Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Favorite Daughter
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
23 posts | 18 read | 25 to read
From the author of Best Day Ever, another gripping novel of psychological suspense set in an upscale Southern California community, for fans of B.A. Paris and Shari Lapena. The perfect home. The perfect family. The perfect lie. Jane Harris lives in a sparkling home in an oceanfront gated community in Orange County. Its a place that seems too beautiful to be touched by sadness. But exactly one year ago, Janes oldest daughter, Mary, died in a tragic accident and Jane has been grief-stricken ever since. Lost in a haze of anti-depressants, shes barely even left the house. Now thats all about to change. Its time for Jane to reclaim her life and her family. Janes husband, David, has planned a memorial service for Mary and three days later, their youngest daughter, Betsy, graduates high school. Yet as Jane reemerges into the world, its clear her family has changed without her. Her husband has been working long daysand nightsat the office. Her daughter seems distant, even secretive. And her beloved Mary was always such a good girldutiful and loving. But does someone know more about Mary, and about her last day, than theyve revealed? The bonds between mothers and daughters, and husbands and wives should never be broken. But you never know how far someone will go to keep a family together
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
LaurenReads
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image
Mehso-so

I felt like all the twists in this one were really obvious except for one. It was just ok.

review
aliasNayNay
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image
Mehso-so

This was a well written book with some twist I didn't see coming, which helped keep me engaged. Overall, though, I spent a lot of time thinking that a story like this should be shorter in order to avoid the repetitiveness of the middle of the book.

blurb
bexreadsbooks
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image

Olive is helping me read tonight! Why do cats and books go so well together?

brit91 Awww😻😻😻😻 2mo
Reagan-reads It's also Black Cat Appreciation Day so yay! 2mo
5 likes2 comments
blurb
ambam1987
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image

I‘ve been hooked on thrillers/mysteries this summer.

What‘s the best thriller/mystery you‘ve read this summer?

review
Jenken1998
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image
Pickpick

Whew. That was fun. Love an unreliable narrator who converses with the reader throughout the story. The grieving Harris family starts to unravel after the death of the eldest daughter. Tragic accident or murder? Follow along as former actress/mother tries to determine the truth. ☠☠☠☠

53 likes2 stack adds
review
tammysue
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image
Pickpick

Get. Out. Of. Town. This latest book from Kaira Rouda definitely threw me for a loop as KR takes the unreliable narrator to a WHOLE NEW LEVEL.

Perfect Jane. Life is all about Jane. She‘s the best at everything, is the perfect role model other women look up to and the hottest woman in town.

KR hit the nail on the head describing Jane‘s narcissistic behavior making this was one crazy roller coaster of a ride that kept me guessing to the end!

55 likes1 stack add
review
JoScho
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image
Pickpick

Oh Jane, the completely unreliable narrator that I loved to hate. I am a huge fan of Rouda‘s writing style-it just flowed and I got lost in-I felt the same way about Best Day Ever. Jane has been grieving for a year after the loss of her daughter. She decides she needs to get back to living and she has plans on how to do it. She very much wants to control everything and everyone around her. Unfortunately we don‘t always get what we want.

82 likes2 stack adds
blurb
JoScho
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image

I appreciated this nod to her previous novel 🖤

TorieStorieS 🤣🤣🤣 4mo
JoScho @TorieStorieS 😊🖤 4mo
85 likes2 comments
review
guinsgirlreads
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image
Pickpick

I sawwith Best Day Ever that she is a fabulous and flawless writer, but this one just confirms it. Stunning portrayal of a classic narcissist and stellar writing. Not a twisty-turning book, but hard to put down none the less. She is definitely one of my favorite authors at this point!

Book 13/20 #bfc #bookfitnesschallenge 🤗 Add this one to my favorites of the challenge! @wanderinglyn

BookwormAHN Nice job 👏🏻 5mo
AprilMae Way to go! 5mo
Bks4Wrms Did you like the ending? I loved the book the whole way through but didn‘t feel satisfied with the ending. 5mo
guinsgirlreads @Bks4Wrms I think it did feel a bit quick, and possibly cut off, but I thought it went with the whole story of HER. I could have definitely gone for more though! 5mo
40 likes2 stack adds4 comments
blurb
guinsgirlreads
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image

Ok now I hit my cardio goal! Finishing this book next 🤗🥂! #bfc #bookfitnesschallenge

@wanderinglynn

wanderinglynn Way to go! 🙌🏻 5mo
AprilMae Awesome job!! 5mo
34 likes2 comments
blurb
guinsgirlreads
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image

Did a little workout on the elliptical this morning! I‘ll get another round in when I get home from work tonight 💪🏻! I‘d love to finish this book tonight too ❤️! #bfc #bookfitnesschallenge

4thhouseontheleft Way to go! 5mo
KaraWines Nice work! 5mo
TheSpineView Excellent! 5mo
wanderinglynn Way to go! 🙌🏻 5mo
Clwojick Way to go! ♥️🧡💛 5mo
24 likes5 comments
blurb
guinsgirlreads
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image

Cardio is done ✅! Did some on the elliptical and some on the bike 🚲! #bfc #bookfitnesschallenge

About 130 pages into this book now 😁👏🏻

@wanderinglynn

JoScho I am reading this too. Jane is interesting huh? 5mo
guinsgirlreads @JoScho That she is! I can‘t wait to see how interesting.. I love her writing ! 5mo
JoScho Me too! It just flows and you read so much without even realizing it. 5mo
BookwormAHN Nice job 👏🏻 5mo
wanderinglynn Way to go! 🙌🏻 5mo
32 likes5 comments
blurb
guinsgirlreads
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image

Took a rest day yesterday but started this great read! #bfc #bookfitnesschallenge

@wanderinglynn

SilversReviews Ohh....this was good. ENJOY!! 5mo
guinsgirlreads @SilversReviews I‘ll bet! I loved Best Day Ever! Thanks! (edited) 5mo
SilversReviews @guinsgirlreads 😍 I didn't read that book. Sounds like I should. 5mo
29 likes1 stack add3 comments
review
Bakingbookworm
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image
Mehso-so

3.5 ⭐️- A psychological thriller.

