Home Feed
Home
Search
Search
Add Review, Blurb, Quote
Add
Activity
Activity
Profile
Profile
This Darkness Mine
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
Mindy McGinnis, award-winning author of The Female of the Species and A Madness So Discreet, returns with a new dark and twisted psychological thrillerperfect for fans of Gone Girl and Fight Club. Sasha Stone knows her placefirst-chair clarinet, top of her class, and at the side of her Oxford-wearing boyfriend. Shes worked her entire life to ensure her path to Oberlin Conservatory as a star musician is perfectly paved. But suddenly theres a fork in the road in the shape of Isaac Harver. Her body shifts toward him when he walks by, and her skin misses his touch even though shes never known it. Why does he act like he knows her so welltoo wellwhen she doesnt know him at all? Sasha discovers that her by-the-book life began by ending the chapter of another: the twin sister she absorbed in the womb. But that doesnt explain the gaps of missing time in her practice schedule, or the memories she has of things she certainly never did with Isaac. Armed with the knowledge that her heart might not be hers alone, Sasha must decide what shes willing to doand who shes willing to hurtto take it back.
Amazon Indiebound Barnes and Noble WorldCat Goodreads LibraryThing
review
SassenachTheBookWizard
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image
Pickpick

This is SUCH a Mindy McGinnis book and I can absolutely see why some people wouldn't like it. It's a weird mindfuck book that I still don't know exactly what I read or what I feel about the ending. Sasha herself is a very unreliable character who continues to deflect any bad actions on her alter ego. When she is in the cardiac wing, Sasha becomes an even more flawed character but I couldn't put this book down. Every character is flawed

79 likes2 stack adds
blurb
SassenachTheBookWizard
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image

Okay I'm trying to get back to normal reading but I'm hesitant to touch a fantasy right now so maybe a twisted book will work. I know McGinnis's books are a "love or hate" situation and A Madness So Discreet is one of my all time favourite standalones.

63 likes1 stack add
blurb
Caffeinated_Reader
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image

#61 of my year 🥳🥳🥳 so many amazing adventures so far this year and I am a happy girl!

Caffeinated_Reader Meh. It was a quick read and entertaining but other than that just meh. 8mo
6 likes1 stack add1 comment
review
mandi1082
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
Bailedbailed

This book was different and a lot of weird. If you decide to read this book be prepared for some triggers like mental illness, hospital stays, self harm just to name a few. This book was just not for me 😞

quote
mandi1082
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image

27 likes1 stack add
review
Johanna414
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image
Pickpick

I expected this to be dark, because it‘s Mindy McGinnis and that‘s what she does... but holy shit! It went in some directions I was not expecting.

I can‘t say I loved this as well as a The Female of the Species, which is one of my favorites... but once I started reading, I literally could not stop.

blurb
Johanna414
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image

Having a stern talk with myself about how I need to take advantage of the few hours the littles allow me to sleep rather than read the last hundred pages of this book...

review
nikki.82
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
Pickpick

Weird, twisted, gory, demented, messed up, whatever you want to call it but still a good read lol.
Full review on https://nikkisnovelniche.wordpress.com

review
KraftDinner
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
Mehso-so

I found the end of this book a little predictable. It wasn‘t my favorite book, but I did enjoy it.

review
maddforbooks
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
Pickpick

I listened to this book on audible and lemme tell you... I have a lot of thoughts.
1. Mindy McGinnis is blessed with wonderful audiobooks, this is my second audiobook listen from her and holy shit they‘re amazing.
2. This book kept me on my toes, and I was actually sitting there with my hands over my face shocked.
3. It was so messed up and I loved it.
4. This book was incredible and well written! I highly recommend it.

review
Zbayardo
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image
Pickpick

This book was one crazy, very sick and disturbing, tripy trip in which I hated and cursed the main character the entire time and I FREAKING LOVED IT!!! The entire time reading i was like, “WTF am I reading exactly?!?” Mindy McGinnis is a superb writer with writing that leaves you seeing scenes way too painfully clear. She is officially one of my favorite authors.

blurb
MidnightBookGirl
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image

This is a very strange book.

kamoorephoto Strange but I loved it 🙀💓 2y
40 likes2 stack adds1 comment
blurb
kamoorephoto
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image

Congrats to @Booksandcooks on your 7777th follower!!! Crikey, that‘s a lot! Well, THIS was my last 5 star read; it won‘t be everyone‘s five star read, but it has got a lot of them, as has many of Mindy McGinnis‘ books. I had to go to several bookstores to get my copy (I should have just preordered as planned), and it was as delightfully messed up and well-written as I had hoped 🙀 Thanks for the giveaway! 🙏🏼#7777giveaway #payitforward

Megabooks Sounds crazy in a good way! 2y
13 likes1 comment
blurb
LouBeth
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image

I had to stay up to finish this book by Mindy McGinnis before it expired and I finished it just in time to open my #halloweengoespostal package. 😁
Thank you so much @aschermetz everything is awesome.
Luna has some new ribbon to play with now and I think she has chosen the book she wants me to read first.

