Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Better Liar
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
When a woman conceals her sister's death to claim their joint inheritance, her deception exposes a web of dangerous secrets in this addictive new thriller for fans of Megan Abbott, Gillian Flynn, and Paula Hawkins. "Like most of the dead, I want to be remembered." Robin Voigt is dead. If her sister Leslie had arrived at her cramped Las Vegas apartment just hours earlier, this would have been their first reunion in a decade. In the years since Robin ran away from home as a teenager, Leslie has stayed in New Mexico, taking care of their dying father, even as she began building a family of her own. But when their father passed away, Leslie received a rude awakening: she and Robin must receive the $100,000 he left them together--or not at all. Now that money may be beyond her grasp. And unbeknownst to anyone, even her husband, Leslie needs her inheritance desperately. When she meets a charismatic young woman who bears an uncanny resemblance to Robin--and has every reason to leave her past behind--the two make a reckless bargain: Mary will impersonate Robin for a week in exchange for Robin's half of the cash. But neither realizes how high the stakes will be when Mary takes a dead woman's name. Even as Mary begins to suspect Leslie is hiding something, and Leslie realizes the stranger living in her house, babysitting her newborn son, and charming her husband has secrets of her own, Robin's wild, troubled legacy threatens to eclipse them both. An electric, twisted portrait of sisterhood and the ties that bind, The Better Liar is a stunning debut with a heart-stopping, twist-after-twist finale that will beg the question: How far would you go to get what's yours?
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
alecia3dixie
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image
Panpan

I did not like this one at all. I thought it was boring at the beginning but decided to stick it out and the twists were just so unbelievable that I just could not stop rolling my eyes. 1/5

review
Pageturner1
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image
Pickpick

My first Tanen Jones book. I was pulled in from the start. Twists and turns made me curious. Unexpected ending. Left me sad and angry. Postpartum is serious. Luckily women have better options today. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ in my opinion.

suvata Oooo! A new author to check out. Thanks. 1y
32 likes1 stack add1 comment
blurb
Anya91
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image

Just started listening tonight 😸

review
SGB
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
Pickpick

What a fun read! Enjoyed the two sisters and seeing what makes them tick.

1 like1 stack add
blurb
GidgetsTreasures75
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image

10-16-20: My 84th finished book of 2020! When Leslie Voight‘s father passes, Leslie is tasked in finishing her long lost sister, Robin, whose been missing for the last 10 years to claim their inheritance. So much drama ensues. There are so many twists in perspective and some serious subject matter that you wouldn‘t expect. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ #thebetterliar #tanenjones 👍🏼📖#️⃣8️⃣4️⃣

blurb
Tanzy13
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image

An electric, twisted portrait of sisterhood and the ties that bind, The Better Liar is a stunning debut with a heart-stopping, twist-after-twist finale that will beg the question: How far would you go to get what‘s yours?

40 likes1 stack add
blurb
booknerd123
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image

going to finish this baby up

review
JoScho
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image
Mehso-so

I‘m torn on how to review this one. Leslie goes to see her sister Robin after 10 years of being apart. She needs her to receive the inheritance from their father. The story is told from three different POVs. I was interested throughout. My problem is the the twists didn‘t sit well with me. I‘m not sure how believable I thought they were. Thanks to #Netgalley for the ARC in return for my honest review.

94 likes1 stack add
review
Loreen
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image
Pickpick

Book two finished. #stayhome24in48 readathon. It‘s not bad. It‘s a quick read.

review
Godpants
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image
Pickpick

Even if I figured out one of the big twists early on there is a lot to keep the book going in this family drama/thriller.

blurb
Branwen
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image

Starting this new library book today! It's been awhile since I've read a good thriller and I'm hoping this one will not disappoint! 😀📚💕

As you can see, Chaplin is equally excited! 😹

#catsoflitsy #littenkitten #chaplin

71 likes1 stack add
review
kezzlou85
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image
Mehso-so

The premise to this was really interesting but for me the story didn't quite deliver. It's a real slow burner with a couple of good twists to the story. Its told from three different perspectives which does add more depth to the story. The ending was clever but not quite the ending I wanted. It does fit the story though. I struggled with the characters though none of them were really likeable. #Netgalley 3*

