Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
Botanist's Guide to Parties and Poisons
Botanist's Guide to Parties and Poisons | Kate Khavari
10 posts | 10 read | 22 to read
Saffron Everleigh is in a race against time to free her wrongly accused professor before he goes behind bars forever. Perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn and Anna Lee Huber, Kate Khavari's debut historical mystery is a fast paced, fearless adventure. London, 1923. Newly minted research assistant Saffron Everleigh attends a dinner party for the University College of London. While she expects to engage in conversations about the university's large expedition to the Amazon, she doesn't expect Mrs. Henry, one of the professors' wives to drop to the floor, poisoned by an unknown toxin. Dr. Maxwell, Saffron's mentor, is the main suspect, having had an explosive argument with Dr. Henry a few days prior. As evidence mounts against Dr. Maxwell and the expedition's departure draws nearer, Saffron realizes if she wants her mentor's name cleared, she'll have to do it herself. Joined by enigmatic Alexander Ashton, a fellow researcher, Saffron uses her knowledge of botany as she explores steamy greenhouses, dark gardens, and deadly poisons. Will she be able to uncover the truth or will her investigation land her on the murderer's list?
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
Laughterhp
post image
Pickpick

I really liked this book! It‘s set in the 1920s in London. There is talk of WWI and some characters have PTSD (but they obviously don‘t know that). This book is mostly set at an university. There is a university party and someone gets poisoned. Saffron and Andrew team up to solve the mystery.

I‘m trying to find more books by this author but having a hard time.

#DecadesReadingChallenge - 1920s
#20in4

Andrew65 Great 👏👏👏 3mo
49 likes2 stack adds1 comment
review
akaGingerK
post image
Mehso-so

It‘s been awhile since I‘ve read a mystery near the cozy end. Less investigating-with-science! than the cover copy led me to expect; much more wild theorizing and then seeking confirmation. I did enjoy the love story, though.
CW for threatened sexual assault, in the context of campus big name pressuring women with less power - and not taking no for an answer.

blurb
JazzFeathers
post image

I'm quite enjoying this one, even if the middle of the novel is maybe a little bit too ramancy for me.
But l like the setting and the concept is interesting and different.

I'm halfway through and l have no idea who the murderer is.

Dragon Sounds interesting stacking 💚🐉 7mo
24 likes2 stack adds1 comment
blurb
JazzFeathers
post image

@egg @TheSpineView #WondrousWednesday

1. Baking. I also love gardening.
2. Almost always. I review most books l read and post review everywhere, including on my blog.
3. I don't really have one.

TheSpineView Love gardening too! 💙🌷 7mo
16 likes1 comment
review
robinb
post image
Pickpick

First in a new historical mystery series set in 1923 London. Saffron is a new research assistant in the male-dominated botany department at University College. While attending a party to celebrate an upcoming Amazon research trip for some of her colleagues, the wife of a professor is poisoned. Her mentor is accused and arrested. With the help of a fellow researcher, she must uncover the real culprit. This was rather simplistic, but I‘d be 🔻

robinb willing to try the next one. 3.5/5⭐️ (edited) 7mo
48 likes2 stack adds1 comment
blurb
JazzFeathers
post image

I've been meaning to start this book for over 10 days, now. Today is the day!

24 likes1 stack add
review
Hana321
Pickpick

This is probably the lightest hearted murder mystery I have read in awhile. Our lead character, research assistant, Saffron Everleigh leads the charge investigating the apparent poisoning of a professor‘s wife at a fundraising dinner party. With the aid of the broody Alexander, Saffron sets out to identify the toxin, and maybe snare a poisoner. Saffron is an empowered, strong female lead, set in a time that didn‘t appreciate independent women.

blurb
Laughterhp
post image

1. I‘m really enjoying the Chronicle‘s of St. Mary‘s series. I read the first book in December and just finished the second book!

2. Deanna Raybourn or Anna Lee Huber! I love them both!

3. Tagged! This is the first year I have a bunch of not yet published books on my TBR!

#SundayFunday

julesG I'm rereading the St Mary's series in anticipation of the 13th book. I had the first book on my kindle ever since JT self-published it and fell down the rabbit hole last year. Agree on your #2&3, too. 9mo
ozma.of.oz I am entranced with the title of your tagged book! Thanks for sharing! 9mo
37 likes1 stack add2 comments
blurb
Cupcake12
post image

#wondrouswednesday
1. Tagged
2. No not yet. There is one on my list I‘m looking forward to though: Sabotage on the solar express by MG Leonard
3. Red, White and Royal Blue 👑
Thank you for the tag @hannah-leeloo

Eggs Happy Reading! Thanks for joining in 👌🏼☀️📚 10mo
21 likes1 comment
review
julesG
post image
Pickpick

Another book that I finished during #20in4 #readathon #NewYearSpecial @Andrew65

ARC - pub date 07 June 2022

Murder mystery set in London in the 1930s. Strong female heroine and sidekick/love interest. Villainous villains. Dumb detectives. Interesting botanical information. And a plot with not too obvious twists.

I hope this will have a sequel.

#ARC #NetGalley #MountARC

Andrew65 Great 👏👏👏 11mo
58 likes3 stack adds1 comment