Bookzombie Lots of great goodies! 💕🐱 2y
kamoorephoto I loved that book....recently read it... 2y
Cinfhen 💝 2y
See All 7 Comments
LeahBergen Rebecca! ❤️ 2y
aschermetz Yayyyyyy!!! So glad you like it!!! ❤️🎃❤️🎃 2y
MaleficentBookDragon Nice #kittenlitten high five!😻 2y
robinb 🎉🎉🎉❤️ 2y
108 likes7 comments
blurb
LouBeth
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image

Hope am I ever supposed to get through any kind of TBR when new books keep coming out that I want to read?!?

kamoorephoto It‘s a good one!!! 2y
EchoLogical Hey @LouBeth, I think your little has been matched with my niece Miley for kids bookswap. She hasn't gotten her email yet but I saw the post you were tagged in for it. Would you like to swap info? 2y
LouBeth @EchoLogical I sent you a message on Goodreads with info. 2y
EchoLogical @LouBeth Awesome! Thanks! 2y
57 likes4 comments
blurb
Matilda
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image

kate_reads I loved this 😍 so messed up 2y
Matilda @katekrug good to hear! 2y
52 likes1 stack add2 comments
review
kamoorephoto
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image
Pickpick

Wow I wish I could have been left alone with this book for the #Readathon but so many distractions. It is original, gut-wrenching, and raw, and if you‘re into psychological thrillers it may be for you (I can see where this will NOT be the book for everyone; it will leave many people with their mouths agape!). Mindy writes with such conviction and so fluidly, her prose and tone is all-absorbing; she has written a brilliant novel. I loved it.

Cinfhen I‘m definitely intrigued and I‘ve already stacked it, so now I need to find it! 2y
Cinfhen Oh, I see I stacked it based on your initial post 💕😂 2y
kamoorephoto @Cinfhen I had to ask B&N to get it in, because they were out! As were several indies I went to... It wasn‘t at the library either. I will tell you though, that the author reached out and when I said on Instagram that I couldn‘t find it, if you order from her local indie, she will sign it... 2y
kamoorephoto @Cinfhen Intriguing is the right word 🙀 2y
Cinfhen Cool! Thanks 🙏🏻 glad u liked it, I‘m looking forward to reading this one 😀 2y
14 likes4 stack adds5 comments
blurb
kamoorephoto
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image

Thought I‘d post the #MidEventSurvey😹 #readathon 1) Back to ‘The Darkness Mine‘ 2) I‘m in and out of 3 bks and I hope my big interruptions are done 3) I want to get to ‘The Misfortune of Marion Palm‘ - something light. 4) MAJOR interruptions. I have a 9 year-old, a partner that went and did his own stuff + a limping dog; my son‘s movie plans got canceled. I thought I‘d get that time free so I‘m irritated. 5) I wish I could be in a hotel rm alone!

blurb
kamoorephoto
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image

I don‘t know where the original post is but I nicked this off @LibrarianRyan ‘s page -
1) I‘m in wonderful, rainy (after a dry summer) #Seattle 💚💙 Perfect reading weather 🌧
2) I‘m enjoying my current read ‘This Darkness Mine‘ but also looking forward to ‘The Power‘
3) I‘m looking forward to chocolate but may have to do a run 🍫
4) I‘m a #cat photographer, I‘m from #England, I‘m new here! #LitsyWelcomeWagon
5) First #readathon

LibrarianRyan http://www.24hourreadathon.com/. Is the site. They put a new challenge every hour. 2y
RaimeyGallant I feel like you've been on here forever. 2y
kamoorephoto @RaimeyGallant I feel like I need to give you a hug! (I don‘t get nearly enough) 😻 2y
RaimeyGallant I could use a hug. 2y
11 likes4 comments
blurb
kamoorephoto
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image

Me and the kitty (in his usual position, giving me ‘total cat paralysis‘) decided we would get serious, and strap in for some rainy afternoon reading with #ThisDarknessMine by #MindyMcGinnis @HarperCollins - I like it when my book matches my #cat 🙀

Cinfhen Book sounds good! Curious to hear your thoughts... 2y
kamoorephoto @Cinfhen I already know it‘s going to be intense and I‘m not far in yet...!! (edited) 2y
Cinfhen Keep me posted!!! Thanks 😊 2y
8 likes3 comments
blurb
LibrarianRyan
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image

This looks too much like an
90s adult thriller.
#coverlove #YAedition

Johanna414 The author sent me a bunch of bookmarks and a postcard with this cover. I love it! I'm holding on to them until I get the book at work next month. 2y
LibrarianRyan @Johanna414 cool. I love when authors do things like that. 2y
30 likes2 comments
blurb
BeckyLeJ
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image

The tortie came out to check on today's new books. Looks like she's partial to the new Mindy McGinnis! First to finish AN EXCESS MALE! #catsoflitsy

LauraBrook What a beauty she is! 2y
DebinHawaii 🐱❤️ 2y
Bookzombie 💕🐱 2y
27 likes3 comments
review
kate_reads
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image
Pickpick

Holy crap, you guys...

This was so dark, twisty, and completely effed up (aka I loved it).

14 likes2 stack adds
blurb
Amandalibrarian
This Darkness Mine | Mindy McGinnis
post image

Hmmm, still puzzling this one out.

1 stack add