Crazeedi How are you doing? I owe you a letter, trying to catch up! Have a great day💕 3y
kezzlou85 @Crazeedi I'm good thanks. I hope you are too. Oh lovely and no rush. You too. ❤ 3y
49 likes2 comments
blurb
Godpants
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image

Back onto a thriller. This is the first published in 2020 novel I‘m reading this year.

review
MelindaOtt
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image
Mehso-so

This is what I would consider a "Chinese Food" book. It was entertaining but it was a little too complicated and it didn't stay with me when I was done. I enjoyed Jones writing and I will definitely read more from her in the future, but I felt the overall plot of this book was a little too contrived and self-conscious. But even with that, I flew through this one and had trouble putting it down.

blurb
MelindaOtt
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image

This week‘s #libraryhaul . As much as I try to avoid it, my holds always arrive in large bunches! All but one of these books has additional holds after me and I‘ll try to read them from most holds to least holds (so, from top to bottom in this pile). I also have a book (also with additional holds) going. Will I be able to read 7-8 books in 3 weeks? Doubtful, but I‘ll give it the old college try.

blurb
guinsgirlreads
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image

Starting this one at some point today!

30 likes1 stack add
review
Jemgirl2014
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
Bailedbailed

I was a little over halfway done with this book before my interest died a slow, miserable death. Before I returned it to my library I made sure to skip ahead to see what happened at the end. I was not impressed with the so called twist. So lame.

Monica5 That's sad. The book sounded good when I read about it☹️ 3y
Jemgirl2014 @Monica5 Yeah, I was disappointed. Who knows? Maybe you'll like it. Everyone's tastes are different. 😃 3y
6 likes2 comments
review
ScrappyMags
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image
Pickpick

The book that made me happy I only have a brother 😂 This book is a slllloooooooooow burn. I almost DNF‘d it several times because basically... I hated everyone in the book. But then I reached the point where THAT fact made me think... and it got GOOD! Full review scrappymags.com

blurb
Jemgirl2014
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image

This should be good!

review
SilversReviews
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image
Mehso-so

We meet quite a few liars and characters keeping secrets.

THE BETTER LIAR kept me reading because I wanted to find out what the characters were up to.

This book has a creative story line with twists and a great ending, but it was quite confusing. 3/5

FULL REVIEW: https://tinyurl.com/vx3k3nu

@tanenjones
@randomhouse

review
TorieStorieS
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image
Pickpick

I thoroughly enjoyed this #NetGalley ARC! It hooks you in from the very start! Told from multiple narrators, with quick pacing and a twisting plot, this is a very satisfying read! Leslie is filled with #Regrets, it is clear and a #CharismaticCharacter changes her life forever here! #NewYearNewYou #AuldLandReads

OriginalCyn620 👍🏻📚😊 3y
Eggs Nic double play🤗🤗 3y
TorieStorieS @Eggs I do love to multitask! 🥳 3y
66 likes3 comments
blurb
AArterbery
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image

HOLY THRILLER this book is awesome! I loved the twists and turns. Just uploaded my review on Goodreads! 😁👌🏾💯

review
abookishbutterfly
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image
Pickpick

3.5 stars

The Better Liar is a profound exploration of dysfunctional family dynamics and the bond between siblings.

See my full review here: https://www.facebook.com/262384764521804/posts/346520286108251?sfns=mo

Or follow me on Goodreads. Link in profile.

51 likes1 stack add
review
bexreadsbooks
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
Pickpick

Thank you to #netgalley for providing me with an ARC of this book!
I really enjoyed this book! I thought Leslie, Robin, and Mary were complex characters that I was eager to know more about. I thought the beginning was a little slow, but once I started to learn about the characters' backstories, the tension started to amplify and I got much more caught up in the story. I totally didn't see the twists at the end coming AT ALL! Definitely recommend.

blurb
bexreadsbooks
The Better Liar | Tanen Jones
post image

Me: *has 4 million things to do because it‘s the first week of my last year of law school*
Also me: *shamelessly downloads 10 ARCs on #netgalley*