A family dealing with grief and loss.

A memorable main character.

Let me introduce you to The Favorite Daughter by Kaira Rouda. A good suspense read with a true baddie at the helm.

My full review: http://bit.ly/2Ev1hue

Much thanks to Harper Collins Canada for my advanced copy.

blurb
guinsgirlreads
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image

I have been waiting for this one! I loved Beat Day Ever and I‘m hoping this one is just as good! 🤞🏻

38 likes1 stack add
review
BlueStockingReviews
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image
Pickpick

Kaira Rouda loves writing with unreliable narrators, and Jane Harris is just about the worst. As a narcissist, she is obsessed with the perception of how things looks and she has grandiose opinions of her self-worth, her looks and her abilities... https://www.bluestockingreviews.com/blog/the-favorite-daughter

42 likes3 stack adds
blurb
guinsgirlreads
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image

This finally comes out today! 👏🏻 So pumped that I‘ll be releasing it from processing later at work today and I can‘t wait to read it! 👏🏻

review
SilversReviews
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image
Pickpick

A MUST READ!! Jane the wife, Jane the grieving mother, Jane the planner - Jane, Jane, Jane.
It's all about her.

Fans of domestic turmoil, secrets, mystery, unsavory characters, cheating spouses, lies, narcissistic characters, and psychological suspense will enjoy THE FAVORITE DAUGHTER.

Review here: https://tinyurl.com/yympoe6d

@kairarouda
#graydonhousebooks

rjsthumbelina I have a physical ARC of this, but haven't gotten to it yet! 🤦 Story of my life lately. Glad you enjoyed it! 5mo
SilversReviews @rjsthumbelina I hope you enjoy it too. I had an e-book. Thanks for commenting. 5mo
k.reads.5 Wonderful review! I really enjoyed her book Best Day Ever. 5mo
See All 10 Comments
tammysue Great review Elizabeth! Happy to see you enjoyed and gave it 5 stars - I‘m reading it now. 💕 4mo
SilversReviews @pl.2886 Thanks about my review. ♥️ This is the first book I read by this author. Thanks for commenting. 4mo
SilversReviews @whatshesreadingnow It was good. Jane is too much, but I liked her. Thanks about my review. ♥️ Thanks for commenting. 4mo
tammysue @SilversReviews I always enjoy reading your reviews ;) I‘m not too far in the book but I can already tell she‘s a little odd. Not caring for her too much at this point.. 4mo
SilversReviews @whatshesreadingnow She seems to control everyone if I remember correctly. 4mo
tammysue @SilversReviews It looks that way. I‘ve put it aside for now, I‘m not really feeling this one. 4mo
SilversReviews @whatshesreadingnow Ok..hope you can pick it back up. 4mo
70 likes1 stack add10 comments
blurb
SilversReviews
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image

Wow is all I can say and why haven‘t I read other books by Kaira Rouda?

THE FAVORITE DAUGHTER is a page-turning thriller/mystery/domestic gem.

FULL REVIEW will be on PUB DAY, May 21.

This is going to be a summer MUST read.

k.reads.5 Awesome! I really enjoyed her book Best Day Ever! 6mo
SilversReviews @pl.2886 I saw BEST DAY EVER when it came out and never read it. I hope you get to read this book. Thanks for commenting. 6mo
Reagan-reads Oh I really enjoyed Best Day Ever, I‘m looking forward to this one. 6mo
SilversReviews @Reagan-reads I am sure you will LOVE it. ENJOY, and thanks for commenting. 6mo
61 likes2 stack adds4 comments
review
Kristy_K
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image
Mehso-so

I can see many people loving this book with Jane, our unreliable narrator, weaving tales and creating stories. But I had a hard time with her. She seemed unhinged from the beginning, wild and crazy. I like a more slow build when it comes to unreliable narrators. I don‘t like knowing from the get go that I shouldn‘t trust them. I also didn‘t like how Jane talked directly to the reader. It seemed unnecessary.

#netgalley #arc #suspense

review
anissaannalise
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image
Pickpick

jane harris is a modern-day norma desmond (sunset boulevard) but with a smidge more crazy, tracker apps & a higher body count. publishes May 2019 #arc #kairarouda #thefavoritedaughter #mystery

review
sparrowssavvy
The Favorite Daughter | Kaira Rouda
post image
Pickpick

Finally won a giveaway from Goodreads! And this book was amazing! I literally read it all in almost one sitting. The narrator is clearly someone with a narcissistic personality disorder and the author wrote her perfectly, I loved reading through her eyes. Totally recommend this book!

7 likes2 stack adds
review
GirlWellRead
Pickpick

The pace is manic and plays right into Jane's personality. My only criticism is that it was choppy at times with Rouda using several short sentences in succession that could've been synthesized or compounded for easier reading. Perhaps this was done on purpose since the reader is in Jane's head, but at times this is exhausting. Interestingly she also breaks the 4th wall with Jane addressing the reader-clever and narcissistic.