Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
The Day You Begin
The Day You Begin | Jacqueline Woodson
15 posts | 21 read | 10 to read
National Book Award winner Jacqueline Woodson and two-time Pura Belpre Illustrator Award winner Rafael Lopez have teamed up to create a poignant, yet heartening book about what it's like to be a new kid and feel different. There will be times when you walk into a room and no one there is quite like you. There are many reasons to feel different. Maybe it's how you look, talk, where you live, what you eat, or some other random thing. It's not easy to take those first steps into a new place, but somehow you do it. Jacqueline Woodson's lyrical text and Rafael Lopez's dazzling art reminds us that we all feel like outsiders sometimes. And also, that sometimes, when you take those first steps, and begin to share your story, you'll find others who will meet you halfway.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
Pick icon
100%
review
4thhouseontheleft
The Day You Begin | Jacqueline Woodson
post image
Pickpick

#BBRC #a2z Letter D - I love Jacqueline Woodson! Important messaging in this #picturebook, but it does mostly focus on the negative emotions of feeling like an outsider (lunch smells weird, hair is different, never picked for team sports, etc), and less on the positive way a child can deal with those feelings. So the overall balance of the messaging feels a bit off, but decided on 👍 overall. Illustrations are lovely!

IamIamIam AAH, I didn't realize yesterday was the 1st!!! Gotta put up our #BBRC picture books!!!! 3w
TheBookHippie We read this in kindergarten, first and second grade this year. Every time the kids cried I cried and the teachers cried. So much the experience of the kids at my schools. We were happy to have a book that didn‘t have a happy sappy ending. 3w
4thhouseontheleft @IamIamIam 👍👍 @TheBookHippie That‘s not quite what I meant from my review. I loved the ending, and I liked the story overall. I think it would be a great book to read at the start of the school year, it just didn‘t capture me the way other picture books have. Maybe too high expectations, I usually 💜 everything Woodson does. 3w
See All 9 Comments
TheBookHippie @4thhouseontheleft I think it was purpose driven. For the kids to have a picture book not say do this and it‘ll be all better was way more life giving than I knew the book was. It has had such an amazing affect we weren‘t planning on ...it was healing. I adore her stuff can not wait to read her new one in September !!! As for a wow picture book I get what you‘re saying . Have you seen 3w
4thhouseontheleft @TheBookHippie I haven‘t! Although the blurb says it is in the tradition of Runaway Bunny and Guess How Much I Love You, two books I‘ve never liked that much. 😂😂 I usually don‘t like the sappy stuff! 3w
LibrarianRyan 🌟 👍 3w
TheBookHippie @4thhouseontheleft the art in it. Gorgeous!!!! 3w
TheBookHippie @4thhouseontheleft same both the books make me 🤢 3w
Clwojick Another one by her! Stack-it-ee, stack stack! On my tbr they go! 3w
61 likes1 stack add9 comments
blurb
RealLifeReading
The Day You Begin | Jacqueline Woodson
post image

Kids‘ library loot this week

batsy Fossils! And the Katie Woo books look super cute. 5mo
97 likes1 comment
review
BookInMyHands
The Day You Begin | Jacqueline Woodson
post image
Pickpick

“And all at once, in the room where no one else is quite like you,
the world opens itself up a little wider
To make some space for you.”

I read this one as part of our church service last night, and then my friend, who is biracial, shared about her experience growing up as a Christian with a Palestinian heritage in this land of pro-Israel Evangelicals.

#readingwomenofcolor2019

65 likes1 stack add
review
UrsulaMonarch
The Day You Begin | Jacqueline Woodson
post image
Pickpick

Beautiful & felt perfect to me. I thought the words were lovely to read myself and to read out loud - I got a little choked up at times! I was pleasantly surprised that my 1 and 3 year olds stayed engaged throughout , too.

blurb
suzisteffen
The Day You Begin | Jacqueline Woodson
post image
6 likes1 stack add
review
gibblr
The Day You Begin | Jacqueline Woodson
post image
Pickpick

Super cute story/message and wonderful illustrations 😍

RadicalReader @gibblr the young girl in this reminds me of the one from the movie Home 7mo
Tamra Woodson fan girl! 7mo
irre My students loved it. 7mo
56 likes2 stack adds3 comments
blurb
Tamra
Day You Begin | Jacqueline Woodson
post image

A beauty from Woodson and Lopez in both the prose and artwork. I 💜 Woodson.

Eggs ❤️💗 Woodson 8mo
Reviewsbylola I‘ve been wanting to get this. ❤️ 8mo
kyraleseberg My daughter just checked this out at the library! I ❤️ Woodson. 8mo
73 likes1 stack add3 comments
blurb
BennettBookworm
The Day You Begin | Jacqueline Woodson
post image

A wonderful day in Brooklyn! I had to leave the bookstore with this beauty ❤️
Thanks, @BookInMyHands for the rec!

BookInMyHands Woohoo! I‘m so excited for you! 8mo
25 likes1 comment
review
BookInMyHands
The Day You Begin | Jacqueline Woodson
post image
Pickpick

Jaqueline Woodson is one of my favorite authors. Even her prose feels like poetry.

There are so many ways we feel different from each other, but the day you begin to share your story and listen to others the “world opens itself up a little wider.”

The story, matched with Rafael López‘s masterful illustrations, is a winner.

#crossculturalstories

66 likes3 stack adds
blurb
Peaceful_Reader
The Day You Begin | Jacqueline Woodson
post image

What a beautiful story Jaqueline Woodson and Rafael Lopez have created! Everyone‘s journey begins here...

10 likes1 stack add
blurb
faelinwolf
The Day You Begin | Jacqueline Woodson
post image
quote
faelinwolf
The Day You Begin | Jacqueline Woodson
post image

...every new friend has something a little like you--and something else so fabulously not quite like you at all.

review
SqueakGirl
The Day You Begin | Jacqueline Woodson
post image
Pickpick

This is a great picture book with lovely art and a wonderful message about celebrating what makes you you.

Eggs Love Woodson ♥️♥️ 10mo
6 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
irre
The Day You Begin | Jacqueline Woodson
post image
Pickpick

Read this to my 1st grade students and to my kids. Love it!! Such a great message.

Reviewsbylola I almost bought this for my kids recently. It looks really good. 10mo
irre @Reviewsbylola I got it from the library, but I‘ll buy my own copy eventually. Loved it. 10mo
53 likes2 comments
review
TracyReadsBooks
The Day You Begin | Jacqueline Woodson
post image
Pickpick

There are all sorts of reasons kids might feel different on the first day of school or in any new situation—their appearance, clothes, the way they talk, the things they‘ve done, the food they eat or, really, anything. With gorgeous illustrations & simple but powerful prose this book showcases the courage it takes to be yourself & tell your story. If you do? You just might find you aren‘t as much of an outsider as you think. Highly recommended.