappointed!

3 likes1 stack add
blurb
Caroline_Roberts
post image

The weather outside is frightful, so it's the perfect time to dig into Diane Ravitch's new book about education policy!

review
Caroline_Roberts
Priory of the Orange Tree | Samantha Shannon
Pickpick

Best high fantasy book I've ever read, hands down. Fantastic world-building with great characters and a compelling narrative. Do yourself a favor and read it ASAP. I really hope Shannon will write more about this world!

review
Caroline_Roberts
The Chestnut Man: A Novel | Soren Sveistrup
Pickpick

This is the best book I've read in a while. I really liked the main character and the writing was really suspenseful, so I finished the one in 2 days. Perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo. Warning though- the murders are quite brutal, so this one's not for the faint of heart.

review
Caroline_Roberts
The Whisper Man | Alex North
Pickpick

I really enjoyed this one, finished it in about 24 hours. It got off to a slightly slow start but it picked up before long and then I didn't want to stop reading. I recommend it for fans of thrillers!

review
Caroline_Roberts
Year One | Nora Roberts
Pickpick

This one was a page turner! It's the first in a trilogy. It has a lot of typical tropes of the post-apocalyptic fantasy genre but it's suspenseful and I liked all of the characters. The second book is just as good, and I'm reading the third now!

review
Caroline_Roberts
Ninth House | Leigh Bardugo
Pickpick

I absolutely loved this book! It was dark and immersive. I loved the atmosphere (perfect for Halloween season), the main character, and the mystery. Bardugo does a great job keeping us guessing and revealing little bits at a time so that you're always trying to put the pieces together. Cannot wait for the next one!

review
Caroline_Roberts
Kingdom of Copper | S A Chakraborty
Pickpick

As soon as I got going with this book I couldn‘t put it down. Spent and entire Saturday in Daevabad. Cannot wait for book 3, and I can‘t recommend this series highly enough!

2 likes1 stack add
review
Caroline_Roberts
Pickpick

Finished it within 24 hours. It‘s a sequel so make sure to read Bohemian Gospel first. The main character is incredibly compelling and you never quite know where the story is headed, which is why I had to stay up most of last night and finish it!

review
Caroline_Roberts
Bohemian Gospel | Dana Chamblee Carpenter
Pickpick

I can‘t recommend this one highly enough! The story is dark and captivating and Mouse is such a compelling heroine. I just stayed up most of the night tearing through the sequel!

review
Caroline_Roberts
Pickpick

Just finished this entire series, 3 books in 3 days! Could not put it down! I‘d love recommendations for anything similar!

review
Caroline_Roberts
This post contains spoilers
show me
Pickpick

I was not remotely ready for this to end! I wish she‘d just given us a simply happy ending instead of adding the whole Godstars and Stelians plot at the end, UNLESS she‘s planning to write another trilogy about it all. All I wanted was a few chapters of Karou and Akiva happy together!! That‘s all! If anybody knows about a follow-up trilogy, I‘m dying to know if it‘ll ever happen!

blurb
Caroline_Roberts
Six of Crows | Leigh Bardugo
post image

About to start Six of Crows! Just finished the Grisha trilogy, so I've got high hopes for this!

bookkeeper26 How did you like this book? 4y
Caroline_Roberts I haven't finished it yet but I'm enjoying it so far! The characters are all interesting and I like the setup, but the plot hasn't totally picked up yet. 4y
3 likes2 comments
blurb
Caroline_Roberts
Shadow and Bone | Leigh Bardugo
post image

Looks like tomorrow will be another snow day in Nashville so I stocked up on books! Fingers crossed that they'll be good ones! 🤞🏻

review
Caroline_Roberts
City of Brass | S A Chakraborty
Pickpick

Devoured this book in just a few days. Took a little time to get used to the world and characters, but I ended up falling in love with both pretty quickly and then I couldn't put it down. Can't wait to see what the rest of the series holds, I only wish I didn't have to wait for more!

review
Caroline_Roberts
All Our Wrong Todays | Elan Mastai
Pickpick

I had a great time reading this over thanksgiving! The chapters are short and easy to digest, and the book's tone vacillates between insightful philosophy, fun musings on technology, and a sort of self deprecating wit. It was unlike anything I've read before, so the plot kept me guessing! This is one I'm recommending to everyone I know!

5 likes1 stack add
review
Caroline_Roberts
The Yard | Alex Grecian
Pickpick

I absolutely loved this book, and the whole series! The characters are so lovable, and the author maintains a level of suspense throughout so that you can't put it down. If a rather dark and sinister trip to Victorian London appeals to you, this will not disappoint!

2 likes1 stack add
review
Caroline_Roberts
The Nightingale | Kristin Hannah
Pickpick

Fantastic! Wonderful characters and a suspenseful plot made it one that I couldn't put down.

DebinHawaii Welcome to Litsy! 🎉📚👍😀Hope you enjoy it here! 4y
2 likes1 comment